Civil War and Reconstruction Governors of Alabama

Pages That Need Review

Shorter_administrative_RSG00204_f01_Q138097_Q138098

page_0002
Needs Review

page_0002

Recommendation for aid Montgomery

Last edit 28 days ago by Mallinalli78

Shorter_administrative_RSG00204_f01_Q138123_Q138124

page_0002
Needs Review

page_0002

Recommendation of Aid Montgomery

Last edit 5 days ago by chrisgordy

Shorter_administrative_RSG00204_f01_Q138139_Q138140

page_0002
Needs Review

page_0002

David b Mitchell Elmore hoolchard [?] M [Ya--]

Last edit 6 days ago by athaggard

Shorter_administrative_RSG00204_f01_Q138158_Q138159

page_0001
Needs Review

page_0001

Montgomery Ala, Aug, 29/63

Sir, The under signed recommend for County Commandant of Coffee County The following named Gentleman

John B Simmons of Elba - a farmer age about 40 or 45 exempt from Conscript law for physical disability [illegible] A More a farmer age 54 Elba P. O.

John Steede of Hawridge a physician exempt by [illegible] age about 35 -

Respectfully D. C. Davis Senator

J. G. Moore Representative

Last edit 2 days ago by Jannyp

Shorter_appointments_RSG00251_f05_Q138498_Q138500

page_0002
Needs Review

page_0002

[left page] campain have deterred me from enlisting the army hithertoo _ Now my services are scarcely needed as a volunteer _ but I am not content to be idle, not at least without an effort to do good _ If I cannot stand in the imminent deadly breach & help to thin the ranks of our enemies _ I can at least aid in caring for those of my countrymen who have been wounded in the battles fought in defense of our wives & our little ones & in affording kind ministration of hand & heart to the poor soldiers, who are languishing in the hospital or elsewhere _ Were it in my power I would go upon my own responsibility & at my own expense to relieve the suffering of my countrymen, but I am denied the dear privilege _ I am willing to act as a nurse, in some post, but not to go as a nurse. Could I get a chaplaincy in the army & be appointed to some hospital say at Richmond or the West. I think I could make myself very useful _ My College duties have closed & my health I think sufficient for the duties proposed _ Now my dear sir if you [right page] deem the thing practicable & advisable, please let me hear from you _ I could leave on short notice & probably reach Richmond before another battle _

Yours very truly D. S. T. Douglas

P. S. Rember myself & Mrs Douglas kindly to your lady & daughter_ D. S. T D.

On of of [?]nto on request of Col. Comndg. Dont know of any vacancy - If advised will rec. with pleasure -

Last edit about 2 months ago by carolfink
page_0003
Needs Review

page_0003

D. S. T. Douglass Glennville Ala June 13th 1862

desiring to act as Nurse or Chaplain in the Army

Ansd June 26th 1862 as per pencil & mem.

Last edit about 2 months ago by carolfink

Shorter_appointments_RSG00251_f05_Q138512_Q138514

page_0002
Needs Review

page_0002

by the Prest. of the board [Maj.?] Doyle that I should again go before this board for further examination introducing[?] that I could get further, perhaps permanent Exemption. But this I do not desire. I do not intend to [ground?] my arms Rebellion [not legible] a [not legible] cause is triumphed and yet I will unstill[?] myself so far as to say frankly and candidly that I believe I can serve my country more effectually in some other capacity than as a private in open field. If your Excellency has already disposed of the office in question, will you be so kind as to return this testimonial also [such?] a [general?] one from yourself as my testimonials will authorize you to give me & which will [not legible] in other[?] [illegible]

With profound respect your Ob. Servt.

J.W. [Slack?]

His Excellency Jno. Gill Shorter

Last edit about 2 months ago by carolfink
page_0003
Needs Review

page_0003

J W Slack application for appts [Illegible] under Impressment Act

Last edit about 2 months ago by carolfink

Shorter_appointments_RSG00251_f05_Q138536_Q138538

page_0003
Needs Review

page_0003

[left column] T. E. McMahan W. J. McMahan Larson Bush[?] Mr[?]: Washington Wm Washington James M Hoge Isaac Matthews John Matthews A. P. Womach [right column] Wm A Austin Alex. W Harris George W. Caperton J. G. Caperton L Heymann W M Foster S C Foster J. T. Walker John Caulfield R N Coffey J P Gregory W J Jackson

Last edit about 2 months ago by carolfink

Shorter_appointments_RSG00251_f06_Q138576_Q138577

page_0002
Needs Review

page_0002

Ansd August 8th 1862 & Recommendation sent to Major Swanson

Last edit about 1 month ago by carolfink
Displaying pages 1 - 10 of 63 in total