Civil War and Reconstruction Governors of Alabama

Pages That Need Review

Shorter_administrative_RSG00204_f08_Q138921_Q138922

page_0002
Needs Review

page_0002

Statement of Bonds Sold(Annual & S-Annual) for Military Defense Sept 22. 1862

Last edit 4 months ago by Amelia H. Chase

Shorter_administrative_RSG00204_f08_Q138936_Q138937

page_0001
Needs Review

page_0001

Statement of

Last edit 6 months ago by Efo

Shorter_administrative_RSG00204_f10_Q139355_Q139357

page_0002
Needs Review

page_0002

87

List of Drafted Men from the 36th Regt Ala. Militia M. L. Peavy } Alex McMurphy } H. G. Pones } Hugh Daily } J. R. Moody } Mim's Beut. 5 Men

Jno McLeod } S. H. Spencer } C. C. Spencer } J. H. Berthea } Blacks Bluff Beut. 4 Men

M. H.Prewitt } Leslie Bloxom } F. M. Finch } Robert Addams } Kysons Beut. 4 Men

F. P. Hammershmitt } G. H. Strosher } J. F. Blue } Canton Beut. 3 Men

W. H. Wright } W. J. F. Bettis } W. N. Smith } A. H. Stewart } Custis Steen } A. B. Seale } M. L. Alexander } Jno. Gulley } A. E. Buffington } W. A. J Abbriton } Perry R. Stein Jun. } Snow Hill Beut. 11 Men

J. G. Edwards } J. K. Hawthorn } Nat Ashley } J. C. Jones } J. W. Staples } Allenton Beut. 5 Men

Last edit about 1 month ago by acmwitz

Shorter_administrative_RSG00204_f10_Q139380_Q139381

page_0001
Needs Review

page_0001

Tuscaloosa August 19 1863

Gov. Shorter

Dear Sir Please excuse me for wrighting you this note which I will make as consise as possible. I have just concluded the reading of your message to the Legislator, which meets my views, and hope that body will not desolve its sitting until all you ask has been provided for. The matter I want to bring to attention, is this, there is a large number of strangers and deserters prowling over the Country to which you have very properly brought the attention of the Legislature, the numbers in the upper Counties is alarming, and greatly intimidate the good citizens and soldiers which residing in those Counties, and if something is not done to remove them, they will soon become a band of desperadoes and will require to be kept down by the soldiers

I [lern?] that soldiers sent from the army to get them to go back to the army have been shot and twelve or fifteen killed.

I had a conversation with a man on yesterday who told me he had an Interview with some of them in the northern part of the County, where they are very numerous, they were from Gnl Braggs army, and swore they would never go back to that army, but if permited, would go to some other branch of the army, now it is clear some concession must made to them now or they will stay out of the army, and become so bold in outrage that a large number of soldery will be required to keep them from devastating the country. Would it not be the best course for you to bring the facts to the notice of the President.

Last edit 2 months ago by acmwitz

Shorter_administrative_RSG00204_f10_Q139386_Q139388

page_0001
Needs Review

page_0001

Shortly of (. ) may hour, I ad driuid (. ) General, making this englaving of him, that Enclosed this with friend his billing, for shown this blank, which I think (. ) the

Last edit 4 months ago by wsy

Shorter_administrative_RSG00204_f10_Q139399_Q139400

page_0002
Needs Review

page_0002

July 8th 1863

and July 19th 1863

Last edit 4 months ago by wsy

Shorter_administrative_RSG00204_f10_Q139435_Q139438

page_0001
Needs Review

page_0001

Columbas April May 8th/63 Dearest Mor "As hope deferred making the heart sick," I cannot survive much longer without me of your sweet kind letters, and as you're determined always to [wait?] an excuse to write, I thought I'd make an effort and see how successful I could be. I suppose then that after Charlie hears of my whereabouts, I'm to be denied the privelege altogether of hearing from you at all. "[Tom's ? ] mistaken" If I do not receive regular replys to my communcations, I shall take it for granted you are very ill and leave for Montgomery [instead?], how as I'm aware that a bachelor establishment is not always in readiness to receive a lady, you had better get things in order, for I'm in earnest and I shall always say in such an event that Mor wrote he was not feeling well and wishes me to come over immediately. so you see my friend what you may expect

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV

Shorter_administrative_RSG00204_f11_Q139465_Q139466

page_0002
Needs Review

page_0002

3 Years ov the War. 42 Regt. Compay E. Com. issued March 31, 862

Last edit 2 months ago by lilyarnold

Shorter_administrative_RSG00204_f13_Q140475_Q140485

page_0001
Needs Review

page_0001

Arms, Ammunition &c as reported by the Committee of [Collinsene] Beat N 0/114 Lowndes Co Al a/n, made in post, to me, 21st March "A.D." 1862. The 3d Committee is comprised of 5 members; Each having his section of the Beat in which to work. The 1st Name in ach sectional report is that of the Committeeman. The letter "G." signifies those who can go to respond to the next call for solunteers, with least sacrifice to themselves & their Country. "S." means those, who, being old &c ought to stay at Home & represent, as best they can, the interests of those who go as their representatives whom the Battle-fields. Every known Individual in the Beat has been seen, his name herein recorded & what he does & is & what he does not & is not

I send herewith - Document "A."- a "Notice" to all the Citizens of Lowndes Co., served, chiefly upon the people of the 13 Beats in the Co., by 2 servants of mine on the 4th & 5th days of March (inst.)) On the 7th March, at [Harperville?], the Judge of Probate, J.T. Jewell state Agt to collect arms &c in this County, and myself, Justice of The Peace in [Collirine?] Beat, adopted, by agreement, The system, fore shadowed in this Report, for collecting Arms &c and getting facts+ figures as "materials" for future history-- fully notifying , as I did, every man of the consequences of his actions in the present momentous crisis

Docmt "B" is written instructions put into the hands of Each of the 5 Committee men of [Collinsene?] Beat.

The following is the Result up to this date; [Benton?]25th March "A.D." 1862.

1st Section J.W. [Dunklin?]Com mem reports J. W. [Dunklin?] No Arms nor Am except 2 home-made Bowie knives S given to State Ala H.W Caffey One Dble Bbl shot Gun, One Old sabre " " " G T.W. Dunklin " " " Do do & 3 Bowie knives " " " S Dunklin Pierce " " " Do do " " " G Hardy Todd One Rifle, One single Bbl shot gun given " " " Vol John H. Barlow One Dbl Bbl shot Gun " " " G Willoughby Todd One Rifle " " " S

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV

Shorter_administrative_RSG00204_f13_Q140488_Q140494

page_0005
Needs Review

page_0005

Office of Auditor of the Treasury Montgomery Oct 30th 1862,

I, John A Graham Auditor of the &c Treasury for the State of Alabama, do hereby certify that the foregoing statement of items of expenditure is a correct copy of the statement of expenditures filed this day in this Office by P. J. Pillars, L. J. Fleming, Duke W. Goodman, J. D. Johnston and P. Hamilton Esquires, Commissioners to build a gun-boat and Ram at Mobile, named and appointed for a certain act of the General Assembly of the State of Alabama, approved the 9th day of November A. D. 1861, and entitled "An Act to aid the harbor defences of Mobile".

And I do further certify that said Commissioners, by Duke W. Goodman Esq, their Treasurer have fully accounted with the State of Alabama through this office for the sum of One Hundred and Fifty Thousand Dollars appropriated & placed in their charge by said Act of the General Assembly, & have furnished to [???] said Comptroller, satisfactory vouchers for said sum, in all respects according to the requirements of said Act, & in accordance with said statement. In witness whereof I have hereto put my hand, having no seal of Office (in Duplicate) at the City of Montgomery, on the day & year aforesaid.

John A Graham Auditor &c.

[red circular stamp in lower left: ALA. DEPT. ARCHIVES & HISTORY, MRD]

Last edit 18 days ago by mbainbridge
Displaying pages 1 - 10 of 432 in total