Civil War and Reconstruction Governors of Alabama

Pages That Need Review

Shorter_correspondence_RSG00689_Q145250_Q145648

page_0002
Needs Review

page_0002

SG5686 [top left corner] PAGE A [top right corner]

Executive Department June 30th 1862 Signed 18 Bonds for "Confederate war tax" dated May 1 1862 for $5.000 each, one at 10 years no 126 to 143 inclusive

Signed for "Deficienties in Treasury" 36 Bonds dated 1 July 1862 One at 10 years - no 1 to 36 inclusive of $1.000 each $ 36.000 Also 50 of same No 1 to 50 inclusive of $5.000 each $250.000 Jno Gill Shorter

Executive Department July 15th 1862 Signed for "Deficiencies in Treasury" 9 Bonds dated July 1, 1862. One at 10 years, no 37 to 45 inclusive of $1.000 each $9.000.

Signed 18 Bonds for "Confederate war tax" dated May 1 1862 for $5,000 each one at 10 years no 144 to 141 inclusive $90.500 Jno Gill Shorter

Executive Department Montgomery July 18th 1862 Signed for "Confederate war tax" 25 Bonds of $5.000 each dated May 1 1862 one at 10 years, nos from 101 to 125 inclusive $125.000 Jno Gill Shorter

Executive Department Montgomery Oct. 22nd 1862. Signed for "Deficiency in Treasury" 90 Bonds, dated July 1st 1862 due at 10 years, no 46 to 135 inclusive , of $1.000 each $90.000 (to pay for steamer Florida) Jno Gill Shorter

Last edit about 2 months ago by carolfink
page_0003
Needs Review

page_0003

Page B

Executive Department Montgomery Jany 21st 1862 Signed this day 160 State Bonds, dated March 1, 1861, for one thousand dollars each, at ten years, interest coupons payable March 1 annually _ Nos from 677 to 836 inclusive - $160.000. Jno. Gill Shorter,

Executive Department Montgomery Febry 3rd 1862 Signed this day 19 State Bonds, dated March 1, 1861, for one thousand dollars each, at ten years, interest coupons payable annually on 1 March _ Nos from 837 to 855 inclusive - $19,000. Jno. Gill Shorter,

Executive Department Montgomery Febry 18th 1862 Signed this day 100 State Bonds, dated March 1, 1861, for one thousand dollars each, at ten years, interest coupons payable annually on 1 March _ Nos from 856 to 955 inclusive - $100,000. Jno. Gill Shorter,

Executive Department Montgomery May 8 th 1862 Signed this day 50 State Bonds, "issued for payment of Confederate war tax" _ dated May 1, 1862, for ten thousand dollars each, at ten years, interest coupons payable annually on 1 May - not numbered. $500,000 Jno. Gill Shorter,

Executive Department Montgomery May 10 th 1862 Signed this day 15 State bonds, "issued for payment of Confederate war tax" _ dated May 1, 1862, for [stricken word] one thousand dollars each, at ten years, interest coupons payable annually on 1 May, $15,000 Also 11 Bonds, for same purpose, for Five thousand dollars each, dated & payable as last above -- $55,000 The $5,000 bonds no from 1 to 11 inclusive Jno. Gill Shorter,

Executive Department Montgomery May 12th 1862 Signed this day 11 State bonds for $1,000 each -- $11,000 and also 5 state bonds $5000 each -- 25,000 "issued for payment of Confederate War tax", dated & payable as last above stated. The $1,000 bonds are numbered from 16 to 26 inclusive, & the $5,000 bonds from 12 to 16 inclusive. Jno. Gill Shorter,

Also signed this day 74 State Bonds of $1,000, numbered from 27 to 100 inclusive, dated & payable as above -- $74,000 Also signed this day 34 State Bonds of $5,000, numbered from 17 to 50 inclusive, dated & payable as above -- $170,000 May 12th 1862 Jno, Gill Shorter,

Also signed this day 54 State bonds of $1,000, numbered from 101 to 154 inclusive, dated & payable as above -- $50,000 Also signed this day 50 State Bonds of $5,000, numbered from 51 to 100 inclusive, dated & payable as above -- $250,000 May 12th 1862. Jno, Gill Shorter,

Also signed this day 100 State bonds of $1,000, numbered from 151 to 250 inclusive, dated & payable as above -- $100,000 May 19th 1862 Jno, Gill Shorter,

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
page_0004
Needs Review

page_0004

1 Executive Department Montgomery, Ala. Dec. 5th 1861.

Hon. A. F. Hopkins, [check]

Dear Sir:

I have the pleasure to hand you enclosed a copy of the Act. passed by General Assembly for Hospital accommodations for our troops in Virginia, and beg to call your attention to its provisions. By the terms of the Act I am constrained to the conviction that it appropriates the funds for accommodations and supplies to be hereafter obtained and that no part of them could properly be applied in extinguishment of any indebtedness or liability incurred heretofore in furtherance of like humane purpose in Virginia by patriotic citizens of Alabama.

I also herewith hand you a letter to Dr. C. J. Clark and Hon. J. P. Benjamin, Secy. of War, which I beg you to read, and which explain themselves.

With the highest appreciation of the ardent patriotism of yourself and excellent lady, and the assurance of my confidence in your ability and success, and my best wishes for your health and safe return to Alabama, I am Most Respectfully Yours (Signed.) Jno. Gill Shorter.

Executive Department Montgomery, Ala. Dec. 5th, 1861.

Dr. C. J. Clark [check]

Dear Sir;

I have the pleasure to inform you that our General Assembly have appropriated $30,000 for Hospitals accommodations for our disabled and sick troops in Virginia, and while the appointment of Surgeon is expected to be conferred by me, I am impressed that it might not be agreable to the Secretary of War for me to interfere with the Army Regulations, which place the appointing power in him, and as the establishment must fall under the supervision of his Department. I have addressed him a letter by Hon. A. F. Hopkins, (who is commissioned by this Department as the agent of the State for the establishment of the Hospital and who carries with him a copy of the Act under which we are proceeding} - advising him that it would be most agreable to the public authorities of Alabama and our troops, to transfer you from the 10th Alabama Regiment, and assign you to the medical supervision of the Hospital.

I doubt not that it will be the pleasure of the Secretary of War to comply with our wishes, and I hope that you may consent to accept a position so honorable, where you can render such valuable services to the patriotic soldiers of your State who may require them at your hands.

With highest regards I am Respectfully Yours (Signed) Jno. Gill Shorter.

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
page_0005
Needs Review

page_0005

2 Executive Department Montgomery, Ala. Dec. 5th, 1861.

Hon. J. P. Benjamin, [check] Secretary of War;

Sir,

I have the pleasure to inform you that the Legislature of Alabama have appropriated thirty thousand dollars for Hospital accommodation and supplies for Alabama troops in Virginia, and other divisions of the Army, containing Alabama troops : and that the Hon. Arthur F. Hopkins has been appointed the agent of the State, who, with his patriotic lady, is now about to set out for Virginia. The Legislature also have provided that the Surgeon for the Hospital, to be established, shall be appointed by the Govenor of Alabama; but as we desire the Establishment to be wholly under the Control of the War Department (as it manifestly should be) I decline to commission a Surgeon, as I am earnestly desirous not to interfere with the powers properly appertaining to your Department; but as the State has made this liberal provision for her disabled troops in the Confederate Service, and as Dr. C. J. Clark - now Surgeon of the 10th Alabama Regiment - Col. Forneyis highly competent and trustworthy and appreciated by our troops and his transfer to that position would be most agreable to this Department, and our public authorities, I doubt not it will be your pleasure to accommodate our wishes by assigning Doct. Clark to the charge of the Hospital which may be established by Judge Hopkins. And I desire further to request that our Alabama Hospital may receive all the encouragement and assistance from your Department needful to attain the humane object comtemplated by its establishment.

With high regard, I am Your Obt. Servant. (Signed) John Gill Shorter.

Executive Department, Montgomery, Ala. Dec. 6th, 1861.

Gentlemen ; [check]

I have the honor to acknowledge receipt of your communication of this date, enclosing the proceedings of the Grand Lodge of Alabama, by which is appropriated the sum of twentyfive hundred dollars for the use of the sick and disabled soldiers of Alabama, in the Army of the Confederate States ; and also a warrant drawn by the Grand Master on the Grand Treasurer in my favor, as Governor of Alabama for the above amount, to be disbursed in accordance with the instructions of the Grand Lodge. This liberal donation springing from the warm and generous impulses of a Fraternity identified with the noblest deeds of charity and the highest exhibitions of patriotism, will fill the popular heart with joy and gratitude. In behalf of Alabama I thank you for this timely contribution to a cause which demands the combined means and energies of the whole people. The cruel war now being waged against us will peril the health and lives of neighbors and friends, of loved ones - but the Grand Lodge of Alabama will have the unspeakable satisfaction to know that, to the utmost of its ability, it has relieved the sufferings of those gallant men who shall have gone forth to endure privations, encounter disease and death in the defence of their homes and

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
page_0006
Needs Review

page_0006

3 country.

I have deposited the holy offering with the Treasurer of the State, and it will afford me infinite pleasure to apply it in advancement of the humane purpose for which it is designed ; and the disposition which shall be made of it shall in due time be communicated to the Grand Lodge.

I beg to return through you, to the Grand Lodge my grateful acknowledgements for the confidence expressed by the high trust confided to me, and I thank you gentlemen for the kind terms in which you have been pleased to address me.

Respectfully Yours (Signed) John Gill Shorter.

Messrs Daniel Sayre } E. M. Hastings } Committee. N. B. Cloud }

Executive Department, Montgomery, Ala. Dec. 6th 1861.

Maj. General Braxton Bragg,

Sir ;

Having assumed the duties and responsibilities of Governor of Alabama I embrace the earliest opportunity to convey to you the assurance of the high confidence reposed in you by the people of this State, and my sincere desire to contribute as far as may be in my power, in support of that cause, which, to us, is dearer than life itself.

I have heard and read - with infinite satisfaction - of the brilliant defense, by the troops of Alabama, and of her sister Confederate States, under your command, against one of the most terrific bombardments of ancient or modern times ; and I heartily congratulate you that you have been spared through those two eventful days - which shall forever link your name with those Honoured Heroes, whose fame shall never die.

During the past week, Genl. A. S. Johnston made a requisition on my predecessor - Hon. A. B. Moore - for twelve months' troops, to be armed and equipped by the State with Shot Guns or Rifles - as best we could - for the defense of the Vallies of the Tennessee, Mississippi and Cumberland Rivers. Genl Johnston - by his correspondence - expects the force to be raised in North Alabama ; Gov. Moore issued his proclamation accordingly ; and companies are now forming in North Alabama and we are also raising in the valley of the Tennessee a force of 500 Slaves for the purpose of aiding in the construction of Fortification at Fort Henry on that River. Several companies in South Alabama have also tendered, and seem anxious to go under this requisition and one or two have been already accepted, and, if duly organized, will be ordered to Nashville, provided, there be no need to retain them in South Alabama, of which necessity you are to determine.

My information, as to the extent of your Command, is not so full and particular as I desire, and anxious as I am to conform in all respects to your authority and to cooperate with you in every proper way, for the general defense, I beg you, frankly to communicate what you may be deem expedient, for any guidance in the Future.

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
page_0007
Needs Review

page_0007

4

With high considerations of regard I am Your Obt. Servant (Signed.) Jno. Gill Shorter.

Executive Department, Mongtomery, Ala. Dec 6th, 1861.

Col. Thos. J. Foster,

Sir,

Your letter of 30th inst has been received asking information in regard to a Regiment being raised by you. I am instructed by the Governor to say to you that if a regiment or battallion or Company is raised by you and tendered to him _ under the proclamation of 22nd Nov. - it will be received and ordered to rendezvous at Florence and mustered into the Confederate Service at once, and ordered to Fort Henry on the Tennessee. This will meet the views of Genls Johnston and Pillow. Genl. Weakly the aid of Genl. Pillow has been authorized by Genl. Johnson to muster into service the troops raised for the Confederacy. The Governor thinks it best for you to have your companies mustered into service and sent forward as fast as organized without waiting for the organization of the Regiment.

The Regiment can be organized at Fort Henry when the ten companies arrive there. This course is suggested and advised because of the pressing demand for troops. The Governor hopes it will be agreable to you to adopt the course and that you will act with the utmost promptness. His Excellency desires me to tender you this thanks for your efforts to prepare to prevent the enemy from making further encroachments upon our territory.

Very Respectfully (Signed) A. B. Moore, Aid de Camp.

Executive Department, Montgomery, Ala. Dec 7th, 1861.

Col. N. Davis,

Sir,

Your letter is received and I am instructed by the Governor to say to you that he intends the arms in possession of the Cadets at La Grange for troops now being raised under the Proclamation of the Governor of the 22nd Nov. to fill the requisition of the Confederate Government. They are needed immediately for that purpose and cannot therefore be issued to your Battallion. The Governor would be pleased to gratify your wishes if he had it in his power. Very Respectfully (Signed.) A. B. Moore Aid de Camp.

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
page_0008
Needs Review

page_0008

5 Executive Department, Montgomery, Ala. Dec. 9th, 1861

Sir, ^Maj. Genl Braxton Bragg^

Sir,

Your letter of the 8th inst. is received and I am instructed by the Governor to say to you that Captain Horton's Company disbanded before the receipt of your letter and before the Officer sent by you to muster it into service reached their place of rendezvous.

Very Respectfully Your Obt. Servant, A. B. Moore

Braxton Bragg Major General Commanding Pensacola.

Executive Department, Montgomery, Ala, Dec. 10th, 1861.

Maj. Gen. Samuel Weakly, [check]

Sir,

You are hereby authorized to call upon Col. Robertson Superintendent of the La Grange Military Academy for all the public arms in his possession, to supply companies that may be without arms, who have or may tender their services under the proclamation of the Govenor of 22nd Nov. 1861. If Col. Robertson has raised or will immediately raise a company under said call, you will permit him to retain arms for his company.

Very Respectfully (Signed) John Gill Shorter. P. S. You will report the number and description of arms which you may obtain to this Department. (Signed) John Gill Shorter.

Executive Department, Montgomery, Ala. Dec. 10th, 1861.

Col. Chas. T. Ketchum, Mobile,

Sir,

Your letter of the 6th inst. is received and the Governer instructs me to say that the drafts upon the Treasury for the payment of existing contracts, and appropriations, the payment of which is imperative on the State and very heavy - Under the circumstances the Governor does not feel authorized at present to make other contracts which must further embarrass the Treasury He therefore leaves the question open for the present.

Very Respectfully (Signed) A. B. Moore, Aid de Camp.

Executive Department, Montgomery, Ala. Dec. 10th, 1861 Capt. N. D. Johnson [check]

Sir,

Your letter of 9th inst. is received, and I am instructed by the Governor to say to you that troops are immediately needed for twelve months. If you will tender your company at once with not less than sixty-four privates armed with Shot-guns, Rifles, or muskets under the terms of the Governor's Proclamation of Nov. 22nd 1861, it will be accepted and ordered to

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
page_0009
Needs Review

page_0009

6 Florence or Nashville. The State cannot furnish arms, nor can your Rifles be bored out in time. If you can't get Shotguns you had better take the Rifles in their present condition with bullet moulds and powder horns. This is the advice of Genl Johnson under whose requisition the call for Troops is made.

Write immediately to Mr. George Goldthwaite, Montgomery, when you will be ready to march and orders will be issued to you at once.

Very Respectfully (Signed) A. B. Moore Aid de Camp.

Executive Department, Montgomery, Ala. Dec. 11th, 1861.

Mr. John A. Graham

Sir,

I have received your favour of this date tendering your resignation of the office of Auditor of the Treasury, in deference to an Act passed by the General Assembly abolishing the office, if in the opinion of the Governor the said office is no longer necessary. This Act of the General Assembly was in fact not necessary, for the office under the law which created it was subject to be discontinued by the Executive whenever in his judgment it could properly be dispensed with. I am quite sure that the variety and extent of the labors discharged by the office could not have been familiar to many in the General Assembly and that there could not have been a deliberate purpose to abolish the office ; and as in my judgment the public interest requires that the office of Auditor to the Treasury should be continued I do not feel at liberty to abolish it.

For these reasons I have deemed it proper to decline to accept your resignation, and respectfully request you to withdraw it and to continue in the discharge of the duties of Auditor of the Treasury, an office you have filled with so much efficiency.

Respectfully Yours (Signed) Jno. Gill Shorter

Executive Department, Montgomery, Ala., Dec. 12th, 1861.

Hon. A. B. Moore

Dear Sir,

I have the honor herewith to hand you a Commission as Aid de Camp in my Military Staff, with the rank of Colonel,

This appointment is tendered you not only as a testimonial of my high personal appreciation and regard, but in order if agreable to you to secure your valuable aid at this juncture in providing for the military necessity of the State, in connection with which I desire to assign you special duties.

Hoping it may be in your power to accept this Commission, I am

With Great Respect Yours &c. (Signed) John Gill Shorter,

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
page_0010
Needs Review

page_0010

7 Executive Department, Montgomery, Ala., Dec. 12th, 1861.

A. J. Noble [check] Mayor &c.

Dear Sir,

I wish to have the services of two reliable and trustworthy men engaged for one month as a night watch for the State Capitol, and not being so well acquainted with persons having the necessary qualifications for such service as yourself I have to request that you will be so good as to engage for me the services of two suitable men for the purpose and time above stated, and fix their compensation at such price as you may in your discretion deem reasonable and just. When engaged be so good as to order the men to report themselves at the Executive Office this evening at five o clock for duty.

Your prompt attention to this matter will greatly oblige

Very Respectfully (Signed) Jno. Gill Shorter.

Executive Department, Montgomery, Ala., Dec. 12th, 1861.

Mr. A. J. Noble, [check] Mayor of the City,

Dear Sir,

Your note in reply to mine of today is received, for which I am obliged. Your contract for two watchman to guard the Capitol is understood and approved. The men are assigned to duty and I doubt not will prove worthy of the trust reposed in them.

Accept my thanks for your prompt attention and assistance. Respectfully yours (Signed.) John Gill Shorter.

Executive Department, Montgomery, Ala., Dec. 13th, 1861.

Mr. Wm A. Grant [check] Chairman of Finance Committee, Auxiliary to Ladies Aid Society. [check]

Sir;

I have the pleasure to acknowledge receipt of your note of the 11th inst. requesting an advance of funds, to be applied in payment of indigent woman for work in manufacturing clothing for our troops - the money to be distributed and disbursed through the Ladies Aid Society of this city.

No one can feel more gratified to our country-women, or honor them more highly than I do for their self-sacrifice and consideration to their country in this day of peril, and while I will most heartily aid to the extent of my means in furtherance of their patriotic labors I am constrained by my convictions of official duty to decline an advance from the State Treasury in aid of any of the Societies, not particularly provided for by legislative enactments. Were I to do so to one in the city of Montgomery. I should advance to each organization in the city laboring in the same praiseworthy cause, and if proper to advance to socieites in this City, I could not withhold like advances

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
page_0011
Needs Review

page_0011

from similar Societies in the many towns, villages, and neighborhoods of this State. Almost every neighborhood has an organization to aid our brave Soldiers, and there are, it is to be feared, to many families in remote and obscure districts who are in needy condition and suffering from the absence of fathers, husbands, and sons now in the Camps, and to whom I would rejoice to send relief if in my power.

Upon an examination into the records and files of this Department I have ascertained that we have not the raw materials on hand for manufacturing of clothing sufficient to fill the requisitions of the various Societies in the State which ask the privilege of manufacturing the clothing free of all charge to the State. If we are able to have clothing manufactured at the cost of the raw material and freight charges only it is manifest that the State can furnish them at proportionally reduced rates to our troops. So long therefore as we shall be able to obtain clothing upon terms so honorable to our fair country-women and so favorable to our troops I cannot doubt that you will agree with me that it is my duty to do so. And if the public necessities require more rapid manufacture than can be accomplished by the aid socieites, the Quartermaster will be instructed to let our contracts, under proper safeguards to those who may be willing and able to meet requistions upon just and remunerating terms.

Inasmuch as I desire the decision herein announced, and the reasons upon which it rests may be fully understood by the Ladies Aid Society which you represent. I beg you to do me the favor to submit it to their society for their information.

I beg likewise to hand you herewith a check for $20 which I contribute from my own funds in aid of the Society, which please present with my thanks for all they have done so patriotically for our beloved State and my earnest wishes for their continued usefulness and efficiency.

Respectfully Yours (Signed) John Gill Shorter.

Executive Department, Montgomery, Ala., Dec. 14th, 1861.

Hon. Arthur F. Hopkins [check] Richmond, Va.

Sir ;

I enclose herewith a copy of "an act for the relief of the Sick Soldiers from Alabama" passed by our General Assembly since your departure from this City, - and additional to the act under which you were appointed Agent for the State to establish a Hospital in Virginia.

The act now enclosed provides for the establishment of a Hospital Depot at, or in, the neighborhood of Manasses, and for the appointment by me of an Alabama Physician to keep it and who shall have the rank and pay of Major in the Army, and to be paid monthly by my warrant on the State Comptroller.

This act is quite defective in omitting to make an appropriation for the construction or rent of a depot building, and I think you will agree with me that such an agent, if appointed by me under this act could not hold "the rank of Major" or any other rank in the Confederate Army, and further that the pay of Major would be an extravagant compensation for an agent who is to do nothing else but

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
Displaying pages 11 - 20 of 423 in total