Civil War and Reconstruction Governors of Alabama

Pages That Need Review

Shorter_correspondence_RSG00689_Q145250_Q145648

page_0346
Needs Review

page_0346

345 by public & private benevolence, is to be found at the hearthstones of many, whose legitimate protectors have fallen in battle, or are no fighting, in the defense of your homes & property. Let us not deceive ourselves. The failure to raise the largest possible quantity of supplies, the present year, may bring disaster, & ruin upon our cause. The Soldier must be fed, & his family provided-for, & our homepopulation, white & black, must be supported. The experience of the past - & the necessities of the present give serious & solemn warning, as to the future. Let us not our armies - which have hitherto, by the blessing of God, proved invincible, be conquered or disbanded, by the Want of subsistence in their Camps, or be demoralized by the presence of famine in their homes. These results can - & will be prevented, if the planting Community realize their heavy responsibility, & discharge their full duty to the country. The Legislature of Georgia is called to re-assemble, on the 25th inst. to reconsider their late action on this important subject; and the Confederate Congress, foreseeing the danger, has given timely notice of its approact, by an earnest appeal to the whole Country. The indications of a continuance of the war are so unmistable[?], & the necessity of providing the means indispensable to its prosecution so urgent, that I have thought it not improper, to unite in the appeal to that class of our population, through whose active energies & foresight alone, those means can be supplied, & which, of all others, is the most deeply interested in the contest now being waged. And I sincerely trust that this appeal may not pass unheeded, but that the planters of Alabama, with united purpose, will devote their lands & labour to the production of subsistence for the people, & the armies of the Confederacy. [silcrow?] While addressing you, it is due to myself, that I should advert to the heavy assessment made for Slave-labor, teams, & implements, for the construction of Fortifications, & works of public defense. The Authorities whose duty it is to provide - for the protection of the State, are doing every thing in their power to secure that result. The Legislature having placed under my control, every able-bodied male Slave in the State, for the accomplishment of this purpose, the people would hold me responsible, if I failed to employ it, So as to ensure the important object, for which alone it was confided to me. This can be done - only - by the Co-operation of the State Authorities with the Military commanding the Confederate forces within our territory. This co-operation has been heartily given; and shall be afforded, until I receive assurance from the Department to which that duty - properly belongs, that the public defenses are as impregnable as skill, energy - labor & money can make them. The resources of the State have been appropriated, &, in my opinion, wisely appropriated to the advancement of such a result, & it must be accomplished, if possible, at whatever cost of treasure, or individual inconvenience. Every call which has been made upon you, has been forced by the demand, & the necessities of the occasion. The distribution of the burden, among the various counties, has been made as equitably as an impartial will & purpose could devise; and the local execution of the appropriate order has been committed to agents recommended for their sense of justice, discretion, firmness and integrity. In the discharge of duties so delicate, & yet so important, it was not to be expected that every act would meet universal approbation, Unquestionably, mistakes may have been committed, & mistakes & errors will occur, so long as agents are men. It is, simply, a matter of impossibility to adjust - public burdens, by an exact & unvarying standard of perfect equality, & this truth should invite a cheerful acquiescence in all exactions made upon us for the achievement of success, in a struggle for life. [silcrow?] Of course, it is not within the Scope of a communication like this, to go into details, but it is not improper that I should say, that every practicable means which could be used by the State Authorities, has been used to ensure the comfort, health, and proper treatment of the Slaves employed upon the public works. Many exaggerated reports have been circulated, as to their sickness has not been as much as the average sickness among the same number of Soldiers, for the same period of time For their subsistence, hereafter, at Mobile, & upon the Alabama & Tombigbee rivers, I have, recently been compelled to provide, through State instrumentality, in consequence of notice from the Confederate authorities, of their inability to do so; & the Slave-owners have, as a general rule, readily & cheerfully, responded to the requisition for that purpose. [silcrow?] I have, uniformly, recognized the principle, and urged its adoption, that, in discharging Slaves & teams, those longest in Service should be

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0347
Needs Review

page_0347

346 first relieved, but owing as I suppose, to the different localities in which they have been employed, the Confederate Authorities have not, always, deemed it consistent with the public interests to comply with my request in this respect. The last heavy assessments, however, will be promptly discharged within Sixty days from their arrival at the works, & it is to be hoped that some may be relieved at an earlier day. I have felt, most sensibly, the inconvenience to which the people of the State would be subjected, by these heavy demands, at a most unpropitious season of the year, but they have been made by those who are charged with the high responsibility of protecting Alabama against invasion by the Enemy, & who are duly impressed with the necessity of an early completion of those defensive works, which are essential to success. With a knowledge of their character & efficiency, & a due sense of the importance of a prompt response to the call made upon the State for the necessary labor, I could not - & would not hesitate, a moment, as to the course which duty required me to pursue. [silcrow?] Every precaution will be taken, to secure the owners - both in North & South Alabama, just compensation for the use of their property, while employed in the public service; & if the Confederate authorities fail to provide it, their claims will be adjusted at the State-Treasury. [silcrow] No provision having been made by law, for remuneration, in case of the death of Mules, or negroes impressed, that question must be left for future Legislation. [silcrow] In conclusion, I beg to call your Serious attention to the resolution, recently adopted by the Lincoln Congress, notifying the Governments of Europe, "The United States was now grappling with an unprovoked - & wicked rebellion, which is seeking the destruction of the Republic, that it may build a new power, whose corner-stone - according to the Confession of its chiefs, shall be Slavery; that, for the Suppression of this Rebellion, & thus to save the Republic, & prevent the establishment of such a power, The National Government is now employing armies & fleets, in full faith, that, through these efforts, all the purposes of conspirators, & rebels will be crushed." These Resolutions, thus appealing to the AntiSlavery prejudices of foreign Governments, protest against any recognition of the Confederacy, on the ground that, based upon Slavery, as its "Corner-Stone," is it unworthy of such consideration. And this Congress have further resolved, that it is "their unalterable purpose, that the War will be vigorously prosecuted, until the rebellion shall be crushed." Thus, these resolutions, with the proclamations of Abraham Lincoln & the Dictatorial powers, over the Army & Treasury, with which he has been recently clothed, by his Abolition Congress, give unmistakable evidence of his wicked, policy & purpose. Let the Country be warned by these developments; &, especially, let the planters of Alabama, in view of the dangers, which threaten the overthrow, & destruction of their Social & political rights; consecrate their entire energies & resources, in the future, as they have done in the Past - to the firm maintenance of that righteous cause, upon the triump of which depend all they esteem dear on earth. Your fellow-Citizen, (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 18th 1863. Hon. Jas. A. Seddon, Secy of War, Richmond. Sir, I particularly request the resignation of L. M. Stiff, Capt. Stiff, at the time he entered the Service, was Register & Receiver of the Land-Office, at at Centre in this State. He was not liable to Military duty, but went voluntarily. The needs of the State require his personal attention to the Land-office. He is a very efficient officer, & will be compelled to resign unless you discharge him. Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 18th 1863. L. M. Stiff, Esqr Centre, Ala. Sir, I am in receipt of yours of 12th inst. Before deciding on the acceptance of your ^resignation of the^ office, as Register, & Receiver of the Land-Office, at Centre, I have determined to write to the Secretary of War, & urge him to permit you to leave the Service. So soon as I hear from him, I will advise you. Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0348
Needs Review

page_0348

347 Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 19th 1863 Col. L. C. Garland, Superintendent of Corps of Cadets, Univ^ Ala. Sir, In consideration of the peculiar condition of young Mr L. Harris, of Louisiana, appealing to our State magnanimity, I have deemed it consistent with the honour & interests of Alabama to open her arms, & receive him to her bosom. His case, being an exceptional one, I will assume the responsibility of directing his admittance into the Alabama Corps of Cadets, at the University. Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 19th 1863. A. F. Jones Esqr Pres't Iron Co. Sir, I have forwarded your a/c versus Dixon, Nelson, & Co. to those Gentlemen, & will pay the same ^so^ soon as it is returned - approved by them. Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter, Gov. of Ala.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 19th 1863. J. W. Hampton, Esqr Jasper, Ala. Sir; I am in receipt of yours, of 14th inst. & will enclose the same to Mr Requier Con. St. Attorney. I received a letter from Mrs Hewlett, stating the fact of her husband's arrest, by the enemy; and addressed Gen. Bragg, in person, on the subject; upon which, he determined to place, in close confinement, an officer of the Federal army, & him, until Mr Hewlett's release. Mr Requier will give proper attention to the case of Mr Sheats. Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't. (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 19th 1863. Brig^. Gen. Daniel Ruggles, Sir; I have the honor to acknowledge yours, of 25th Ult. which was rec'd on this day. Mr Alf.d Nichols was not arrested by State authority, so far as I am informed; nor am I in possession of any charges against him. If the Military Authority has no just grounds for retaining him in custody I see no reason why he should not be discharged. Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 19th 1863 Dr Geo. Redwood, Hospital, Ringgold, Geo Sir; I have directed Col. W. R. Pickett, A. Q. M. of Alabama, in this City, to ship you (1) Box, containing half-bushel - each of dried apples & peaches (1) Box, contributed for Ringgold Hospital. (1) Box, clothing, contributed by Mrs Victoria W. Ware. I beg you to appropriate these articles, as, in your judgement, may be best for the use and benefit of Alabama Soldiers in the Ringgold Hospital. The boxes will be forwarded from here, in charge of Mr James M. Brundage, of N. Ala. who promises to leave them at Ringgold; hey will be marked to you. Mr Brundage will have, in charge, a shipment of over 800 pairs of Cotton & Wool Cards, procured by the State, for distribution, in the N. Ala. counties, to Soldiers' families, and, as he may not have time or opportunity to see you, as he passes-up the Road, and may have to leave the boxes at the depôt, I hope you will excuse me for requesting that you will give such notice or order to the warehousemen, as will be certain to ensure the safe delivery-to you, of the boxes when they arrive. Mr Brundage expects to get off to-morrow. If convenient, I shall be pleased to receive a note from you, after the arrival of the boxes, also, any suggestions which will enable me to add anything to the comfort of Alabama troops, at the Ringgold Hospital. Very Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't. (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 19th 1863. Mess. Jno Fraser & Co. Charleston, S. C. Gent: The consignment of cotton & wool-cards has arrived safely, & is now being distributed, greatly to the joy of many poor families of our Soldiers. [silcrow] I enclose you a report of our Secretary of State, as only cumulative evidence of the misrepresentations & frauds, by which the Yankees have grown rich. I hope you will be able to get all the balance of the order, in cotton-cards - No 10, & that I may have the pleasure at an early day, to hear of their arrival in the city, For your courtesy & kindness, please accept my thanks. Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't. (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0349
Needs Review

page_0349

348 Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 20th 1863. Hon. James A. Seddon, Secretary of War, Richmond, Va. Sir; I beg to hand you the enclosed affidavit, by Mr John McNab, President of the Eastern Bank of Alabama, at Eufaula, Ala. Submited in support of an application for the exemption of Mr C. Rhodes - the seller of the Bank. The officers of this Bank are personally known to me; and the Eastern Bank is the only Bank in all East Alabama; & it has, liberally, aided the public Service. I know the importance of the exemption asked-for, in this case, and earnestly recommend that it be granted without delay, if consistent with the interests of the Country. I am confident that Mr Rhodes can render the Confederate Cause more benefit, in his present position, than if placed in the Army. Should you not have the power to order his exemption, I have to request that you will recommend the application to the President. Resp'y, Your ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter, Gov of Ala.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 21st. 1863. Mrs Charles J. Williams, My dear Madam; I referred your letter to the Adjutant, Genl. for his report upon the matters contained therein, & herewith hand you his communication in reply. I also enclose you copies of the Impressment Law - passed by the Legislature of Alabama, at their last Session, and of my instructions to impressment-Agents, and also, my "Circular letter to the Planters of Ala." [silcrow] I regret, very much that you sh'd have been inconvenienced, in the Mode stated by you; but we ought to try and bear, patiently, whatever burdens are thrown upon us, by the authorities who are charged with the responsiblity of the public defense, & who are laboring to accomplish that result. Exact - & even distribution of every burden is a matter of impossibility, & in a cause so sacred, & requiring such a large distribution of labor, & so many agents, much allowance should be made, when errors, & mistakes occur. The State-Authorities will do every thing practicable to correct them; and I assure you, it will afford me, in your case, a sincere pleasure to do any thing in my power, consistent with the public welfare, to protect your interests. With high regards, I am, very truly, y'r friend & ob't Ser't. (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 21st 1863. Gen D. C. Greene, Qr. Mr. Gen. Mobile Sir; In reply to your letter of the 17th inst, preferring complaint against Mr Dudson, State-Agent at the Salt-works, on the lower reservation, I have to say that he was appointed, on a recommendation, as to his efficiency. As, under the orders from this office, you are charged with the distribution of the Salt received by the State from the lessees of our Saline Waters, it is but proper to place the Agency at the Salt-works established for this purpose, under your Superintendence & control. You are, therefore, empowered, will all needful authority, to remove & appoint agents, with a view of securing prompt & efficient aid in carrying out the duties imposed upon you. [silcrow] In an interview recently had with Mr McGehee, State-Salt-Commissioner, he expressed the opinion that the duties of this agency were so limited that they could be performed for less compensation than the State has been paying. He will be in Mobile, in a few days, on his return to the Salt-works, & I desire you to confer with him on this subject. Resp'y, Y'rs (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Alabama, Executive Department; March 21st 1863. Montgomery Dr G. G. Griffin, Demopolis, Ala. Dear Sir; In reply to your letter of 16th inst. I have to say that, not being aware of any impressment of Slaves to work upon the Rail-Roads, I did not embrace any reference to that matter, in my letter of instructions to Impressment Agents. If hands were impressed by the Government to work upon the Rail-Roads, the labor being thus devoted to the public service, it wd be but fair to allow credit for the same, in making further requisitions, in aid of the pubdefenses, & you are, hereby authorized to present this letter to the imp^r^essment agents, in your Co. who will, I have no doubt, cheerfully correct any over-assessment, against you, for Slaves to work on our State Defenses. Respectfully, Y'r ob't Ser't (signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0350
Needs Review

page_0350

349 Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 21st, 1863 Col. Eli S. Shorter, Aid-de-Camp, Eufaula, Ala. Sir; You dispatched me, on the 4th inst. that a telegram had been received at Eufaula, from Gen. Buckner, countermanding the order for the ten teams, impressed in Barbour Co. which were then, on their way to Greenville, & which, under your dispatch, I had turned back, from Greenville, after their arrival there, on the 8th inst. I now wish you to forward to this office, a copy of Gen Buckner's order, so that I may place it on file for future reference. If the Teams were released on application of their owners, they would, in equity, not be entitled to compensation, but if the order was issued by Gen. Buckner, for other reasons, whatever compensation the State might pay them, should be refunded by the Engineer Department at Mobile. As the order for the discharge of these teams did not emanate from this office, & was not communicated, through me to the Impressment-Agents - otherwise, than to direct the return of the teams from Greenville, I wish to retain, in this office, the evidence of the fact. Resp'y Y'rs, (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter. [left margin] indd to here March 21st '63

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 21st, 1863. Capt. John A Winbourne, Sir; In entering-upon your duties, as assistant-QuarterMaster, & Agent for the State of Alabama, to procure transportation of Salt from the New-Iberia Salt-Mines to this State, you will proceed to Mobile, & confer with - & report to Gen Duff C. Green, Qr-Mr-Gen., who will give you such information & instructions, as will tend to facilitate the shipments you will have in charge. [silcrow] Gen. Green will also furnish you with such letters of credit as may be necessary for the payment of freights, purchase of barrels, & transportation to Vicksburg. [silcrow] You will make General Reports of your operations to this Department, from time-to-time. So that I may be kept advised of your movements, prospect of success, &c. [silcrow] You will advise Gen. Green of all purchases & shipments, and also of all receipts & expenditures of money, as often as he may direct, & in the manner he may point-out. [silcrow] Gen. Green will be directed to make selection of a business-house, at Vicksburg, to act as agents for the State, through which you will ship all Salt, & who will arrange financial matters in the West, for the purpose of your Agency. [silcrow] Before making any arrangements to receive Salt from the Contractors at the mine, you will ascertain whether you can procure barrels, upon fair terms, & at suitable times, and make your arrangements to receive Salt from them accordingly. If you cannot procure barrels, or other means by & in which to transport, you will leave the entire matter of transportation in the hands of the Contractors, on their own account. [silcrow] In case you can procure the means of Transportation, you will exercise a sound discretion as to time & conveyances, and must act upon your judgement, in many cases, as to the amount to be paid, & the means of transportation to be used, giving preference to that which promises most for certainty & oeconomy. In this matter, you may obtain valuable assistance from Gen. or Col. Bradford, who have had much experience in such matters. [silcrow] Unless you can have some certainty of procuring transportation to Vicksburg, you will not make any demand for Salt from the Contractors. Report prospects, immediately, on arrival at New-Iberia. Y'rs Resp'y, (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 23d 1863. Lieut. J. J. Fitzpatrick, Provôst-Marshall, Jackson, Miss. Sir; I am in receipt of your letter, of the 15th inst. advising the shipment of 12 Boxes of material for the manufacture of Cotton Cards, which were duly received by Express. Mr Eliasburg, recommended by citizens of Selma, applied, sometime last Spring, for a passport to procure this material, & as the cards will enter into use within the State, I have deemed it but just to him, to release them to him, upon payment of the charges. Please accept my thanks for your Courtesy. Very Resp'y, Y'rs. (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0351
Needs Review

page_0351

350 Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 23d 1863 Maj. Gen. S. B. Buckner, Comm'g &C. Mobile. Sir; I respectfully enclose to you, a letter rec'd from Mr Dennis E. Hart, of Covington Co. mailed at Brooklyn, Ala. complaining of injury to his Stock, committed by troops from Pollard. [silcrow] I know it is not your intention, nor desire to permit irregular seizures, or wanton injury to property by any portion of the forces under your command, and have assured Mr Hart, that you will afford redress for such injury, as he may have suffered. Very Resp'y (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 23d 1863. P. Hamilton, Chariman, Ex. Comm. Mobile. Sir; Yours, of 21st inst. advising of the embarrassment of the Engineer-Department, at Mobile, for want of funds, & proposing further advances to it by the state, is rec'd. I regret that the condition of the State -Treasury will not justify a further advance of $. 100.000 at this time. The taxes are coming-in very slowly, & the Treasury-note change-bills are so small in amount, tho' numerous, & the weekly deliveries of notes so limited in quantity of dollars, that the Treasurer reports it inconvenient to spare the above amount from the daily demand upon the Treasury. The large appropriations for the benefit of indigent families, & temporary loans made the State which have to be provided-for, interfere with large advances to the Engineer Dep't. We have ordered two & a half millions of change-bills to be printed, but it will require many months to get them ready. Up to this time we have not received over $. 230.000. You will remember that the State, in issuing those bills, was actuated by the purpose to save interest, as well as to furnish a local change currence. With every disposition to aid the Confederate Authorities, in pushingon the defensive works at Mobile, you will see that continued advances of large sums are not within the ability of the State-Treasury at this time. I have persuaded the Treasurer, however, to make a further advance ot the Executive Committee of $50.000. which I herewith transmit to you, to be handed to the Treasurer of the Committee. Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 23d 1863. Gen. Braxton Bragg, Commg &C. Tullahoma, Tenn. Mrs M. D. Montgomery of this city, is now under circumstances of peculiar affliction & distress; her husband being at the point of death with Consumption, & there being no prospect of his living for more than a few days. She has no male relative near her, and her brother, Mr Joseph B. Goode, is a private in Capt. H. C. Semple's Artillery, Brigade of Gen. S. A. M. Wood, under your command. [silcrow] To have his presence in this Season of trial & affliction, as well as his counsel & advice, she desires that you would approve his furlough, for twenty days, &, under the circumstances, if it can be consistent with the requirements & necessities of the Service, I would, respectfully, request, that her application may be granted. Very resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 23d 1863 Gen. Duff C. Green. Quarter-Master Gen. Mobile, Sir; The bearer, Capt. Jno A. Winbourne, has been appointed A. Qr. Mr. of the State, & ordered to proceed to the New-Iberia mines, to procure transportation, and forward Salt, from the Contracts there, to Vicksburg. [silcrow] He has been instructed not to demand nor receive any Salt, unless he can, with certainty, procure barrels, for packing, & transportation to Vicksburg. If the river remains under the control of the enemy's gun-boats, of course, nothing can be done. [silcrow] But if he should be able to succeed he will require funds for the purchase or manufacture of barrels, & the prepayment of freight to Vicksburg, & you will furnish him with letters of credit upon some house there, or procure such letters from one of your Banks, in his favor, as may be sufficient for the accomplishment of his business. I will be necessary, also, to secure some house, as Agent for the State, to receive & forward Salt from Vicksburg; and you will make arrangements accordingly, & give them assurances that the State will promptly meet & repay all liabilities & advances. You may recommend Capt. Winbourne as fully reliable. He will exhibit to you his instructions, by which you will learn the full object of his appointment, and be able to give him full instructions, as to his reports to be made to you.

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0353
Needs Review

page_0353

352 Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 23th 1863. P. Hamilton, Esqr: Ch'n Exe Comm Mobile. Sir; I am in receipt of your letter of 22d inst. enclosing Memorandum, by Impressment Agents, for Mobile County. The difficulties, & inconvenience alluded-to, are duly appreciated, but the Census of 1860 shows that Mobile had a Slave population near 7000. The aggregate calls made by Gen. Buckner - (not counting previous requisitions) for Slave-laborers at Mobile, and on the rivers, amount to 7000. To meet them, it was, obviously, my duty to distribute the the burden over a large area of the State; & from Calhoun Co. on the East, to Pickens on the West. I have divided the assessments among the Slave-holding counties to the Gulf. There is not a County from which complaints have not been made, in one shape or other, &, in many instances, it has been said, that Mobile & the River-Counties should do all the work. The heavy burden now laid upon the planting Counties, is severely felt, & while I do not allow selfish - & narrow-minded complaints to affect my action, yet it is, mainfestly, proper, that Mobile Co. which is so immediately & directly interested, shd contribute her full share towards the construction of her own defensive works.

Under this view of the case, I must leave the matter with the Impressment Agents, in good faith, to execute the order in Mobile Co.; and, if impracticable to do so, to report, officially, the facts to this Department. I cannot, with justice, or propriety, determine otherwise. Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 26th 1863. Messr J. T. Patterson, & Co. Augusta, Geo. Gentn Upon consultation with the Treasurer, & Comptroller of the State of Alabama, I have concluded to order an additional issue of change-bills, to the amount of $. 1.000.000. You will please furnish them, in the following proportion: to wit; of $1.- bills = $500.000 of .50 cent bills = $. 300.000 of .25 cent bills = $ 200.000 = $. 1.000.000. I hope that, being thus early notified, you may be able to make such early arrangements, as shall secure the handsome execution - & prompt delivery of the notes, according to contract. Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 26th 1863. Hon. James A. Seddon, Secy of War, Richmond,. Sir; I respectfully, refer to your consideration, the enclosed communication from Hon. Dillon Jordan, in reference to destitute families, sent, by Military order, from Pensacola, to this City. The letter of Judge Jordan fully explains the circumstances of the removal, & I need say nothing on that head. But their situation deprived of the means of support, in a city, whose benevolence is taxed heavily for the maintenance of its own unfortunates; at a time of unexampled high prices for all the necessaries of life; & with a scarcity of work, at unremunerative prices; is truly deplorable; &, as they were removed by Military authority, under assurances that they would be provided will fuel, quarters, & subsistence, I would, most respectfully, urge that you would give such instructions & orders, as will preserve them from want, & redeem what, they consider, a pledge of the Government. [manicule] See page 353. Very Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't. (signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 26th 1863. Wm. K. Huse, Esqr Agent of Bath Paper Mills, Augusta, Geo,. Sir; From the clipping of the State-change Bills, a considerable quantity of paper-strips has been collected, for which parties, in this city, are desirous of Contracting. [silcrow] As the paper for our bills has been manufactured by you, & the clippings may be more valuable to you than to others, I am inclined to give you the preference, if you desire to purchase; if so, you will please make an offer, giving directions for shipments, &C. Very Resp'y, Y'rs (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0354
Needs Review

page_0354

353. Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 26th 1863. Hon. James A. Seddon, Secretary of War, Richmond, Va. Sir; I have the honor to enclose copies of Telegraphic Correspondence, & receipts, the originals of which are on file in this Department. [silcrow] No part of the twenty-five thousand dollars advances, by the State, has been repaid, but I learn from Col. Jno T. Morgan, that the Quarter-Master & Commissary of his Regiment have accounted-for the amounts - as shewn by their respective receipts to the heads of the proper bureaus at Richmond. [silcrow] At the time of the advance, the Regiment was known, as the 1st Reg't Ala Partizans, but more recently, I believe, as the 51st Ala. Cavalry. [silcrow] You are respectfully requested to take such measures as may be necessary, to secure the State the repayment of the sum advanced, at an early day. Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't. (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

2 Copies of letters, referred-to in letter to Mr Seddon, on page 352 Confederate States of America, Qr-Mr's Dep't. Montgomery, Ala. March 16th 1863 Hon. Dillon Jordan, Montgomery, Ala. Sir; In reply to yours, of this date, I have to state that immediately preceding the evacuation of Pensacola by our forces, Brig. Gen. Thos M. Jones sent a number of women & children, who had been made destitute, to this place, requesting Maj. J. S. Calhoun to provide shelter, fuel, & subsistence for them, stating, at the same time, that he had applied to the proper authorities, and that an order would be, speedily, issued, recognizing this proceeding. [silcrow] Maj. Calhoun made the necesssary provisions to the extent of his ability. The order, however referred-to by Gen. Jones, was not issued, rations of fuel have, since, been stopped. Very Resp'y H. Kenneworth, Capt. & A. Q. M.

Montgomery, Ala. March 28th, 1863. His Excellency, Jno Gill Shorter, Govr of Alabama. My Dear Sir, A short time previous to the evacuation of Pensacola & Milton, & while the same was anticipated, many of our patriotic citizens, who were in very limited circumstances, and whose families were supported by their daily labor, joined our army as volunteers, under an assurance that their families would be provided-for Upon the evacuation of Pensacola, Brig. Gen. Thos M. Jones sent the families of these volunteers to this City, with a request that these destitute families shd be provided with shelter, fuel, & subsistence, which request was complied-with by the Qr. Mr - here, Maj. J. S. Calhoun. About two months ago, suddenly & unexpectedly - these women & children were refused any further supply of fuel & subsistence, & were, of course, left in a most helpless and deplorable condition. But for the immediate assistance rendered them by a few benevolent & charitable citizens, they would have suffered extremely, from cold and hunger. I, immediately addressed a letter to Maj. Gen. Buckner, stating the circumstances under which these women & children were sent to Montgomery, & asking him to issue an order to the Qr-Mr-to continue to furnish them with food & fuel, to which letter, I have not rec'd a reply. I, therefore, in behalf of these destitute women & children, whose husbands, fathers, brothers, & sons are fighting our battles, and whose humble homes have been destroyed by the Enemy, ask you to aid me, as far as you can, in obtaining an order from the Hon. Sec'y of War, to the proper authorities, to continue to furnish them with shelter, food, & fuel. In so doing, your charity will be exercised towards those who truly deserve it. I will, with pleasure, render any assistance in my power, in seeing that none shall partake of this aid, but such as are justly entitled to it. I have the honor to be, most resp'y Your ob't Sert. Dillon Jordan. P. S. Herewith, I send you a communication recd from Capt. H. Kenneworth, which is at your disposal. I have &C D. Jordan

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0355
Needs Review

page_0355

354 Executive Department. Montgomery, Ala. March 28th 1863. Mr. A. H. Jones, Prest Shelby Iron Co. Selma, Ala. Dear Sir; I forwarded the account for iron furnished Messr Dixon, Nelson, & Co. to Adairsville Georgia their place of business, & I herewith hand you their letter, to which I invite your attentia. If they state their Contract correctly, (and I presume they do, as they are gentlemen of the highest character) as to your undertaking to deliver the iron prior to November last, it would seem that the Company should charge them only ten cents per lb. Still, you observe that they say, "If the Co. could not carry-out their Contract with us, owing to Government Demands, then we think it was not their fault." And they submit to me to make the settlement for them, on this basis. Under these circumstances, I suggest that you forward, to this office, an affidavit, stating that the failure to deliver was occasioned by the pressing orders or commands of the Government. With the return of this affidavit and the account, I will draw a warrant on the Treasurer for its payment. And as all claims against the State are payable at the Treasury, it will be best for you to authorize, in writing, some person, in this city, to receipt to the treasurer, for the amount. You can appoint my private Secretary, Mr John B. Taylor, who can buy you a check on Selma, at 1/2 p/c premium. Respectfully, Y'r ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 28th 1863. Capt. Jno A. Averett, jr. Kinston, N. C. Sir; Your letter, of 21st inst. is before me, & in reply, I would state that I have had a local force organized in St. Clair County, for the protection desired by the men of your command, &, as your company is in the Confederate Service, it would be impossible to obtain orders for its removal to Alabama, even though detached. I think you need be under no apprehension, as as to future depredations upon the families of your Command. Very Resp'y, (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 28th 1863. Maj. Gen. S. B. Buckner, Mobile. Sir; I am in rect of a letter from P. Hamilton, Esqr chairman of the Executive Comm. of the Comm: of Safety for Mobile, in which he says, that "no less than six of our River - or Bay - Steam boats are, at this moment, fitting-out to run the blockade, & carry Cotton to Cuba," & he, officially, advised me, that "the Committee are deeply inpressed with the Conviction, that it would be unwise & dangerous to permit these Vessels to go out." [silcrow] The Committee of Safety are of opinion that we have no greater number of Steam-boats in our waters, than are - or may be needed for general & Special transportation; & if parties are allowed to withdraw from their present Service, & engage them in running the blockade, there is great danger that more or less of them will be lost or captured. In this opinion I fully concur, & take this occasion to enter my official protest against the policy of permitting the limited number of Steamboats, in our possession, to be reduced for this purpose. [silcrow] The propriety of exporting Cotton, & the conditions on which it should be tolerated or encouraged, are questions for the decision of the Confederate Authorities; and, I presume their views have been fully communicated to the Military Commanders, at our Seaports. These questions - affecting, as they do, the general interests of the whole Country, may be, properly, left to the control of the Confederate Authorities at Richmond. We may, also, safely, leave with them, the various questions of the blockade; but the particular grievance, herein bro't to your attention, is local in its character, &, immediately, concerns the interests of your Command, & of the State of Alabama. I hope, therefore, you will pardon me for invoking the Military power, under your control, to prevent the departure of these Steam-boats from Mobile, at least until the propriety of the Act can be examined-into, & decided upon, by the War-Department, at Richmond. Respectfully, Your obedient Servant (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter, Govr of Alabama

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0356
Needs Review

page_0356

351 Executive Departments Montgomery, Ala. March 30th 1863 P. Hamilton Esqr. Chairman Exe. Comm. Mobile Dear Sir; I duly recd. your official communication of the 25th inst. in relation to the Conversion of our Bay & River-Steamboats into Blockade-runners, for which I am obliged. I wrote immediately to the Sec. of War, & Maj. Gen. Buckner, on the Subject, & enclose you (copies of the) letters; and I hope the parties may be stopped. Resp'y. Yr. Obt. Ser't. (Signed) Mr Gill Shorter Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. March 28th, 1863 How James A Seddon, Secr. of War, Rich'd. Sir: I herewith hand you copy of a letter, written by the direction of the Executive Comm. of Safety, of Mobile, to me, in relation to the conversion of our Bay & River-Steamboats for running the blockade to Cuba. I also enclose copy of a letter addressed, by me this day, to Maj. Gen. S.B. Buckner, to both of which, I beg to call your early. attention. I will not enlarge upon the subject, it is one of importance, & the letter of P. Hamilton, Esqr. presents the objections to the policy, in an unanswerable view Hoping to hear from you soon, I have the honor to be, Resp'y. Yr. Obt. Ser't. (Signed) Jno. Gill Shorter, Govr. of Ala. Executive Department Montgomery, Ala. March 28th 1863 Mr R B Bullock, Superintendent of the So. Enp. Co. Augusta, Geo. Dear Sir: Before contracting with your Co. for the transportation of the Treasury notes for the State of Alabama, &, in reply to the question I submitted, as to the charges of transportation, Mr Plant: the President of the Company, proposes to deliver 250,000 notes - weekly - for the Sum of $30. I accepted this proposition. The Co. was appraised of the denominations of the notes, & cannot, now, fairly contend that there was any misunderstanding What would be the size of the box or its weight were matters unknown to me, & they were not Stipulated - for, in the agreement. As it now required a box, a little larger than the one, with which the Company made half-a-dozan trips, & a little heavier - in order to hold 250,000 Notes, I am notified, by Mr F C. Whitehead, Treasurer of the Co. in a letter, under date of the 14th inst. that he is instructed by you to say "that owing to the increased size and weight of the box, the freight will be forty-five instead of thirty dollars." As the rate of freight was fixed by Contract, I do not admit your right to change it, nor the propriety of the notice in the form stated. If the charge of $30 had been predicted of any assumed standard of weight & measure, which induced the fixing of the charge at that figure, & then, were, afterwards changed by me, then it would be fair to allow increased compensation, in proportion to the increase in Size & weight, but no more. Upon the first point I have no evidence that the charge was thus fixed, but will consider it, if submitted to me; & if it be furnished, then, I am willing to increase the freight charge, in proportion to the increased Size & weight & of the box. The Co. cannot, in justice - or in fairness, ask more. I wrote you over a week ago, enclosing a copy of Mr Plant's letter, but have not heard from you in reply. I now address you again, for the reason that the agent of the Co., to-day, presented an account against the State, for the increased charge, which I declined to pay. Please let me hear from you. Repectfully, Y'rs (signed) JNo. Gill Shorter Executive (Department Montgomergy, Ala. March 28th 1863 Hon. J. P. Benjamin, Secy. of State, Richmond. Sir; I beg to hand you, enclosed, an Article, clipped from the "Register & Advertiser" of Mobile, issued the 27th inst. headed "the British Consulate". with no less mortification than Surprise, I read in this article, the announcement that James Magee removed from his office by the British Government. It is Stated, too, that the cause of his removal was, that he received from the agents of the State of Alabama, and from

Last edit 4 months ago by VickyR
Displaying pages 351 - 360 of 406 in total