Civil War and Reconstruction Governors of Alabama

Pages That Need Review

Shorter_correspondence_RSG00689_Q145250_Q145648

page_0368
Needs Review

page_0368

367 as well as the meaning & intention of Congress, apparent in the use of the word. And if in its interpretation, any doubt should arise, as to its true Signification in any given case, the doubt Should determine the Controversy in favor of the State Organization, which has the power, through its legislature, to relieve the difficulty, by an express declaration. For these reasons, I have deemed it my duty to notify you of my dissent from the decision made by Col Morgan, I have to ask, that you will direct a Suspension of the enrollment or the exemption of all Legislative, Judicial, & Executive Officers, in this State, who may not have been declared, by affirmative Legislation, liable, as such officers, to Military duty in the State of Alabama. Very Respy Yr obt sert (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter, Govr of Ala

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 9th, 1863 Col. S.B. Pickens, & Capts McNeely, H.W. Cox & Nicholson, Comm: 12th Ala. Vol. Regt Gentn. I have recd by the hands of Lieut. Macon, "the tattered banner" of your Regiment. So often flung "victorious to the breeze", the sight of which prompts Memories of noble deeds, & of the "gallant dead." [E]. Nobly have the sons of Alabama illustrated her character, & adorned her history, upon every field of renown; & gallantly have they borne their part in the struggle for their Country's independence. But the Scene of triumph is saddened by the memories of the slain - the notes of victory tempered with the wail of mourning. Your gift will ever speak of a Jones, a Gayle, & a Tucker, gallant, gifted, & lamented, yet honored & remembered. [E]. Your flag shall have its place, in the archives of the State: there by its Memories of the noble deeds of the gallant 12th, & its heroic dead, to inspire, to higher resolutions of virtue, present & future generations of Alabamians. With Sentiments of high regard, for you, individually, & admiration for the deeds of your Command, I am, Respy, Yr obt Sert [in margin - indd to here 10th April '63] (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter, Govr of Ala.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 23d, 1863 Hon. Judge of Probate, Washington Co. at St. Stephens, Sir: The Governor feels that it is his duty to make a requisition on Washington County for Sixty Slaves, to complete the fortifications at Mobile & directs me to request you to consult with the Sheriff and Clerk of the Circuit Court & Send him, if possible, by return Mail, the names of three gentlemen, to act as impressment agents, for your County, under the act of the last Session, a copy of which I enclose. [E]. The gentlemen selected should be firm, discreet, & just men; prompt in action; who will do their duty, without favour to any one. [E]. With the names, the Governor will thank you, to give him, also the Post Office of each. Very respy, Yr obt Sert Jas P Waddel, Secy to the Govr.

Executive Department Montomery, Ala. April 24th 1863 Maj. Gen. S.B. Buckner, Head-quarters, Mobile, Ala. Sir, This will be handed you by Mr Johnso - the Agent of the Slaveholders of Chambers Co. & duly authorised by them to take charge of the Slaves impressed from that Co. under your requisition of 24th Jany last, & return them to their owners. The Co. referred to was among the first to respond to that requisition, & the returns made to this Department Show, that but three of the Slaves were rejected. In the orders given for their impressment, the owners were assured by me that their Slaves would not be retained longer than Sixty days after their arrival in Mobile, & they were impressed for that term. Good faith, on my part, as well as the public interest so far as obtining Slave labor for the future, demand that the pledge, thus given, Should be faithfully maintained. [E]. The term for which they were impressed, will expire on the 27th inst. &, on that day, I have, respectfully, to request that you will have these Slaves discharged, & turned over to Mr Johnson. Very Respectfully Yr obt Sert (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0369
Needs Review

page_0369

368 Executive Department, Montgomery, Ala. April 25th 1863. Hon. Robert Ould, Commissioner of C. S. A. Richmond, Va, Sir, I beg leave to hand you, herewith, a copy of a letter, recd recently in this city, by Mrs Uleford[?], from her husband, who was, at its date - the 24th Jan'y last - confined in prison, in Washington. The letter explains the circumstances of his arrest. His family are becoming uneasy about his Safety, not having any further information from him. May I trouble you to note his case, & assist in procuring his release & return? Resp'y Y'r ob't Servant. (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 25th, 1863. Hon. John E. Moore, Tullahoma, Tenn. My dear Sir; I am in receipt of your letter, of the 20th inst. tendering your resignation, Judge of the 4th Judicial Circuit of the State of Alabama, in order that you may accept an appointment, tendered you by the President, as "Presiding Judge of one of the Military Courts" connected with the Army. [silcrow.] In accepting your resignation, I must express regret I feel, that the public necessity has, temporarily, withdrawn from the Service of the State, a Judicial officer, who was so highly esteemed for his integrity, & impartial administration. I sincerely trust that your health may be preserved, & that, in due time, you may return to your home, redeemed from the ruthless bands of robbers & plunderers, who are, now, seeking to desolate our State. Very truly, Yours, (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter. [left margin] indd to here ^Apr 25th^

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 27th, 1863. Messr McClung & Jaques. Saltville, Va. Gentlemen; A temporary absence from the Capitol has preented an earlier reply to your letter of the 15th inst. In view of the facts stated by you, the increase in the prices of wood, labor, &C. owing, in a great degree, to depreciation in our confederate currency, I admit the justice of your claim for an increase of price for the Salt being manufactured by you, for the State of Ala. & am sure that the good people of this State will not be averse from allowing you a just compensation for the delivery of a Commodity, so essential to them. [silcrow.] The Contract made with you last year, was, by me, reported to the Legislature of this State, at its last Session, &, by that body, was ratified & confirmed. I have not, therefore, the power to alter - or change that Contract; but the Act passed by the Legislature authorizes me to make other Contracts, &, by the terms of the Contract, made with you, I have the right to terminate it, at any time, after the delivery of 100.000 bushels of Salt. Of course, with your assent, I can terminate it before the delivery of that quantity - In order, therefore, to accommodate the matter, upon a just & fair basis, I propose that we terminate the old Contract, on the last day of March, 1863. The new Contract - commencing on the 1st day of April, 1863, & embracing the same provisions as the old-one, except the following modifications; to-wit: the price to be paid by the State of Alabama, shall be $. 2.50 per bushel, & the payment to be made in Confederate Treasury notes.

Awaiting your reply, I am, Y'r ob't Ser't Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 27th, 1863. R. B. Kyle, Esqr Salt-agent &C. Gadsden, Ala. Sir; I have the pleasure to acknowledge the receipt of your letter of 23d inst. & to approve the report, & the suggestions therein contained. [silcrow] In giving instructions to sell at cost & charges, it was not intended, when fractions of uneven numbers were the result, to confine agents so, that loss wd accrue to them or the State, but to approach the figures as closely as possible, and let the agent so use his discretion, as to fractions, as to save the State always - & fully. It is not the policy of the State to speculate upon the people nor can the people reasonably expect the State to be the loser, in its efforts to supply them with the absolute necessaries of life. I am pleased to see that you take a practical view of the Subject. Very Resp'y (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0370
Needs Review

page_0370

369 Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 28th, 1863. Col. P Hamilton A. D. C. Mobile. Sir, I have the pleasure to acknowledge rec't of your communication of the 22d inst. enclosing copies of correspondence, in relation to the shipment of Corn, from Mobile, through James Magie, Esq late British Counsul at Mobile; for all which I am duly obliged. Resp'y, Yr ob't) Ser't (signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department Montgomery Ala, April 28th 1863 P. Hamilton, Esq . Chn Exec'e Comm: Mobile. Sir, Your letter of the 25th inst. explaining the further embarrassments of the Engineer Department of the C. S. Army at Mobile, came safely to hand. I have to-day delivered to the Express Co. Fifty thousand Dollars to be forwarded to the treasurer of the Comm. of Safety - for Mobile, which, I hope may arrive in due season; and I will send forward an additional remittance, if desired, by the first of next week. Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't. (signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 28th, 1863. Genl D. C. Green, Qr-Mr-Gen. Mobile Sir; I returned to this city on Friday Evening last, after a fortnight's absence; which accounts for the delay in my reply to your several communications, of recent dates In yours of the 10th inst. you ask, "Do I not understand you to give me full power to use my discretion as to Sale?" I answer, Yes, and your suggestions as to Sales, are approved. You say, also, "I sincerely hope that Gen Goldthwait[e's] report was not to my prejudice." It gives me pleasure to disabuse your mind of any suspicions on that point. The fact is, Genl Goldthwaite made no official report, & the use of the word - "report" by me, in my previous letter, had reference to the conversation I had with him, on his return from Mobile, in which we discussed the question, as to the advantages of continuing or closing the Machine-Shops. This question, I had been revolving, in my own mind, for some time. Gen. Goldthwaite - as well as - I, was pleased at the style of the work, and the general arrangements & system adopted by you; but we concurred in opinion, that the expenses of the establishment were approaching a point, which wd hardly justify continued operation. And when I rec'd your letter, expressing a similar opinion, I was then satisfied that it was most expedient to close-up the Shops at once. Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't. (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 28th, 1863. To his Excellency, Thomas C. Reynolds, Governor of Missouri, Sir; I have the pleasure to report to you, that the Southern-Express-Company delivered, at this Capitol - to-day, three boxes marked "Missouri State-Papers." which I have, carefully stored in one of our fire-proof Vaults, in the State-House. They shall be duly preserved, according to your request, & delivered - only - upon the order of the Governor of Missouri. [silcrow.] The advices contained in your letter, as to the condition - & prospect of affairs in Arkansas & Missouri, are very gratifying. Accept the assurances that the people of Alabama deeply sympathize with their fellow-citizens in those States, and will not lay-down their arms, until the Southern Confederacy, in all its length & breadth, is acknowledged & respected by the United States, & the civilized World. With high considerations of regard, I am, resp'y, Your ob't Ser't, (signed) Jno Gill Shorter. Govr of Ala.

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0371
Needs Review

page_0371

370 Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 28th, 1863 Col. John T Morgan: Head-Quarters, Talladega, Ala. Dear Colonel: I returned a day-or-two since, to the Capitol, after a fortnight's absence at my old home, & find your letter, of the 18th inst. in relation to the enrollment of certain civil officers in this state, waiting my attention. While I do not agree with you fully, I am gratified to find that the difference in our construction is so slight, as to make little practical difference, in results. I will cheerfully acquiesce in the decision which may be made by the Secretary of War, as to the liability to conscription, of that clas of officers which you have named for his consideration. Respectfully, Your obt Sert (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter, Govr of Ala.

Executive Department: Montgomery, Ala. April 28th 1863 Col. John T. Morgan, Commt of Conscripts for Ala. Head-Quarters, Talladega. Sir: In reply to your communication of 13th inst. asking my interpretation of the act of 9th Decr 1862 passed by the Legislature of Ala. Amendatory of the Act of 5th of Feby 1856 "to secure subordination among Slaves, &C." I have to inform you, that a bill was introduced into the GenlAssembly, to repeal the Act of 5th Feby1856. It passed the Senate, I think, but, unfortunately, failed in the House, and the Act of the 9th Decr 1862, was adopted, in lieu of the repealing Act. There was a good deal of discuss ion - pending the bill, and a majority of the House was opposed to a repealing Clause. Hence it was that the Genl Assembly adopted the Act, in the Singular phraseology used - the substance & idea of which is, that there should be some state law as to police our plantations; that tho the law of Alabama required a white man on every place, where there were over Six hands, only the law should not be repealed by the GenlAssembly, but, in the event Congress Should, thereafter, in any respect, change the Exemption-law, passed by that body, such change should operate as an amendment of the State-law, by a substitution of twenty Hands in lieu of Six. In other words, on the adjournment of the Legislature, the Law stood as they found it - & stands so still - unless Congress has, in some respects - no matter what - altered, or changed that part of the Exemption Law, applicable to this matter. This form of Legislation is unprecedented; perhaps and the shape, in which the Act was adopted, leaves the Legislative intent in in some obscurity. The view I have presented, is the one which, I think, will strike a lawyer's mind. Seeking for an interpretation of the Act, by those rules which apply in construing Statutes. I regret that the Legislature did not repeal the Act of the 5th of Feby1856, & leave the case, just where the act of Congress had placed it - & subject, entirely, to the discretion of Congress, so that the operation of the law might be uniform. It is proper to add that there was a strong sentiment in favor of the repeal - not, of the State-law, only, but of the Act of Congress, also exempting Slave-holders, or white persons, on plantations, & it was strongly be lieved that Congress would repeal or modify its own action, on this subject, and this belief, in all probability, induced the concurrence in the Bill which our General Assembly adopted. [E]. I am aware that what I have written, will be of little advantage in guiding the Conscript Burea to a satisfactory conclusion; & that, perhaps, the Same views have occurred to you. With high personal regards, I am. Respy, Yr obt Sert (Signed) JnoGill Shorter

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 29th, 1863. Hon. J. B. Clark, Eutaw, Ala. My dear Sir; I have recd and read, with deep emotion, your letter of the 25th inst. tendering your resignation of the office of chancellor of the Middle Chancery Division of the State of Ala. The long - & valuable service rendered by you upon the Chancery Bench, where your learning, skill, impartial - & laborious administration, have indelibly impressed the Bar of the State, has linked your name with those honored Predecessors, whose fame shall forever live, in the memories, and hearts of Alabamians. §. In accepting your resignation, I desire, not only to express my profound regret at the loss, by the State, of an officer of tried integrity - & ability, but to assure you of the deep sympathy engendered in my own bosom, by the announcement of that severe dispensation which has occasioned your retirement to private life.

With the highest personal regard & esteem, I remain, most truly your friend, & ob't Ser't. (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter. Govr of Ala.

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
page_0372
Needs Review

page_0372

371 Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 29th, 1863. Dennis E. Hart. Esqr Brooklyn, Ala. Sir; At the time of the rec't of your letter, complaining of injury to your Stock by troops at Pollard, your letter was enclosed to Maj. Gen Buckner, commanding at Mobile, with a request that he should investigate the matter, & afford you redress.

I now enclose copies of my letter to the General, & of the correspondence, in reply. If you have had other cattle taken, than those referred-to, I have no doubt that Gen. Buckner will take pleasure in affording you full redress, upon your laying before him, a statement of the facts, with dates, & names of parties. [silcrow.] He is, in my opinion, an officer who desires to do all his duty, & who will not suffer a citizen to be unjured or oppressed by the troops under his command. Very Respectfully, (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter, Govr of Ala.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 29th, 1863. Arthur Beard, Col. & A. D. C. Hunstville, Ala. Sir; I enclose you copy of a letter from the Hon. Enoch Alldridge, in relation to illegal distillation in Blount Co. Like information has reached the Department from other quarters in N. Alabama. I enclose, also, copies of Military orders, upon the same subject, which are still in force, & unrevoked. It was hoped that the action of the last Legislature would have superseded the necessity for the Military order - (No 4) but I cannot pass, unheeded, the cries of the wives & children of our Soldiers - suffering for bread, while avarice is converting their food into poison to demoralize.

You will see, therefore, that the order is strictly enforced against all violators of the law, who have not the State's license. Messr Douglas, Donnegan, & Co. will furnish you a list of Licensed distillers, in their District. Very Respectfully, (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter, Govr & Com' in Chief.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 29th, 1863. Mr Wm. A. Morriss, Impressment Agent, Suggsville, Clarke Co. Dear Sir; The delay in the mails - & a temporary absence, have prevented an earlier reply to your letter of the 10th inst. I am obliged to you, for your full & accurate report. The knowledge of your efficiency, as an agent for the State, in carrying-out the plans to secure protection for the State, & anxious to have your further co-operation to this end, if it should be needed, induced me to direct the Adjutant-Gen. to write you that I declined to accept your resignation at this time. I did this - not because I would not relieve you if you insisted upon it, but because I hoped that, on reconsideration, you would consent to serve further, if occasion required it. I am now in hopes that there will be no further call upon your county, for labor on the fortifications. If I have cherished one hope - more than another, it has been that we might make our public defenses so impregnable, that the Enemy could not take Mobile - or ascend our rivers, to devastate the homes & property of our people. To all who have zealously sustained me, in this great work, I feel under deep obligations, and I am loth to part company with any of my associates, until we can all rejoice in the final consumation of our undertakings. This is what I meant by declining to accept the resignation of yourself and Mr Willis; and, I again beg you not to press it, yet awhile. [silcrow.] From what you say, in reference to the account & check sent you by Gen Goldthwaite, I fear you missapprehended - or misconstrued his meaning. I have invited him to read your letter, & he thinks there is a misapprehension. The Rules for verifying accounts before the auditor of the Treasury-Department, require, generally, that vouchers or receipts shall be filed, for sums paid-out or advanced; but when these are not preserved, the officer certifies the correctness of the account on honor, & it is ordered to be paid. Strickness, in these particulars, is required, in order to preserve our accounts in Such a shape, that the State may receive back, from the Confederate Government, after the War, all the expenditures made by the State, for military defense. There was no objection to your account, & the amount was intended to be sent you, expecting you to return the account with such vouchers or receipts as you had, and certified on honor, in the usual form as correct, to be filed in the Treasury. You will, therefore, with this explanation, please enclose the papers to me, & I will give them the proper direction. With many thanks to you & Mr Nichols, I am, Dear Sir, Very Respectfully, Your ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0373
Needs Review

page_0373

372 Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 29th, 1863. Hon. Enoch Alldridge, Brookville, Ala. Sir; I am in rec't of your letter of 13th inst. and, as the most satisfactory reply I could give, enclose you a copy of a letter to Col. Arthur Beard, my aid at Huntsville, who will, I doubt not, take efficient measures to suppress the illegal distillation of which you complain, & which is working so great evils to our people, & the great cause, in which we are engaged. [silcrow.] I trust that the incoming crop will prove abundant - & relieve the distress which you anticipate, if not, wholly, prevent it. Very Respectfully, (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Huntsville, Ala. Jan'y 24th, 1863 (Record deferred, to Apl 30) Hon. James A. Seddon, Sec'y of War. Sir; I have just been called-upon, by a Widowed Mother, who desires me to present her Son's case for your decision, under the Conscript-Law. This good lady has only two children, a son & a daughter. The son, John H. Russell, has resided with her, on the plantation, and superintended the negroes, as overseer of the plantation, for three years. On the 12th April, 1862, he was under 18 years of age. In June, 1862, he became 18, & while the enemy were in occupation of the Country. He has remained with his mother, in the capacity of overseer, ever since, & has been, for three years, & is now, the only white male adult on the plantation. The plantation is in Madison Co. & has forty or fifty Slaves upon it. I am informed that the enrolling officers, in this section of the State, have general directions which require the enrollment of all persons under 35 years of age, without regard to the exemptions enumerated in the Act of October last. Whatever decision the Department may have made upon that point, I respectfully submit that, from the facts of this case, young Russell's case cannot be considered without the decision; and, as the case is an exceptional one, I suggest that he be relieved. The only Brother he had, volunteered in the beginning of the War, into a Company of the 7th Regiment, Ala, and died in the Service. This boy is the only stay & support hope of his afflicted mother, & if you cannot, in harmony with your precedent orders, grant the relief asked, under the Conscript Law, I beg that you will recommend the application for the consideration of the President. I solemnly believe this youth should be allowed to remain with his mother, and the proximity of the enemy to this location, is strongly persuasive of such an order, & I sincerely hope it may be made.

Please reply, under address to me, at the Capitol, at Montgomery. Respect'y Y'r ob't Ser't. (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter. Govr of Ala.

Executive Department; Huntsville, Ala. Jany 24th, 1863 (Record deferred to Apl 30th) Col. Arthur C. Beard, Aid-de-Camp, Huntsville, Ala. Sir; In view of the proximity of the Enemy to N. Alabama, and the exposed condition of this Section of the State, I feel extreme solicitude & earnest desire to adopt all practicable measures, within the power of the Executive, to afford security & protection to the people & their property. Chief among these is the organization of Companies of "Home Guards," as recommended in my proclamation of 22d Dec. 1862. You will be expected to urge this recommendation upon all the Counties in this portion of the State, asd encourage the organization of Companies as rapidly as possible. As fast as organized, they must be reported, with their Muster-rolls, to the Adjutant Gen. At Montgomery The companies will be formed into Battalions - & a Regiment, if there be a sufficient number, & the field-officers will be appointed by the Executive. They will be held for the defense of N. Ala. exclusivily, & will not be ordered into active Service, unless the State be invaded by the Enemy, or unless they approach such positons, as make invasion probable. It is hoped & believed that the citizens of North-Ala, not in the Confederate Army, & who may be able to render Military service, will not refuse to organize themselves for the protection & defense of their own homes & property. If invasion should occur, & the force of the Enemy should be so great, that he cannot be driven-back, the State-Guards will be effective in keeping him in check, & confining him to his encampments, by cutting-off his Scouts, and capturing any small bodies of Troops which may be sent

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0374
Needs Review

page_0374

373 out to depredate upon the country. As the Aid-de-Camp of the Executive, in N. Ala. all Troops raised under my Proclamation, will be under your command, & subject to your orders - in the absence of orders from the Adjutant Genl at head quarters. Enlarged powers & discretion are vested in you, in order to make the Military organization, the most effective in any emergency which may happen, in which prompt communication with Head-Quarters may not be practicable.

In view of the possible contingency of active service, & as a necessary precaution, you are authorized to provide subsistence, and deposit the same at some convenient & safe position, from which it may be issued; and, also, when troops are ordered into service, to assist in procuring, at the expense of the State, the needful Quarter-Master Stores, & transportation. You are, also, authorized to purchase, whenever they can be had, arms & munitions of war, & to impress the same, or provisions - or means of transportation, if it should be necessary to do so. You are, also, empowered to impress Slaves - teams, & tools, for the construction of Rifle-pits - or other defensive works, & lumber or timber, as occasion may require, & to seize Ferry-boats, & control, by Military Order, the crossings & ferries on the Tennessee River, with a view to the better protection & safety of the Country; and, generally, to exercise a wide discretion in the organization of Troops, providing for their subsistence when called into active service, and so distributing them & posting them, as, most effectually to promote the objects contemplated; reporting your operations to Gen. H. P. Watson, Adjutant - & Inspector Gen. of Alabama, at Head-Quarters, at Montgomery - Resp'y Y'r Ob't Ser't. (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter, Govr of Ala.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 30th, 1863. Mr W. H. Felts, Gainestown, Ala. Sir; Your letter of the 18th inst, was, this day, rec'd & the Governor asks me to answer it & directs me to say, that the negroes will be paid-for, from the day they left home, under orders of the impressing agents. If not paid by the Engineer department, it will be done by the State. Time lost by wet days - sickness - running-away, - & Sunday, will not be paid for. The owner loses this time, when he has his negroes at home, and has them to feed. The Govr pays a large price, and feeds the negroes, when unable to work, & on Sunday If a negro runs-away, the Governor pays the expenses of apprehending him, & returning him to the public works. All your questions are answered. Very resp'y, (signed) A. B. Moores, A. D. C.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 30th, 1863. Hon. James A. Seddon, Secretary of War. Richmond. Sir; I beg, respectfully, to refer to your consideration, for favorable action, the suggestion of the Convention recently held at Augusta, Geo. by request of Col Wadley, to expedite the movement of Salt, from the works in Virginia, by furnishing, to the East-Tenn. & Virginia R. Road, iron, for four miles of Track, to supply those works with wood.

The great advantage secured, thereby, in relieving the trains of the Road, would point-out the measure, as not one of mere convenience, but of great oeconomy in trans;ortation and wear of stock.

Any measure which promises such advantages to the people of this State commends itself to my favorable regard; and, in view of their great want, & insufficient supply, & the embarrassments attending the Salt-operations of the past year, arising from deficient transportation you will pardon me for urging this subject upon your attention.

I enclose Col.Pollards' report to me upon the subject, to which I beg to refer you. Very Respectfully, (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter - Govr of Ala.

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0375
Needs Review

page_0375

374 Executive Department. (Record deferred till May 1st) Decatur, Ala. Jany 26th, 1863 Capt. Nelson Fennel, of Lawrence Co. Ala. Sir; I hand you, herewith, a copy of my Proclamation of the 22d Decr last, recommending the organization of Companies to constitute a "State-Guard", for Home protection & defense. It is my earnest desire that you raise such a Company for immediate service, for four months - unless sooner discharged. I desire, also, to invoke your influence & efforts to organize other companies, so as to form a battalion, should the public emergencies demand it. [silcrow.] You are authorized, in view of the Service anticipated, to purchase Commissary Supplies, & make deposit of the same, at some safe Depôt, from which they may be issued - or drawn, by the State Troops, while in service. I recommend that this precautionary measure be, forthwith, adopted, in order to supply subsistence sufficient for, at least, two hundred & fifty - or three hundred troops for four months' service. Col. Arthur C. Beard, of Marshall County, has been appointed Aid-de-Camp to the Governor - vice, Col. Wm M. Lowe, resigned - with the rank of Colonel of Cavalry, and all orders - emanating from him, in such capacity - you will observe & obey. Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter, Govr of Ala.

Executive Department; (Record omitted till May 1st.) Decatur, Ala: Jany 26th 1863. Col. P. D. Roddy, Head-quarters, Tuscumbia Alabama. Sir, I have been informed by Capt. Fennell, recently, in command of a Company of Rangers, in the service of the State of Alabama, that Capt. Davis, of your command, seized a quantity of arms and ammunition, in possession of Mr John Peck, which were the property of the State, & which had been issued to Capt. Fennell's command. Anxious to co-operate with you in the patriotic defense of the Country, I might not have been displeased to demand the return of these arms - & munitions of war, although the seizure of them by Capt. Davis was unauthorized, & should not have been made, without the assent of Capt. Fennell, or myself. But the public safety has induced me to call for the organization of additional Militiary Companies, for local defense, in N. Ala., & the State will need, immediately, the arms & ammunition, seized by Capt. Davis. I have, therefore, respectfully to request, that you direct their their return to Capt. Fennell, as my authorized agent, to receive them. Your ob't Ser't, (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter, Govr of Ala.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. May 1st, 1863. Thos K. Jones, Esqr Selma. Sir; I have the pleasure to acknowledge rec't of your letter of yesterday. The hands engaged in the Government Shops, at Selma, are subject to the orders of Confederate offices, only, and cannot be organized from this department. The propriety, however of your suggestion is so manifest, that I have, today, written Maj Gen. Buckner, at Mobile, urging the organization, & arming the men, so they may ready for any emergency, which may occur. I beg leave to enclose you a copy of an official Proclamation, issued, by me, on the 22d Decr. last, urging the formation of Volunteer Companies of State-guards, for local - & State defense. You will observe that the company officers are to be elected by the men - &, if deemed advisable, to form the Companies into Battalions or Regiments: The Commanding officers will be appointed by the Governor. I cannot grant you a commission, in advance of such organization, but if the Companies are raised, & a Battalion formed, I will duly consider your claims to an appointment. In this connection, it is proper to remark, that the recommendations & wishes of the Company-officers & men should be consulted, in the appointment of Staff-officers. [silcrow] I have just written Hon. W. M. Smith, in relation to this subject, & refer you to him, for further information & advice. Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. May 1st, 186 Hon. W. M. Smith,. Ch'n Selma. Sir, I am, to-day, in rec't of your letter of yesterday, upon the subject of the Yankee Raids, in Miss. & suggesting the exposure of our own State to

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0376
Needs Review

page_0376

375 similar depredations, & the necessity of preparation for such an emergency. This subject has not escaped my attention. Soon after the adjournment of the Legislature, in December last, & on the 22d of that month, I issued a proclamation to the people of Alabama, urging them, as the Legislature had omitted to reorganize the Militia of the State, or provide for any other organization, to form Volunteer companies of State-Guards, for local & State-Defense. Several companies have been organized, under this proclamation - & one in this City. In other portions of the State, the sense of security against invasion has, doubtless, indisposed the people to form companies. The recent exhibition of boldness, on part of the enemy should, however stimulate our people to action, as, from the necessity of the case, if raids should be undertaken by them, into the Middle of the State, there is no means of meeting - or repelling them, except local organizations of our own citizens - armed & ready for the emergency. It is impossible for the State-authorities to control the disposition of forces in the Confederate Service. All those forces, in the Northern Department of the State, are under the command of Gen. Bragg, & are now employed, with good effect, in the Tennesse Valley. At Mobile, the number has been so reduced, that none could be spared from that point. I shall visit that city, however, in a few days, & confer, fully, with Gen Buckner, on this matter. The Brigade, now being raised by Genl Clanton, The Secretary of War has promised, shall be retained for State defense. We are pushing forward its organization, & it will consist of Infantry - Cavalry - & Artillery. So soon as completed, I hope the war-department will allow such a disposition of these troops, as will, effectually, protect the State, when aided by the Volunteer Companies of State-Gaurds, which, I hope, may be raised now, without delay, throughout the State I enclose you a copy of my proclamation of the 22d Decr last, & hope you will submit it, with this letter, to the Committee of which you are chairman. [silcrow.] I am pleased to learn this morning, that the citizens of Montgomery are moving for the organization of two or more Companies of Cavalry, in this vicinity; & I recommend that the citizens of Dallas proceed to raise similar companies; & I beg the co-operation of yourself, and the Committee you represent, in aid of the movement - which, I trust, may be, at once, inaugurated. Resp'y Y'r ob't Ser't. (signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. May 1st, 1863. Hon Rob't Jemison Esqr, Tuscaloosa. Sir; The recent bold raids of the Enemy in Miss. have only the more deeply impressed my mind with the necessity of local organizations for defense. There is a movement on foot, in this City, to raise Companies of State-Guards, under my Proclamation of 22d Decr. last, a copy of which, I, herewith enclose, which promises good results. I have recommended the Citizens of Selma, by especial letter, to do the same; and I would advise similar organizations, at Tuscaloosa, & in the adjacent counties. If no attack, in that quarter should be made, the fact of organization will tend to give confidence & sense of security. We have but few available arms, but can supply ammunition. Several companies have been recently formed, in North Alabama, & I have shipped some arms up there. I hope our people, as they have, generally, retained their best guns, will be able to arm themselves. I deem this subject one of deep importance, & hope to have your co-operation & assistance, as heretofore, so heartily given, in aid aid of these organizations. Truly Yours. (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. May 1st, 1863. Maj. Gen. S. B. Buckner, Commg dep't Mobile. Sir; The recent raids of the Enemy in Miss, seem to have awakened our citizens to a sense of their insecurity against bold & dashing enterprizes, & to the necessity of organizations for home defense. Among others, I have rec'd communications from Selma, apprizing me of the formation of companies there, & suggesting, that, as there are some 200 hands there, employed upon Government works, who, if organized - & armed would add, materially, to the power of successful resistance, & be an impelling motive to repel raids, that it would be advisable that they be formed into Military organization and armed. [silcrow.] If this suggestion meet your approval, I trust you will give immediate orders to put it into Execution. Very Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't Jno Gill Shorter.

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
page_0377
Needs Review

page_0377

376 Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. May 1st, 1863. Hon. James A. Seddon, Sec'y of War, Richmond. Sir; I have rec'd notice from the Adjutant, & Inspector General's office, under date of 18th Ult. as follows. Extract; "Special orders, No. 92, XXI. The following named persons have been appointed appraisers under the Impressment Act. Alabama: R. C. Fariss. By command of the Secretary of War. (Signed) Jno Withers, Ass't Adjutant Genl"

Though the Act provides for the appointment of a Commissioner, upon the part of the State, "upon the request of the President," I have considered this notice as official, and equivalent to such request, and have appointed Hon. Wylie W. Mason, Of Tuskegee, Macon Co. Commissioner on the part of the State of Alabama, under said Act. Very Resp'y, Y'r ob't Ser't. (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter. Govr of Ala.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. April 30th, 1863. Gen. Duff C. Green, Qr-Mr-Gen. of Ala. at Mobile. Sir; In view of the fact that all the profits, derived from the sales of State liquors, are to constitute a fund for the benefit of the indigent families of Soldiers, &, also, that the prices, at which they are sold, are far below the current rates of selling, you will sell all Whiskey at the price of ten Dollars per gallon, and Alcohol at Fifteen dollars. [silcrow.] The amount used by each individual consumer, for Medicine, is so small, that these prices cannot affect them injuriously; and the inconvenience can be borne easily, in view of the object to be obtained. Very Resp'y, (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. May 1st, 1863. Col. W. J. Greene, Comptroller of Public accounts, Montgomery, Ala. Sir; Whereas, by the third Section of an act - approved. February 24th, 1860, entitled, "an Act to re-invest a portion of the two-per-cent Fund," the portion of the two per-cent-fund-loans to the Alabama & Mississippi Rivers' Rail-Road Company, under the acts approved, 9th February, 1852, and 8th February, 1858, amounting to the sum of one hundred & twenty three thousand, one hundred and seventy eight dollars, & seventy four cents, was given, as a donation to said Company, provided, said Company should complete their Said Road to some point on the N. W. & S. W. Rail-Road, or to Meridian, in the State of Mississippi by - or before the first day of January, 1864, and the Governor was authorized & directed to cancel - & deliver-up any, & all obligations, which may have been given therfor.

And, whereas, G. G. Griffin, President of Said Road, has filed the affidavit of himself & Martin A. Lyon, that said road has been completed, as required in Said Act; You are hereby, authorized - & required to cancel - & deliver-up said obligations of Said Company (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter. Govr of Alabama.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Ala. May 1st, 1863. Frederick Ross, Esqr Chulifinnee, Ala. Sir; Your letter, in relation to the impressment of your Bacon & Corn, & requesting my official interference, is at hand,

The State has no agents in your County - authorized to impress provisions, whom Executive Orders could reach; and, I presume, the impressment spoken-of, was made by Confederate officers, over whom I have no control

But I feel satisfied that, upon showing them this letter, and evidence of the disposition you are making of your provisions, as stated in your letter, they will respect the necessities of your neighbours, and abstain from interference with the benevolent plans adopted for their relief. Very Respectfully (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter; Govr of Ala.

Last edit 4 months ago by carolfink
Displaying pages 371 - 380 of 406 in total