Civil War and Reconstruction Governors of Alabama

Pages That Need Review

Shorter_correspondence_RSG00689_Q145250_Q145648

page_0055
Needs Review

page_0055

52 50 exercise would promote the public welfare. Furthermore - I beg to call your attention to the army Regulations of 1857 - re-adopted by the Confederate-States, Section 428 - page 58 - - - "when an intermediate commander is omitted, the officer, who gives the order shall inform him, and he who receives it shall report it to his immediate superior." In pursuance of this regulation, I notifed you that I had extended orders - directly - to Brig Genl Butler, and it was his duty to notify you of the orders received by Him; which duty - I am informed - upon enquiry of him, - he promptly discharged.

Repeating my assurance of no personal intention to invade your prerogatives - or to manifest - even - any discourtesy towards one whose character entitles him to the highest respect - I am dear Sir, Very Respectfully - Your ob't Ser't. (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter. P. S. Feb 14th. The above letter was written last night just before midnight. This morning I am in receipt of yours of yesterday. Further reply is unnecessary. (Signed) J. G. S.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Alabama. Febr 17th 1862 Hon. A. Benners, Greensboro' Ala. [check] My dear Sir, I have the pleasure of acknowledging the receipt of yours of the 12th, and which - fully appreciating the appreciating the patriotism which prompts the offer, I am forced - under existing circumstances, to decline availing myself of it.

Under the requisition - lately made, upon this State, by the President, I have issued a Proclamation (which you will have seen before this reaches you), for twelve Regiments, to serve for Three Years, or during the War; and, as experience has fully demonstrated, that men will not volunteer for the War, so-long-as there is, even, a possibility of getting in- for a shorter period - I think it would be unwise - at this time - to accept any troops - for State-service, on any Terms. Within the last few days - I have had tenders of several companies - upon conditions - about the same as contained in your letter - all of which I have declined, for the reason - that every Company which is recd on these Terms - only increases the difficulty of obtaining any for a longer Term. If one is accepted, others will expect to be accepted, on the same terms; and if refused, will probably, disband - under the Conviction that equal justice has not been meted-out.

The twelve War-Regiments have to be raised; and, if the call is not promptly responded-to, by Volunteers, other means must be resorted - to. I trust - however - the course - I have intimated will not be necessary. I am sure it will not be, if the proper exertions are used. The recent successes of the Enemy, in Tennessee & the Roanoke - the raids upon our own soil - the dangers impending over Mobile - and threatening our River-Counties, should the movement, there, be successful, have - I am gratified to say - at length, aroused our people from their apathy, & awakened them to the power & resources of the Floc[?]. In the present tone and temper of the public mind, if those who do not - and - perhaps - should not - volunteer themselves, will do their duty - and their whole duty, I believe - firmly - that I can have the twelve regiments in Camp - at a very early day; but it will require the exercise of all our energies. The next six months - perhaps - 90 days - may determine the question - whether we are to be slaves or freemen : and if our people will only realize that this is the issue which they have to meet, I have no fears Men, like yourself, however, must rouse them to the knowledge & consciousness of this Truth. I feel my dear Sir, that I have said more than enough - thanking you - & those whom you represent, for the tender they have made, & regretting that I cannot accept it, I remain, Very Truly, c (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
page_0056
Needs Review

page_0056

53 Executive Department Montgomery, Alabama, Feby 19th 1862 Maj. Gen. Braxton Bragg - Head-quarters, mobile

Sir, I enclose you, herein, a copy of a letter from the Secretary of War, of the 2nd inst. and a copy of my Proclamation-founded thereon, of the 12th inst. I have, to-day - prepared - for immediate publication - all over the State - General order-No2, requiring immediate enrollment of [1 word illegible] of the militia, with a view to enforce a draft - if it becomes necessary, to fill the requisition. The recent reverses, which have overtaken us, however, have vastly stimulated our people, and I have strong hopes of raising the Mehr Regiments, by Volunteer elistments, within a reasonable time. For Convenience - as well as to inspire Public Confidence, and enlist the united energies of our people - I have deemed it advisable to establish a number of Camps, in the different sections of our State, where the Companies will render rows, for drill and organization. These Camps will be at Huntsville, + Tuscumbia, in North-Alabama - on the Memphis + Charleston Rail-Road. At Tuscaloosa-Talladega. - Opelika + Loachapoga - on the Montgomery + West. Point, Rail-Road. At Selma, At Greenville, on the Alabama + Florida. R. R. - and a camp at mobile. So soon as the Companies begin to arrive in Camp, I will detail Cadets from the University of Alabama, to go to active drilling of the men - in squads + Companies - immediately.

I have written the Secretary of War for other and additional powers and for prompt provision of the bounty-money-clothing [1 word illegible] If I can give the people - my personal + official assurance, on these-(to us) minor matters-it will, materially, advance the organization. It is very important too that I should have authority to appoint my military Aids-and other Special Aids-as mustering Aids - to muster-in Companies - or men, at any of my encampments. There are a number of Gentlemen, travelling over the State, with written authority from the Secretary of War, to muster-in Companies or single men, + to have them subsisted + equipped by the Confederate States. Two or three such Camps are designated, with Battalions + Regiments in progress. I will use all my influence to encourage all enlistments + organizations for the war, but am surprised that the Secy of War did not confer - at least - as much authority on me, when he calls upon me to furnish 12 new Regiments. I presume, however, that these particulars did not occur to him. The Assistant Commissary + Quarter-master, here, require your order to furnish Transportation-Camp-Equipments- and subsistence for all the men mustered-in under my direction, in filling-up the late requisition. I should be pleased to have these officers so instructed, as not to embarrass any of my operations, but promptly to respond to my requisitions-made for the organization of Troops. With authority, in the first place, to order my Aidsdu-Camp - over the State - to muster-in Companies + men - if necessary, and to make requisitions for their transportation [1 word illegible]. I can move on smoothly, and - I believe - efficiently. I dispatched you to-day, and hope to have this authority before you receive this letter. As the Rail-Road with mobile is interrupted by the recent rains, and I can visit the city only by steamboat, I fear I cannot spare the time from the Capitol, which will be, now, required to make the trip. I desired - very much to Review Gen. Butler's Brigade of State militia, on the 22d mst. and if I shall be unable to reach mobile by that day - as I, now, fear will be the case, it will be a greater disappointment to me than to others - I suspect.

The recent heavy rains have much injured all our connecting lines - and the utmost energy will be requisite to repair them promptly. In the meantime - we are annoyed with rumors of disasters in Kentucky and Tennessee, which, I hope - + believe - will hone-out untrue Your Off Ser't (Signed) Gill Shorter

Last edit 3 months ago by Markpa
page_0057
Needs Review

page_0057

54 52 Executive Department; Montgomery, Alabama, Feby 19th 1862 Hon. J. P. Benjamin, Secy at War, Richd Va. Sir, I have the honor to enclose a communication from Capt. G. W. W. Davis, and hope that the Department will - if it can be done - without injury to the Service, attach the two Companies - referred - to Col. Frazer's Regiment. Very respectfully, Yr. Ob't ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery, Alabama, Febr 18th 1862 Mr. P. Hamilton, Mobile, Dear Sir, Your letter, of 15th inst. is recd & the Governor instructs me to say in reply, that 200 negro-men have been ordered to Blakely - and 200 to Mount Vernon - or near there - under the instructions of Maj Genl Bragg - this being the number called-for.

The Govr thinks the people of Mobile will, certainly, under the circumstances, furnish the laborers - needed, at the point you suggest, at once. If they have not done-so, by the time you receive this, telegraph him - & he will take the necessary steps to furnish them immediately. Can it be possible that the people of Mobile will hesitate to furnish the laborers necessary for the purpose designated - where they are - so immediately interested - and in such imminent danger of having their City destroyed? God will not help people that will not help themselves.

I repeat - that, if the laborers are not provided when you receive this - telegraph the Governor.

In regard to the Boats desired by Commodore Randolph, the Governor directs me to say, that he is informed, that the Secretary of the Navy has not responded to the call for guns to arm the Boats, and thinks there can be no use for boats - without guns.

As Commodore Randolph is the Confederate Naval Commander, at Mobile, & respo^n^sible for the defense of the place - so-far-as his department is concerned - the Governor is at a loss to see, why the Commodore - if boats are needed for the Confederate service - does not purchase or seize them, instead of calling upon the Executive of ^the^ State to do so. Very Respy (Signed) A. B. Moore, Aid-du Camp.

Executive Department, Montgomery, Alabama, January 1862. Col. J. W. Garrott. 20th Regt Ala. Volunteers [check] Dear Sir, I am instructed by Govr Shorter, to enclose to you duplicate Registers of the Arms - left by you with Capt. Wagner, ordnance officer of the C. S. A. with the valuation of the arms. These arms were delivered to Col. W. R. Pickett - ass't Qr. Mr by Capt. Wagner, at the request of the Govr, as authorised by you, in your letter of the 17th December last, and were valued by Mr Kreutner, an excellent Gun-smith. You will perceive that but few of the 59 rifles sold you, by Hobson & LaGrone, are valued as high as $15.-- the price you paid, & ask of the State. The Governor, however, authorises me to say, that he will pay you the $15- for each of said rifles, at their valuation, except those for which no pay expected. You will see, from the schedules sent you - that 90 of the Rifles are classed

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
page_0058
Needs Review

page_0058

53 55 too small to admit of rifling. of these there are 19 which belong to the lot of 59 new rifles. Gov- Shorter and I saw them counted. The Gov- finds much difficulty in getting the others bored-out. Mr Kreutner, who is engaged at the works has but a small establishment, and can bore & repair, only about 5 guns per week.

At this rate, if will take many months to bore & repair the 180 Rifles, reported to be fit for this operation. When I first proposed to you to take these guns & have them repaired, and I understood, that Mr Skates of Mobile was prepared to do the work ; but in this I was not correctly informed.

I then endeavoured to get Col. Pollard to fix-up machinery for boring guns, in his Rail-Road Shop - which he agreed to do - but afterwards, declined to do so - So that Mr Kreutner has the only establishment in the State at which the work can be done. The Governor is exceedingly anxious to have these guns put in order, as quickly as possible, not only to gratify your wishes - but for the benefit of the Service; and if he can find any place where he can have it rapidly done, he will, immediately, avail - himself of the opportunity. After what has been stated, the Govr instructs me to say, that if, upon this statement of facts - you prefer to withdraw your proposition, he would not object to your doing-so, and will be controlled by your wishes - in-regard to the matter. In other words, he will get the guns ready for service - as soon as possible - or let you withdraw your proposition as you may prefer it. Lieutenant Hobson mis-understood me, in regard to the rifles - or some of them - being placed in the hands of other soldiers. They were the same kind of rifles, purchased from a man, in Wetumpka, of which I spoke.

Please acknowledge the receipt of this letter, and the Registers of arms, and state your wishes in regard to the suggestion made by his Excellency. Direct to Gov- Shorter. Very truly - & Respectfully. (Signed) A. B. Moore, Aid du Camp c

Executive Department, Montgomery, Alabama. Feby 19th 1862. Col. W. M. Byrd, Dear Sir, Your letter of the 17th inst. has been recd. and the Governor instructs me to say - that his correspondence with the War-Department, in regard to receiving troops - for 12 months, is of such a character - as to convince him, that it would be useless to make the effort to get you the privilege of raising a Regiment, for 12 months - or for the War, upon the conditions suggested by you. The Sec- of War will not receive a Company - Battalion - or Regiment with conditions annexed. If he were to receive one Regiment, upon conditions it would open the door for every Reg't hereafter raised - to annex conditions. to the tender of services. He cannot discriminate - and grant privileges to one & deny them to others. Were he to do so - it would lead to inextricable difficulties - and greatly prejudice the public service. The War Department requires that all Companies - Battalions - & Regiments must be for the War - and unconditionably. The Govr would be-greatly greatly gratified to see you at the head of a Regiment, feeling confident that you would make a bold & gallant leader; but if your domestic matters render it improper to take a Regiment unconditionally, for the War - you should, certainly, not do so. The Govr knows that whether, in the field - or not, you will be untiring in your efforts to promote the interests of the Confederacy - and to sustain our gallant Army. The Govr instructs me to say - that should you be elected the Col. of a Regiment - he will- after it is organized, use his influence with the Secy of War, & Maj-Genl Bragg, to have it stationed in Alabama. I make you a similar promise for myself - Very Respy & Yr Obt Sert. (Signed) A. B. Moore A. D. C.

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
page_0059
Needs Review

page_0059

56 54 Executive Department; Montgomery, Alabama, Febr 20th 1862 Capt. T. B. Bethea, Montgomery. My dear Sir, I learned, a few days since, that the Company under your command, had been accepted by Maj-Genl Bragg, for the defense of Mobile - not for the War - but for such a term - only - as he might deem your services necessary. No one can appreciate - more highly than myself, the patriotic motives which have induced the tender, on the part of yourself - & the Gentlemen who are associated with you; but you will excuse me for saying that under existing circumstances, I believe you could render more efficient service, in another direction; and, also, that I am satisfied, for the reasons stated by me, in a letter to Hon. A. Benners - a copy of which I enclose - that the receiving of your Company would have an injurious - rather than a beneficial effect - just now, upon the 3 year enlistment ^under my proclamation, of the 12th instant.^

Entertaining these views - you will excuse my addressing and - respectfully - requesting you to withdraw your tender - for the present. Very Respy Yr. Ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department. Montgomery, Alabama. Febr 20th 1862 Messrs W. H. Horton, & others, Comm' Union Town, or Demopolis, Gentlemen, I have the pleasure to acknowledge your communication, calling my attention to the erection of batteries on the Tombigbee river - above the junction

Some days before the date of your letter, I had deemed it my duty, in anticipation of the possibility of a successful movement being made on Mobile, by the Enemy, to submit to Maj-Genl Bragg the propriety of meeting such a contingency, and protecting the Rivercounties, by the erection of batteries - and the placing of obstructions above that point. The question recd his full consideration, and he came to the conclusion - I believe - correctly - that the points - above Mobile, which were the most essential to secure, were Blakely & Fort Stoddard. Two hundred negro-fellows have been sent to each of these points, with provisions - and under competent overseers, to assist in the erection of the Defenses. From the information I have recd, I think it probable that the citizens of your County should be prepared to send - at the shortest notice - at least 200 able-bodied negro-slaves - with spades - shovels - axes. &c and provisions. as well as the right kind of men to take charge of them. These Slaves may not be needed, but it is best to have them ready, that no time shd be lost if their services are required. We have waited & dallied too long.

Our difficulty lies in the want of cannon - the heaviest sort of longrange - Cannon - to enable us to cope with the superior ordnance the Enemy have. We have got to concentrate all our strength at one or two points on the river; we must bind all our faggots to-gether. With our means - it would be folly to put two guns at this point - three at another &c. We have not got - and can't get the guns, to defend every point, with, and, therefore, cannot afford to dissipate our strength. I trust Marengo is sending-forth her Volunteers, under the recent requisition. There is not time to lose; a month's - or even, a week's delay may be fatal. Very Respy Yr obt Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
page_0060
Needs Review

page_0060

57 Executive Department Montgomery, Alabama, Feb 10th 1862. "To the officers, + privates, in the 3rd Alabama Regiment:"

I have the honour to address you in a brief - but candid discussion of the question-now being daily asked - "will the 3rd Alabama Regiment re-enlist?" All agree that, while there may be a few of your number who would be glad to do so, but cannot - it is the solemn duty of the remainder to stand by their arms. It is said - by some that, having been, so long held in position, near Norfolk, without an opportunity to engage the Enemy, you are disposed to re-Enlist only in view of being assigned to some other field, no ____ you may anticipate more active service; by others, that the ardent patriotism which induced you to spring into ranks - at the first call of your Country, has cooled-down, and many of you are willing to continue in service, upon condition-only-that; under some new organization, you are to obtain promotion by office; and still, by others, that you are indisposed to re-enlist until you shall have returned to your homes and rested-a-while; when you will-most probably- re-enter the Army.

I appeal to your-own manly hearts- and unbiased judgement, to answer, if I have not vindicated the 3rd Ala. Reg't by denying that either consideration could, upon calm consideration, control its action. I know the material of your organization too-well, to doubt for a moment, your response to such propositions. And I know the same spirit and purpose which impelled you to enter the Service, will induce you to continue in service, if your country calls you.

I can - and do sympathize with those accomplished soldiers - desiring - still to fight - "until the last armed foe expires," who well-deserve + pant-for higher position, where they can, more effectually, advance our glorious cause. But I admonish all such that they know-not the place where - nor the hour - when the Enemy may attack - nor need they rely upon the probability of entering the service again - if disbanded - under any more favorable circumstances. If they lay-down their arms, others will take them up. Over two thousand troops, in Alabama, now in Camps - and unarmed, will instantly + gladly seize them, and spring into the vacant ranks. We have far more men than arms, but the Salvation of the Country depends, not only upon the valor of our men, but the efficiency of the arms in their hands. Raw + untrained Volunteers may be overwhelmed, + driven in Confusion from the field, while our well-disciplined Troops, [1 word illegible] to the Camp - and familiar with the appliances of War, will stand - an impregnable wall, for the protection + defense of the Country. Our foes well understand this, and are speculating upon their chances for success, when the period of enlistment of our 12-months' troops shall have expired. One of the most influential newspapers, in the City of New-York - which has just fallen under my - Eye Says, "we hope that Gen McClellan will resist every attempt to precipitate events, before he is ready - and that the President - and his Cabinet will sustain him in his course - especially in view of the fact that, next month, The Period of enlistment, in the Southern Army, for one year, will have expired, and great numbers of the Rebels will refuse to enlist.

Great God! Can this be true? Will the brave men of Alabama fulfill this prediction of our foes? Should they retire from the field at the very hour, when the heaviest presence is made upon our lives - and when the darkest cloud is gathered for our destruction, + then, should disaster befall our Southern Sand by their abandonment of their post - they would lose - not only - the honours of past achievements but, in all human probability, meet the condemnation of the whole Country.

Having been the first Regiment from Alabama to fly to the defense of Virginia, you were promptly ordered to the most important + most dangerous post in that State; + gladly went - because you believed it to be the Post of honor + of danger. Though you have had no bloody

Last edit 4 days ago by Amelia H. Chase
page_0061
Needs Review

page_0061

58

The service which you have rendered the Country has been invaluable. Every day that Norfolk, with its untold treasures, has remained un-approached by the Enemy, had recorded a new victory to your arms. The material composing the 3rd Alabama Reg't the thorough training of the men - the known skill and gallantry of its officers - as well as its isolation from all other Alabama Reg'ts, have given it a distinct and proud position in the Provisional Army, a separate + [?] brilliant page in History. This is as well understood, I am assured, by the Enemy - as by our own People. And, now, when the Enemy is counting - upon our trained Volunteers within a brief period, and calculating that - them - he will be able to march - triumphantly - to our Capitol, and carry desolation to our homes - will the Gallant men of the 3rd Alabama Regiment by the first to lay-down their arms, + the proud banner entrusted to them by the glorious Women of Virginia, and turn their backs upon the Old Dominion - even within the sound of the mightiest guns of the Enemy? God forbid! No! Stand by your arms! Cluster to your loved standard - + illustrate Alabama by showing how her brave sons can suffer + die - if need be - to defend their Country. The glorious First Alabama retains its arms + its bright colors!

In a few more days, its vacant ranks will be crowded with impetuous men now rushing to Pensacola. Will not the intrepio 3rd head-off in Solid Column, + become a noble example to all other Alabama Reg'ts in old Virginia? May God inspire + steel your hearts for this high resolve!

Let not considerations of personal comfort - inglorious ease or petty ambition, mar your record, + seduce you from the field. Re-organize-! Wait not for a month - or a week - or a day! If you re-enlist now, you engage for two years - retrain your arms - your number - + your colors; and elect the officers to command you. If you suffer yourselves to be mustered out of service, wish to re-enlist after your return home, you must go-in anew, for three years - enter camps of reserves - and wait for armsorganization, + opportunity. Re-organize then, + the wings of the wind - which bears the joyful tidings homeward, shall carry back the benedictions of Alabama, to cheer your hearts, and [1 word illegible] your aims - for the great battles, which are yet to be fought and won, before the deliverance of our Country can be achieved. (Signed) [1 word illegible] Gill Shorter.

Executive Department; Montgomery - Alabama; Feb 21st 1862 "To the Corps of Cadets at the University of Alabama;"

Well-knowing the patriotic ardor which warms your bosoms at this dark- and trying hour + fearing that the dangers-impending over your local may impel you to lay-down your books, and rush impetuously- to the field - I have deemed it my duty to our Common Country, to address you a few words of Counsel and advice.

Under the late requisition of the Resident of the Confederate States I have issued my proclamationcalling for twelve additional Regiments - for three years, or the War. This call will bring into the Camps in Alabama, ten thousand men. The next great need will be to drill + discipline this force - for active service - when armed and equipped - + ready for the field. The perfection of the men in the drill and discipline of of the Camp; will be a most honorable and important work: and to this work - many of you must - shortly - be assigned. Your Employment in this manner, cannot be dispensed - with - without great detriment to the interests of State + Country.

Inasmuch, therefore, as there is abundant material to compose the comoanies called-for- and your numbers - even if half, or all were to enlist - would aid but little in the ranks of 10.000 men

Last edit 3 months ago by Markpa
page_0063
Needs Review

page_0063

60

Proclamation by the Governor of Alabama Executive Department Montgomery, Alabama, Feb 12th 1862.

The President of the Confederate States has called upon the Executive of the State of Alabama - to furnish twelve additional Regiments to serve for three years - or during the War. A similar call has been made upon the other states, in proportion to their white population. This requisition is made necessary by the mighty power which the Lincoln Despotism is now putting-forth for our subjugation.

The Troops will be accepted by Companies, to be afterwards organized into Regiments. The Company + field-officers will be elected by the men, and the Rule of promotion in the Confederate Army will then apply. Convenient Camps will be established, where the Troops will rendezvous. Transportation will be furnished from the place of organization of the Companies. After their arrival in Camp, and they are mustered into service, they will be clothed-subsisted-equipped and armed by the Confederate States. Each Private, + non-commissioned officer will be entitled to a Bounty of $.50.

A Company-organization must contain one Captain - one 1st Liutenant - 2 second lieuts. - 5 Sergeants - 4 Corporals - 2 musicians; and not less than-64-nor more than 100 Privates. Few Companies will form a Reg't

When the Muster-Roll of a company has been completed by enlistments, and the Company has been organized by the Election of its officers, + is tendered to this Department; for 3 years - or the War, it will be accepted and ordered into Camp.

Alabama has never yet failed to respond to any call made upon her - for the Defense of our glorious Cause; and she will not now that her own soil has been invaded - for a moment hesitate.

The Contest in which we are engaged, has assumed a magnitude and ferocity, which makes this demand imperative. The recent bold adventures of the Enemy demonstrate that his organizations - armaments - and vales have been undervalued; and his successes will stimulate him to attempt achievements of greater daring and importance Besides the vast columns which press our frontier-lines, he is gathering his armed flotillas - to harrass our Coasts - destroy our property - and desolate our Homes. Upon the swollen-tide of the Tennessee river, he has driven his gun-boats-even-within the borders of Alabama, whose soil has - hitherto - been spared the pollution of his foot-print. His immense fleets are gathering upon her Coasts, and thousands of hired soldiers are preparing for an attack upon her only sea-port City.

Alabamians! You have been slumbering while the Enemy have been preparing for your destruction! Arouse and rally to the Defense of your Country! Let not a day or an hour be lost! Besides the brave men who have-already entered the Army - there are Seventy Thousand free men left in your State, to recruit their broken ranks and swell thier Columns.

The great battles for your deliverance are yet to be fought. The inalieable right of self-government, inherited from your fathers, and all you hold dear in life, are involved in the mighty issue. Let the call to arms ring over the State, and let the wings of the wind bear-back the Response of Ten Thousand brave me "WE COME! WE COME!" With an unwavering Confidence in the justice of their Cause - + in humble reliance upon the Omnipotent arm at their rush to the field of danger - and the triumph which awaits them.

(Signed) [1 word illegible] Gill Shorter

Last edit 3 months ago by Markpa
page_0064
Needs Review

page_0064

59 61 Executive Department, Montgomery, Alabama, Febr 22d 1862. Brig Genl Thos J. Butler, A. M. Mobile. Sir, Your favor of 16th inst., owing to the failure of the mails did not arrive before to-day. Your remarks are carefully noted - and duly appreciated. Could I have been favoured with the pleasure of a visit to your city, on to-day, I should, most certainly, extended invitations to the officers named to join me in the intended Reviews of your Brigade.

As this pleasure has been denied me, by the late freshets, I hope it may, yet, be in my power to meet - & review your Brigade - before you enter the field of active service.

Your letter of the 18th inst. also, is at hand to-day, &, in reply to your Certificate of Elections by Volunteer-Companies of Militia, I herewith hand you Commissions - accordingly. I regret to inform you that it is not in my power to arm any of your Volunteer-Companies, at this time.

My agents - over the state - are buying - and gathering shot-guns - Rifles - and kinds which are to be had; &, where I receive them, I will do - for you whatever may be in my power. I have directed agents, in [illegible] - Alabama, to ship - to Genl D. C. Greene, who will have the arms put-in-order immediately, and issue - on your requisition.

There are no other Regiments of Volunteer-Militia - being formed in the State, other ^than^ those within the limits of your Command - so far as this Department is advised. The new Regiment, therefore, to which you have assigned Capt. Le-Baron's Company, will be No 3. c Very Resp'y, Your ob't Ser't 103 (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department. Montgomery, Alabama, Febr 27th 1862 O. O. Nelson, Esqr - Tuscumbia, Ala. Sir Your favour of 22d inst. is to hand. In common with yourself - and all patriotic citizens, I deeply regret the state of things, which has interrupted the progress - on your part - of any Enterprize - which - I had hoped - would have resulted - So advantageously - to the benefit of the Confederacy.

In reply to your request for permission, "to manufacture the Guns for the State - at any point - in, or out - of the State you (we) may think best," without dwelling - for a moment - on your suggestions - as to particulars - I assure you - simply- that trusting to your judgement and experience, I, cheerfully, assent to your request - that you may remove your Works and materials to any point, where the Contract can be carried-out to the best advantage for the State of Alabama.

When you shall have perfected your re-arrangements, I shall hope to hear from you. Very Respectfully, Your Obt Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
page_0065
Needs Review

page_0065

62 60 Executive Department. Montgomery, Alabama, Feby 27th 1862. Capt. Charles T. Ketchum, Mobile, Sir, I embrace the earliest opportunity to reply to yours of 20th inst. recd yesterday - or day before.

Having determined to establish a camp in Mobile, it became necessary to assign some-one to take comand - of it; which I did by appointment of Judge McKinstry, as a special aid for that purpose. The Companies rendervouzing there must be tendered - as Companies to me, and, when ten arrive in Camp, will be organized into a Regiment & then elect their field officers. If not enough Companies arrive to make a Regiment, they will be merged with other Companies - elsewhere, so as to fill-up a Regiment. We are to have large armies; and Regimental organizations must be dispatched - as rapidly as possible. It is my purpose to expedite this desirable end - by every means in my power, and, at the same time, to allow the Companies to exercise their free will - in the election of their officers.

If you think you can organize a Regiment at an early day - say by the first of April - at farthest, and it will secure that end, by my establishment of a Camp in Baldwin Co - on the Rail-Road, I will do so - & assign you, as special-aid, without compensation - to command it. This is taken - however - with the understanding, that the Companies must be tendered - for my acceptance - as Companies, &, held - subject to my order, for further organization - if ten Companies do not arrive in Camp, by 1st of April. Of course - any views - which you may have, will not be disregarded - if compatible with the good of the service. By order of Maj-Genl Bragg - the Commissary & Quarter-Master departments are directed to provide for all my Companies &c. Transportation will be furnished from the place of organization of the Company; and I have no doubt that, on application to him, he would authorize transportation also, for Squads. Awaiting further reply - I am - Very Resp'y Your ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter. c

Executive Department. Montgomery, Alabama, Febr 27th 1862. Capt. J. D. Webb. Manassas, Virginia, I am in receipt of your letter of 17th inst. and gratified at the contents. A check-in your favour, for $950, has been forwarded to Capt. Van-derveer - as requested.

I enclose a commission to David A. Walker - as suggested by you, and hope he may be transferred by the Secretary of War, to whom I enclose a letter of request - accordingly. Very Resp', Your ob't Ser't (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter.

Executive Department, Montgomery, Alabama. Feb' 27th 1862. Hon. J. P. Benhamin, Sec' of War, Sir, Under and act of the Genl assembly of the State of Alabama, I have-had-built, at Manassas, a Depôt building for the reception of supplies for Alabama Troops: and I have commissioned Lieut David A. Walker - in Company C., 5th Alabama Regiment, as assistant Commissary for Alabama, in the State service - with the rank of Captain to take charge of the establishment - I hope it will agreeable to you to transfer him to that position. Very Respectfully, Your ob't Ser't. (Signed) Jno Gill Shorter c

Last edit 3 months ago by carolfink
Displaying pages 61 - 70 of 423 in total