Nettie McNaughton Jones Family World War One Letters

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

Series 2 Jack McNaughton part 1

October 14, 1916 pg3
Needs Review

October 14, 1916 pg3

2/ boys who have been up on the line and in the majority of cases are looking fine There is a Y.M.C.A. here and several canteens which make things fairly hardy The few words of French I learned in Montreal have come in very handy but of course the language is somewhat different After becoming familiar with the English money it takes a little time to get used to sous centimes , francs, etc, but at that the French money is easier to understand Lord only knows when you will receive this note but guess it will arrive in Granton sometime You understand Sis that I cannot write long letters because I have nothing I can say Remember me to the folks and be sure you write long letters Address Sgt. J.A.M. #772226 4th Batt. C.E.F. 1st Division Army P.O. London, Eng

Yours as ever Jack

Last edit 6 months ago by Zadie
Christmas 1916 pg1
Needs Review

Christmas 1916 pg1

A Christmas Wish

A Happy Christmas

[English and French Flags entwined with Holly in embroidery]

Last edit 5 months ago by Sunnyday22
December 22, 1916 pg5
Needs Review

December 22, 1916 pg5

P.S. Since writing the previous three pages I have received your very welcome letter dated Nov 28th. It sure is funny that you did not receive one from Havre advising I was leaving for the line. You will of course know about me being in the hospital but am O.K. now. I did not advise Iona or the folks of the fact until a week after I was admitted, so no doubt in fact I know Iona knew nothing about it from me, when your letter reached her asking for information. You know Sis I never tell them anything that will worry them but being there are so many Brantford boys over here they write home and tell the whole thing. I sure would like to catch hold of some of those people. I don't think they would write for sometime. I was in hospital in England and never advised Brantford at all, but in two weeks time they knew more than I about it so whats the use. Hope Jessie is better but think a cold may do Tom Still some good. Something real cold or real hot.

Last edit 8 months ago by LoriF
January 12, 1917 pg1
Needs Review

January 12, 1917 pg1

[postmark] Toronto Ont Jan 29 10:30 pm 1917

Miss N. McNaughton, Granton, Ontario, Canada

Passed by Censor 1364 [illegible signature]

Last edit 8 months ago by LoriF
February 3, 1917 pg3
Needs Review

February 3, 1917 pg3

2 That was sure some letter the Dutchman wrote. I had a good laugh over that, and anything that causes a laugh is worth its weight in gold.

Tell Jessie to never mind. Men are scarce in Brantford, too, but of course there are men and - Lord knows what.

Well Sis as you will guess, I'm writing this in the front line. I've been in for quite a stretch now and expect to be in for another little stretch, but in the distance see a short rest, andsomeplace where eggs, chips, steak etc, can be purchased. Our resting place is in the woods, but perhaps can get permission to go a few kilometres away. The first of my bunch was [nap??ed] a short time ago. A stray bullet or a chance shot turned the trick. I was glad I saw him before he was taken away.

The weather here according to French people is the coldest it has been for forty years, and although it cannot be compared with the winter at home, [del] it is some cold at that.

We expect to have some warm weather this month, so this means deep sea diving for a while, but who wouldn't be a diver for a few weeks for some

Last edit 8 months ago by LoriF
February 16, 1917 pg1
Needs Review

February 16, 1917 pg1

[postmark] Toronto Ont Mar 8 5 am 1917

Miss N. McNaughton, Granton, Ontario, Canada R.R.#1

Passed by Censor 2483 [signature] Jan Henderson

Last edit 8 months ago by LoriF
March 25, 1917 pg1
Needs Review

March 25, 1917 pg1

[postcard] [postmark] Toronto Ont APR 2 5 am 1917

Miss N. McNaughton, Granton, Ontario, Canada

Last edit 8 months ago by LoriF

Series 3 Dave Radcliffe

December 27, 1916 pg1
Needs Review

December 27, 1916 pg1

[top left corner] YMCA logo [centre postmark] Toronto, Ont Jan 16 5 am 1917 On Active Service Miss Nettie McNaughton Granton, Ontario, Canada {Sideways signature] WH Gregory

Last edit 8 months ago by LoriF
December 27, 1916 pg2
Needs Review

December 27, 1916 pg2

[Letterhead] YMCA logos [left and right, centre says] On Active SErvice with the British Expeditionary Force

Somewhere in France, Dec., 27/16.

Dear friend, -

Was pleased to get a good long letter from you, for I like to hear all the news from Granton.

We had a very good time on Xmas, and had a good dinner, and supper too as I got a Xmas cake from my sister Minnie that day. I got a box of cigars from Oliver yesterday. I don't know whether he is in France yet or not. He may be since he sent the box, as it takes mail from a week to ten days to reach me from Eng., now at the Xmas season.

Cecil Evans and Jack Baynes are over hear some place but not in our battalion. We have to give an address in the body of the letter, with our name.

D.H. Radcliffe, No. 802864, C. Co'y., 9th platoon, 4th Can. Batt., B.E.F., France.

Well I'm sure you would have a good time at the supper at Woodham, they always do. I didn't know the J.B. Armitage was a singer, but a prophet is never honored in his

Last edit 8 months ago by LoriF
December 27, 1916 pg3
Needs Review

December 27, 1916 pg3

III

own country, so I suppose that's the reason he never sings in Lucan.

We have to be so careful what we write out here that one hardly know what to tell, and what not to, but I guess if I say something about the country in general and the climate it won't be out of place. There isn't as much woods here as in Canada, and the land is more rolling. More valleys and hills than in western Ontario, although it is much more like Ontario than is Eng. One feature of the landscape is the numerous wheat and hay stacks, many of them standing out so conspicuous on the skyline. They are just doing their threshing now. Some of them use gasoline engines while others use a treadmill, run by a horse. It looks very slow and and behind the times, but they have up to date binders here.

The French are rather a fine looking race, being different to the French Canadians in their complexion. The Fr. Canadians are much darker skinned.

I suppose you see a good deal in the papers about these "peace notes." Well, I may be mistaken but I don't think they will amount

Last edit 8 months ago by LoriF
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 45 in total