Gold Rush Era Letters

Pages That Need Review

Edwin Fitzgerald

cam_EdwinFitzgerald_B017_F011_007A
Needs Review

cam_EdwinFitzgerald_B017_F011_007A

Minersville Oct. 24 1869 Dear Sir I hasten to answer your letter I am glad to here from you I am enjoying reasonable health which I ought to be thankfull for. My dear friend it is a sorry full sight to see hundreds of men [just?] to be gout, I who have forsaken our land homes & fond wife & little ones behind us far away when we took the Ca. [?] & such to die of the hand of our affectionated wife to God her parents fr not [?] to the land of gold to try to git [?] so that we could live with mere comfort when we went back again but [?] we have come to the wrong place to seek it, my dear friend I am writing to aid you all that I can this is a hard comm'ty to make [?] I have been mining all summer I have made nothing worth while the changes here is very poor now for winter is coming on here & it is a very cold place here so cold that men cant work much here in the winter season

Last edit 23 days ago by California State Library
cam_EdwinFitzgerald_B017_F011_008A
Needs Review

cam_EdwinFitzgerald_B017_F011_008A

Sanfrancisco San Francisco Nov 19 1859

My dier Frank I rec your of the first of octtober yesterday was glad to heer from yo and hear that you and our little darlings wer well I em getting tired of this Country it is a hard place I will send you a letter that I got from a man in the mines he came out when I did, and went to the mines I wrote to him thare and will send you his letter my dier F. I em writing on board of the [Bark?] [deletion] Brontez I em going in her up the Puget Sound. James [Heating?] thought of leaving for New orleans the last I saw of him that was about 5 weeks ago whether he went or not [?] dont

Last edit 2 months ago by California State Library
cam_EdwinFitzgerald_B017_F011_008B
Needs Review

cam_EdwinFitzgerald_B017_F011_008B

I hav not got time to write much for the bark is going out rite away you will not answer this for I dont know whare I shell be to git it if you should write the mail steamer from the Newyork New York has not arived here yet she has bien du 4 or 5 days I expect there is a letter for me on board of hir but I shell not git it as leav in about half an hour I should write oftner Frances I could git stidy work I shell write you as soon as I git up the sound dont think that I fer git you F.

Last edit 2 months ago by California State Library
cam_EdwinFitzgerald_B017_F011_008C
Needs Review

cam_EdwinFitzgerald_B017_F011_008C

I wish i had some money to send you but i hav not got but [deletion] twenty five dolars and [deletion] it cost twenty of that for my passeg. I hope to git work there and if i do it will be like ly to last oh Frank how i should like to see you I would send my homly profile to you if I could but you must excuse me this time and I will promas to du better for the time to cum take good care of our little darings and ciss them all for me

adieu for the present from youer

Edwin

Last edit 2 months ago by California State Library

Josephine J. Crawford

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_009_001
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_009_001

San Jose. Santa Clara Co Cala 196 Montgomery St Sept 3 - 1890 Dear Aunt CToday I am sixty-two and memory has taken me back to the days I were my teacher. I have one of the tickets you gave one then. for "diligence and good behaviour", which I keep in my big Bible as one of any sacred treasured gifts I am longing to hear from you Have not heard in a long time Sister Alphonsine went east as far as Chicago last season, but did not have time to go on to VT. She visited bro Broyton and Cous.Carrie & Fred Pond Uncle Dr Don's children Cousin Fred is married and has one child a son. who live there. Then went South to Aunt Sarah Savage's in Joliet found her Kindest regards to all of our dear old friends,

Last edit 3 months ago by judi13
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_011_001
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_011_001

Dear Aunt C. you don't know how much I prize your letters, and how much good they do me. I do hope you will be able to write again soon. Has Cousin Oscar's daughter that was in poor health, become strong? I wish his wife would write me. I want to get acquainted Have you made much maple sugar this spring? Remember us to all our old friends. I write for Alphonsine as she has so much to do she can't I will send a few pieces of Sea Moss. that I gathered. I have some of the woolen stockings made of the nice yarn you let one spin of your nice wool when I was at yourhouse the last time, more than forty years ago. and the ticket you have me for diligence and good behavior in school when you taught our School on Pond Hill, before you were married I keep it in my big Bible that was given me by Aunt Sarah Savage. I have the piece of Rutland marble that Oramel got for me in Castleton. I prize these keepsakes and those that once belonged to your angel Sister the pebbles your Mother gave me that she thought we gathered when together we played by the side of the Lake. I love to look at them and think of those dear loved friends and scenes of my childhood's days.I shall be 66 the 3d day of Sept next. Have known the dangers and hardships of pioneer life and passed through many trying scenes, but have been spared until my last years seem more quiet and peaceful - and I feel thankful to our dear Heavenly Father for all his mercies and Kindness.

Last edit 3 months ago by judi13
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_011_002
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_011_002

Dear Auntie, put this moss on white paper piece by piece, taken apart then its beauty can be seen and you can arrange it to look very pretty. "Call us not weeds We are flowers of the Sea. For lovely and bright And gay-tinted are we. And quite independent Of Sunshine and Showers, Then call us not weeds We are ocean's gay flowers."

Have not forgotten when Uncle Asahel had his leg broken- and his black horseand among many things lives in my memory How he used to delight in teasing us just a little for fun.- O. The dear old Uncle the last of his family

I have rested many times since I commenced this and I think you will need to rest if you read all this at one time. I have made many mistakes, but I feel you will excuse all. Mr.Crawford send regards. With much love to all I am as ever Lovingly your Josephine.J.Crawford

Last edit 3 months ago by judi13
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_010_004
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_010_004

with us children.I do think you must have been sorely tried with us. Hope you will be recompensed for it. You have our grateful remembrance for your many kindnesses to us Alphonsine has a large nice home about 32 miles from here - She has a large family of summer boarders at present who go out into the country for a change from the noise of the Cities. She has some from San Jose. Oakland and San Francisco. She keeps two girls. Her daughter is here being treated for kidney trouble Is able to be up around but is in bad health Their youngest son was lately married and is living in a new house, built near his father's He will continue to work his father's farm. They have all kinds of fruit and berries, grown here, vegetables and their own milk, cream and butter. So they live well. Gulian.V.Pond lives in Belmond.Wright Co - Iowa He has only a Son and daughter left. The son is married and lives near him. He has one child The daughter is at home. I hear she is a lovely girl a very sweet singer - They are all well and getting along well. Gulian has a nice home there. Broyton and family are in ChicagoHe has a son and daughter married, and son and daughter at homesingle - Uncle.Dr.Don's Carrie and Fred also live there - We have had an unusually cool Spring with late showers. Some of the hay that was cut has been damaged and some of the cherries, but their is plenty that have not, and fruit of all kinds have had to be thinned on the trees, they were so over-loaded. Mr.Crawford has today been thinning our apples, pears, plums apricots, our orange trees are not over-loaded. This city is situated in the very rich beautiful Santa Clara Valley. I wish you could see it and our lovely roses and other flowers. They are beyond description of my poor pen.Allie would write to you if she did not have so much work and care. I hope I shall be more ready to write in the future.

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_012_001
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_012_001

Sept 29, /95

Gilroy Santa Clara Co, Calif

Dear Aunt Calista

In your last letter to Sister Josephine you expressed the wish that Alphonsine would write you And I thought when I read your good long newsy letter that I would very soon but I have not done so for the reason that I am not much of a letter writer, and I find it so easy to let Sister do the letter writing and I have the reading of her letters from the friends Still I do write our brother's now and then and the Farewell girls, our cousins, also

It is getting bed time Mr S has retired and I will close I hope we can hear from you once more since we cannot see you with the best of wishes I am ever your Niece Alphonsine P. Sanders

Last edit 23 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_012_002
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_012_002

Mrs Smith of Punttney Vt, but not very often it has been a long time since I have heard from either I have spent two weeks of this mo nth with sister Josie, I was with her on the 3d. her 67, birthday we had such a good visit reread old letters, and talked & thought of the dear friends of long ago When I last saw you were working so hard making Beer to sell, besides all your other work. your old Father was living then and Uncle was smart and act ive- but now you must look much older, and more feeble Oh, do you remember going acrost the Lake, after Blkberries and another day I caught some fish my first I think and you cooked them for dinner I am not sure though that I caught any that day but I was along with others enjoyed the fun

Last edit 23 days ago by California State Library
Displaying pages 11 - 20 of 123 in total