Gold Rush Era Letters

Pages That Need Review

Josephine J. Crawford

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_012_004
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_012_004

boarders, this season I had a cook that done nearly all the cooking but I was around looking after things generaly and assisting here & there when I was needed our daugh ter is not very strong but she got through the busy season very well takes a good deal of the care of the house |and| |which| is a great help to me. And we have the brightest little Grandson in the country he is so nice and good, seven months old now. I try to see sister as often as possible for we may not have the chance to visit each other many years longer we too are growing old, and may pass out of existance ere very long, I hope brother Brayton will visit us this winter he is now in Iowa. near Gulian they were well the last we heard My health is pretty good I only had helf two months and a half this season we done our house clean ing ourselves - we can accomodate 24

people besides our own selves some beds out in other places

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_013_001
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_013_001

Jan 2d 1896 San Jose, Santa Clara Co. California 196 Montgomery St. Dear Aunt C I have had the reading of your interesting letter to Sister Allice and I will improve the first opportunity to write to inform you of its safe arrival and the joy and gladness it gave me to get another letter from you and learn something of our dear friends in the far east. We are sorry Cousin Oscar has had had to be such a sufferer, but hope he may recover, and not suffer permanent injury. He has had a long seige of it, but think in must be that his work is not done, or he would not been spared until now. It was indeed a very narrow escape from instant death we rejoice that he still lives and hope he will be fully restored to health, and live to enjoy his famity, and be a blessing

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_013_002
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_013_002

to mankind. We wish to see you more than words can express. I visit you in my dreams and see the old dear familiar places. Have just dreamed of going there with a friend from here. We found you looking natural and you knew me, but Uncle I did not. Thought you were very busy taking care of a sick member of the family and while doing that and attending to some other dutied I told you I would take my companion down to the Lake shore as I had previously promised to show her where dear Nancy and I used to find pretty pebbles. The house was all changed so it did not look as I last saw it, but you and dear old Uncle A did, only some older. I was was very happy to see you and e there again. I soon awoke to find it all a dream. I do not expect to visit you in any other way soon if ever again here. but do hope to meet you by and by "when the mists are cleared away in the brighter better day" and other dear loved ones gone before

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_013_003
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_013_003

Mar 4 1896 Dear Aunt I was interrupted and have had company from the Southern part of the State and so much to attend to that I have not got this letter finished and started until this late day, but hope it will soon reach you. We are having the coldest rain storm of the season and can see snow on the top of the Mts skirting this Valley, but here the peach, pear, almond Apricot and some other fruit trees are in blossom. My Morning glories have not been killed by the frost, nor the Calla Lillies and they have not been covered to protect them. On New Year Day we had ripe tomatoes and raspberriers fresh from the vines. Have had a pleasant winter and not as much rain as we wish. not nearly as much as last winter. Have had only a little more than 9 inches. We hope to get more, enough to perfect the grain and other crops. Some parts of the State have been visited by a cold wave that some think has injured the fruit. Have some oranges on our trees, but they are rather small. Our

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_013_004
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_013_004

Garden we have lettuce, radishes, beets up in our front yard a large bed of California poppies are nearly ready to blossom. The black berry vines are in bloom Sister Alphonsine and husband were here a short time ago. They are well and getting along nicely. Their sons are married and live near-by them and carry on the farm. They are steady, good young men One had a son & daughter. The other a son. Annie their daughter is still single. Sister has a large house, much milk and butter to attend to, indeed there is no end to the work to be done there, so she finds little time to spend in writing, and when she gets to sit down, is too tired to feel like something to any of her friends. When we meet we talk of you and other dear friends east. Mr C and I hope to visit them soon intend spending a few days there. The times are rather hard and there are many out of work Have just heard from Brother Brayton and Aunt Sarah Savage. She is talking of leaving Ill and going to live with her son in St Paul Minn. She is

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_013_005
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_013_005

5 pg is in excellent health and writes she has had a most delightful winter. She is very smart and active to get around for one of her years. She has never had to do any hard work but had on easy life. She is very active in Church work and looking to the needs of the poor. Her only child Eddie is engaged for a St Orphon Asylum in looking out for the helpless ones. Old Uncle Brayton is very smart. Preaches two sermons every Sunday and works every day through the week in having The Bible The New Testament translated and printed in their language. Aunty Mary died five years ago last Dec Her daughter Mary Rose (she married a missionary of that name) lives there with her father. Her husband is in very poor health with heart disease. My bro Brayton is in business with his Son in Belmond Iowa near Garlion's All were well only a few days ago and they have had a light winter for that place. Only one of Sister Mary's children still lives. She, Ruth Von Husen lives in Sioux City Iowa. She is married but is a teacher there. Is an educated

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_013_006
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_013_006

highly cultivated woman. Her father lives in St Louis, Mo. Is by trade a jeweler Brayton writes his children have all married well, and a settled except the youngest Son who is still single. Gulion's daughter Ada is very sweet Singer. I so wish that I could meet you again here that I some times feel dissatisfied that it is so I cannot do it I love and cling in memory to my dear old kindred and childhood friends They, and the places I knew in those days live fresh and green in my memory. The pieces of Calico given me when I was last there for an Album quilt I often look at it. Tis a dear treasured relic. I have kept it bright and clean. I have bits of dresses of nearly all the old friends in it and many of my cousins and other friends the young men gave me bits also to put in it. It has escaped fires and floods and was not taken by the Mexicans and Indians when they carried off most of our things and all of Mr Crowford carpenter tools. Allie and I talk of you every time we meet. I hope this will find you all in comfortable health and enjoying much of life Dear Auntie I know when age brings pain and feebleness we cany enjoy as in days gone by and then our old friends are so many of them gone that we feel left almost alone. Soon we too will be gone Much love to all from both Allie and I and do please write if you are able. if not I wish some of Cousin Oscar's family would. Do you know anything about Cous Wm Fuller? Lovingly you niece Josephine Crawford

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_014_001
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_014_001

San Jose, Santa Clara Co, California 196 Montgomery St. June 23 1896 My dear Aunt C I was more glad than I can find words to express and feelings too [ ] to get another letter from you, for I feared you were not able to write. Since it came we have been to Sister Allie's and spend a week. I would have done you good could you seen us read that letter and enjoy it together. We called to mind when you used to card spin and weave in the long ago. We delight in bringing to mind many of the scenes of child-hood's days. Among other things we remember your father had some pieces of bearskin on his harness that used to excite our childish wonder & fancy as it was something others did not have. We love our friends and wish we could see them or hear from them more frequently. In summer Alphonsine has boarders a {in margin} Where is cousin Jane Pond and daughter? How is Oramel and family?

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_014_002
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_014_002

a large house to take care of and milk & butter to attend to besides much fruit of all kinds, of which she puts up a large quantity and fills orders for eastern firms, so she hasd no time to spend in writing to her friends when not at work is too tired to write. She wished me to write you for her as I have more time, although I too, have a busy life & do not write as often as I would like to for I am conscious that it will not be long before we shall not have the privilege and pleasure and I wish to improve it. Our brothers are well, Brayton had lately lost a grand child [Sain's] little Grace Pond. She was a delicate child, went into spasms and died. In writing of Sister Allie I forgot to mention her little tots. Both of her sons are married and live in little cottages near by the old folks and work the farm. The one married first has Leslie & Grace, the last has a little boy they call Guilan Brayton after both of their Uncles. Allie's daughter Annie is here in San Jose with Miss Dr. Goss, assisting in Office work, which she enjoys and they

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_014_003
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_014_003

hire s stronger girl to take her place at home. Sister hasd two girls during the time of the [ ]. She thinks little Leslie the first one just the the smartest and best child that ever lived and he thinks his Grandma very nice She is his special favorite I have just rec'd a letter from Cousin Abbie Pon of Ann Arborm, Mich, daughter of Nathan Pond. She writes that one brother and herself are all that are left of their family. She has remained single and taught there thirty three years and is still teaching. She enjoys her work and hopes to be take to her heavenly home when she gets so she can do it no longer. Old Uncle Durlin Brayton is very smart and active. he preached two sermons every Sunday and works every week day on translation of the New Testament into their languare. This is the second edition he is now working on. His daughter Mary assists him. Her husband Elder Rose is in poor health, has heart trouble that they think will prove fatal. Their children are all married and settled near Hartford, Ct. They have two sons & two daughters.

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
Displaying pages 21 - 30 of 115 in total