Gold Rush Era Letters

Pages That Need Review

Josephine J. Crawford

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_014_004
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_014_004

This country is looking beautiful. We went with our horse and buggy to Allie's and it was a most delightful trip. The hay was cut and being secured and the grain was standing so even and nice fence-top high almost ready for harvest - hundreds of acres of vineyards and orchards, acres of onions, raised for seed and wild and cultivated flower in endless profusion - and with all this plenty and beauty - we find the cry of hard times and of want - in this land of plenty. The rich own large tracts of land and use machinery to do the work that men used to do - and so it requires few to do it and many can't find work to do - some don't want to find any but want to live off from those who do. I don't know what will become of our country if some things and times do not change for the better. We are sorry to hear that Cousin Oscar has not fully recovered for without health the struggle in this life is so much harder. I wish his wife or girls would write to me. Uncle will attend to the wood just as long as he can. We, Allie & I, often laugh over some of Uncle Asahel's tricks - he used to delight in teasing us and it did not take much to do it either. We have all known much trial and sorrow since then. The hardships and privations of pioneer life amid dangers of many kinds - with Indians and renegade white men who were just as bad away from from friends all new wild and unlike our old home - but we were spared and I hope will die a natural death but there have been many times I did not expect it. Let us hear from you when you have the time and can do so. Remember our love to all - with best wishes I am as ever yours [Affectionaly] Josephine J. Crawford

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_015_001
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_015_001

San Jose, Santa Clara Co, Calif 196 Montgomery St. Mar 12 - 1872 Very dear Aunt C I have not heard from you since I last wrote, but have been thinking of you, and the dear friends east until I think I must write Tis late bed time but only thoughts of you and "days long Syne" have driven sleep from my eyes so I will take a short time to let you know I think of, and long to see you. Have just rec'd a photo of the old Elm tree, and the School house and Pond Hill, sent by Cousin Carrie. Parker from Colo, taken by her daughter last sason while on their visit there. I wish the old home had been included but I suppose it tooks like a "relic of fallen greatness" tis so gone to rack

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_015_002
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_015_002

and ruin. Well! when you, and a few of those I used to know are gone, it will not greive one that the dear old house (that in memory I often revisit) has become among "the things that were". I dream of going there to your home, Uncle Fuller's and other places. Some of them, must look desolate now from what I hear of them. Had an interruption How are you getting along this winter Have you much snow and cold bad weather? How is Cousin Oscar and family? Has he recovered from that hurt? Did you receive the letter with the poppy seed that I sent you? How is Cousin Julia Ann and all that you know anything about of our dear old friends? How few remain! Haver you had a pleasant wnter, and all the Snow you wish? We have had a fine one, with rain sufficient to please the farmers and give fair promise of a fruitful harvest. The frost has not injured the Call lillies and they are in full bloom

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_015_003
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_015_003

with roses and many other kinds of flowers. Also the Almond, Apricot and Loquat trees are in their dainty whote and pink bloom. The grain is growing fast and vegetables doing well. Have green peas and new potatoes in the market. This State produces almost everything by maple sugar. I know of none being made in any portion of it but large quantites of beet sugar is and soon the largest establishment of the kind in the United Sates will be completed 200 hundred men are employed upon it and it is only fairly begun. It is not far from us in an adjoining Co. Bro Brayton came here in Nov from Iowa to see us girls and get away from the cold weather back there and he is so well-pleased with the climate he says he don't think he will ever go back to stay. He has gone into business introducing "Ponds Fountain Wind Mill Oiler" which was invented by his son L.C. THIS SOn is of quite and inventive turn of mind and withal quite a genius. He and family live in Belmond Wright Co near bro Gulion's. [Gurlie] & family are well. Have a nice new house, with modern improvements, and ice house and good out building all very handy and complete His daughtere Ada is teaching there, ad boards at home. Is a lovely girl, and very sweet Singer. Gulion is deacon of their church and his wife is a worker in it Allier and her family are pretty well at the "Retreat" but Annie, the daughter, is here

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_015_004
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_015_004

taking treatment at the Drs. She has been in poor health for some time and they fear she is going onto a decline. Her mother was in consumption (and soon died) after her birth. She is a very lovely young lady and has many friends Allie will miss her very much - as she was the life of the home. Singing around with her sweet cheeful voice Allie is pretty well and does much work, more than any other girl, she has yet Hired to help her. She puts out much Fruit for Eastern Market. We always talk much of you when we meet. Have just got a letter from Aunt S Savage who is well and happy. She had just rec'd a letter from Uncle Durlin Braytoon who is past ninety and smart as he writes from Six to 7 hours per day translating the Bible into their language He preaches every Sunday - He is a very remarkable man he is very spry and active. You, dear Auntie and they, are all that are left us of the large number of Uncles and Aunts that we had and on both sides we had a goodly number. Well, I hope you are in comfortable health and will be spared [rs] until your work is done and you wish to go to the "Better home" If I could sit by you I could say so much that I can't in this slow tedious way. but since that can't be I am glad for this means of communication, slow and poor as it is.

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_016_001
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_016_001

Mar 14 - 1897 - Dear Aunt, After a most lovely day we have a bright moonlight night. All have gone to meeting, but I, did not feel like going out tonight so enjoy the time in writing you. Are cousin Oscar's girls able to attend school or are they not strong to endure your cold weather. How is Cornel and family? Do they live near you? Am glad I have a good likeness of you and uncle Asohel Bro Brogton is a larger man than father was, but some of his questions are like his and also his walk. He says he well remembers the nice visit he had at your home. He an cousin Oscar went down to the lake to fish and they caught them as fast as they could draw thwm in and got a fine lot of them which you cooked so good, and he relished them so well he has never forgotten them. He did enjoy his visit there. When he was at Ponton he and several of his cousins went

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_016_002
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_016_002

to fish on lake Chomplain I don't remember whether he said cousin Oscar was with them or not, but they fished away awhile, and got something and as he drew it in, it looked, queer and was thrashing around and he oulling when it came right up around his neck and squirmed and twisted around him and he thought he has a big snake and wass badly frightened expecting every moment to be bitten by it. He danced around pretty lively until he got it off. While the boys were screaming with laughter knowing it was no snake but an eel. Mar 18 - '97 - We are having a nice gentle shower everything looks fresh and bright, except the sun but it will soon look out upon us - [hope?] you are all comfortable and enjoying sweet repose - and I will now try to seep - Dear Aunt - I hope you will feel like writing very soon, if not why will not of the girls or cousin Oscar's wife? Am always delighted to hear from you and my dear native home. Bv Broyton and Mr C - join me in love to all - Are you going to make any sugar this [?] or have you cut the trees off the place - fondly yours - Josephine. I. Crowford.

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_017_001
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_017_001

Gilroy, Santa Clara Co. Cal May 18 - 1898 Very dear Aunt C Again I am able to take my pen to write a few lines to you and any dear Cousins. This date finds one at "Redwood Retreat" Sister A's home where I have been for nearly six weeks past. The Dr advised a change to try what Mt air and quiet rest would do for me, as I was steadily growing worse. So I was brought here and the first two weeks had several very bad spells, but since have been gaining and am stronger and suffer less although still have soreness of the chest and am some-what distressed for breath part of the time. Dear Allie has done everything that love and kindness could suggest for my comfort and happiness, has nursed me tenderly, dear noble woman and good Sister.

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_017_002
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_017_002

Allie has moved into a cozy Cottage nearby the big house and their youngest Son and family have moved into the boarding house and are going to run it this season, and give Sister more quiet and an easier time. She has worked hard, but I hope from this time on She will have it easy. She is naturally very industrious and does not idle away time but will always find something to do. She is nicely fixed in their cottage, and this in a lovely locatyion. Had lovely roses, pinks, violets, sweet peas, verbena's, poppies, lillies, hollyhocks and other flowers in her front year. Just across the road is the Grove of Redwood, Madrone and other trees with many kinds of wild flowers of all colors nearby. In the grove there are swings, hammocks, seats, tables, croquet grounds, a rippling Mt stream along through it with a clear cold spring of most excellent water at hand. From the grove to the large house is a lovely shady walk through a grape Arbor which is very inviting & cool in summer. Many from San Francisco

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_017_003
Needs Review

cams_JosephineJCrawford_b010_f014_017_003

Oakland San Jose and other cities, delight to come to this rural Mountain Retreat where the air is so pure and sweet. Just before I left home a distant cousin Emeline, Pond Ashley's daughter brought one the "History of Poultney" to read, which she had just rec'd and Alphonsine read it to one before I was able to read aloud. We did enjoy it very much, and we talked and revived old scenes, and loved over the Past as we had not before, for in that were names of people, places, and facts in regard to the early settlers that we had not known, with many with which we were familiar. We love old Vt. our childhoods home and our dear friends living there. Comparatively few remain to what there was there, when we were. It will not be long there will be any left of the old ones. They, and we, will soon go the way of all the Earth.

California is again visited b a drought that is very severe in many localities, but right here tis not bad and they will not suffer great loss

Last edit 26 days ago by California State Library
Displaying pages 31 - 40 of 115 in total