Northeast Ohio and the Civil War: Primary Source Manuscripts at Cleveland Public Library

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

Letters from Robert Allen, Company A 13th Ohio

Page 3  August 9, 1861
Needs Review

Page 3 August 9, 1861

will soon be seen.

The 10th Regiment was ordered back to Buccanan, as it was on its way to this place. They expect a fight at that place. So, we expect fights on both sides of us. I earnesly hope that we will be victorious, and yet I fear that the result will be otherwise, if such little small forces undertake to cope with large forces of the enemy.

I wish you to be inform me as to the condition of things at home. Tell me to whom Austin gave his crops, and how he disposed of his horses, &c.

While writing I hear it reported that the 13th Regt. will soon return to Camp Dennison, for the purpose of recruiting. But I think the report is false. Should it prove true, I will apply for a furlough

Last edit about 2 months ago by shashathree
Page 4 August 9 1861
Needs Review

Page 4 August 9 1861

Direct your letter after the following model:

Mr. Robert Allen, Clarksburg, Harrison Co.,

In care of Cap't Beach, Company A, Virginia. 13th Regiment, O. V. M.

Robert Allen

M [letter inserted bottom right]

Last edit about 2 months ago by shashathree
Page 1 April 4, 1862
Needs Review

Page 1 April 4, 1862

Robert's Brother

18th Reg. Regulars, U.S.A.

Camp Near Mount Pleasant

State of Tennessee " " "

Friday April 4th 1862

Dear Mother:

I wrote to you a few days ago, while we were encamped in Williamson Co. Tenn. and received a letter from home, the next morning. Just as we were getting ready to strike our tents for a days march farther south. It came a welcome messenge and gladdened me; for a mother's voice hath music in its tone, and riches far than the most delicious of all Italian trills compared (the comparison may be sinfull) with which their warblings are tame.

You complain of my delinquency in corresponding but you do not know the inconveniences and difficulties we labor in under, when you speak thus;

Last edit about 2 months ago by shashathree
Page 2 April 4, 1862
Needs Review

Page 2 April 4, 1862

After a long and toilsome days march we do not feel like writing, for we are wearied with fatigue, and have few accommodations, as for the news of the war you are much better informed than we are for we are cobbined, cribed, confined, bound in and get to see few papers therefore we cannot post ourselves, I do not think I am in duty bound to render an apology for the long intervals of often silence that pass between us. No, not even to my mother, for she does not know all as she would not so importune me.

I am glad to here you have bought the mare for she is a noble beast and you cannot lose money in the purchase. Horses must rise in value as shure as there will be a morrow for the drafts made for military purposes are so incessent that it cannot be otherwise and I am shure that a year hence you can sell her for a half hundred dollars

Last edit 3 months ago by Carolebar
Page 3  April 4, 1862
Needs Review

Page 3 April 4, 1862

more than she cost you. This is not visionary nor the dream of an enthusiast but a rational conclusion deduced from facts, for in the state of New Hampshire alone, which owns 30,000 horses, 10,000 have been taken for army purposes, and in Ohio the draft is as mutch greater, as the Buckeye state exceeds the Grannite, in welath and populations. So, you will perceive that you have made a vauable purchase, besides giving encouragement to brother and making a man of him. Mother speak nothing discouraging language to him, but even encourage him in reverses. Never strive to crush out the independence of of childhood or to break its spirit. crush curb it only to direct. I saw Brother Robert the day before yesterday and he looks as strong and rugged as the forest pine, Samuel Hankins

Last edit 8 months ago by sligers
Page 4  April 4, 1862
Needs Review

Page 4 April 4, 1862

was with him, looking equally as well he is but a few miles ahead of us. l I was laying on the ground asleep for we were waiting for our wagons to come up with our tents, one of the boys showed him where I was and at first he did not know me he says I have changed so mutch he thought it was Ben. He looks as natural as ever, but mother I am changed,

We are only about thirty miles from Alabama and on our way to Decature where we expect the Rebels to make a stand and we will conquer and that will end the Rebellion.

It is summer here and the the earth is carpeted with verelure the trees are dressed in green, and there is no land like this land, more beautiful than eaden

A Allen

Samuel Dougherty never was at Tomaess he took sides and has remained at Leabannon ever since Kennel is love Austin

Last edit 8 months ago by sligers
Page 1 April 13, 1862
Needs Review

Page 1 April 13, 1862

Camp on Battle Field, April 13, 1862

Dear Mother:

I received your for the 18th ult., and would have answered it before this, if I had had time. But owing to being at work and on a march I could not do it.

We are now encamped on a part of the battle - ground of the 5th and 6th. I suppose you have read an account of the battle. Companies A and G were at Wanesboro, about 28 miles from this place, so, you see, we again escape a considerable battle. We heard the cannon roar, and wished we were with our regiment. Eight companies of our regiment were in the fight, and they took a battery of seven guns. It was is the famous Washington

Last edit 8 months ago by sligers
Page 2 April 13, 1862
Needs Review

Page 2 April 13, 1862

battery, that fought Sherman at Manassas. By order of Gen. Crittenden this inscription was put upon it -- taken by the 13th Reg't O. V. I. I cannot write the full particulars. You perhaps know them already, Gen. Grant will be general no more. He showed a lack of prudence in camping near an overwhelming force of the enemy.

Jarvis will give this letter to a man who is going to Ohio. As he is going to start tomorrow, and it being late, I will close, promising to write more in my next.

Direct to Mr Robert Allen 13th Reg't

Last edit 8 months ago by sligers
Page 3 April 13, 1862
Needs Review

Page 3 April 13, 1862

Direct this: Mr. Robert Allen Co. A, 13th Reg't O. V. I. Tennessee

Last edit 8 months ago by sligers
Page 1 April 15, 1862
Needs Review

Page 1 April 15, 1862

Camp On Battle Field, Apr. 15, 1862

Dear Sister:

Yours, of the 6th inst. was received a few horsago, and having leisure time, I now sit down to answer it, and I will try to communicate something that will interest you. It is an account of the part which our regiment played in the Battle of Pittsburg. Early on Monday the 7, eight companies of our regiment entered the field of battle. They were in the hotest of the fight, and achieved many applaudable deeds, among which was a brilliant charge on a rebel battery, which was carried by them. The battery was the famous "Washington Battery," and co-

Last edit 8 months ago by sligers
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 284 in total