Search for "Ediz Hook" "EDIZ HOOK"
1900 2nd asst quarters Vol. 1385
Subject: Portland, Oreg., Dec. 29, 1900
The Light-House Board, Washington, D. C.
At Yaquina Head Light-Station there are three keepers, the quarters comprise one double dwelling which is occupied by the keeper and one assistant with families. This leaves the other assistant without quarters as there is no room in the double dwelling. This condition of affairs has existed ever since the light was established in 1881 and one assistant has been compelled to occupy a building erected for temporary use as an office by the contractors for the erection of the tower and dwelling, being flimsily constructed in the first instance, its condition has gradually grown worse and worse until now it is practically uninhabitable and new quarters should be provided. It has been patched and repaired all it will stand. For the last two years recommendation has been made in the annual report that an appropriation be obtained for a new dwelling but so far without avail. A suitable dwelling can be constructed for $4,000.00.
At Ediz Hook Light-Station the dwelling is arranged for the accommodation of one family, but as there are two keepers employed the quarters are insufficient and a new dwelling is urgently needed. 163
Vol 601Topographical survey and lens description 1883
A report on the necessity for these surveys was submitted by me Dec. 5th 1882 in compliance with request from the Board.
With the results of these surveys and the maps and notes of the other light stations in the district now on file, it is intended to compile a uniform set of charts showing in detail the topographical features and location of all structures at each station. The charts to be about 24 by 36 inches in size and as far as possible on the same scale.
Vol 575 1882 and 1883 repairs
Office of Light-House Engineer, THIRTEENTH DISTRICT, Portland, Oregon, Dec. 5th, 1882
To the Chairman of the Light-House Board, Washington D.C.
Sir: In compliance with letter of the Board, I have the honor to forward herewith a list and description of charts of light-house sites of this district as required therein. I also have the honor to state that of the sites, of which detailed, topographical large scale maps are missing, those of the following stations are more needed: Cape Blanco. Cape Arago. Cape Foulweather. Ediz Hook. New Dungenness.
Vol 348 Engineer Reports 13th Dist. 1873 and 1874 CF Exhibted YB Discontinued
Supported decayed joists on south side of 1” of 2” floors of Keeper’s dwelling with girders and posts. Replaced outside cellar doors. Commenced running Fog Signal during foggy weather- Inspected Station and made estimates for thorough renovation repairs. Ediz Hook Lt Station, W.T. Inspected Station & made rough plans & estimate for Repairs. New Dungenness Lt Station, W.T. Inspected Station, and made plans & estimates for work of c-reading Steam Fog Signal Smith Island Lt Station, W.T. Indspected & made estimates for repairs Admirarlty Head LH Station, W.T. Inspected and made estimaties for thorough repairs, and rough plans. Very respectfully, Chairman Light-House Board, Henry M Robert Washington DC Maj of Eng’rs & LH Eng’r Thirteenth District
YH LH location and building Vol. 311
Hoisted to the top of the Island & carried to S.H. Site the Brick and balance of materials. Graded around Cistern & for the Wood & Engine House. Completed House except inside work & painting. Emptied Cistern of water 10 or 12 times, the depth of water dipped out running from one to seven feet; & the constant streams of water interfering materially, with the progress of the work. Completed Brick work on cistern, except the floor. Erected Fog Signal apparatus & kept in operation nearly one week instructing the Light Keeper & one assistant in its management. Probable Operations for June Complete House, & paint it. Floor, Plastering, & Top of Cistern. Deliver 25 Tons of coal in Wood House, from Neah Bay. Make drawings of completed work. Inspect Light House. Probable General Work for JuneCareful Inspection of the following Light Stations, with reference to improvements & repairs; Cape Flattery, Ediz Hook, New Dungeness, Smith's Island, + Admiralty Head.
Very respectfully, Your obedient servant, Henry M. Robert Maj. of Eng'rs & L.H. Eng'r, Thirteenth District.
1871-1872 keeper selection and LH building Vol. 336
bringing materials to Foulweather ??? is ??? to secure transportation of the balance of freight to The Cape this season. ood??? work in Oil House to be completed. Iron work to be placed as far as the Brickwork can be finished. Complete walls of Tower, if materials can be freighted.
Cape Flattery Lt. Station, W.T. Probable Operations in October Purchase & ship Tools & c, and send Machinist to fit Engine for Salt Water.
Ediz Hook Lt Station W.T. Probable operations in October Transmit Estimates for Repairs. Prepare for some indispensable repairs.
New Dungenness Lt Station, W.T. Purchased materials and ??? on Spit. Prepared quarters for Men. Excavated for cistern & foundation for Wood house & c. Commenced hauling Materials to L.H. Site, including sand & water. Selected earth for garden; laid out all work for the season. Probable Operations for October - Complete Woodhouse & Store-room and Cellar. Complete woodwork inside of Lt House. Complete Picket Fence; Garden; Transportation of Water, Sand, & Rails & Cisterns. Commence laying Post-Rail Fence enclosing Pasture.
Very Respectfully, Your obedient servant, Henry M Robert Maj. of Eng'rs & L.H. Eng'r Thirteenth District
Ediz Hook Lt Station, W. T.
Carpenter, Mason, Tender, with small supply of materials for light repairs urgently necessary.
Probable Operation in November Replace dangerous stove. Plaster cellar. Repair wood-work in Tower. Refloor Lantern, & cover parapet with new Zinc (Now Leaks).
New Dungeness Lt Station, W.T.
Made walk to Bell-Tower. Enclosed store-room & wood-house. Completed mason-work on Cisterns, 1 new, & 2 old. Delivered most of the Earth for the garden, & 2000 rails & posts for fence. Built about 1/2 mile of fence around pasture. Probable Operations in Nov. Complete work authorized
Admiralty Head Lt House, W. T. Put new zinc floor on Lantern parapet.
Cape Hancock Lt. Ho. W.T. Probable Operation in November Secure men, materials, & transportation for new oil house
Your obedient servant, Henry M Robert Maj. of Eng'rs & L.H. Eng'r, Thirteenth District.
Ediz Hook Lt Station, W. T.
Put up new stove in place of one endangering the Lt. House. Plastered Cellar, so as to keep the Oil Buts dry, & foundation of house in repair. Put zinc cover on parapet, in place of leaky zinc. Commenced slight repairs by Carpenter.
New Dungenness Lt. Station, W. T.
Built ways to landing. Completed painting of Tower. Built Boat House. Completed transportation of Earth & Rails, & building of fence. Made Garden. Repaired & lengthened Chimneys. Cement-plastered the cellar to keep out high tides. Finished plumbing, including repairs to troughs & pipes. Commenced inside repairs to Lt. House. Put zinc fire-board in place of paper ones. Probable Operations for December. Complete Carpenter work & painting Admiralty Head Lt Station, W. T.
Replaced leaky cover to lantern parapet with zinc.
Very respectfully, Your obedient servant, Henry M Robert Maj. of Eng'rs & L.H. Eng'r Thirteenth District
Office of the Light House Engineer Thirteenth District
Portland, Oregon March 5", 1873
Chairman Light House Board Washington D. C.
I herewith submit report of operations for the month of February:
Cape Foulweather Lt Station, Ogn. Put 2 coats of paint on Watch-room, & lantern deck. Completed brickwork. Removed all scaffolding & e So Store-House. Cape Hancock Lt Station, W. L. Commenced Painting.
Probable Work for March. Finish painting. Strengthen Chimney leaks. Put eave troughs & pipes on Oil-House.
Inspected work at Cape Foulweather , Ediz hook, New Dungeness, & Admiralty-Head. Attended meeting of Board of Examiners for Light Keepers at Astoria.
Sent Lampist & Machinist to Cape Flattery Lt Station to put fog Signal into repair.
Very respectfully, Your obedient servant,
Henry M Robert Maj. of Eng'rs & L. H. Eng'r, Thirteenth District
New Dungeness Lt. Station, W.S. Purchased and shipped materials for completion of repairs. Put floor in Boat House & battens on sides. Finished door, & furnished paddock for same. Connected work-house with cistern by covered pipe. Put coat paint on Boat House & 2 coats on inside of Store Room. Inspected work of Repairs, & examined Keeper & Assistant with Capt. Spotts.
Probable Operations for April Put eave-troughs (galvanized iron) in place of defective ones on Store Room. Refit pump in Cistern. Put 2" coat paint on Boat-House; 1 coat paint on inside & outside of store-room. Put stakes to fence. Build 60 ft of new ways for Boat. Repair Boat Carriage. Connect Storeroom with Cisterns. Paint Roofs of Storeroom & Boat House.
Very respectfully, Your obedient servant, Henry M. Roberts Maj. of Eng'rs & L.H. Eng'r, Thirteenth District.
-asked for, to construct a 3rd Order Light House & Steam Fog Light House recommended in the joint report of April 30 1873. From all the information I have been able to get I do not think the erection of a Lt House at the mouth of Umpqua River, Ogn required by the present & prospective trade of that river There should doubtless be a sea-coast light between Cape Foulweather, Ogn and Pt Adams, Ogn, probably at Tillamook Head or False Tillamook: also one or more sea-coast lights, between Shoalwater Bay WT & Cape Flattery, WT: and I would recommend that authority & ??? be given for an examination of the above points as a basis for future estimates. Repairs have also been made during they year at Cape Flattery, Ediz Hook & Admiralty Head Lt Stations. Stations not else where mentioned are 443 Cape Blanco. 444 Cape Arago. 445 Yaquina Bay.
Very Respectfully Henry M Robert Maj Engrs LH Engr 13" Dist.
1870-73 Lighthouse Board Annual Reports
the construction should commence. The design of placing a structure like that at Ediz Hook is approved. You are desired to forward to the Board a requisition for the lens for Yaquina light which will be of the 5th order. You state that less than 270° arc of visibility is required. Please to state how much less and what kind of light it should be. This will involve a study of the kind of light to be used at Cape Foulweather. At some time convenient to you please to have made and forwarded a set of drawings showing the structures to be placed at Yaquina.
Dec. 28 From Engineer Secretary Maj G. H. Elliot. to Col. R.S. Williamson Corps Engineers. Sir: In reply to your letter of the 19th instant, I have to say that the deed of land proposed to be purchased at Yaquina Bay, when submitted to the District Attorney should be accompanied by an abstract of title on which his opinion can be based, or else he should be requested to procure the same at the expense of the United States. If there is no conveyance at Yaquina, it is supposed the County
(aside note) Yaquina Bay abstract of title to land requested
Sir: Referring to your telegram of the 5th instant, I have to inform you that Major Michler, the Light House Engineer at San Francisco, has been directed to look for the Cape Foulweather lantern and report to you.
Dec. 30. From Engineer Secretary Major G. H. Elliot. To Major H. M. Robert. Corps Engineers.
Fix a date by telegraph on which Foulweather can certainly be lighted.
Jan. 2. From Engineer Secretary Major G. H. Elliot. To Major H. M. Robert Corps Engineers.
Coast Guard District narrative histories 1945
At the time of the consolidation of the Lighthouse Service and the Coast Guard, the Seattle District operated nine land-based radio beacons and four radio beacons on the lightships. Two beacons were under construction at Destruction Island (completed in 1943) and at Willapa Bay (completed in 1941). Two more radio beacons were authorized in 1942, one at Cape Flattery (Tatoosh Island) and one at West Point. In the middle of 1945, the radio beacon at Ediz Hook was established, bringing the total number of District radio beacons to 18. However, at the onset of the war, the Navy removed the lightships from the Umatilla Reef and Swiftsure Bank thus leaving only 16 beacons in operation. Of these 16, one was maintained by the RELIEF LIGHTSHIP and used alternatively on the Columbia River station.
(Photo inserted here)
Radio beacon equipment at Tatoosh Island
In the quite rapid succession, Umpqua River, Willapa Bay, Smith Island, Ediz Hook, Cape Arago, Cape Blanco, Point No Point, Point Wilson, and Yaquina Bay Lighthouses were built. In 1879, construction began on the Tillamook Rock Beacon.
Tillamook Rock Lighthouse was one of the most famous as well as one of the most exposed stations in the Lighthouse Service, set on a great precipitous rock lying a mile offshore from Tillamook Head on the Oregon Coast. A dark cloud of ill omen shadowed the station as, in the landing of the construction party, the superintendent was swept by a great wave into the sea and drowned. Almost insurmountable obstacles faced the engineers, for the entire top of the rock mass had to be blasted level to provide space for the lighthouse and its accompanying structures. Heavy seas continually washed over the Rock carrying away half finished foundations, equipment and endangering the lives of the entire work party. Although the light stood 133 feet above the water, on many occasions tremendous waves swept completely over the station carrying large fragments of rock which caused considerable damage to the station. On one such occasion, a rock weighting 135 pounds was hurled through the roof of the building and into the quarters below, causing extensive damage. Another time, the sea tossed a boulder through the lantern, extinguished the light and flooded the dwelling below.
West Point, built in 1881, Alki Point and Brown Point, built in 1887 and Destruction Island, built in 1891, were the next light stations to be erected. Here again, at Destruction Island, treacherous seas made landings difficult except in calm weather, so the "basket" and boom were again called upon for safe landings on the station. 14 other lighthouses were established in the Seattle District, the last being the Lim Kiln structure in 1914. Strangely enough, the Lime Kiln Lighthouse was the last light station in the District operating an oil lantern. An attempt was made to electrify the light by extending commercial power to the Station but the Power Company was unable to furnish sufficient current; in the same regard, poles had to be set in a solid rock and the cost and labor for this were almost prohibitive. A request was made for Headquarters' approval to install a power plant at the unit but this was not commensurate with Headquarters' policy so the light remained an incandescent oil vapor type. This type, familiarly known as i.o.v., gave good service although its range could not match that of the newer electric light. The old i.o.v. light came in two sizes and was approximately equivalent
the construction of roads by the State Highway Departments made the outlying stations more readily accessible.
Seventy keepers were in residence on the Stations when the Lighthouse Service was consolidated with the Coast Guard in 1939. During the war, this number had increased to 176 on these stations. The increase was due, primarily, to the fact that unskilled men inducted into the Service had not the training, background, nor interest in the Station which was common to the men earlier assigned there. Furthermore, the work at the station increased during the war years; Coastal Lookout units with their dogs and horses were generally located on Station grounds. this necessitated turning the dwellings of the Keepers into barracks to quarter the increased personnel and building kennels, stables and shelters for equipment. The end of the war began the gradual reduction of the Stations to their normal peacetime complements.
Early in the war, the Commandant, 13th Naval District, ordered the concealment of ten of the Light Stations that were near military areas or war industries. The walls were "toned down" with gray and the space under the eaves painted black to accentuate the silouette of the Station as it appeared from the water. (Tongue Point Repair Base was provided with a camouflage net to cover the wharves where vari-colored buoys and markers were stored. This Base was in the vicinity of the Naval Air Station, Astoria, and the work was done in conjunction with assistance from that activity.) Army activities near Coast Guard units furnished the paint for camouflaging the structures. The last of the stations was returned to its normal peace time color by the end of the summer, 1945. (See sixth page for camouflage technique)
A continuous lookout adwatch was maintained by the Keepers of New Dungeness, Ediz Hook, Slip Point and Cape Flattery Lighthouses beginning, strangely enough, 6 December, 1941. All vessels, aircraft, or any suspicious activity (such as attempts at communications between persons on shore (such as attempts at communications between persons on shore and unidentified vessels) were reported to Naval Section Base at Port Angeles and the Harbor Defense, Fort Worden. This order directed that persons engaged in suspicious activity should be apprehended and taken into custody. However, this directive was rescinded and, rather than take such individuals into custody, observers notified the nearest Army or Navy intelligence who took the necessary action.
Drills in the use of the gas mask were held at all Light Stations and a course in Chemical Warfare was complusory
The early conception of the mariners, that all aids to navigation must be received by the normal senses of sight and sound, was radically changed by the development of the radiobeacon system which has, since its inception in 1921, become recognized as a most important innovation for increased safety for mariners. As radio signals are not obscured by fog, wind, rain, snow or temperature changes, and bearings may be taken at great distances far beyond the horizon, the radiobeacon had great advantages over previous types of navigational aids. Proof of its efficiency lay in the fact that since its inception approximately a quarter of a century ago, the radiobeacon system was adopted by all maritime nations and direction finders were developed to fit not only the requirements of large ocean liners, but small pleasure craft and fisherman's vessels as well.
At the time of the consolidation of the Lighthouse Service and the Coast Guard, the Seattle District operated nine-land-based radiobeacons and four radiobeacons on the lightships at Swiftsure Bank, Umatilla Reef and the entrance to the Columbia River. Two beacons were under construction at Destruction Island (completed in 1943) and at Willapa Bay (completed in 1941). Two more radiobeacons were authorized in 1842, one at Cape Flattery (Tatoosh Island) and one at West Point. In the middle of 1945, the radiobeacon at Ediz Hook was established, bringing the total number of District radiobeacons to 18. However, at the onset of the war, the Navy removed the lightships from Umatilla Reef and Swiftsure Bank thus leaving only 16 beacons in operation. Of these 16, one was maintained by the RELIEF LIGHTSHIP and used alternately on the Columbia River station.
In an effort to increase, to even a greater degree, the efficiency of the radiobeacon system throughout the United States, headquarters urged that a monitor system be developed and put into operation in each District. Subsequently, a monitor station was established at North head Radio Station which checked the performance of all District radiobeacons. Between 0800 to 1100 and 1500 to 1900 daily, each radiobeacon was monitored, the time for the check being staggered to insure a truer picture of the various beacons' performance. Outlying stations were notified daily of all failures or defects in the radiobeacons' operation. These reports were a District innovation and were not required by Headquarters but were merely another measure adopted by the District Coast Guard Office for increased efficiency in the District system.
(Continued) RACON "A" BAND "B" BAND ANTENNA MAXIMUM STATION MODEL COVERAGE COVERAGE ELEVATION RANGE Port Angeles YJ 61 North 95 North 25 67 "A" Wash. 60 East 101 East 102 "B" (2nd check) 16 South 17 South 55 West 73 West
Seattle,Wn. YJ 30 North 49 North 505 35 "A" 11 East 42 East 55 "B" 28 South 40 South 33 West 46 West
Tillamook, AN/CPN-3 20 North to Southwest 25 Ore. 70 South to Southwest 60 Southwest to Northwest
During the initial check of the Port Angeles RACON, the YG homing beacon interfered with the signal; the second test, after the equipment had been adjusted, proved quite satisfactory considering the surrounding terrain, and showed and increase over a previous check of 35 miles on a 90 [degree] bearing from the beacon. In the northern quadrants, good coverage was obtained but it decreased slightly over Vancouver Island, B.C. and became quite poor to the south where the mountains were approximately 7500 to 8500 feet hight. The RACON antennae were located on Ediz Hook near Port Angeles, Washington, in the open with no restrictions other than the mountainous terrain.
The anternnae at the Astoria RACON were elevation 750 feet above sea level but this elevation did not provide the coverage originally hoped for. High hills to the northeast across the Columbia River and mountains to the east reduced the ranges in those directions, while a grove of trees 150 feet from the station (about 50 feet in height) restricted the signals at lower altitudes to the north, northeast and east. It was determined by the pilot that the beacon afforded good coverage over water and fair coverage over land. The Tillamook RACON was check while a forest fire was raging about 20 miles distant from the station which caused dense clouds of smoke to ascend about 8000 feet into the air. However, there was no indication that the smoke affected the beacon's signals in any way, as the mountains restricted the
Box 252 List of supplies 1885, YB, YH Emery Pay 1887
Feby 10 Cement for placing new pump-pipe Ediz Hook to be paid from Appr. for Repairs Feby 23 Chart No. 646 - forwarded Mch. 8 Cape Meares or Cape Lookout Proposed Lt. station_Bds. decision Mch. 16 Chart No. 648 - forwarded Mch. 19 Coal open purchase - not authd., tel., Mch. 19 Coal (500 tons) open purchase not authd. Mch. 22 Chart No. 681a _ forwarded Mch. 26 Coquille River Lt. House unnecessary - April 6 Cape Arago, Reservation - selling portion - views asked April 9 Cape Meares Joint Report- position of proposed light requested April 12 Chart No. 681a _ forwarded April 15 Chimneys & wick - 1st Order Min. oil lamp, 3rd Insp, shipment May 29 Chain. shackles, &c, should be purchased after advertising May 23 Cape Flattery Ill. Apparatus - red cut - to mark Duncan Rock May 24 Chart No. 673 _ forwarded May 31 Cape Arago Cape Blanco Cape Foulweather and 13 other light-stations Supplies &c. authd.