Diaries

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

joan-marion-drake-1944

3
Needs Review

3

1943

To Joan With love from L [Gambert]

Last edit 3 months ago by Fleksta
5
Needs Review

5

This book belongs to :- Joan Drake Windyridge Sutton Ely [RN] TDAL 15/3 Cambs.

Telphone No. Sutton 240 (next door)

Last edit 3 months ago by Fleksta
11
Needs Review

11

1 Sat

Not a very nice day. Did a Lot of work in the morning to get ready for the party. We had four airmen there, Taffy, Oren, Harry and Clarence, and Uncle Harold and family. We had a lovely time and played games all the evening. Did not go to bed until past 1 o'clock.

Last edit 3 months ago by Fleksta
12
Needs Review

12

JANUARY 1944

2 Sun-2nd after Christmas First Quarter, 8.4 p.m.

Got up feeling very tired but managed to get to Sunday school in time. Clarence cycled over to chapel in [??]. Went to Sunday school again in afternoon. Read in the evening.

3 Mon

Cleaned the lounge in the morning Mummy washed, but it rained all the morning. She got them dry in the afternoon. Listened to Monday night at eight in the evening.

4 Tues

Very cold. Helped Mummy in the morning and then went to Sutton and did errands. Did some knitting and read in the afternoon and evening. Mummy & Daddy went out in the evening.

5 Wed

Still very cold. Cleaned my bedroom and the dining room in morning. Gave my bicycle a good clean in the afternoon. Packed for Cambridge in the evening. Clarence came for supper.

Last edit 3 months ago by Jannyp
13
Needs Review

13

JANUARY 1944

6 Thur-Epiphany

Finished packing in morning and went with Auntie Marion to Cambridge. Helped Auntie in the morning and took Ian for a long walk in the afternoon. Mrs. Farmery came in, in the evening.

7 Fri June's Birthday

Helped Auntie in the morning and watched Ian have his bath. Auntie and I took him for a long walk in the afternoon. Cooked some things for Saturday's supper in evening.

8 Sat-Christmas Fire Insurance ceases s.r. 8.5, s.s. 4.9

Helped Auntie in the morning until Mummy, Daddy + Janet came for me. We went to Lyons to dinner and afterwards went round the shops and then last to theatre to see the Toy Princess. It was very good. In evening had a supper party at Auntie Marions, Mrs + Mrs Farmery came in.

Draw up in good time a scheme for cropping the vegetable garden and order the necessary seeds early. A carefully thought-out plan avoids waste of space and unnecessary labour. Endeavour each year, if possible, to bastard trench a third of the garden, adding manure or compost.

Last edit 5 days ago by MaryV
14
Needs Review

14

JANUARY 1944

9 Sun-1st after Epiphany

Mummy, Daddy and I went to Castle Street chapel in morning, came home in a car after dinner. Read all the afternoon. S. L. Hump came for tea and brought F. O. Tony Morland with him. They did not stay for supper, but Clarence came in.

10 Mon-Full Moon 10.9 a.m.

Helped Mummy in morning and then went to Sutton. Went with Auntie Winnie to get rations for Primary Treat. In afternoon went + helped Auntie make things for treat I made shortbreads. Stayed for tea. Read in evening.

11 Tues-Hilary Law Sittings begin

Very cold snowed rained and sleeted in afternon. Helped Mummy in morning and read my [??]. Went to Sutton in afternoon and helped with Primary Treat. 20 children there 10 boys + 10 girls.

12 Wed

Started school again. Didn't have any lessons until [after] break. Had three history lessons. Read my library and finished it in the [library] as had no homework.

Last edit 3 months ago by Fleksta
15
Needs Review

15

JANUARY 1944

13 Thur

Not quite so cold weather. Didn't have a very nice gym lesson. Had a horrible French test in afternoon and had very boring math lessons. Janet + I were on our own in evening Clarence came for supper.

14 Fri

Quite a nice day. Had some fun in free lesson. Started to put cuffs on in needlework. Played games in afternoon I had to be an inner which I was awful. Did homework in evening.

15 Sat-s.r. 8.1, s.s. 4.18

Very very foggy all day. Clarence came for the day and with the help of Daddy + Olive layed our path from gate to door. Had a bath in afternoon. Finished my English essay in evening.

If not already done, seize every opportunity to finish the tar-oil spraying of Apricots, Cherries, Peaches, Plums, Currants and Gooseberries. Pears are next in order, followed by Apples in the course of about a fortnight according to the nature of the season.

Last edit 3 months ago by Fleksta
16
Needs Review

16

JANUARY 1944

16 Sun-2nd after Epiphany

Still very very foggy. Went to Sunday School in morning and taught primary. Went to Sunday School again in the afternoon. Clarence came in for supper.

17 Mon

Miss [Baerd] away so had to do a model lesson. Had our first [science] lesson of the term. Did not have hardly any homework so messed about in free lessons.

18 Tues-Last Quarter 3.32 p.m.

Made a [fareed] cheese omlet in cookery. Ate it at break. Hd. Had quite a nice [singing] lesson. Then had a nasty gym [class]. Hump brought the wonderful news about George. Wrote a long letter to him in the evening.

19 Wed

Had a lovely science lesson making salts. Miss Baird left us in French, but came back in time to give us homework. Did nothing but notes in history. Spent all the evening doing homework.

Last edit 3 months ago by Fleksta
17
Needs Review

17

JANUARY 1944

20 Thur

Had quite a nice gym lesson. Got all my science homework done in free lesson. Did not have a French or Geometry test in afternoon as expected. Sewed all the evening and listened to bible class. Janet [gown] staying with us.

21 Fri

Missed our free lesson. Had a very nice french lesson which Miss Baird did not attend. Had a theory needlework lesson. Lovely afternoon, had a very nice game of hockey. Did my geography and maths homework in evening.

22 Sat-s.r. 7.54, s.s. 4.29

Rough cold day. Helped Mummy in [morning]. Did homework in the afternoon and some of the evening. Janet + Daddy went to the S.S. [??]. Played Tiddly Winks with Mummy in evening.

During favourable weather, freely ventilate cold frames, especially those containing vegetable seedlings such as Cauliflowers, Lettuces, etc., which are intended for planting out towards the end of March. To produce large bulbs and render the crop less susceptible to the attack of Onion Fly, a sowing of Onion may be made in gentle warmth.

Last edit 5 days ago by MaryV
18
Needs Review

18

JANUARY 1944

23 Sun-3rd after Epiphany

Went to Sunday School in morning and taught Primary. M + D went to [??] R.A.F. Hospital in afternoon. I stayed at home and wrote History essay. S.L. Hump and a W.A.A.F came to tea.

24 Mon

Very very windy day Had science and French homework got half my french done at school. Finished HW. at [3.30] pm. Olive + the Ham came for supper. We sang and played games. Went to bed at 11 o'clock

25 Tues-Conversion of S. Paul New Moon 3.24 p.m.

Still very windy. Had a theory cookery lesson on meat and vegetables. Had a nice singing lesson and played games. Had a nice geography lesson but some horrible homework.

26 Wed

I received a long letter from George. He had a terrible crash just before xmas, and was pretty smashed up. Only had Maths homework. Wrote a letter to George and did some needlework in evening.

Last edit 3 months ago by Fleksta
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 342 in total