Anthony W. Wilkinson Letter Collection

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

T2020.102.542

9
Needs Review

9

6.

Well Edith it was like news from the dead when last Tuesday I recieved a letter from Chas. Miner it is exactly as follows.

My dear girl.

[Giving?] to fact that I have not been able to come in contact with you or find any one that has done so I take it upon my self to write you this letter in the vain hope that it will enable me to satisfy my morbid inquisitions s.

What it the cause of your non-appearance in the last few months? have you been ill? or have you left the City?

Last edit 5 months ago by RaySchmitt
10
Needs Review

10

5.

cool weather it is sold 35¢ per yd it is a beautiful thing in the piece. I got a bout 11 yds I think. I expect to have sashes of some material with [insertion?] on edges and ends of it. about 1½ wide and [illegible] trimmed in it I dont exactly know how I will have it made the way I want it made K has got a dress made very near like it and material something the same. Will send picture and sample, and I also got a shirt waist ma is making it now the there is my shirt waist. it is a very sty lish goods and K- he has it to.

Last edit 5 months ago by RaySchmitt

T2020.102.545

2
Needs Review

2

ing played one out today but will finish tomorrow. K was gone just one week camping. I don't know who she was with although she said a girl friend and her. She worked just the same and went out every eve from store on her wheel. She said something several times about the boys. She went in [bathing?] night and morning. She is home this week and expects to go to Hover [Hoover] Ohio to that summer reort next week for a week at least and maybe longer.

So ma will

Last edit 5 months ago by abrorrer
3
Needs Review

3

3.

not return to C- till we send for her. She says since [Bronn's?] hired girl has left she is taking her place and she send $2.00 home saying that is what she received for her week's labor. She is doing considerable sewing for them. I think it would be real nice for you to go down there. Every body would love to see you, but I shall not for two is plenty, but I do want to see you so bad.

Next eve at 4:30.

Well I finished the [mowing?] and am pretty tired for I am not well. I have those [harried?]

Last edit 5 months ago by abrorrer
4
Needs Review

4

4.

head aches, dizzie [dizzy], and black specks before my eyes, and etc. Well, about Kate buying groceries, she is very close barley [barely] enough to keep from starving, and gets some every time, "namely" loaf of rye bread, qt [quart] of berries, 1/2 pound of cheese. That is all. If it had not been for ma sending that money home, I don't know what I should have done and I pay insurance every two weeks out of that, and I bought a 1/2 lb. [pound] of butter the other day and 1/2 peck of potatoes, the first that has been in the house since ma has left which is four or five

Last edit 5 months ago by abrorrer
5
Needs Review

5

6

home about 6 O'clock from Aand she had gone to Detroit on Saturday and did not return till Monday eve, and she knew I was coming home, and there was not a thing in house to eat from Sunday morn till Monday eve. Only I found a nickele [nickel] and bought 1/2 doz [dozen] cakes. Her & ma wanted me to stay over at Archie's all the time. K- wanted the house all to her self which "A. & L. & J. all think very strange, and she even wanted to know just what nights I would be home." So she thought she would starve me out. A. & J. think it awful. A. said he would

Last edit 5 months ago by abrorrer
6
Needs Review

6

5.

weeks ago today. K., you know, don't eat either of latter [[struck text]: of]] so don't buy them. The week she went camping, I had a few little things. I had to get them or starve for I got so [[struck text]: week]] weak the first week or two after ma went. I stayed over to Arc- [Archie's] for K- [Kate or Katie] would not give me any thing to eat, but I was to come home on Monday's and do her washing and ironing, and Sadie not pay me [[inserted above]: a]] cent for doing it, and one day, I washed and ironed for her with only a loaf of rye bread and that apple butter in house, and one Tuesday morn I came

Last edit 3 months ago by MaryV
7
Needs Review

7

7.

not pay the rent unless she give me all I wanted to eat, and I told her "for A. [Archie] said to," and she says she won't go near them, and before A. would pay the rent, I had to tell him a lie and say I had plenty to eat. A.- said also that he was not going to board me and pay rent to [too], and [Edie?]. I helped J- all I could in every way, and A- said I did not help a [dam?], and Jheard him and did not say one word, and here they let on as if they wanted me so bad to stay nights for she has not been left alone for

Last edit 5 months ago by abrorrer
8
Needs Review

8

8.

the past two months, but Edie there can be her mother & sisters there at one time for several days at time and every thing is all right. I am only going over after rent after this and won't stay for a meal.

Last week I had company every night - unexpected every night to [too], and Thursday I went down street to mail your letter. Was gone about 1/2 hour and when I came back there had been 3 gentleman [gentlemen] calling and me "the lady down stairs said," two left their cards and message on back of them. One owns a commission house

Last edit 19 days ago by MaryV
9
Needs Review

9

9.

and the other my dry good clerk, Mr Wilkins. I have not seen or wrote as they wanted me to do or [hant?] going to.

[Miner?] was up last Wednesday and talks of going to Haska. No, I can't tell you on paper what he said, but personally, [Jim?] J- is still in existence and I hear is asking after me and wants to see me. [Lennon?], the great skater of Ohio, I met him last winter. He was asking [Miner?] after me and wants my address.

Goodnight. Morning. Well, Edie K- received a letter from G.L.H. and he [illegible]

Last edit 5 months ago by abrorrer
Displaying Page 211 - 220 of 231 in total