Anthony W. Wilkinson Letter Collection

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

T2020.102.239

3
Needs Review

3

to give the Dr. your new address if you have not written

I often see your friend Mrs. Fisher passing. I have had her pointed out to me so often that I have learned to know her when I see her. So I suppose she had good health when she goes out so much.

April 5

My Dear Miss Hartzell. I have been so miserable since I started to write to that is was impossible for me to finish your letter. I know you will pardon the delay.

Dr. Miller called in to see

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire
4
Needs Review

4

Tuesday evening. I gave him your last address. He is so kind to me. I would not give him for the whol staff at the H.H. He said he thought his wife would like you so much for a nurse.

I believe Mrs. Miller has [?] in poor health. I thought she had recovered.

Do you ever hear from Miss McCarty? I think of her so often since I have been sick. You know she was my roomate and a very genial one.

With best wishes and love for you I am, Sincerely yours Cecilia E. Abel.

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire

T2020.102.240

1
Needs Review

1

My dear Miss [H]artzell,

You dear child,

I don't think you dreadful at all, but love you dearly; and believe you write me wherever you can. And I know you are as busy as can possibly be.

Hope your dear good cousin is perfectly well again, and that you are having a rest.

We just returned home from a six weeks visit in Minneapolis and at both my own and Mr. and Mrs. Hickox's [?] old homes in Iowa.

Your dear good letter was forwarded to my old home from here.

Mr. Hickox [?] has fully recovered from his bad sprain and is very busy. I see very little of him. Wish you were near enough to steal away to me for a good

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire
2
Needs Review

2

seat every once in awhile. I am alone so much of the time. What lovely times we could have. That poor little invalid widow I told you of has gone to her Father's some where's south of her. Her health is very much broken in consequence of the sudden loss of her huband.

I sincerely home we may be able to spend a miuten [minute?] together again in the Sunny South, what a very lovely time we did have. I think of it so often. And today, I received a lovely letter from the dear Richardsons. They are spending the winter at Lakewood about two hours ride from New York. They are stopping at Sunset Lodge, a cottage boarding place. They are [they say?] very happily located and will remain there until about the fifteenth of April. They always ask after you and are anxious to know all about you and wish to be remembered to you.

Mrs. Richardson always speaks of Mr. Knight. I would like to know about the dear fellow. [Now, how ?] was he on further acquaintance any way. I wonder if he is still abroad? I thought of him the other day when I read of the artists theatrecals in Paris and I wondered if he was there and interested in them and ever thought of the time

Last edit about 1 year ago by shashathree
3
Needs Review

3

We three went wandering throug pine woods of Florida. I'm really disatisfied [sic] with living here. would be very glad if it were possible for us to move to Duluth. The horrid monotony of this wretched little village is something dreadful. The majority of the people here are of the foreign element of the peasant class of Swedes and Norwegians mostly. and there is as miserable little handful of we Americans and we are getting into such deep ruts that they are getting so we can hardly see over the sides. I'm going to do something

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire
4
Needs Review

4

I dont know what it will be but it will be some thing to vary the monotony. Some of the young ladies were after me the other day to go out on "skies", do you know what they are? I'll explain for fear you do not. They are, from all the way, from four to six and seven feet long, about six inches wide, and taper slightly at each point, and turn up like a sled runner, there is a strap about the middle of them, into which you thrust your foot. And then take your stand at the top of a hill with a long pole in your hands and you sort of slide down the

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire
5
Needs Review

5

hill standing up with the pole to guide yourself with, and using the pole you can project yourself with great rapidity over the straight flat snow. Tis very dangerous business but extremely exciting. I didn't go out that day but will if I'm able soon. Cant say I'm feeling in the bloom of health, but am some what better I think than when I last wrote you. We fully expected to go east awhile this winter but Mr Hickox could not get away for any longer time than six weeks so we spent it at home. We had a very lovely Xmas, all of the family were at home. But I hated so to leave them all and come way up here to this frigid zone of a place. We are having a severe blizzard tonight, tis snowing and blowing and the lake is roaring dreadfully. This have [sic] been a very mild winter even the little bays along the shore have none of them been frozen. But if this weather keeps up it wont be long before there is plenty of ice. Intend sending you a fir pillow as soon as I can gather some more, for that which I gathered is poor and I want to send you a nice one. You must surely visit us this summer. Mr Hickox is at home for a [wonder ?] this evening, just came in very tired. And we've been planning to

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire
6
Needs Review

6

have you all to ourselves this summer. You must plan to have a fun time to give to us dearie. We feel we've a big slave in you. Many thanks for your kind Xmas and New Years wishes Hope this will be a good year for us all. Remember me to Grandma Marshall and the rest of family when you see them. Remember dearie, your dear love and heartfelt wishes go a great deal farther and are ten fold more precious than rich gifts. I like yourself could not go outside my family this year. Let me hear from you often as possible dear. Mr Hickox sends love and I likewise. Your loving friend Mary Hickox Two Harbors Minn Jan 2 - 3rd 1900

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire

T2020.102.241

1
Needs Review

1

C. Y. C. CLEVELAND. COMMODORE, GEO. H. WORTHINGTON. VICE COMMODORE, EDW. A. OVERBEKE. REAR COMMODORE, JOHN BARTH. SECRETARY-TREASURER, A. R. LANDRETH, JR. 86 Brownell City Tuesday 1, 22, 01 My dear dear Sister: I presume you have wondered all day why I have not been over to see you. Well dear I have got a severe cold, and I am a little afraid to go out, for fear I will take more, and then will be another one

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire
2
Needs Review

2

has been against my phoning you, me being unable to hear - the house and Chas getting home to [sic] late to phone up either. Mary & Johnie fret. I dont expect to let another day pass without me hearing from my big "Zooty." I felt like coming over today anyway. Edie now take care of yourself, and dont do anything foolish for I want you to hurry

on the sick list. I am doctoring my self taking my cough syrup and the quinine tonic and expect to be over to see you in a few days. I go down to my meals and stay in my room closely. I have more sense than you think I have, hav'nt I? You poor girl I am thinking of you constantly and wonder if you are not better It seems that fate

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire
Displaying Page 31 - 40 of 231 in total