Letters of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1849-1880, California Superintendency

Pages That Need Review

MF1323.1197_Reel_32_0242_cover

1
Needs Review

1

[Left column] J762 (California) Sacramento, &c — Adam Johnston, sub agt. Valley of San Joaquin, Cal. Mercede Indn. Resvn., June 24/51

Reports in reference to hostilities of the Indns of San Joaquin Valley & of adjacent county — Steps taken by him to procure military force to arrest aforesaid war — arrival of the Indn comsrs (Messrs McKee, Barbour, & Wozencraft) in the valley with an asst. of troops, joined & proceeded with by him this the valley as far as Rio Rey or Kings River, when he returned for purpose of fulfilling any of an [?] with the Indns & to get them from the mountains & settled on the reservations, about which he has been engaged for the last three months, & is satisfied of the [results?] thereof — Describes (over)

copied for Sup Beale

Rec'd 7 Augt 1851 Acknd August 12th 1851

[Center column] [illegible] of reservations & states number of Indns, on each, accepting [over?] [illegible] his immediate charge -

Last edit about 2 years ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library

MF1323.1197_Reel_32_0330_cover

1
Needs Review

1

M 1294 O.I.A. - California R McKee, comr M 1294 Camp Gibson on the Chowchilla River, Cal, May 14/[51]

Reports to proceedings of the Commissioner [illegible] + [illegible] the California Indns-- to the [Cha????] of the [illegible] than [numbers?], +c - to the [proposed?] [decision?] of the state [illegible] [illegible] for [illegible] option of [illegible] [illegible] [firing his?] [illegible], + [illegible] [illegible] showed as they [illegible] [illegible], as to [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] is to [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] or is [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] from time to time, [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] of California + Oregon [illegible] [illegible] [conf???] to [illegible] [illegible] of one [illegible] to FILE (over) [illegible] at San [illegible] [illegible] Sacramento City-- [illegible] [illegible] from laws + regulations [illegible] to sail- Pacific [illegible]-- [illegible] required to return home during [raising?] [search?], (when [illegible] in that country as [illegible] [illegible]) [illegible] probably [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] important information -- Suggests the [food?] [illegible] [illegible] follow the [illegible] to [illegible] [illegible] +c, [illegible] [illegible] of chiefs of the tribes of the country-- [illegible] [illegible] ([illegible]) of [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] -- Requests a [closed?] Communication be forwarded to family, +c.

Rec'd May 1851 Sec [illegible] to R. Mc Kee August 9, 1851

Last edit over 2 years ago by SRandlett

MF1323.1197_Reel_32_0324_cover

1
Needs Review

1

M1176

O.I.A. California

R. McKee, Commsr. San Francisco, Jan. 13, 1851

Announces the arrival of D. Wozencroft, Col. Barbour & self, & gives their present place of operations. Will visit the Governor &c at San Jose (the capital) to ascertain facts & relating to recent reported Ind. disturbances. Commsr. [name?] employed John McKee as Secretary &c — Encld copy of their circular (printed) & hopes the views therein expressed will be approved of by the Dept. — Calls attention to the inadequacy of compensation allowed the Commr. & hopes Congress will increase the pay & given items of travell? & other expenses &c — Speaks of loss of 2 bales of blankets, &c — Requests Treasy. check on Custom House, S. Francisco. — Commr. [name?] not yet met with Sub agt. Johnson, nor heard what he has done. Hopes to be able to send acknt. form from Dept soon &c.

File

Recd 24 February, 1851 To letter to R. McKee Jan 9, 1851

Last edit about 2 years ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library

MF1323.1197_Reel_32_0039_light

1
Needs Review

1

OIA I. 463 Sacramento California Adam Johnston, Agt. Chico, Cal., July 6/50

I 463

Reports difficulties that have taken place between the Indians & Whites - If all of a treaty made with the Indns by Col. Thos J Grove & gives his reasons why it sh'd not be approved - Names the tribes, the memmbers, customs, habits, conditions, mode of living, & officially of depredations committed by them, & of eliminations by the whites on their property, &c - Compensation claimed by them for, & suggests small annuity be paid them in foods &c. Also suggests plan for their management - gives views of Capt Day regarding them - Mentions difficulty obtaining statistical information about the [post?] - that [illegible] of his agents [illegible]

Recd 7th Septemr 1850

Last edit about 2 months ago by ybee

MF1323.1197_Reel_32_0194

3
Needs Review

3

those who have lived in the Missions are the most Cautious particularly if they drink liquor of which they are very fond there are many of them living on the Ranchos in this country and work very well but they are all inclined to theft the working in Mission Indians as well as the wild tribes, will lie and cheat, are very fond of Gambling nevertheless with Kindness they can be taught and Subjugated with more facility than any that I have been acquainted with, and as far as I can learn the three Commissioners now on duty, in the mining districts have little difficulty in accomplishing a treaty with such as can be prevailed and to venture among them but still many tribes and scattering Indians owing to their being better mounted and prepared for hostile and [?ing] purposes and who have these time past obtained considerable booty from the Miners and Rancheras so numerous in their Vicinity. Horses Mules oxen &c being so abundant that those wild tribes prefer Keeping the mountains till they are compelled to Submit. in the Northern Section we experienced but trifling difficulty with them, and even what we did, originated from recklessness, wantonness and unnecessary cruelty towards them in the beginning. the principal difficulty experienced here originated in cruelty and terminated fatally. Some farmers in the vicinity who had several Indians on their farms as was customary went to the Clear lake distant from here about Sixty Miles and compelled about one hundred of the Indians to go with them to the Sacramento Mines in the Sickly Season. most of them took the indiscriminant fever and died and of the whole scarcely ten returned alive those on arriving with their funds complained of the ways they received and it is probable caused revenge.

Last edit 10 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
5
Needs Review

5

Magistrates by the State law have jurisdiction over the Indians and after hearing both parties I gave them a locality of a League of land on the N.E Side of the River where their Rancheria stood. There are about one hundred on the Rancharee. They were very well satisfied and requested I would live on their land to instruct them. and they would work for me. the chief promised to obey my orders. and that should any of their youth steal or injure the white men, they would bring them to me to be punished. and entreated much that I would come to live with as near them or Send some one I could Recommend to teach them how to procure and raise food as they say the herbs root Insects vermin & on which they subsisted as getting scarce on account of the white population occupying so much of the lands they formerly occupied.

I therefore believe that the department at Washington was not in Sufficient information regarding the Indians in the Northern Section of our State, as men here generally care more for the obtaining ore than furnishing any accurate information that might tend to benefit the Indians as there Seems a marked [has?] [-ly?] [illegible] show more [-ally?] by the western population and show from Oregon and which I am at a loss to account for. I am therefore of opinion if a man accustomed to their habits or in whom they would place confidence was located among them with Sufficient power over the different tribes between here and Trinity or Humbolt bay (and the expense would be merely nominal) would result in much good and prevent Serious Consequences if Government will act speedily therein as at present they are in dread of the americans and in want of food &c.

I have the honor to be your most oBt Servant Peter Campbell

The Hon Commissioner of Indian Affairs Washington D.C.

Last edit 10 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library

MF1323.1197 Reel 38_0268

4
Needs Review

4

Tehama Cala Jany 20th 1860

Hon Milton S. Latham

Dr Sir [next 2 lines illegible] my claim against the United States [next 5 lines illegible] I would prefer that it be sent direct to my address at this place.

And if not, you will please inform me on what messenger payment will be made, that I may know in what direction to look for the funds.

I am sorry to say that I believe Stanford will be elected on account of the split in the Dem

Last edit over 1 year ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
5
Needs Review

5

Democratic party. In the opinion of the poops (often knowing ones) E J S will best Doll for the State Senate.

I am looking for the copies of the [illegible] reports and other [next 5 lines illegible]

Your obdt. Servt J. M. Betts

Last edit about 2 months ago by ybee

MF1323.1197 Reel 38_0778

3
Needs Review

3

thing suspicious of venality has for some years been a notor -riety in our section of this department for Indian affairs, and I think the officer recommended would hold a salutary check in the future.

I have know Dr White since 1850 and should the office he created, his knowledge of Indian character, zeal and earnestness would I feel sure make him a valuable public officer in this position.

Very Respy Your Obt. Servt Justin Steinberger Col U. S. Infy

Hon. Wm P. Dole Commission of Indian Affairs Washington D. C.

Last edit 2 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library

MF1323.1197_Reel_36_0168

15
Needs Review

15

SELLO PRIMERO OCHO PESOS.

Habitado [illegible] por la Adams [illegible] parte de [illegible] and Departments de la California, para [illegible] de [illegible] y tres.

[illegible] Manuel [illegible] [signature] [signature]

[Seal, only partially legible] AD. [illegible] IN MONT.

[written] Manuel Michellmas Grand de Briga da del Ejercito Mejicans, Ayudanta General dela [illegible] no Mayor del [illegible] Gobernador Comandante General e Inspector del Departamento de las Californias

Por cuanto [illegible] Joa Antonion Aguerra y [illegible] del Valle han [illegible] sus manificios personals y el de sus familias el [illegible] conocido con al nombre de Eejon calendante con la Cannila de los Absos, con la Secondal Penson y con el paraje de Castes tomando por lenders desde la otha Canada con direccion a la Laguna de los Tolo ns. [illegible] las deligencias y [illegible] [illegible] segun lo despuesto por le yes y reglamentos; [illegible] de las facultades que no son confundos a nombres de la a Nacion Mejicana he bundo en conandiales el [illegible]

Last edit 6 months ago by KokaKli
Displaying pages 1 - 10 of 899 in total