Letters of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1849-1880, California Superintendency

Pages That Need Review

MF1323.1197_Reel_32_0352

1

1

[left side]

M 1403 California Redick McKee, San Francisco, Cal. June 30, 1851.

Ack letters of April 12th [might?] May, of which furnished copies to [illegible] alledges -- Encloses copies of his [cop?] 4th, 6th & 10th inst. to them as explanatory of [himself?] [congested?] with his acct. or [illegible] of -- States [after?] for [convince?] [objected?] to [illegible] consequence of [illegible] not having been [illegible] to -- Encloses copies of an agreement [illegible] between Adam Johnston, Ind. sub agt., of [Janos?] H. [illegible][illegible] Stone for transfer of [illegible] property on the [illegible] [illegible].

Recd Augt 1851 Answered 9 : August 1851

[right side]

saying that in a letter to the Secy of the Interior he has with more fully relative thereto, &c -- says many day's [rep??????] [illegible] having the necessity of a district system for management of Indn Affs in California & region -- that there must be a head, there, with power to appoint, &c, c -- Rcd all ship from newspaper (Morning Post) referring to Indn Affrs [illegible]

Last edit 7 months ago by LA County Library
2

2

Hon. Luke Lea San Francisco June 30 / 51 Commission Indian Affairs Washington City Sir Referring to my last dispatches, under date of 13th & 29th ult, I have now to acknowledge the rest of your letters of April 12th, & May 9th , Contents of which are noted, & Copies Commissioned to my Colleagues, Mrss. Barbour & Wozencroft. Enclosed you will find copies of my letter to Col Barbour of [10? D?] & to Dr. W-- of 4th + 6th inst, which being Explanatory of business, connected with my accounts as I'm having Agents, I deem it proper to submit. The failure of your [B????], to forward the funds appropriated by the late Congress, has accessioned me no little inconvenience, And had it not been for the kindness of Mr. Collector King, in advancing my informal draft ($1000, for taking D. Wozencraft Mssr, to the scene of the late Indian discordancy, in El dorado County, he could not have accompanied his Escort, and the [illegible] [press?] of the Country, would have united the Condemning the dilatoriness of the Commission, & of the Administrating. In my letter of 13th Jany, I advised you that, exchange was against New York. From 6 [illegible]/2 pm out, and that, it would therefore be better for you to obtain [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] the Custom House & [illegible] or [illegible] Congress [Oregon?] disposal -- In several subsequent letters, I referred to the [I????] State of things, I repeated the same [illegible] even when you don't. [illegible] paper containing the appropriation, approved 27 Feby '51, I'm on still at a loss to know, whether you expect me to draw on you, or await your remittance, Another result has been, my own attention home, for several months which should have been employed in my long contemplated journey, to the Indian Settlements on Eel River, Humboldt Bay, Trinidad, & the Klamath. This journey to, and through, an almost unexplored region, will require some three months time, [illegible][illegible] involve [March] [illegible] + [illegible] [H??dime] [works?],

Last edit 7 months ago by LA County Library
3

3

[left side]

past, the news from that quarter, has been of a very unsatisfactory description, and evinced the importance, & necessity, of my presence in the Country, during the past week, I was waited on, by a committee, with the proceedings of a public meeting of American citizens at Trinidad -- Calling on the Commissioners for protection, & in the Event of our not being able to afford it, then on the Governor of the State. I explained to the Gentlemen, my reasonings, and indeed great anxiety, to visit their country, And do all in my power to redress their grievances; And promised that if at all possible, I would [illegible], with an Escort of U.S. Troops immediately after the arrival of the Steamer due here 4"th July. If that mail brings me a remittance, very well ; if not, I shall appeal to Col. King to [illegible] my draft upon you, for 10,000 or 15,000$ to pay our pressing liabilities, and give me the means to travel on -- but if in this I am unsuccessful, the public business must be postponed still longer -- And indefinitely, until you do [when?] send me the money, or expressly authorize my drafts--

I also enclose herewith, copies of an agreement, & [illegible] which I have accidentally obtained in relation to a very extraordinary transaction on our Indian Reservation, in the Merced River between [illegible] Adam Johnston Sub Agent. & Mssr [Name? Name?] [illegible] [illegible] days since, that Mr. [Mackinaw?] was [illegible], trying to sell [illegible] [illegible] the Indian Department for $12000. [Johnston?] [illegible] up to Esquire [illegible] the transactions : Being acquainted with the property, and knowing that the Sm stated, is 3 or 4 times its value, under any circumstances, I had the less hesitancy, in telling him, that, the whole affair was unauthorized by the law, and that I had no draft whatever, it would be instantly disavowed, by your department. In a letter which I have written to Mr. Stuart Sect. of the Interior, I have gone more fully into this subject, and some other transactions of a kindred character, to

[right side]

all which, I feel it my duty to call your attention, as well as this: Every days experience in this country, [illegible] me more fully that, a distinct system for carrying on Indian Affairs in this state and Oregon, must finally be adopted. It must have a head --here on the ground -- clothed with power to appoint -- suspend, or depose Agents,& sub agents; make all contracts, for supplies, or for carrying out treaty stipulations -- Conclude new treaties; in a word, exercise in his department, a kind of [Alcalde?], or unlimited power, without having to [loose?] 3 or 4 months in submitting questions, & awaiting instructions, from Washington,-- On this subject I believe there is no difference of opinion, among public men here, and the [illegible] it is taken [ ?ass], and asked on by the Government at Washington, -- the better it will be, for both Whites & Indians. I'm very Respectfully Your mo obt sr, Redick McKee

Last edit 7 months ago by LA County Library

MF1323.1197_Reel_32_0444

3

3

was made in El Dorado County.

I would here refer you to a communication addressed by me from this County in which after mentioning some of the very numerous difficulties I experienced in attempting to consummate a Treaty at that time, yet I felt confident that the arrangements made by me would prove successfull [successful] eventually, this policy has thus far succeeded, many of the hostile Indians having come in, and their hostile measures towards the whites entirely ceased, which [happy?] end has been obtained by a friendly talk and the distribution of a [illegible] head of Beef Cattle.

I would now take occasion to remark that this was effected after the State Troops had been withdrawn, they having failed to subdue the Indians as was anticipated after [incurring?] an exchange [illegible] (I venture to assent) than the amount [specified?] in all of the Treaty stipulations for my District.

These are facts which [packages?] ought not to be [co??????sated] on by myself, my motive in speaking of these is to [cease?] your earnest and carefull [careful] attention to the Subject, that the policy which has been so successfull [successful] in its [inefficiency?] may not be destroyed in its fruition.

Thus you will perceive the preliminaries of a great work have been begun and accomplished. The consummation of which is within reach will result in peace and quiet to the people, and permanent security of life and property in the resources of a vast extent of Country will be developed, its Aborigines will become usefull Husbandmen, and this at an expense to the Government of minor cost than would be incurred in taking life. I am confident in the belief that all of this can be effected by pursuing the policy I have thus far suggested and carried out.

The reservations named in the Six Treaties are all on the Eastern side of the San Joaquin and Sacramento Rivers, and within the foot hills with one exception, sir, the one at [Colusee?] where it is impossible at present to induce the Indians [on traced?] in that reservation to move from.

Should the suggestion advanced in my last communication be adopted by the Department, there would be no necessity for the removal of those Indians, as they would be advantageously located where they now are.

It will be necessary to make another reservation West of the "Sierra Nevada," the preliminary arrangements for which are now in progress, its location as indicated on the Map will be situated on the Eastern Side of the Coast range in Lat [latitude] 40%, Lon. [longitude] [12.3?]%.

It is difficult at present if not entirely impracticable to form a correct estimate of the number of Indians that will come in to these Reservations. The number represented in each treaty is but a small proportion of those that may confidently be calculated upon as certainly to be brought in, in proof of which there has been an addition of twelve (12) tribes in the Chico treaty since its negotiation, and I expect to increase the number still greater, which will be the case in all of them.

It would be a safe maximum estimate to calculate the entire number of Indians to be included in the Six (6) treaties at Sevety five or Eighty thousand (75 or 80.000).

You will perceive in looking over the estimates of expenditures that your original instructions in relation to economy has been most rigidly adhered to by me, and it is a Subject I may

Last edit 7 months ago by Susan R
2

2

Sir,

Since my last communication addressed to the Deptt. [department] under date of 7th ulto. my time has been [positively?] occupied in the persuance of my duties, which have been [illegible] more than ordinarily arduous in consequence of these several attacks of [he???/fever?], incidental to the region of Country in which I have been travelling.

I am now however convalescing and cherish the hope that I shall soon be enabled to furnish you with a full Statement of my observations.

I have succeeded since the period above referr'd to, in negotiating three Treaties, originals of which are herewith enclosed, accompanied by the Estimates request in fulfilling the Treaty Stipulations since my superation, with the joint Board, as also my Quarterly action of Disbursments and the amount due for Beef Cattle purchased during the Treaty Negotiations.

A Map of the vicinity showing the lands allotted the Indians will be made up and forwarded at the earliest possible [???ssy]. You will notice that Since the early part of May, when my duties (within the District alotted me) commenced, I have traversed the entire portion of Country, with the exception of that on the Eastern side of the Sierra Nevada, visited all the accessible Tribes, negotiated with Eighty One Bands of Indians (and under separate organisation) and speaking upward of twelve different languages, have effected Six Treaties, the last of which you [will perceive?]

Last edit over 1 year ago by LA County Library
1

1

[Transcription of left column] Treaties recorded in a book recently opened for the purpose. Feby 1852

[Transcription of center column] California W. 644 [1851/W644]

O.M. Wozencraft, of San Francisco, California Sept. 30 [1851?]

In relation to treaty suggestions with California [Ind???] the policy [po????] with suggestions inferring [thoughts?]-- to [insurrections?] for indn numbers of the latter -- Enclosing three original letters, accompanied by estimates for fulfilling stipulations, also [illegible] [??tuly?] [between?] for [illegible] [mats?] for [3 qt?] [illegible] altogether of [illegible] [illegible] for beef cattle furnished [illegible] negotiated [illegible] [illegible]

[In pencil: Copy for Beale]

Recd 3 Nov. 1851 Treaties [illegible] for record

File

[Transcription of right column] of country showing land allotted to Indn will be [awarded/ unawarded?]-- Unsettled [each?] & requests - [re???] consequence spoke of-- Last appropa. of 35,000 at hand not is separate to [individual?] acct of Agt R. Mckee, [now about?], but who left authority to be [turned?] [illegible] to him $1500, which by [illegible] [illegible], having him without means to pay [Secy's?] salary-- &c

Last edit over 1 year ago by LA County Library

MF1323.1197_Reel_32_0617

1

1

California C 53 James M. Crane to President Washington Feby 2 1852

About faithful conduct of Indians Comrs. in California -- miners claims -- Contract of Fremont & Lange -- persons desired to be appr. Sup & Agents -- propriety of [illegible] [illegible] Atty - the marshall +c

Referred to Court of Indian Affairs [illegible] March 11, 1852

Rec'd Indian Office 13 March '52

13-Cir- File

Last edit 7 months ago by LA County Library
2

2

Washington Feb 2d 1852 Hon. Millard Fillmore Presdt of the U States Dear Sir, I send you this morning two other communications which I ask you to read. I wish them as strictly confidential especially for the present. They will be amply substantiated by others. I wish you [direct?] understandingly and I wish all I state [illegible] by others. I hope you will inquire of Frederick [Betthngs?] the [illegible] I [prepared?]. I fill the office of [ND?] District Judge made vacant by the death of the late Judge Jones. Senator Gwin says he will readily advocate his confirmation in the Senate and that the nomination will be approved by the Senate. Very respectfully James M. Crane

To the President of the U States Washington DC.

Last edit 7 months ago by LA County Library
3

3

Interior, Feby 20 [faint: Washington] Feb 20 1852

Hon. A. H. H. Stuart

The [fact?] that the Indian Commissioners have been unwarrantably [illegible] and [faithless?] in the discharge of their duties in California is well known to yourself . In many of the [un?????tions] which they have [live?] off for the benefit of the Indians, they have included a considerable portions of mining lands. To [quit?] the [little?] of miners they have obligates the government to pay for whatever [illegible] a [illegible] of arbitrations might decide upon. These claims are minor to several hundred thousand dollars. There are [illegible] [illegible] two hundred thousand and in the hands of the of [illegible]. Marshall and [McCinkle?] . After the battle of these miners have been [illegible] , other miners in [illegible] of these [illegible] have been [illegible] a [illegible] rate of [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] in their reservations [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] is not necessary for [illegible] [illegible] and illegal and a [panic?] this government as well as upon the

Last edit 7 months ago by LA County Library
4

4

[left side]

miners [illegible] even as the miners find that there their claim will be [illegible] they will be indignant at the Comissioners and [may?] [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] on them- Besides they will forthwith according to the custom of the miners claim [then?] [illegible] mining claims in there reservations. This will bring on a difficulty between the whites. The Indians will be driven off and they [illegible] will [come all?] forth in the [illegible]. I [illegible] for more trouble from the acts of the Indian Commission & the [illegible] and the government than you all [illegible] possibly inspire. The contract that has been made with Fremont and Lange -- for supplying the Indians with beef is [illegible] can certain [illegible] twice as high as I can and as it has been offered for in California. Mr. [illegible] is [illegible] where charged as one of the contracting parties. I consider this whole affair as a most barefaced fraud upon the government. Mr. McKee is openly charged with having made use of the money you gave him for the travel he sailed for California for his [illegible]. The amount I believe

[right side]

was $25.00 When in [get all?] there I [will?] [our?] accounts in from California you will have a [illegible] either [I?] [repudiate?] which will astonish you. Or as you will disatisfaction must follow I made a [illegible] The [illegible] of the [while/white?] of them and a [signed?] investigation with their conduct. Under the bill now before Congress I see that a [illegible] is [illegible] [illegible] and under three agents. I have [illegible] with all the Californians here whose judgment I value and they desire the [illegible] appointee. [Hon. George B. Tingley for Superintendant. May Peterson B falling apart for the northern part of the state. [Stuart?] Beale for the Contracts [one?] [illegible] [illegible] been selected for the [South?] can these [illegible] will be [crucially?] endorsed by [illegible] Gwin Marshall and McCirkle. The one [illegible] ought [illegible] them in California and the government may [illegible] trust them. If you remind [Mr. Benham?] as [district?] Attorney and I think he might [illegible] [illegible] for he is totally incompetent. I would strongly recommend Gregory Yale Esq. for [illegible], and [illegible] know him and with much

Last edit 7 months ago by LA County Library
Records 1 – 10 of 122