Letters of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1849-1880, California Superintendency

Pages That Need Review

MF1323.1197_Reel_32_0204

1

1

California M 1303 Wm. Hoge & Co. [illegible] 8 Sept. '51

Inc draft of Redick McKee [Dist?] agent &c , dated 30 July 1851 (First of [ex?]) for $6.750, on account of arrearages of compensation

[stamp:] NEW [York?]

Hon. Luke Lea Commr Indn Affairs Washington City DC

Recd 8 Sep 1851 Ans c of dft returned " Sept 1851 [illegible] to Agent McKee of same city

Finance

Last edit 11 days ago by LA County Library
2

2

New York 8 Sept 1851

Honbl Luke Lea Commr Indn Affairs Washington City Sir We enclose draft of Redick McKee [on?] yourself [right?] -- $1450.00 which if in error please remit ansr if not return [it?] [illegible] in course. Respectfully [H/P?] William [Hoge?] Washington

Last edit 11 days ago by LA County Library

MF1323.1197_Reel_32_0282

1

1

(Copy)

Merced Indian Reservation Valley of the San Joquin July 30th 1851

Sir

Since the formation of Treaty between the [N??ts] States Indian commissions and the Indians of the San Joaquin valley I have been endeavouring to organize the internal affairs of the respective reservations. I had hoped to succeed in my object without calling into [requistion?] any military force. In this I found I am disappointed and forced to ask and from that area of the General Government.

The difficulty given out of a [illegible] [illegible] reflects traders who sell the Indians liquor which endangers not only the peace of the country but the lives of all persons in the vicinity of the Indians. Such persons should be removed from the Indian territory or [illegible] [illegible] of the Commissions might be undone.

Their should of right be on small military force stationed, from the mouth on the Tuolumne river. That would [illegible] the two Reser-

Last edit 11 days ago by LA County Library

MF1323.1197_Reel_32_0316

4

4

regard to this recent unpleasant matter. The Ranch is [illegible] I understand above 75 miles from Stockton on the branch of the Merced River -Perhaps by accomping the Commission or some other US office in that region you may arrest [proceedings?] until the case can be heard -- I confess that I am very much in the dark [where?] the whole subject and [illegible] you in the hope of getting light + any information you may gain will confirm favour on Your friend H. [Bacow...l?][Baldwin?]

Last edit 7 days ago by Abby
1

1

S 890 B 10.368

H. Baldwin Syracuse N.Y. Sep 6/51.

Respecting a claim to a certain ranch in California.

Mr. [Evans?] [illegible] please retain a copy R Ackd & refd to Indian Office Sep 6 1851

Sep 9/51 J.M.

Last edit 11 days ago by LA County Library
2

2

Syracuse Sept 6. 1851.

Hon. J. Butterfield Dear sir Will you allow me to trouble you for a little advice -My dearest Brother E Arthur Baldwin who was murdered in California a year ago this month left among other property a Ranch on the Merced River on which he [illegible] at the time of his death. The Sheriff of Mariposa County (in which the Ranch was [illegible]) [illegible] on his estate and leased the Ranch for one year taking pay in advance -- a man by the name of Coe claimed to own the Ranch jointly with my brother and by collusion with the Sheriff took possn of it and [illegible] is to a man by the name of Reynolds or [Biqu???] -- this is a gross fraud Coe never had any interest whatever in the Ranch & this is said to have been known to the Sheriff -The Ranch is located on the Reservation as lately made by the Indian Commissioners in that district & all residents

Last edit 11 days ago by LA County Library
3

3

have been ordered off + all improvements are to be [approved?] and paid by the government -It is said that down our way [illegible] a claim for this Ranch [to?] the Concl for some 3 o 4000 dollars and that [illegible] action will be taken in the case on the 1 Nov. next at Washington. Such is the information which I have by letter from Mr. [Be??on] of Stockton -Now what I wish is to be informed whether any one of the Departments at Washington [have?] charge of these affairs [illegible] -- and whether the money is to be paid or a warrant [given?] by [illegible] department and if so, whether from this [imperfect?] [illegible] it will be possible for the offices in charge to designate this piece of property and withhold payment until I as the Executor of my [deceased?] brother shall have an opportunity of being heard in regard to it -A young friend of mine now [how?] a Mr. [Judd?] who resides at Washington will call on you in the course of a few days, and I shall be greatly obliged by any information which [illegible] may be able to give him or [illegible] [illegible]

Last edit 11 days ago by LA County Library

MF1323.1197_Reel_32_0352

1

1

[left side]

M 1403 California Redick McKee, San Francisco, Cal. June 30, 1851.

Ack letters of April 12th [might?] May, of which furnished copies to [illegible] alledges -- Encloses copies of his [cop?] 4th, 6th & 10th inst. to them as explanatory of [himself?] [congested?] with his acct. or [illegible] of -- States [after?] for [convince?] [objected?] to [illegible] consequence of [illegible] not having been [illegible] to -- Encloses copies of an agreement [illegible] between Adam Johnston, Ind. sub agt., of [Janos?] H. [illegible][illegible] Stone for transfer of [illegible] property on the [illegible] [illegible].

Recd Augt 1851 Answered 9 : August 1851

[right side]

saying that in a letter to the Secy of the Interior he has with more fully relative thereto, &c -- says many day's [rep??????] [illegible] having the necessity of a district system for management of Indn Affs in California & region -- that there must be a head, there, with power to appoint, &c, c -- Rcd all ship from newspaper (Morning Post) referring to Indn Affrs [illegible]

Last edit 11 days ago by LA County Library
2

2

Hon. Luke Lea San Francisco June 30 / 51 Commission Indian Affairs Washington City Sir Referring to my last dispatches, under date of 13th & 29th ult, I have now to acknowledge the rest of your letters of April 12th, & May 9th , Contents of which are noted, & Copies Commissioned to my Colleagues, Mrss. Barbour & Wozencroft. Enclosed you will find copies of my letter to Col Barbour of [10? D?] & to Dr. W-- of 4th + 6th inst, which being Explanatory of business, connected with my accounts as I'm having Agents, I deem it proper to submit. The failure of your [B????], to forward the funds appropriated by the late Congress, has accessioned me no little inconvenience, And had it not been for the kindness of Mr. Collector King, in advancing my informal draft ($1000, for taking D. Wozencraft Mssr, to the scene of the late Indian discordancy, in El dorado County, he could not have accompanied his Escort, and the [illegible] [press?] of the Country, would have united the Condemning the dilatoriness of the Commission, & of the Administrating. In my letter of 13th Jany, I advised you that, exchange was against New York. From 6 [illegible]/2 pm out, and that, it would therefore be better for you to obtain [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] the Custom House & [illegible] or [illegible] Congress [Oregon?] disposal -- In several subsequent letters, I referred to the [I????] State of things, I repeated the same [illegible] even when you don't. [illegible] paper containing the appropriation, approved 27 Feby '51, I'm on still at a loss to know, whether you expect me to draw on you, or await your remittance, Another result has been, my own attention home, for several months which should have been employed in my long contemplated journey, to the Indian Settlements on Eel River, Humboldt Bay, Trinidad, & the Klamath. This journey to, and through, an almost unexplored region, will require some three months time, [illegible][illegible] involve [March] [illegible] + [illegible] [H??dime] [works?],

Last edit 11 days ago by LA County Library
3

3

[left side]

past, the news from that quarter, has been of a very unsatisfactory description, and evinced the importance, & necessity, of my presence in the Country, during the past week, I was waited on, by a committee, with the proceedings of a public meeting of American citizens at Trinidad -- Calling on the Commissioners for protection, & in the Event of our not being able to afford it, then on the Governor of the State. I explained to the Gentlemen, my reasonings, and indeed great anxiety, to visit their country, And do all in my power to redress their grievances; And promised that if at all possible, I would [illegible], with an Escort of U.S. Troops immediately after the arrival of the Steamer due here 4"th July. If that mail brings me a remittance, very well ; if not, I shall appeal to Col. King to [illegible] my draft upon you, for 10,000 or 15,000$ to pay our pressing liabilities, and give me the means to travel on -- but if in this I am unsuccessful, the public business must be postponed still longer -- And indefinitely, until you do [when?] send me the money, or expressly authorize my drafts--

I also enclose herewith, copies of an agreement, & [illegible] which I have accidentally obtained in relation to a very extraordinary transaction on our Indian Reservation, in the Merced River between [illegible] Adam Johnston Sub Agent. & Mssr [Name? Name?] [illegible] [illegible] days since, that Mr. [Mackinaw?] was [illegible], trying to sell [illegible] [illegible] the Indian Department for $12000. [Johnston?] [illegible] up to Esquire [illegible] the transactions : Being acquainted with the property, and knowing that the Sm stated, is 3 or 4 times its value, under any circumstances, I had the less hesitancy, in telling him, that, the whole affair was unauthorized by the law, and that I had no draft whatever, it would be instantly disavowed, by your department. In a letter which I have written to Mr. Stuart Sect. of the Interior, I have gone more fully into this subject, and some other transactions of a kindred character, to

[right side]

all which, I feel it my duty to call your attention, as well as this: Every days experience in this country, [illegible] me more fully that, a distinct system for carrying on Indian Affairs in this state and Oregon, must finally be adopted. It must have a head --here on the ground -- clothed with power to appoint -- suspend, or depose Agents,& sub agents; make all contracts, for supplies, or for carrying out treaty stipulations -- Conclude new treaties; in a word, exercise in his department, a kind of [Alcalde?], or unlimited power, without having to [loose?] 3 or 4 months in submitting questions, & awaiting instructions, from Washington,-- On this subject I believe there is no difference of opinion, among public men here, and the [illegible] it is taken [ ?ass], and asked on by the Government at Washington, -- the better it will be, for both Whites & Indians. I'm very Respectfully Your mo obt sr, Redick McKee

Last edit 11 days ago by LA County Library
Records 1 – 10 of 99