Letters of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1849-1880, California Superintendency

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

MF1323.1197 Reel 38_0778

3
Needs Review

3

thing suspicious of venality has for some years been a [?t?] [?ity] in our section of this department for Indian affairs, and I think the officer recommended would hold a salutary check in the future.

I have know Dr White since 1850 and should the office he created, his knowledge of Indian character, zeal and earnestness would I feel sure make him a valuable public officer in this position.

Very Respy Your Obt. Servt Justin Steinberger Col U. S. Infy

Hon. Wm P. Dole Commission of Indian Affairs Washington D.C.

Last edit 2 months ago by Fudgy

MF1323.1197_Reel_33_0123

2
Needs Review

2

San Francisco September 18th 1852

Sir Enclosed please find vouchers from T. J. Henley and Jno Roland.

The same having been referred to in my last communication.

Very Respectfully Your obt St O. M. Wozencraft U.S. In. At.

Honl Luke Lea Commissioner of Indian Affairs Washington D.C.

The above is the duplicate of a letter accompanying vouchers, which appear to have [illegible] [illegible], please return me a copy of the vouchers, herewith handed in

O. M. Wozencraft Jany 6 1852

Last edit about 2 months ago by Fudgy

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0009

5
Needs Review

5

Remarks made in the Office of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs, upon the claim of L G Hughes contained in a certificate of late Sub Agent Lewis, enclosed in a letter to this office, dated at Millerton Cal'a May 1st 1863, being vouchers 1.2.3.4, in 3rd q'r 1859; 1 & 2, in 4th q'r 1859; 1 & 2 in 1st q'r 1860; 1 & 2 in 3rd q'r 1860, and 4 in 4th q'r 1860 amounting to [blank] $ [blank] in M B Lewis's acct's 3rd & 4th qr's '59, & 1st 3rd & 4th qr's '60; viz:

By reference to the Statement of Differences of M B Lewis' acct's, dated 17th November 1862, it will be found that voucher 2 of 3rd qr '59, $175.37 " 3 " do 381.95 and " 4 " do 95.32 of LG Hughes amounting to 652.64, were suspended because of their not being receipted, nor certified by Sub Agent. The certificate of M B Lewis enclosed is sufficient to remove said suspension, and the amount of said vouchers should be paid to L G Hughes, Millerton, Fresno County, California. As to voucher 1 of 3rd q'r 1859 of LG Hughes $300. " 1 " 4th " " , " do. 194.84 ". 2 " " " ", " do. 175.71 370.55 " 1 " 1st " 1860, " do. 267.79 670.53 " 2 " " " ", " do. 133.69 401.48 " 1 " 3rd " ", " do. 32.05 " 2 " " " ", " do. 139.39 171.44 " 4 " 4th " " , " do. 151.05 723.92 Amounting to $1394.52

Last edit 19 days ago by Fudgy
10
Needs Review

10

Claim of L G. Hughes for supplies furnished Fresno Indian Agency California between the 1st July 1859 and 15th March 1861; being vouchers in the accounts of M B Lewis late Sub Agent, to which 2 in 3rd qtr 1859 $175.37 3 " " " " " 381.95 4 " " " " " 95.32 State't Dif's Lewis's acct Nov.;62 amounting to $652.64 and viz. 1 in 3rd qtr '59 $300.00 " 1 " 4th " " 194.84 " 2 " " " 175.71 " 1" 1st '60 267.79 " 2" " " 133.69 " 1" 3rd " 32.05 " 2 " " " 139.39 and 4 " 4th " 167.05 amounting to $ 1394.52 Total $2047.16 The within account has been examined and is allowed for [text blotted out] to the Sec [blotted out] for settlement. Charging Agtp? viz Removal and subsistence of Indians in California to the Reservations of that state to $652.64 payment to be made to LG Hughes, care of JPH Wentworth Supt'd Agt to San Francisco Cal'a Office Indian Affairs May 8th 1863. Commissioner

Last edit 19 days ago by Fudgy
11
Needs Review

11

A 199 Claim of Lewis Leach for supplies furnished the Fresno Indian Agency in California, being voucher 8 3rd q'r '59, $150.04; 9 do $46.98; 10 do $57.05; 5 4th q'r '59, $111.25; 6 do $57.00; &5? 1st q'r '60 $110.47 amounting to $526.78 upon which there has been paid $100.00 leaving [illeible] upon this series of vouchers.--$376.78 in acct's of M. B. Lewis Sub Indian Agt, Sev See State of Dif's M.B. Lewis Acct's [illegible] Nov. '62 for $553 of v's 3rd qr '59 subsequently allowed v's [illegible] & 10 in do, and Lewis's Acct's for v's 5 & 6 4th q'r '59 & 5 in 1st q'r '60. v's 10 in 2nd q'r '59, for Stat's Dif's do 17 Nov'r '62 276.45 " 11. 3rd q'r '58, 159.16, 4th q'r '58, & 12, 3rd q'r '59 of FM Roane (assigned to L Leach) for Sp''t Dif's, do 17 Nov '62 437.84 Amt'g to $1091.07 The within account has been exained and is allowed for $1091.07.- for $150.03 of which M B Lewis is to be held accountable.- and respectfully referred to the Second Auditor for settlement, charging App's, viz, Removal and subsistence of Indians in California to reservations in that state, pay of physicians, &c $1091.07. Payment to be made to Lewis Leach, Millerton, Fresno County, California. Office Indian Affairs M P Dole Commissioner June 12 1863 Re June 15, 1863 Forrest?

Last edit 19 days ago by Fudgy

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0041

1
Needs Review

1

California B261 Wm Bryson Crescent City, Cal March 24, '63 E

Enc. claim &c of McSellen, & Co. for horse hire, alleged to have been for the Indian Service

Answered May 8th 1863 Mr. Clark See decision of Secy Interior to analogous [?] [?] to paymt [?] [?] from Indian funds Finance Return to EA Smith

[ink stamp] RECEIVED AT THE May 1863 INDIAN BUREAU

Last edit 23 days ago by Fudgy

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0175

3
Needs Review

3

as hostages, (of the same tribe of Bowers murderer), until he the murderer is delivered" saying "if the guilty one is not found, the hostages will be hanged"—. I have written to forbid it, — and will go in person next week, as soon as I can complete my first qrs returns.

I am now greatly puzzled to know what action to take for [illegible line] The supervisor says "the troops that [illegible] are diseasing all the Indians" and that he "is heartily sick of them."

Now [illegible], Had I not better try & purchase their crops & part of their stock, and agree to pay them a certain rent until Congress appropriates to pay for their improvements and in this way get clear of both the settlers and troops.

If any other place could be had, to such I would at once remove the Indians but this I cannot find any where on U.S. lands.

Hopeing to be instructed in this matter very soon, I am very truly

Your Obt Sevt Geo. M. Hanson Suptg. Agt &c

Last edit 28 days ago by Fudgy

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_1183

11
Needs Review

11

Annual Report of Farming Operations in the Cal'a Superintedency 1864 Name of Reservation -- Size of the Reserve -- No of acres cultivated by Government ---No cultivated by Indians -- Bushels of Wheat raised. -- Bushels of Corn -- Bushels of Oats --Bushels of Barley --Bushels of Peas --Bushels of Potatoes -- Bushels of Sweet Potatoes -- Bushels of Carrots -- Bushels of Beets -- Bushels of Turnips -- Bushels of Buck-wheat -- Bushels of Apples -- Bushels of Beans -- Tons of Hay Cut -- No of Horses -- No owned by Indians -- No of mules -- No of Meat Cattle -- No of Swine -- No of Chickens -- Remarks [written in the Remarks Column] But a small portion of the crops are yet harvested and the amount of grain &c in the foregoing report is estimated as the probable yield. Smith River --481--452--[blank]--1200--[blank]--4000--[blank]--2000--2500--[blank]--500--100-400--50--100--[blank]--50--35--[blank]--1--149--100--82 Round Valley--5000--940--[blank]--10,000--6000?--2000--3000--100--1000--[blank]--3000--2000--[blank]--[blank]--[blank]--30---300--30--1--16--524--286--75 Mendocino--25000 --250--30--[blank]--[blank]--6000--900--350--1500--[blank]--[blank]--[blank]--[blank]--[blank]--[blank]--[blank]--[blank]--14--[blank]--1--47--[blank]--[blank] Tule River--1280--185--75--3300--400--[blank]--1100?--[blank]--400--900--[blank]--[blank]--[blank]--[blank]--[blank]40--[blank]29--100--43--[blank]4--[blank] ----------------12761--1827--105--14500--6400--12000--5000--2750--5400--900--3500-2100---400--50--1000--70--350--98--101--61--710--390--157 I hereby certify that the above report is correct

Austin Wiley Supt of Indian Affairs Cal'a

Last edit 27 days ago by 9karen

MF1323.1197_Reel_32_0617

5
Needs Review

5

readily endorse him as an able lawyer and a gentleman of the highest character and integrity. His distinguished standing at the bar would give the government credit and respect in the eyes of our people. He is a total abstinence man.

Douglass & Marshall ought to be reminded this depart is a [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] and gives all the patronage and [illegible] of the office to the [illegible]. [illegible] the principle means of Gwin's election to the Senate and says he will do all he can to have him reelected [illegible] [illegible] Marshall is Gwin's nephew. If he is removed and I solemnly protest against to his continuing in office, I will give you the name of a gentleman who will fill his place with acceptance to the Government and the people.

Very respectfully James M. Crane Editor of Cala. Courier

Last edit about 2 months ago by Fudgy

MF1323.1197_Reel_38_0174

2
Needs Review

2

San Francisco Cala September 19th 1861

Sir; At the time of my retiring from the office of superintendent of Indian affairs for this state, I had on my property return, see second quarter 1859 1288 cattle, 21 horses, 20 mules, and 19 oxen which had not been turned over to my successor. A portion of these cattle, and all the other property was at the Nome Cult Indian Farm, within the limits of the agency assigned to V E Geiger the local agent at Nome lackey.

When JA Dreibelbis late superintendent of the northern district, retired from office I requested him to receipt to me for this property, but to my surprise I soon after learned that he had already receipted for a portion of it, too wit: the horses, oxen and mules, two agent Geiger, who in turn received a receipt for it from Majr Hanson the present

Last edit 13 days ago by Fudgy
Displaying pages 11 - 20 of 21 in total