Letters of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1849-1880, California Superintendency

Pages That Need Review

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0525

9
Needs Review

9

and also in the culture of all kinds of seeds re quired on the reserve. For this purpose he shall have assigned him two indians & their squaws, whom he shall instruct & superintend in their duty & who shall be exempt from other service, except gathering acorns in idle times. These gardeners (indians) shall be entitled to meat & grain issues the same as field hands, and in case their time should be so fully occupied that they cannot gather acorns other allowance shall be made as necessity requires

There shall for the present be two female teachers employed at the yearly compensation of two hundred dollars whose duty it shall be to teach the squaws the correct art of housekeeping, the art of cutting & manufacturing clothing & when practicable teach them to read.

These orders & regulations subject to revision & amendment at any time by me or my supervisors in office.

The supervisor when circumstances will permit will report informally once each month, of the state of affairs & at the close of each quarter commen cing with 30th Sept ult. report officially of all matters under his jurisdiction.

Done at Headquarters Nome Cult Reservation this Oct 12th 1863

E Steele Suptg Agt Indian Affairs Northern Dist. California

Last edit 17 days ago by JWithrow
1
Needs Review

1

California S199 E. Steele San Francisco, Cal Oct 20 '63

Enc. Regulation [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] Round Valley Reservation file Ink Stamp [Mr. Commr?]

Last edit 17 days ago by JWithrow
2
Needs Review

2

I herewith transmit for your inspection and judgement a list of names which I propose for the Government of the Round Valley Reservation.

You will [allow?] I propose 15 assistant [illegible] to the employees as also to establish a head [farmer?] as the [acting?] of saving five dollars per month. But this [illegible] should not add to the expense of administering the indian affairs of that Valley I have required the Supervisor Doct Wm. P. Melendy, to do the duty of Supervisor & [illegible] without [increase?] of salary. Doct Melendy is competent and [line blotted out] [line blotted out] [illegible] Reservation [illegible] with [line blotted out] Our visit to the [illegible] through the mountains and our blacksmith can as well do the [land?] of both Reservations as not. Rations are but an act of justice of the employees and by allowing it [illegible] [illegible. line blotted out] Instead of a head Capt [illegible] farmer of [illegible]

Last edit 17 days ago by JWithrow
3
Needs Review

3

in my [illegible] of [illegible] [according?] to [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] not that of [illegible] to which a guide for [illegible] [illegible] the Reservation [and?] [not?] as [bought?] by you & [may?] [depend?] [upon?]purchases [outside?] of [illegible] [illegible] farms or lots is adopted as [illegible] [illegible] communication their [illegible] [illegible][illegible] amended to a working [illegible] for that [system?]

Very Respectfully yours Obediet Servant

Last edit 11 days ago by MaryV

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0534

2
Needs Review

2

Office Indian Affairs, Northern District, California San Francisco Oct 30th 1863

Sir I herewith transmit copy of a letter received by me from my predecessor Hanson on my return from a tour of the Reservation.

I have received none of the goods referred to neither do I find any invoices in my office by which I can judge of the amount sold. I have written to the [illegible] [illegible] for information as to the kind & amount sent to them for restitution. As soon as an answer is received I will advise the department.

As per the subject of the horses & buggy I have taken the advice of U. S. Dist Attorney and he instruct not to pay charges & take the payments - if they are held by any one, other than [illegible].

For that [illegible] I shall immediately [illegible] Yuba City -

Your Obedient Servant E Steele Supt Agt Indian Affairs N. D. Cal

To Hon Wm P Dole Comissioner of Indian Affairs Washington D.C.

Last edit about 1 year ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0539

4
Needs Review

4

OFFICE INDIAN AFFAIRS, NORTHERN DISTRICT, CALIFORNIA.

San Francisco Oct 20 1863

Sir, I would respectfully suggest as an improvement in the conduct of indian affairs in my district that all of the indians who desire it or can be induced to cultivate and take care of the same have allocated to each family a small piece of ground to be marked and recognised as devoted to their own use. And that a small adobe house be constructed for each on his separate premises

This could require at present an erection of about Sixty adobes and more as more indians should come into the Reservation

The expense of this plan would not exceed two thousand dollars $2000.00 And from the time of taking possession of their home, I should consider each family self sustaining. I would require each of the families or the able bodied members thereof to work on the Govt farm a given number of days or pay a rental of his place in order to raise sustenance for the old infirm sick & needy and towards defraying the expenses of the Reservation

Herewith please find copy of a letter addressed by me to Mr Lacock & his reply thereto. Mr Lacock has been much engaged in the construction of that kind of tenement. I consider [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] for Indian use.

If the improvement of the status of Round

Last edit over 1 year ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0544

1
Needs Review

1

California S307 E. Steele San Francisco, Cal Nov 2, '63

Enc. copy of letter from Genl. Wright [illegible] [illegible] from him forwarded with his report of the [illegible] rel. to military aid &c

[ink stamp] RECEIVED AT THE NOV 28 1863 INDIAN BUREAU

Special Commr

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
2
Needs Review

2

"Copy"

Head Quarters Department of the Pacific San Francisco Oct 29th 1863

Sir

I have [illegible] your communication of the 25th inst addressed to my Assistant General - I deeply regret that any controversy should have arisen between the military commander of Fort Wright and the offices of the Indian superintendent - It is a rule which I have invariably enforced in my command that my subordinates shall not correspond upon official matters with other departments of the government except through my head quarters unless specially authorized so to do Capt Douglas did [in?] instructed accordingly

[illegible] Your Very Obt Servant "G Wright" Brig Genl U. S. Army Comdg

Hon E Steele Supt of Indian affairs North Dist of Cal San Francisco

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
3
Needs Review

3

OFFICE INDIAN AFFAIRS, NORTHERN DISTRICT, CALIFORNIA. San Francisco, November 2 1863

Sir

Herewith please find answer of Genl Wright to communication copy of which was forwarded with report of 31st ult

The Genl will not cover the whole ground in his instructions to his [illegible] but I [illegible] satisfactorly He is in fact at Sacramento although his commission date at this place.

If all application by the Supervisor for Military aid as against hostile Indians or [obstructive?] while the Reservation would be helpless as a months time at least would be consumed before messages could pass [illegible] there being no post office more than 25 or 30 miles and a high mountain & rapid streams [intro?] - The commander at Fort Wright refuses to the employee of the Reservation the military express which was regulary to open the post office consequently they will have to depend upon [illegible] for their mail matter or I shall have to establish an express for the [illegible] benefit of the Reservation. This would be rather expensive and should be avoided if possible. The Military express [illegible] for a whole being the mail matter to the Reservation for what the Supervisor paid the [illegible] under order from Capt Douglas without notice of intention it was stopped

Very Respectuflly Your Obedent Servant E. Steele Supt Agt Indian Affs N. D. Cal

To Hon Wm. P. Dole Commissioner Washington DC

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0548

2
Needs Review

2

OFFICE INDIAN AFFAIRS, NORTHERN DISTRICT, CALIFORNIA San Francisco, Nov 3d 1863

Sir

I herewith forward copy of a paper sent me by Mr Battaile.

The cattle [illegible] as [illegible] are in fact taken The cattle are at a low [illegible] and are [illegible] The case of [illegible] with Mr. Hanson & Battaile returned at the net of sixty cents pr head per month until they are paid for. The cattle are much better to my judgement than there [de??] [illegible] The draft has not been honored. There are many drafts of Mr. [illegible] out [illegible] which parties claim they have given him [illegible]. This fact [illegible] the administration of my offie quite embarassing as by the regulations of the Treasury department my check has to be made passable to the [illegible] to whom the money is to be [de?] & cannot be drawn in my own name. Parties did not give rights to take drafts on the Assistant Treasurer as they have already suffered that way. I cannot give draft & claim the receipt after the draft is paid. Consequently I am obliged to borrow to make my paymentsin my own name & then check to "A. B" or Brown & at the money be drawn to pay my loan. This is a tax upon my [illegible] very inconvenient. I [illegible] that some instructions may be issued so that I can [illegible] in my own

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
Displaying pages 61 - 70 of 1123 in total