Letters of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1849-1880, California Superintendency

Pages That Need Review

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0548

4
Needs Review

4

Round Valley Oct 10th 1863

To E Steele Esq Superintending Agt Northern Dist Cal.

Sir On the 21st August last I made sale & contract with your predecesser Hanson as represented by enclosed copy's, Vouchers & Treasury drafts, the cattle now marked [illegible] but in fact were turned into the pasture of White & Gibson at fifty cents per month per head to await the payment of the Treasury drafts, the cattle an half broods here are tame & docile, [illegible] the band of fifty, more [entend?] at 20 cows now a part of these steers - The cows are of good quality some first rate, the wheat & barley are yet in my possession, awaiting the payment of the draft. The land & improvements are also in my possession, if the sale of the improvements should not be affirmed by the department the wheat was to be at the rate of one & a half cents per pound in coin. & barley at same rate. The sale of all this property was fixed at coin prices and twenty in the cent added in the vouchers & draft to cover the losses in legal tender notes The improvement are maintained at quite an expense and if the sale depends upon a [spend?] appropriation the whole of the plan

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
5
Needs Review

5

should be fixed at one thousand dollars I have the sale of both interests now.

As today our plan awaiting an appropria=tion I must claim four hundred dollars instead of three hundred. I am [illegible] to sell [illegible] that the indians should be removed from the valley or the whole value devoted to their use and the settlers removed - The drafts have not been paid -

Law Battaile

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
6
Needs Review

6

Copy The United States To L Battaile admr G. Brown Dec [Dy?]

Date Aug 21 1863 To 50 head wild cattle delivered age from one to ten years 333.33 To 20 head cows ([illegible] 10 head with calves) 213.13 To 300 bushels wheat & 100 bs. barley

On [illegible] half of the [Rice?} & Beans farm in Williams Valley consisting of some 8000 rails enclosing some 50 acres of ploughed land together with barn [illegible] & other improvements belonging thereto 700.00 1246.46

[Round?] at Round Valley August 21 1863 of George M Hanson Superintending Agent Northern District of California Twelve Hundred Forty six 66/100 Dolalres $1246.46/100 L Battaile Admr G Brown Dec

I certify that the above named amount is correct and just and that I have actually this day of 186 paid the amount thereof

No. 39 Round Valley Aug 21th 1863 Assistant Treasurer of the U. S. San Francisco

Pay to L Battaile Admr G. Brown or have Eight Hundred & Ninty Six 46/100 Dollars $896.46/100 Geo M Hanson Supt Agt Ind Aff &c

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
7
Needs Review

7

Copy The United States To Lawrence Battaile [Dy?]

Date Augst 21st 1863 To plowing 30 acres of land at farms in William's Valley 90.00 To moving 2500 rails & [illegible] 30 acres land at $50 per thousand 125.00 To 16 [illegible] horse 18 & 20 feet 60.00 To moving smoke game & [illegible] horse 25.00 $300.00

[illegible] at Round Valley August 21st 1863 of George M Hanson Sperintending Agent Northern District of California Three hundred Dollares in full of this account. $300.00/100 Lawrence Battaile

I certify that the above amount is correct & just and that I have actually this day of 186 paid the amount there of

No. 41 Round Valley Cal Aug 21st 1863 Assistant Treasurer of the U. S. Pay to Lawrence Battaile or bearer Three Hundred Dollars $300.00

Geo M. Hanson Supty Agt &c

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
3
Needs Review

3

name and take the necessary money around with me to meet the [illegible] of this District as I do not wish to contract a debt during the term I may hold the office.

Employees have another serious objection to taking drafts as they are obliged to pay from two to five per [cwt?] to get them collected & money remittedby expenses

Very Respectuflly Your Obedient Servant E. Steele Superintending Agt Indian Affairs N. D. Cal

To Hon. Wm. P. Dole Commissioner Washington D. C.

Last edit 1 day ago by MaryV

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0558

2
Needs Review

2

Santa Barbara, Cal. 17 Sept. 1863

To Hon. Wm P. Dole, Commis. of Indian Affairs Washington D. C.

My dear sir, I have taken the liberty to mention your favors in my Indianology of California, published for the last three years in the Cal. Farmer and a few days ago concluded.

Knowing the interest you have in every thing relating to the Aborigines, and their history and languages, I have thought you might be pleased to accept from me a few suggestions which if possible or proper to initiate during your term of office would add nearly not only to your good name, but to the honor of the Bureau in the world of letters and science.

The plan proposed of the dictionaries and [illegible] will not be very expensive, and if the Indian agents and interpreters will only give moderate attention to the matter, can be easily accomplished and add greatly to their character with the government and the public. Their communication being [liberal?]

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
3
Needs Review

3

2

and the design of the government humane and practical, such works will add mostly to the fulfilment of its designed objects, and surely these pay is on such a [illegible] scale as to allow some of their leisure time to the execution of the work.

Even if the manuscripts are not provided they will be of incalculable value in the library of the Bureau for reference by future or present students - (and officesr of the Govt. -) of native American history and of the science of language. They will be an honorable monument to the character of the Bureau, and of the Commissioner who should initiate and perfect so simple, inexpensive and useful a system of the literature of these celebrated Indian tribes and which will be sure of permanent appreciation ever afterwards in the literary world. The blank forms of 1500 words, with these papers of grammatical examples, and a few leaves for historical notes are [illegible] not to make a quarts pamphlet of over 100 pages and the cost of each one not over a dollar; they can easily be filled up in a week or two, except the historical quotes.

I am happy to inform you of the contained receipt of news of the most favorable character of the new gold fields of the Salado, San Francisco and others

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
4
Needs Review

4

3

[serves?] flowing from [ninth?] units the Gila in eastern Arizona, the old Apacharia of the Spaniards. Their settlement by our people, will in a short time completely alter the states of the Indian tribes in that section, as it is probably the finest portion of Arizxona, for health, pasture and agriculture. You will find my old friend, Mr. Herman [E?] whom I have not seen for several years, to be a very useful person to assist you in all enquiries relating to these parts and their Indian population, as his residence on this coast has been since 1847, and his education and studies will be of great advantage. His profession of surveyor, he having made an excellent map of Arizona and [fornia?] in 1859, will enable him during his term of office, to make you an excellent peer and ink map of the position of the old ruined towns, then hyeroglyphics, old irrigating canals and other remnants of the ancient tribes.

I hope the Bureau, during your term of office may have the honor of publishing an outline Ethnological map of North America, locating the Indian tribes from the Arctic to Panama on the plan proposed in the last Smithsonian Report by Mr. Morgan, My Indianology

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
7
Needs Review

7

6

3. The localities and names of the camps or villages of the nation or tribe, with any vestiges of ruins or hyerologlyphics, to be detailed on a pen and ink map, with ^[illegible] [illegible] from a central point, in Indian geographical terms.

4. The writer to give as much an account of the traditions, religion, feasts, dances, war songs, and present history, habits customs, cultivation, mode of life & if Christianized and when, and if under Christian instruction now, their numbers etc - particularly as to the half civilized Pueblos - of which there seems to be two nations or general languages, and if any known part or present connections with the Toltec or Nahuatlac- Aztec tribes of Mexico, as they (the Pueblos) seem to be of the Pino stock or affiliations. A detailed account of the Moquis is very much wanted: The Indian terms of 12 womans and 12 men names also to be taken down.

5. A more particular account of the Apache tribes inhabiting the head nation of the Gila, and of its branches the Rios San Francisco, and Salado etc. of which very little is known - (c.c. of the latter two series -) since the visit of De Niza and Coronado in 1540.

6. A Biographical catalogue of the more important papers and documents relating to the Pueblo and other New Mexican tribes to be 263

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
8
Needs Review

8

7

found in the Spanish archives in the Ter. Secretary's office at Santa Fe and at Tucson and if any works in their language, by the Catholic missionaries between 1580 and 1846 remain in the New Mexican & Arizona parishes either in manuscript or print, whether catechesis or dictionaries etc. or of histories of the country with their full titles. Many such works are still to be found in the missions and parish archives of Sonora, [illegible] and [illegible] as well as California.

7. The work of preparing a dictionary and grammar on the plan indicated is very simple to me who understand their language; of which is known to many Americans and New Mexicans; and at the furthest can be accomplished in a week - some of the Moqui villages cannot understand each other, and the differences should be noted. The learned world is very much interested in a fuller knowledge of the languages of the ante 1862 New Mexico, to show the affiliations between them and those of Central Mexico. Their neighbor the Pimas, extending on different dialects from western Chihuahua in the Sierra Madre to the Gulf of California, and from the Gila river to Calican in Sinaloa to wit the Pima, proper the Papayos, Opatos, Yarkis, Mayos, Coros, [Tarahumaras?] etc. [illegible] being about 100,000 [illegible]

8. It is suggested that when their manuscripts are received a the Indian Bureau, they be added to by the other accounts statistical, [b?] etc) -

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
Displaying pages 71 - 80 of 1131 in total