Letters of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1849-1880, California Superintendency

Pages That Need Review

MF1323.1197 Reel 41_0064

1
Needs Review

1

California D368 J. Davison, Shelbyville, Ind, July 30, 1866.

Ackd rec't of certain money due him for services in Indian Dept. of California.

[ink stamp] RECEIVED AT THE Aug 4 1886 INDIAN BUREAU

Finance [File?]

Last edit about 1 month ago by chaskins
2
Needs Review

2

Shelbyville Shelby County Indiana July the 30 1866 Hon D. N. Cooley

Sear sir?

I have the honor to inform you that I have Received a check for 545 being the amount Due me for services in the Indian Department of California.

[H. Davison?]

Hon D. N. Cooley Commissioner of Indian Affairs Washington D. C.

Last edit about 1 month ago by chaskins

MF1323.1197 Reel 41_0080

4
Needs Review

4

United States Date M.C. Dougherty [illegible] 1861 Dollars Cents Oct 25th To services rendered as overseer in charge of Baldhill Station of the Mendocino Indian Reservation (three months & four days) commencing July 1st & ending Oct 25th 1861 as fifty ($50.00) per month 158.33 Received as of the sum of One hundred & fifty eight 33/100 dollars in full of this [illegible] ($158 33/100s) M.C. Dougherty

Last edit 7 days ago by JWithrow

MF1323.1197 Reel 41_0084

3
Needs Review

3

1865 Pittsburgh Nov 15th

General

I herewith transmit a power of Attorney in [order?] that you will be able to collect what is due me by the U. S. Government for my services while in its emply I hope that you may be succesful as I am out of [funds?] and an [illegible?] of this place.

I would like to be informed if Line Officers who resigned after March 1864 are entitled to the three months [illegible?] pay if so I would send my papers for the purpose of getting it.

Very respectfully yours Charles Cochran

[Gen?] James W. Denver Washington D. C.

Last edit 21 days ago by chaskins
1
Needs Review

1

California D434 J.W. Denver, Washington, D.C. Oct. 23., 1866.

Enc. power of atty. from Jas. Cochran, with two explanatory letters from him, suggests examination of Agt. [Geiger's Roll?]

File

[ink stamp] Oct 24 1866

Last edit 11 days ago by chaskins
2
Needs Review

2

JAMES HUGHES, of Indiana. JAMES W. DENVER, of California. CHAS. F. PECK, of Illinois. JOHN S. WILLIAMS, of Indiana.

Office of Hughes, Denver & Peck, Attorneys and Counsellors at Law, No. 28 [illegible?] STREET, BET, 14TH AND 15TH STS. WASHINGTON, D. C., Oct 23rd 1866

Hon Comr of Indian Affairs Washington D.C.

Sir: I herewith enclose a Power of Atty [from?] Charles Cochran late Overseer of James Creek Station [illegible?] [Name?] Indian Reserve, California. to collect the balance due him of $316.00/"

Also enclosed are two explanatory letters [from?] Mr Cochran - both of [illegible?] I respectfully ask may be read and considered, and acted upon. I suggest that [illegible?] {Geiger's Roll?] be examined to find out whether the [name?] of Mr Cochran appears thereon.

Very Resply Your Obdet Servt J.W. Denver

Last edit 11 days ago by chaskins

MF1323.1197 Reel 41_0088

2
Needs Review

2

From the scarcity of blankets in this market of the kind and color named in the Bill purchased by Supt Dent in New York, we are of the opinion that he could not have done better in this City. Ordinary grey blankets can be obtained here to better advantage than in New York.

As to the day goods purchased by him of [Illegible?] Drinker & Anderson, we are satisfied from the list of price furnished, that they are cheaper by 25 per cent than goods heretofore delivered for Indian service purchased in New York.

Charles Maltby Supt. Indian Affairs Cala BL Fairfield Agent

San Francisco November 2nd 1866

Last edit 11 days ago by chaskins
1
Needs Review

1

California D471 Geo. W. Dent San Francisco. Cal. Oct. 30. 1866.

Explanation in answer to office letter of the 29th ultimo, relative to his purchases of goods in New York.

Ansd. [Dec?] 0/66 Recd 30 Nov '66

File

Last edit 11 days ago by chaskins

MF1323.1197 Reel 41_0094

2
Needs Review

2

San Francisco Cal [illegible] Louis V. Dogy Nov 3' 1866 [illegible] Indian Affairs Washington Sir I have the honor to acknowledge receipt of our telegraphic dispatch of [illegible] just instructing how to purchase blankets at lowest price I can and have consequently cotracted with Mission Woolen Mills at six dollars per [illegible] to be manufactored which will probably take a month. I shall ship to the [illegible] agencies just as fast as the Mill can deliver. Very Respectfully Your [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] Ind Affairs a. purchasing agt.

Last edit about 1 month ago by BMScott
1
Needs Review

1

California D472

G. W. Deur E. San Francisco, Cal. Nov 3 !66 Was contracted with [illegible] Woolen Mills for blankets File Nov 30 18[illegible] Indian Bureau

Last edit about 1 month ago by BMScott
Displaying pages 881 - 890 of 1291 in total