Letters of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1849-1880, California Superintendency

Pages That Need Review

MF1323.1197 Reel 41_0096

1
Needs Review

1

California F 42 1866

Filed with Special File No 266

Last edit about 1 month ago by BMScott
2
Needs Review

2

Californa L 44 1866 Filed with Special File No 266

Last edit about 1 month ago by BMScott

MF1323.1197 Reel 41_0098

1
Needs Review

1

California F145 John Ferguson Wash, June 22, '66

Asks attention to the pending claim of L. G. Hughes, for supplies furnished [fro?] Indian Services in California. Enc. power of attorney

Claim forwarded for settlement July [date?] 1866 and Jno Ferguson [as?] advised.

File

[ink stamp] June 23 1866

Finance

Last edit 12 days ago by chaskins
2
Needs Review

2

Washington City, D.C. June 22nd, 1866.

To the Comr of Indian Affairs

Sir:

I beg leave to direct your attention to the [pending?] claim of Mr L.G. Hughes, of Montreal Canada, for $1,376.76/100, and to ask its early recognition and allowance.

I herewith enclose to you Power of Attorney giving me full power to receive and receipt for any and all sums due. Inasmuch as the claim of Mr H has once been acted upon, I trust you may recognize me as entitled to receive the amount due.

I am Respectfully Yours &c John Ferguson

Last edit 12 days ago by chaskins

MF1323.1197 Reel 41_0100

1
Needs Review

1

California F105 John Ferguson Washington, D. C. Aug. 18, 1866.

Encloses Bond of Indemnity executed by Joel Lewis, & asks early consideration of Mr. Lewis' claim, as [Farmer?] & Laborer on [certain?] California Ind. Reservation

Cant be settled for want of vouchers

File [ink stamp] RECEIVED AT THE Aug 20 INDIAN

Last edit 12 days ago by chaskins
2
Needs Review

2

Washington, D. C. Aug. 18th 1866.

D. N. Cooley, Esq. Comr. Indian Affairs, Washington City, D. C.

Sir:

I have the honor to enclose, herewith, a Bond of Indemnity properly executed by Joel Lewis. Inasmuch as this fully complies with the direction heretofore given I beg to ask your early consideration of the just claim of Mr Lewis.

I am Respectfully Your obedt St John Ferguson

Last edit 12 days ago by chaskins

MF1323.1197 Reel 41_0105

1
Needs Review

1

California F108 John Ferguson Washington, D. C., Aug. 22, 1866.

Encloses Indemnity Bond of Rudolph Scherpel, claimant for services rendered at Mendocino Reservation, Cala.

Claim settled -

File

Finance Smoot [ink stamp] Aug 1866

Last edit about 1 month ago by chaskins
2
Needs Review

2

Washington, D. C. Aug. 22nd 1866

D. N. Cooley, Esq. Comr [Commissioner] Indian Affairs

Sir:

I have the honor to enclose, herewith, an [Indemnifying?] Bond, executed by Rudolph Scherpel as principal, and others as [illegible?]. I trust that you may now be [illegible?] to dispose of Mr Scherpel's claim for services long since rendered at the Mendocino Reservation in the State of California, amounting to $300.

Obliging yours truly John Ferguson

Last edit about 1 month ago by chaskins

MF1323.1197 Reel 41_0116

2
Needs Review

2

Department will be necessary before it can be drawn out. Trusting this matter may receive your early attention I remain Very Respectfully Your Obt. Svt. B. L. Fairfield Indian Agent Round Valley

To Hon. D N Cooley Commr of Ind. Affs. Washington D. C.

Last edit 26 days ago by chaskins
1
Needs Review

1

Office Indian Agent Round Valley Reservation Cal. August 21st 1866.

Sir:

I have the honor to share that on the 8th of March 1866 (as per receipts of Asst. U. S. Treas. forwarded to Department April 16th 1866 by Charles Maltby Supt. Ind Affs) there was deposited with the U. S. Asst. Treas. San Francisco $822 72/100 Eight Hundred Twenty Two 72/100 Dollars on account of produce sold on the Round Valley Reservation during the 4th quarter 1865.

This amount being placed in the general fund and not available for the Indian service. I would respectfully ask that a requisition be issued to the Asst. U. S. Treasurer at San Francisco placing the above amount to the credit of the Supt. of Indian Affs. Cal. to be expended for the benefit of the Indian Service on the Round Valley Reservation.

This money the proceeds of produce raised in excess of what was required for the use of the Indians was sent to Supt. Maltby to be expended by him in the purchase of clothing &c for the use of the Indians on the Round Valley Reservation, and presuming that it would be subject to his order he placed it in the office of the Treasurer for safe keeping and now leaves that an order from the

Last edit 26 days ago by chaskins
Displaying pages 891 - 900 of 1293 in total