Virginia Untold: Free Registers (free form)

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

Surry Co. "Register of Free Negroes and Mulattoes", 1847-1862

199
Needs Review

199

187 description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said court this day made. Given under my hand and seal of said court this 25th January 1858 Teste Wm P Underwood cc

No 1451 Virginia Surry County sct I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that Anne alias Anne Wilson a free negro aged forty eight years and upwards of brown complexion has a scar on the back of her left hand was born free in the County of Surry as appears by a former certificate of registry obtained from the Clerk of this court and now surrendered, four feet, nine and a half inches high, and that she is again registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court, by order of said court this day made. Given under my hand and seal of said court this 25th January 1858. Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc

No 1452 (a) Virginia Surry County sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that Betsy alias Betsy Bailey a free negro aged fifty years and upwards of brown complexion, has no marks or scars on her face head or hands was born free in the County of Surry as appears by a Certificate of Timothy E Atkinson a white man now on file in my office, five feet four and a half inches high and that she is registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said Court this day made. Given under my hand and seal of said Court this 22nd day of february 1858. Teste Wm P Underwood cc

[written vertically in left margin] No 1452 Virginia Surry County sct: I Wm P Underwood Clerk of the county court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that David alias David Wilson a free negro aged twenty one years & upwards of dark complexion, the forefinger of of his right hand off, was born free in the County of Surry as appears by the certificate of Saml. Wilson a white man now on file in my office five feet 8 1/2 inches high and that he is registered of the above description in the clerks office Surry County court by order of said court this day made. Given under my hand & seal of said court this 25th Jany 1858. W P Underwood cc

No 1454. Virginia Surry County sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia, do hereby certify [than?] Jim alias Jim Bailey a free negro aged twenty one years and upwards of brown complexion has a scar, on the inside of his right ancle.

Last edit 17 days ago by aeide
227
Needs Review

227

215 appears to the Court has been lost, five feet six inches high, and that he is again registered of the aove description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said Court this day made. Given under my hand and the seal of said Court this 28th day of November 1859. Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc

No 1518 Virginia Surry County Sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that Willia alias William M White, a free negro aged twenty two years and upwards of light complexion, has no marks or Scars in his face head or hands, was born free in the County of Surry as appears by the Certificate of Talbert H Savedge a white man now on file in my office five feet high and that he is registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said Court this day made. Given under my hand and the Seal of said Court this 26th December 1859 Teste Wm P Underwood cc

No 1519 Virginia: Surry County Sct I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that James alias James Warren son of Barbara who was formerly the property of Dr. Dauson Warner a free negro of dark complexion, aged twenty two years and upwards has a scar on his forehead over the left eye, and who was decree by the Circuit Court of Isle of Wight County, in a suit under the style of "Barbasa &c. against Delk" pronounced by said Court on the 20th October 1855 to be free, was born in the County of Surry as satisfactority appears to the Court, is five feet nine inches high, and that he is registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said Court this day made. Given under my hand and Seal of Said Court this 26th December 1859. Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc

Last edit 13 days ago by aeide
228
Needs Review

228

216 No 1520 Virginia: Surry County Sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry in the state of Virginia do hereby Certify that Martha alias Martha Jane Johnson a free negro aged twenty one years and upwards of brown complexion has no marks or scars on her face head & hands was born free in the County of Surry as appears by the certificate of Merit Gwaltney a white man now on file in my office, five feet two and a half inches high and that she is registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry Cunty Court by order of said Court, this day made. Given under my hand and the Seal of said Court this 26th December 1859. Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc

No 1521 Virginia: Surry County to wit. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that James alias James Clayton a free negro of brown complexion, has a scar on his right ancle, aged twenty one years and upward was born free in the County of Surry as appears by the Certificate of John C Baugh (a white man) now on file in my office, five feet nine and a half inches high and that he is registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said Court this day made. Given under my hand and the Seal of said court this 23rd day of January 1860. Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc

No 1522 I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that Mary alias (Mary)

Last edit 14 days ago by SES827
229
Needs Review

229

217 Mary Frances Bishop a free negro aged seventeen years and upwards yellow complexion, has a scar across her right hand was born free in the County of Sussex as appears by the Certificate of George A Bailey a white man now on file in my Office, five feet one and a half inches high, and that she is registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said Court this day made. Given under my hand and seal of said Court this 23rd January 1860. Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc

No 1523 Virginia Surry County Sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that Nancy alias Nancy Cannada a free negro of black complexion, aged thirty years has a scar on her left arm was born free in the County of Surry as appears by a former Certificate of registry obtained from the Clerk of this Court and now surrendered four feet eight and a half inches high and that she is again registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said court this day made. Given under my hand and Seal of said Court this 23rd January 1860. Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc

No 1524 Virginia: Surry County Sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia, do hereby certify that Georgiana alias Georgiana James a free negro aged sixteen years and upward of brown complexion has a mole on her chin was born free in the County of Surry as appears by the Certificate of John R Briggs a white man now onfile in my office, four feet eleven and three quarter inches high and that (she)

Last edit 14 days ago by SES827
230
Needs Review

230

218 that she is registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County court, by order of said court this day made. Given under my hand and the seal of said court this 27th day of february 1860. Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc

No 1525. Virginia County sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that William, alias William Evans a free negro aged twenty one years and upwards of black complexion, has a scar on his right cheek and one on his left thumb, was born free in the County of Surry, as appears by the certificate of Jas H, and W. T. Pulley (white men) now on file in my Office, five feet six & 3/4 inches high and that he is registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County court this 26th day of March 1860. Wm P. Underwood cc

No 1526. Virginia: County of surry sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that George alias George Cornwall a free negro aged twenty five years and upwards of brown complexion, has scars on the elbow of the left arm, was born free in the County of Surry as appears by the certificate of Alexr. Faison (a white man) now on file in my Office, five feet five inches high, and that he is registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said Court this day made. Given under my hand and the seal of said Office this 26th March 1860. Wm. P. Underwood cc

Last edit 13 days ago by aeide
231
Needs Review

231

219 No 1527 Virginia Surry County sct I Willliam P Underwood Clerk of the county Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that Lysander alias Lysander Pretlow a free negro aged twenty six years and upwards of brown complexion, has a scar on his forehead near his hair was born free in the county of Surry as appears by a former certificate of registry obtained from the clerk of this court now surrendered five feet ten and a half inches high, and that he is again registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County court by order of said court this day made. Given under my hand and the seal of said court this 22nd day of April 1860. Tests Wm P Underwood cc

No 1528. Virginia Surry County sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Viginia do hereby certify that Eliza alias Eliza Bailey a free negro aged thirty eight years and upwards of yellow complexion, has no marks or scars on her face head or hands was born free in the county of Surry as appears by a former certificate of registry obtained from the clerk of this court now surrendered five feet five and a half inches high, and that she is again registered of the above description in the clerks office of Surry County Court by order of said court this day made. Given under my hand and the seal of said court this 23rd day of April 1860. Teste Wm P. Underwood cc

No 1529 Virginia Surry County sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia, do hereby certify that that Mary alias Mary Ann Jones a free negro aged sixty two years and upwards of light complexion, has a small mole on her third finger of the right hand, and a large mole on her neck who was liberated by the last will and testament

Last edit 13 days ago by aeide
232
Needs Review

232

220. testament of William Browne esq late of Four mile tree in Surry County in the year 1799 was born free in the County of Surry as appears by a former certificate of the Clerk of the court now surrendered, five feet eight inches high and that she is again registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said Court this day made. Given under my hand and the seal of said court the 28th day of May 1860. Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc

No 1529. Virginia Surry County sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that Merit alias Merit Ellis a free negro of brown complexion aged twenty three years and upwards has a scar on the left side of his neck was born free in the County of Surry as appears by the certificate of Boling Ellis a white man now on file in my office five feet eleven inches high and that he is registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said court this day made. Given under my hand this 28th May 1860. Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc

No 1530 Virginia surry County sct. I Willliam P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that Nicholas alias Nicholas Ellis a free negro of brown complexion aged thirty six years and upwards has no marks or scars on his face, head, or hands, was born free in the county of Surry as appears by a former certificate of registry obtained from the Clerk of this court and now surrendered five feet four inches high, and that he is again registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of the County Court of Surry County

Last edit 13 days ago by aeide
233
Needs Review

233

221. County by order of said Court this day made. Given under my hand and seal of said Court this 28th May 1860. Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc

No 1531. Virginia: Surry County sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that Rebecca alias Rebecca George a free negro aged thirty three years and upwards of light complexion has a scar in her forehead between her eyes was born free in the County of Surry as appears by a former register obtained from the Clerk of this Cout, and now surrendered, five feet and 3/4 inch high, and that she is again registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said Court this day made. Given under my hand and seal of said Court, this 28th May 1860. Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc

No 1532. Virginia Surry County sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that Patrick alias Patrick B Holmes a free negro aged twenty one years and upwards of brown complexion has lost the little finger on his right hand, was born free in the County of Surry as appears by the Certificate of William M West a white man (now on file in my Office, five feet seven inches high, and that he is registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said Court this day made Given under my hand and seal of said court this 28th day of May 1860 Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc

No 1533. Virginia Surry County sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby (certify)

Last edit 13 days ago by Bbynum
235
Needs Review

235

223. Merit P Sledge a white man now on file in my office five feet five inches high and that he is registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said Court this day made. Given under my hand and seal of said Court this 25th day of June 1860. Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc

No 1536. Virginia Surry County sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that Georgeann alias Georgeann Butler a free negeo aged thirty two years and upwards, has no marks or scars, on her face head or hands was born free in the County of Surry as appears by a former certificate of registry obtained from the Clerk of this court now surrendered, is five feet four and a half inches high and that she is again registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said Court this day made. Given under my hand and seal of said Court this 25th day of June 1860. Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc\

No 1537 Virginia Surry County sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that Parthena alias Parthena Johns a free negro aged forty years and upwards has a scar over her right eye was born free in the County of Surry as appears by the certificate of Merit P Sledge esq (a white man) now on file in my office, is five feet, five and 3/4 inches high and that she is registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said Court this day made. Given under my hand and seal of said Court this 23rd July 1860. Teste Wm P Underwood cc

Last edit 13 days ago by Bbynum
236
Needs Review

236

224 No 1538 Virginia Surry County Sct. I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that Julia alias Julia Bailey a free negro aged twenty one years and upward of brown complexion has no marks or scars on her face head or hands, was born free in the County of Surry as appears by the certificate of James Harris a white man now on file in my Office four feet seven and a half inches high, and that she is registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court, by order of said Court this day made. Given under my hand and the seal of said Court this 27th day of August 1860. Teste Wm. P. Underwood c.c.

No 1539 Virginia Surry County sct: I William P Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia do hereby certify that Everitt, alias Everitt Evans a a free negro of brown complexion aged twenty five years, his right eye out, and has a large wart on the forefinger of his right hand with a scar beside it, was born free in the County of Surry as appears by the certificate of James Harris (a white man) now on file in my Office, five feet nine and a half inches high, and that he is registered of the above description in the Clerks Office of Surry County Court by order of said Court this day made. Given under my hand and seal of said Court this 27th August 1860. Teste Wm. P. Underwood cc

No 1540 Virginia: Surry County sct: I William P. Underwood Clerk of the County Court of Surry County in the state of Virginia

Last edit 13 days ago by Bbynum
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 19 in total