Letters from World War II : J.H. Massey

Pages That Need Review

Letter from Harry Massey to Barbara Massey

p.
Needs Review

p.

6[circled] April [9?]

[postmark] FIELD POST OFFICE 11 APR 42

[written] Mrs Barbara Massey. c/o Mrs. Jenkins c/o Mrs Paul. 6 Bulstrode Gardens Lynwood. Maddingly Road Candlemas Lane. Cambridge Beaconsfield. Bucks.

[stamp] PASSED BY CENSOR No. 514

[page turned] JH Massey.

Last edit 7 months ago by KokaKli
p.
Needs Review

p.

7.

you a running commentary on how I feel - but this morning my cold is terrific + so I have confined myself to my room. And now at 10.30 on a rather lovely morning I am sitting down at my table to carry on with this letter. And now about last week end. Ben + I set off at 12-30 on Saturday accompanied as the result of a last minute decision by Senior Commander Pine of the A.T.S. - who will henceforward be known as Helen; + by one of her new Jewish subalterns. Ruth Berman who is the one I had the long talk with last week at the R.E. dance The [?] reason for taking Helen was in order that she might do some recruiting propaganda too- but the main + instrinsic reason was the education + instruction of a woman in a very important position + who pretty well classes the Jews + Arabs together as Palestinians + natives + certainly as inferior people to ourselves. I think we opened her eyes + woke up quite a good deal but it was not too easy, & I'm afraid that when she gets into the hands of more Regular Army officers & Government officials & so on, she will not have the strength of mind to resist, & our good work will be undone. And Ben & I were pretty sorry that we asked them to come with us. At the dance, & as a result of a few drinks, Helen seemed rather a good sort if you know what I mean, & also fairly intelligent & with a mind of her own. On further acquaintence she has those qualities, but only in a limited way. & she turned out to be rather dull & boring & infernally English & narrow; & also not a little

Last edit 7 months ago by KokaKli
p.
Needs Review

p.

14.

& happy children & very pretty & healthy. The system does seem a great success & you would be very interested to see them. There was one bunch of little girls, all about Lisa's age - I mean 5 1/2 - all busy talking & changing their clothes themselves & popping off to their little [lovabos?] - they were all so natural & busy & friendly, & it was so easy to picture Lisa among them.

The [Muktar?] here was a grand man too & was very anxious for us all to stay the night - but we wanted to get on to the Dead Sea - but Ben & I have promised to go & stay sometime for a day or two. If we do come to Palestine for a holiday sometime, darling, we shall certainly be able to have a very interesting & very cheap time, once the journey is paid for. It is certain that you would be interested in the settlements & all about them & it is equally certain that the Muktars I have met will be delighted to have us for a few days. Oh for the chance.

I must go to bed now. I have done my work in my room today - & lain, on my bed a little - & done some reading - & written so far to you - I am still puffing & blowing & sneezing. Goodnight, my darling one. xxx H.

Friday - Ap. 17th. Blast & damn my cold - I stayed in bed until 11-30 this morning - & the doctor has been & sounded every thing & given me some different medicine - but I feel very stuffed up & in no sort of a mood for writing. But I will finish off my week end

Last edit 7 months ago by KokaKli
p.
Needs Review

p.

16/ level- + then another 2000 ft- up to Jerusalem - where we called on the Jewish Agency + were received by [?] We were then taken out to lunch by Beilin to a place called Hesses which was of course German, + very good too. It was here that Helen because flirtatious with Beilin - but it was largely Beilin's fault- the little twirp. It was just the nearest approach to [?] that I have seen yet. As I as sitting on her other side , I was pretty involved + you can imagine just how much I disliked it+ also how much I showed it. But it was a fine weekend- it was a big mistake to take Helen + Ruth - but I can only hope it has done some good. And I think I shall have another 25 recruits which is what I need during the next week or two. And here are the photos which I have told you about my darling- + I hope you like them Do not worry about me my darling I shall be fit + will again in a day or so, as you will know from my [?] Much love a big kiss to dear Marie+ all my dearest love to you darling XXXXX Barbara Harry

Last edit 7 months ago by KokaKli
p.
Needs Review

p.

[postmarks] BROWNSFIELD 23 MY 42 BUCKS

FIELD POST OFFICE 17 AP 42 154

FIELD POST OFFICE 17 AP 44 154

FIELD POST OFFICE 17 AP 42 154

FIELD POST OFFICE 17 AP 42 154

[stamped] PASSED BY CENSOR No. 514

[written] 7[circled] Ap. 14

Mrs. Barbara Massey. c/o Mrs. Jenkins c/o Mrs Paul. 6 Bulstrode Gardens Lynwood. Maddingley Road. Candlemas Lane. Cambridge Beaconsfield. Bucks

[page turned] JH Massey

Last edit 7 months ago by KokaKli
p.
Needs Review

p.

[postmark] FIELD POST OFFICE 27 AP 42 154

[written] 8 X

Mrs Barbara Massey. c/o. Mrs. Jenkins c/o Mrs Paul. 6 Bulstrode Gardens Lynwood. Maddingley Road Candlemas Lane. Cambridge Beaconsfield. Bucks

[stamped] PASSED BY CENSOR No. 514

[page turned] JH Massey

Last edit 7 months ago by KokaKli
p.
Needs Review

p.

Letter No. 9. Tuesday - April 28th. Major J.H. Massey. 6. Palestine Coy. The Buffs M.E.F.

My own very darling Barbara -

I wrote this beginning to this letter more than half an hour ago. & since then I have been sitting here & wondering what to write to you about - & during that time I have been gazing at your photographs on my table & in my album. & darling, you are very beautiful & pretty & marvellously lovely. And I am so fortunate that you love me, & that you write to me & that I am able to write to you.

I love & cherish every part of you, my sweetheart, just as much as I long for all of you & every part of you. Do you mind if I tell you about yourself again - it is the only way I have of making love now, & I hope I may make you a little bit happy too. And I don't really believe that the censor ever reads these letters. I love your hair so much & it is so long & brown & soft & strong - & really whatever you do to it & in whatever way you have it done, you always have it long on both sides of your face. & with an emphasis on your left side, which is so very much you. Your eyes are incomparable, my lovely pet. they are so expressive & they can look at me so gorgeously - & they are so intelligent & they can look at me with such spirit. Your mouth & all its expressions are so perfect & so very pretty - & to kiss you is pure joy & heaven & you know that I have proved that by my appetite for your kisses: your

Last edit 7 months ago by KokaKli
p.
Needs Review

p.

[postmark] FIELD POST OFFICE 3 MY 42 154

[written] 9

Mrs Barbara Massey. c/o Mrs. Jenkins c/o Mrs Paul 6 Bulstrode Gardens Lynwood Maddingley Road Candlemas Lane. Cambridge. Beaconsfield. Bucks.

[stamped] PASSED BY CENSOR No. 514

[page turned] JH Massey

Last edit 7 months ago by KokaKli
p.
Needs Review

p.

[Letter No. 10?] Major J.H. Massey 6 Palestinian Coy. The Buffs [illegible] E.F.

My dearest darling -

I am having a bad week for writing to you. On Monday, I was all set to go, but Ben & I were the only ones in & he was in a bad mood & depressed, partly on account of having been chased up by me the previous few days - & he deliberately began to be sorry for himself & so I spent the evening talking with him. Poor man, he has a wife he does not love very much, & is not really interested in at all - I must say she is a very dull & rather silly girl. He has not the faintest idea what to do with himself after the war.

On Tuesday, I was [?] working late & had dinner late - & then for some unknown reason this Bradford M.O called in & stayed until 12.0. I thought Ben had asked him in. Ben thought I had. He's quite a pleasant bloke really, but I cannot see in him a new friend for us after the war, [was a doctor?]

Wednesday, I was late for dinner again, having had a long talk with the squadron leader about various things. Silly little man. I had been chasing him all day, but in the morning he was all in a flap because the Duke of Gloucester was landing here & staying for lunch; - in the afternoon he was playing cricket. And then I had to go out into the night & work. I saw Gloucester & gave him a smart salute & received a smile & a sloppy salute in return. But the R.A.F. people here had not the wit or the courtesy to ask me to the lunch but may be it was as

Last edit 11 months ago by MaryV
p.
Needs Review

p.

2.

well, because I still feel myself a Royalist.

The [Sq. Ldr?] is hopeless - he's a little squirt of a Welshman & about 45. & is plain terrified of me. but I'm afraid that does not increase his efficiency. But I find the R.A.F. very sloppy & muddly, except when they are in the air. Fancy Eric a Sq. Ldr - but he just fits into the picture. I expect his chest, his moustache, & his hearty manner got him there: but they didn't before the war. & I dont expect they will after.

Last night I went to see "Manhunt" at the camp cinema - but it was a poor [film?], & Joan Bennett has either gone off, or else she never did look like you - & she had to talk Cockney which did not help. And afterwards, I had to accept an invitation to the R.A.F. mess - it is the very first time I have been there at night, but I have excused myself so often & I felt I had to go. I also had a strong feeling of being appeased, because the Sq. Ldr & his Adjutant have been asking me almost daily, & I'm quite certain they do not like me. Ben & Gerald came too. & we drank lots of beer. & the M.O. banged the piano & every body sang silly dirty songs. & I felt rather superior & very bored & annoyed at the waste of time. But I promise you darling that I will not be superior or too grown up when I come home to you. Oh but I look forward to laughing again & making you laught & feeling carefree & happy.

I saw the Army dentist again this week, a different one again, but rather a good man - he travels round the Area with a trailer all fitted up.

Last edit 7 months ago by KokaKli
Displaying pages 241 - 250 of 295 in total