World War II Letters

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

Charles F. Fultz Correspondence, August-September, 1945

MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_015
Needs Review

MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_015

2

quite a luxury ^(sp??) in the E.G.O. I hear that there is an ice-cream bar at the Red-Cross U.S.O. club in Bad Kissen, think I'll go there one of these days. The passes are from eleven to eleven, takes 2 hrs to go by G.I. truck, so that isn't so good.

Johnson & [Mac?] have gone to [Nancy?] France for 6 days. They will be gone about two weeks. We were near there several times so it will be quite nice there for them. [Joinville] wasn't very far from Nancy but they didn't get to visit any towns while there.

I think there will be quite a few passes in the next few weeks so maby I'll get one later, so far I haven't had a pass [of?or?] furlough, my time is coming. I would like to go to Switzerland, though I don't know if I'll even get there or not, I had rather be on the way home if there was any choice!

Yesterday was very nice, infact the nicest

Last edit 5 days ago by ainemcgeheemarley
MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_016
Needs Review

MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_016

3

day in a long time, today is [crossed out] sunny but warm, our mud holes are plentiful. A fineday for ducks. [crossed out]

The division paper came a short time ago, theres a write-up about one of our boys getting the C.M.H I'll send it along. A letter from Mrs Fink today, said she was going to a watermelon feast at the pool, certainly sounds good to me & I know she'll enjoy it very much. I bet she eats a slice for me too!

Say hello & best wishes for me!

The S+S said the 75 painters would be on the way home soon, I don't have enough yet but am hoping for a new [c?audt?] and if so the time from May 12th will do the trick, though time will tell! pleasant though!

By now, Love always to the sweetest person in the world + I'll be seeing you.

Love, Charles

Last edit 5 days ago by ainemcgeheemarley
MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_017
Needs Review

MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_017

KLIN9ENBER9 Germany Friday Nite August 24th

Hellow Darling, I suppose you are a bit surprised to learn that I'm out of the training area, we moved yesterday. Its a good location too and everyone is glad to be out of the mud We are living in a castle, was built in 1560, you know know has nothing modern, tho there is water, light & Shower, not bad eh! ITs not pretty to look at but we have a good set-up plus fine [??] K.P and we have three new cooks helpers, learning the job to take our place it & when we'll probably get some more soon. So you see I'm not working very hard. This morning Philp, Rayl & I too a long walk down on [??] up the sound. The way

Last edit 30 days ago by Kalexander19
MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_018
Needs Review

MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_018

2 was along the highway only about one hundred yards away. Its the main way, not very large and its very pretty though, lots of [??] too. There are [??] on both sides of the way, on one there is an old castle, we are planning to go up there soon, maby tomorrow afternoon, going to make some pictures too. The [??] sides are carved with grape vines & apple trees, we ate a few [??] apples & some [??] this morning It was [??] hard for me to pass-up-some little roasting-ears too, might get some yet! I'm preety tired tonight, have a good little room and a bed, so I better say so-long for tonight and I'll see you in my dreams. Love always to the sweetest person in the world & good night Darling Charles

Last edit 30 days ago by Kalexander19
MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_019
Needs Review

MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_019

Klingenburg Germany Sat. Nite Aug 25th

Hello Darling, I had a very pleasant surprise today, a nice box of chocolates, thanks a million, it is very good. That is the fastest mail service I've had for a package, eleven days, not bad, eh! Today has been very nice, a bit warm too, at present its a bit cloudy tho I doubt if it rains. Theis old castle is a pretty good set-up for us, I do mean old built in 1560. The cooks have two small rooms, a bit crowded but that doesn't matter it really beats the last area, that was some mud-puddle. I and Ray took a walk after supper, down the highway for about 1/2 mile. There are lots of fruit [??] and we ate apples & plums, stopped to watch some men fishing, one caught a tiny

Last edit 30 days ago by Kalexander19
MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_020
Needs Review

MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_020

2 minnow while we were there. Had two fo my favorite meals today, pork-chops for dinner and beef liver for suppoer & onions - pretty good. Your letter "V.G Day" arrived today, I knew as soon as I saw the red stationary ti was for a special day or time, thanks a million. I'm very glad & thankful that the world is at peace again and sincerely hope that its a lasting peace. The men with 75 paints or more stayed at the camp we moved fomr they are going home with the 99th division - soon too! There isnt many left that has been witht he outfit long and some more may leave soon, I hope so, anyway we are training new men to take over our places, sounds good doesn't it! There are quite a few people that speak english Germans I mean, so anything we wish to know there always some english speaking people we can ask. I asked some kids for a German knife, so yesterday he brought me one, its really nice

Last edit 30 days ago by Kalexander19
MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_021
Needs Review

MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_021

3 better than any I've had yet, a very good [??]. I don't know if I should try to mail it home or wait & bring it, have a p.38 too, traded my watch for it after breaking the crystal. Would like to have a luger, so far no luck I really should write to Grace & Evelyn, think I'll wait until morning though. Maby I'm a bit lazy! So-long for tonight, I'll be seeing youLove Always to the sweetest person in the world - by now! Charles

Last edit 30 days ago by Kalexander19
MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_022
Needs Review

MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_022

Klingenberg Germany Aug 27th

Hi There, Just imagine me going fishing, just came back from the river, its only a few hunderd yards from here. Didn't catch any thing though, only had a couple bites, very poor at that. Tho I didn't have fishermans luck, ate before I left! Thanks for the two very nice letters that arrived today, Aug 17 & 18th, thats super service isn't it. Hope your mail improves, tho I haven't written a great deal in the past two weeks, Ill do better because there is a place to write here - maby I won't be

Last edit 27 days ago by cmc102247
MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_024
Needs Review

MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_024

3 So the package arrived O.K., glad you like the [??] ect., they came from the east side of the Rhine. I have a beaded pocket book for [??] but think I'll just wait a while. The P.X. rations just came in, we get 10 bars of candy, 12 packs of cigs, some gum ect. I'm in a mood for some candy too. So long for tonight. Love always to the sweetest person in the world & I'll be seeing you Charles

Last edit 30 days ago by Kalexander19
MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_025
Needs Review

MilColl_WWII_37_Fultz_Charles_F_Papers_B2F10_Corr_Aug_Sept_1945_025

Klingenburg German Aug 28th Hi Darling, This is it!! The letter I've been waiting to write for ages and finally the time has arrived. "Don't write me at this address any more" How's that!? I'm leaving H.Co. at 9:AM. tomorrow, will joing the 99th Div. at Camp Bade, the same place we left, some few days ago. I wish the 79th was going home together but I don't know when that will happen, maby those that are left will be occupational troops, at least some of them.

Last edit 27 days ago by cmc102247
Displaying pages 1 - 10 of 245 in total