Hebert Mackarsie journal

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

2151_6-1-diary

195
Needs Review

195

191

the Ships Company and inspecting the Sick, went to General Quarters. Sent for to an American Ship, in consequence of a man having fallen from her maintopsail yard: he afterwards overhauled the Ships Books, Warrant Officer's accounts and had a look at my Sick Book, with which he appeared satisfied, perhaps from not knowing the Latin names. After having lunch below with the Commdr and Suite, he ordered the hands to be turned up, and addressed the Ship's Company saying he was very highly pleased with their efficiency in seamanship and gunnery: afterwards complimented Christians for the discipline under which the ship, and after speaking to each Officer he left for the shore, it of course being the last inspection on board here. In the evening Commdr and some of the officers went on shore. Turned in very early.

April 8th. A fine mild morning with an occasional shower of rian. A few cases of Diarrhoea occurring, but none of a serious type. In the afternoon had an invitation from the Admiral to dinner but having suffered for some time from a Chronic affection of the ancles. I was obliged to send an apology and was glad to get to bed.

April 9th Kept my bed all day after seeing the Sick in the morning, suffering severely from the pain in my legs.

Friday, April 10th Good Friday, Buenos Ayres

Last edit 3 months ago by Khufu
85
Needs Review

85

81

7.30 came to an anchor, inside of the Bay, where we found several small coasting Craft: in the forenoon went away in the punt with Christian to fish - At 5 gave permission to men to go ashore & bathe where most of the Officers went ashore. Had a target painted on the rocks, at which we exercised for two hours, beautiful firing, both with shot and shell - In the evening, had cards in the Gunroom.

Saturday March 1st 1856 At Sea - At 7 leave short and when Steam was up, weighed and steamed out of the Bay, the weather being very misty - It continued calm all day and in the evening we were obliged to come to an anchor in 35 fths.

Sunday March 2nd 1856 Weighed early in the morning and ran for Armacio where we again anchored in the forenoon, and gave leave. At 4.30 Commander dined with us. In the evening most of the men came off or rather were brought off very drunk.

Monday March 3rd 1856 At 8.30 weighed and made sail to a Birthday strong breeze from the SWard - 10 Saw Cape Frio. 11.30 made it seven bells in a bottle of Port with two of my messmates.

March 4th Made & shortned sail as requisite. At 3.30 got steam up and steered for Rio: at 7 got in and moored the Spry, Express being here - Commdr waited on Admiral on his return told us that Russina had given in.

March 5th A continued signal for boats all forenoon Dr Stoddart of Spry came on board but was soon sent for on duty - Signal from Flag Ship to complete with

Last edit 3 months ago by Khufu
86
Needs Review

86

82

Coals, and be ready for sea : one to the Express to the same effect. In the afternoon sent a Party of men to assist an English Brig, in distress outside: anxiously looking for the Mail from England - At 7 a Blue light was burnt from one of the Forts and we at first thought it was the mail, but it was soon followed by a Gun, responded to by another and then by the Brazilian Frigate : immediately a signal was made by the Admiral to man boats, and go to the Brigs assistance, and in less than ten minutes, not less than 30 boats were pulling down the Harbor, our cutter was one of the last to leave her, in safety, and brought back the Captains wife and daughter, and took them on board the Madagascar.

March 6th Coal barge, and water tank came alongside and we soon cleared them - still no Packet, However in the afternoon She came in, and we soon got our letters, one from L and M, but as I had an invitation to go on board Expresss, I was obliged to go and make an apology, being anxious to read my letters.

March 7th At 9.30 went on board Madagascar with a Marine (a patient) to consult Dr Bynoe as to my treatment with which he coincided : likely to be a very troublesome if not fatal case. Received another invitation form Captain of Ocean Monarch to dine with him, but declined.

March 8th Being Saturday we were employed cleaning all the Holds & holystoning decks & Most of the Officers went ashore to the Opera in the evening - Made it Saturday night, after a game of Cribbage and turned in.

Sunday March 9th In Rio de Janeiro - At 9.30 went to Divisions, inspected lower decks, and performed Divine Service

Last edit 3 months ago by Khufu
87
Needs Review

87

83

Birth day

Monday March 10th Had a Small Birth day dinner party and a quiet glass of wine - In the evening went ashore -

March 11th In the forenoon went ashore and had lunch with our Second Master, came off to dinner - Cards in the evening.

March 12th Early in the morning the Camilla came in. At 10 had an invite from the Adimiral to dine - Finished letters to L and M. At 8 left Flag Ship, after a most pleasant evening.

March 13th Still a continuance of Fever & Cholera on shore. In the evening went away for a cruize in the Cutter, Calling on board the Spry on our way back, and bringing three of her Officers back to Brig - rum and cheese - Commander went away in a small steamer - on a pleasure party with some ladies from the Ocean Monarch.

March 14th At 9 went to General Quarters - An invitation from the President to Commdr and myself to attend at a [Lenqe?] - quietly declined the compliment - but went away in the cutter and enjoyed a very pleasant sail among the Islands, altho' it was raining very fast. Returned about 6 P.M. after which went ashore to Cobras, and had a quiet game of Whist with Eversfield getting back again by 11.30.

March 15th Woke at 6 but not feeling so hungry as usual. Had a game at Cribbage in the evening, and made it Saturday night. At 11 rain came down very fast, when we sloped awnings & turned in

Last edit 3 months ago by Khufu
88
Needs Review

88

84

Sunday March 16th Rio de Janeiro - 9.30 inspected lower decks, mustered by Open Sist, and sent a party on shore to Church. Forgot to mention in yesterday's remarks, that Lennon and I were ordered to go ashore in search of Mr Ross after meeting him, we found him in a state of madness, and it was with some difficulty we got him off. Put Hicks in the list with Diarrhoia, but rather suffering from D.T. At 1 PM the Commdr came from the Ocean Monarch with some young ladies, and took them and their Father in the 2nd gig for a cruize : we afterwards went away in the cutter with two Officers from the Madagascar, and after running a good long distance, stopped at a small island where we got and ate lots of oysters. We then crossed over the Bay to Grandy's Island where we dined, and amused ourselves afterwards with leap frog, jumping and shying at empty bottles of which there was a good number - At 7.30 made a start for the Ship and reached her about midnight, after a very pleasant, sail, altho' our Mate (Senors) did fall overboard and thereby lost his cap.

March 17th A signal from Flag Ship to prepare for sea tomorrow at 6 AM. Sent for the tank to complete with water, and in the afternoon sent our Steward on shore for some necessaries and he returned very drunk. In the evening there was a soiree on board the Ocean Monarch.

Last edit 3 months ago by Khufu
89
Needs Review

89

85

March 18th At 4 lighted fires, and got steam up, and at a little after six we took the Flag in tow and the Admiral, Secretary and Flag Lieutenant came on board, when we proceeded towards Sea but forutnately an accident happened in the Engine room which disabled us from going on the the cruize, so we returned, and came to an anchor - off Coal Island, to repair our damage. At 9 came to an anchor off Ponte de Rio, and after breakfast the Admiral went to the Factory to enquire about the length of time requisite to repair our damage. Wet for most of the day. Spry went to Sea. A little after noon the job was finished, when we have short - and again got steam up: 2 passed the shipping, when it was raining and blowing hard. At 4 the Admiral ordered us to anchor, close under one of the Brazy Forts. At 5 a party of Officers went away in second gig, and I went to my cabin. In the evening there were cards, draughts, and a new game called the "Emperor versus the Allies"-

March 19th At 2 AM weighed and went to Sea : a heavy swell, and from the neglect of my servant, both my cabin and the dispensary were filled with water, in consequence of the parts not being screwed, and my cupping instruments and Stomach pump were spoilt. At 8 saw the Admiral on deck, very sea sick, the Flag Lieutenant in the same state, and no breakfast - going on; myself in a damned bad temper owing to my losses, and wishe the old Ral at the devil. At 10 there was a nasty heavy swell and the ship rolled very heavily - At 1.30 came to an anchor - in

Last edit 3 months ago by Khufu
90
Needs Review

90

86

Cape Frio Bay, when the Admiral, Commdr and Lieut went on shore, returning at 5 to dine - In the evening we had cards in the sun room, but could not get a smoke till late in consequence of the Admiral remaining long on deck - At 10 the Commdr in Chief went to bed and some of us had a smoke on the sly, and after a glass of Sherry, turned in also. Only two on the list. At 11 it came on to rain very fast, with a strong breeze from the SW.

March 20th 7. It cleared up, the weather being cool and pleasant, at 9, 2nd Master went away to sound the entrance of the Bay, by order from the Admiral, to ascertain if there was sufficient water for a large ship to seat in. 9.30 Went to Quarters. 10 it came on to rain heavily, and the Ral had ordered a boat at 11. but being still wet at that time, it was 12 before the party left, and they had not gone half a mile from the ship, when a very heavy shower of rain came on, but they still went on, & reached the Light House on the summit of Capt Frio. - About 2 a party of Officers and men went ashore, and had races, leap frog, swimming matches & while I was writing to my dear L -y. There was the usual scene of fun in the Gun room in the evening, and it was rather late before we turned in.

March 21st At 4 lighted fires and got Steam up, after which we weighed and proceeded to Amacas, where we arrived at 9 and came to an anchor - Being Good Friday, at 10.30 perfomed Divine Service. At 1 a few of us walked into the country a distance of 12 miles and on our return about 6 felt pretty well done up, & got on board as soon as possible, and after dinner turned in.

Last edit 3 months ago by Khufu
91
Needs Review

91

87

March 22nd At 2 AM weighed and steamed for Rio, woke very soon after with Ague and was in bed all day in consequence. About 1 PM the men & Admiral to inspect some Islands, after remaining about an hour returned, when we again went on a head for Rio arriving at 4.30, when we moored much in our old position, and the Admiral dined, they all left at 7. At midnight there was a fearful ringing of bells, & firing of guns, I at first thought it to be another fire, forgetting it was Easter Eve, a grand day in Rio: I could hear the different bands playing. No Saturday night.

Easter Sunday March 23rd Rio de Janeiro - I never slept till 4 and then only for two hours, getting up feverish and seedy: they kept the row up, without intermission till daylight. At 10 went to Divisions and performed Divine Service: great demonstrastions on shore, fireworks, High Mass & &c. In the afternoon Captn Sawson of Ocean Monarch came on board with an invitation to dinner, as he was going to give a soiree, but I declined, not feeling very well: Commdr and some other Officers went, and enjoyed themselves very much, there was a little quarreling with some Yankee Officers.

March 24th A Signal after breakfast to send a working party to assist the Ocean Monarch, expected to be ready for Sea by Thursday, water Tank came alongside: during the forenoon Captn Sawson again came on board to ask me to dinner, but as I was engaged to dine with Eversfield at Cobras, I had a very good excuse, not wishing to go on board, after what had happened in the O. Monarch. At 3 a Brazilian Steamer arrived from the Sward. At

Last edit 3 months ago by Khufu
92
Needs Review

92

88

5 went to Cobras, where I met Mr Douglas V. Henderson two passengers in the O. Monarch : had a quiet game at Crib and went on board at 9 whent he boat came for me - Found another Engineer had joined us from the Madagascar, and was obliged to play another game at Crib, and after which having had a smoke, was glad to turn in.

March 25th - At 8 a signal from Flag Ship to get steam up, lighted fires immediately, and commenced unmooring - Douglas V Henderson came to breakfast : 9.30 Commdr went on board the Flag Ship to receive his orders - returned at 10 when we weighed and steamed close past the Ocean Monarch, and went to Sea for a cruize. After getting a good offing we let the fires burn out and made all plain sail to a light air of wind and stood off the land : in the afternoon it freshened and headed, slowing from the point we wished to steer for: passed several vessels running in: the evening very beautiful with a fine breeze.

March 26th A fine breeze from the Nward, still standing off the land - At 11 turned the hands up to punishment and gave G James AB 3 dozen for insolent and mutinous language. I being the principal witness against him: he took them very gingerly, and after it was over said that Mr Senon and myself were the only Officers who were down upon him. In the afternoon there was a fine fresh breeze, but deadened towards night - it threatened to blow when we took in a reef of foretopsail.

March 27th A Beautiful cool morning , but some symptoms of the Polka Fever showing itself. At 8 , we were 56 miles distant - from Cape Frio, which was dead to windward of us. Passed a vessel running, Rio in the afternnon. At 8 tacked and stood out to Sea. Had chess and cards in the evening and went to bed at 10.

Last edit 3 months ago by Khufu
93
Needs Review

93

89

March 28th At 2 tacked and stood in towards the land - At 7 saw Cape Frio - 8 A fresh breeze - 9 went to General Quarters - 11 Tacked and stood out to Sea: Saw several vessels, all apparently running for Rio. In the afternoon passed a large ship under [?] Colors. Towards night the breeze freshened, and we shortened sail; turned in early.

March 29th A strong breeze at 2 tacked and stood in to the land found a strong current setting to the Sward. Employed cleaning ship throughout. Saw several coasting vessels, in the evening made it Saturday night.

Sunday March 30th At Sea. It came on to rain at 2 AM, clearing up in about 8 - 9.30 mustered by Officers list and inspected Ship. Showed colors to some coasting vessels. At 3 the Commander dined with us. In the evening had coffee, and cigars and turned in.

March 31st A strong breeze to which we had to shorten sail, and the Sea began to get up. In the afternoon we were under a double reefed main topsail & reefed foresail. In the evening there were cards &c in the Gun room.

Tuesday April 1st 1856 At Sea: Still blowing fresh with a nasty chop of a sea running. 6 AM tacked and stood in shore. Tacked in the evening.

April 2nd The Same sort of weather, trying to beat to the Nward without any effects in fact we were [rathing?] losing ground, sighted the land & again stood off to Sea, several coasting vessels in sight.

April 3rd A wet day throughout and a heavy swell setting in from SW [illegible] the land and tacked, a brig in sight. In the evening the wind died away some & there was a heavy swell, and no appearance of getting any sleep.

Last edit 3 months ago by Khufu
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 197 in total