Queensland's Founding Documents

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

Letters to various people in Governors letterbooks Volume 1 (ITM17659)

163
Needs Review

163

324

The Honb. Robert Ramsay M.L.A.

Government House Brisbane 28 March 1871

Sir

I have the honor to acknow: :ledge the receipt of your letter of this date conveying to me your resignation of the Office of Colonial Treasurer, and whilst acquainting you that I accept the same I cannot refrain from adding my sincere regret that your services should be lost to the Colony in the highly important position you have so efficiently occupied.

I have &c. (Signed) M. C. O'Connell Acting Governor.

The Honb. Gilbert Eliott " " "

Government House Brisbane 17 April 1871.

Sir,

I have much pleasure in forwarding to you copy of a despatch which I have received from the Secretary of State for the Colonies in which he states that Her Majesty has been pleased to appoint you a Companion of the Order of St. Michael and St. George.

I have &c. (Signed) M.C. o'Connell Acting Governor.

325

Commodore Stirling R.N. H.M.S. "Clio" Sydney.

Sir,

I have the honor to return the enclosed original documents which have been translated and, so far as the regulations regarding labour and traffic in New Caledonia are concerned, published in the Queensland Government Gazette.

I have at the same time to thank you for your attention to Colonel Blackall's request that these regulations might be obtained for general information in this Colony.

I have &c. &c. (Signed) M.C. O'Connell Acting Governor.

Enclosed

Government House Brisbane 5 July 18971.

Sir,

I regret that so much delay should have taken place in my reply to your communication of the 20th May last in reference to the buildings formerly occupied by the Detachments of Royal Marines stationed at Somerset. I only received the reply of my Colonial Secretary to the request for information on this subject which I had addressed to him this day _ and I hasten to forward to you the facts communicated to me.

It would appear that although constructed by aid of funds contributed by the Imperial Government these buildings were ordered, prepared, and put

Last edit 3 months ago by Ciara_K
164
Needs Review

164

Left margin 326. up by Colonial Officers. They were used by the detachment of Marines Stationed at Somerset so long as they remained there, but on their withdrawal these buildings would appear under the circumstances to rest in the Colonial Government. I have &c (Signed) M.C. O'Connell Acting Governor Left margin Commodore Stirling R.N. H.M.S. "Clio" Sydney D 71/375. Colonial Secretary's Office Brisbane 4 July 1871. Sir I have the honor by direction of the Colonial Secretary to acknowledge the receipt of your memorandum of the 31st of May annexed to a letter of the 20th May last addressed to His Excellency the acting Governor by Commodore Stirling, H.M.S. "Clio", relative to the Buildings at the settlement of Somerset, Cape York, formerly occupied by the detachment of Marines when stationed there and now claimed as the property of the Imperial Government. It will be remembered that in March last when Commander Challis, H.M.S. "Rosario" was about to visit the Settlement he addressed a letter to His Excellency on the subject of these buildings, a copy of which is annexed, together with a communication from this office in reference thereto, in which it is intimated that the Colonial Secretary has no knowledge of any buildings at Somerset belonging to the Imperial Government. In further explanation, I am now directed to state the particulars connected with the construction of these buildings, the cost of which was defrayed out of a grant of £5,000. contributed by the Imperial Government towards the formation of the Settlement. Left margin The Private Secretary Government House Brisbane

327. On reference to the Minute of proceedings of the Executive Council, 2nd December 1861, it will be seen that one of the conditions on which the Queensland Government proposed to undertake the formation and management of the Settlement was - "that the Imperial Government should "fray once for all [underlined] £5,000. as it's contribution towards the "erection of the necessary buildings" The Executive Minute of which the above is an extract was forwarded as an enclosure in a despatch to the Secretary of State for Colonies from Governor Sir George. F. Bowen no 73. 9th December 1861. His Grace the Duke of Newcastle then Secretary of State for the Colonies in his Depatch no 31. 4th October 1862 signifies his pleasure "in transmitting the copy of a letter from the Lords Commissioners of the Treasury intimating their readiness to submit an estimate to Parliament for the sum of £5,000. to defray the expenses of the Settlement as far as the Imperial Government was concerned." And in a further despatch upon the same subject No 40. 26th November 1863, His Grace in further an allusion to the same subject again draws attention to the "liberal contribution [underlined] which had been sanctioned by the "Board of Treasury for the erection of accomodation for the Marines" The necessary buildings were therefore constructed at Brisbane, in 1864-65 under the superintendance of the Colonial Architect and "a statement of the expenditure "incurred to the 30th April 1865. on account of Government "Buildings at Somerset Port Albany against the Imperial "Grant of £5,000." prepared by the Auditor-General was presented by command to both Houses of Parliament, shewing an unexpended balance of £207:4:9. still available for the buildings not then completed. When the Marines were withdrawn by the Imperial Government no formal transfer of the buildings to the Queensland Government was made nor was it considered necessary the cost of their construction having been paid out of an absolute grant towards the formation of the settlement.

Last edit 5 months ago by maltesemaur
165
Needs Review

165

Left margin 328. In the event of the settlement being abandoned a question might arise as to the right of property in buildings erected for a specific purpose out of Imperial funds, but it is apprehended that no such question can arise so long as the settlement is used for the purpose for which it was originally founded, namely as a harbor of refuge for the ships wrecked crews of vessels navigating Torres Straits, but which to Queensland itself is of no practical importance whatever. I have the honor to be Sir Your Most obedient Servant H.H. Massie Under Col. Sec: Copy of correspondence on the subject of Buildings at Somerset annexted to letter to the Private Secretary 4th Jul 1871 No. D.375. Date No From Whom To Whom Subject 9 Mar His Excellency 1871 1 Commander Challis The Governor Instructions to survey Buildings 18th March 1871 2 Colonial Secretary Private Secretary Action taken 11th March 1871 3 Colonial Secretary P.M. Somerset Instructions to give assistance 29th March 4 P.M. Somerset Commander Challis Respecting his instructions 1871. (copy) Govt. Buildings at Cape York H.M.S. "Rosario" Moreton Bay 9th March 1871 Sir Having received instructions to hold a survey on the buildings belonging to the Imperial Government at Somerset, Cape York

329. I have the honor to request that the officer in charge at that station may be instructed to indicate these buildings to me on my arrival. I am &c (Signed) Henry Challis Commander Left margin H.E. Sir Maurice O'Connell Governor Left margin Copy M 71/162 Colonial Secretary's Office Brisbane 10th March 1871. Sir I have the honor by direction to acknowledge the receipt of the copy of a letter addressed to His Excellency The acting Governor by Captain Challis of the H.M.S. "Rosario" transmitted with your memorandum of this date, intimating that he has received instructions to hold a survey on the buildings at Somerset, belonging to the Imperial Government. A copy of the letter referred to together with the necessary instructions will be forwarded to the officer in charge of the settlement; but I am desired to add that the Colonial Secretary has know knowledge of any buildings at Somerset, belonging to the Imperial Government. I have &c (Signed) H.H. Massie Under Colonial Secretary Left margin The Private Secretary Government House Brisbane Copy D 71/163. Colonial Secretary's Office Brisbane. 11th March 1871. Sir I have the honor to transmit herewith the copy of a letter addressed by Captain Challis of H.M.S. "Rosario" to His Excellency the Acting Governor relative to instructions received, to hold a survey on the buildings at Somerset belonging to the Imperial Government. Left margin The Police Magistrate Somerset

Last edit 5 months ago by maltesemaur
166
Needs Review

166

Left margin 330. You will afford Captain Challis every facility in your power for holding the survey of any buildings in the Settlement, and furnish him with all information on the subject that he may require, but the Colonial Secretary is not aware of any buildings at Somerset belonging to the Imperial Government. I have &c (Signed) H.H. Massie Under Colonial Secretary Left margin Copy 83-71 Somerset 29th March 1871 Sir Having received instructions from the Honble. the Colonial Secretary, Brisbane, to furnish you with information concerning the buildings at this settlement I now do myself the honor to inform you that I will be glad to point out any buildings you may desire to inspect, and to give any information and assistance that may lie in my power I have &c (signed) Frank L. Jardine P.M. Left margin Commander H.J. Challis R.N. H.M.S. "Rosario" List of Public Buildings erected at Somerset Port Albany. 1. Barracks for the detachment of Royal Marines (LI) with detached kitchen and offices. 2. Quarters of the officer commanding the above, with detached kitchen and offices. 3. Quarters for the Naval Surgeon in charge, with detached kitchen and offices. 4. Hospital, with detached kitchen and offices. 5. Three cottages for married men in the detachment 6. Guard-room and cells 7. Boat House 8. Court House with quarters for the Police Magistrate and commission of crown lands 9. Office for the collection of customs and Harbor dues. (signed) C. Tiffin Colonial Architect of Queensland.

Left margin 331. D 71/374 331. Colonial Secretarys Office Brisbane 4th July 1871. Sir I have the honor to transmit for the information of His Excellency The Acting Governor, with the view of His Excellency being pleased to direct the same to be forwarded to Commodore Stirling, a copy in duplicate of all correspon-dence in connection with 29 tons of coal, belonging to the Imperial Government, supplied by the Police Magistrate at Somerset on requisition made by Captain Revault of H.J.M.S. "Marceau" for the prosecution of his voyage to Tolous via Timor, Pondicherry & the Suez Canal. I have the honor to be Sir Your most obedient servant (signed) H.H. Massie Under Col. Sec: Left margin The Private Secretary Government House Brisbane Copy of correspondence on the subject of coal supplied to the French Man of War "Marceau" by the Police Magistrate, Somerset annexed to letter to the Private Secretary 4th July 1871 No. #374 Date No. From Whom To Whom Subject 1870 September 6th 1 P.M. Somerset Colonial Secretary Reporting supply of coal to "Marceau" 7 March 1871. 2. Colonial Secretary Commander Challis Enclosing copy of extract of letter from P.M. Somerset. 10th March 1871. 3 Colonial Secretary P.M. Somerset How payment of coal secured. 31st March 1871 4 P.M. Somerset Colonial Secretary Payment not secured 1st April 1871 5 Commander Challis P.M. Somerset Survey of coal and deficiency 2nd April 1871 6 P.M. Somerset Commander Challis Explanation 4th April 1871 7 Commander Challis P.M. Somerset Estimated quantity of coal left Somerset

Last edit 5 months ago by maltesemaur
167
Needs Review

167

Left margin 332 48-70 copy (extract) Somerset 6th September 1870 Sir I do myself the honor to report the arrival of H.J.M.S. "Marceau" on the 2nd instant from New Caledonia bound to Toulou via Timor, Pondicherry, and the Suez Canal, and to state that I acceded to a requisition, made by Captain Revault for thirty (30) tons of coal which he assured me was indispensable for the prosecution of his voyage, she left on the 5th [?]. I enclose herewith Captain Revaults requisition together with his receipt for the coal (27 tons) The Megoera another French Man of War is also daily expected from New Caledonia via Rockhampton, and is to call here, but I should not feel justified in supplying her with coal should she require any x x x x (signed) Frank L. Jardine P.M. Left margin The Honble The Colonial Secretary Brisbane Colonial Secretary Office Brisbane 7 March 1871 Left margin Copy 71/165 Colonial Secretary Office Brisbane 7 March 1871 Sir I have the honor by direction to transmit for your information, extract of a letter received from the Police Magistrate at Somerset dated the 6th September last, reporting the circumstances under which he had been induced to accede to an requisition made by Captain Revault H.M.S. "Marceau" for a Supply of Coals necessary for the prosecution of his voyage I have &c (signed) H.H. Massie Under Colonial Secy. Left margin Captain Challis R.N. H.M.S. "Rosario"

333 Left margin Copy D 71/159 Colonial Secretary Office Brisbane 10 March 1871. Sir, With reference to your letter of 6 September last (48-70) reporting the circumstances under which you had been induced to accede to the requisition of the Captain of H.M.S. "Marceau" for a supply of coals necessary for the prosecution of his voyage. I am directed to request that you will state for the information of the Government, the manner in which payment for the Coals So Supplied was made or Secured. I have &c (Signed) H.H. Massie Under Colonial Secretary Left margin The Police Magistrate Somerset Copy 96/71. Somerset March 31st 1871. Sir, In reply to your letter 71/159 dated 10th March, requesting one to state for the information of the Government the manner in which payment for the coals supplied to H.M.S. "Marceau" was made or Secured. I have the honor to inform you that as I was not aware of theh price of the Coal per ton, I left the matter for future adjustment with the French Authorities, merely taking Captain Revaults receipts for the quantity Supplied I have &c Signed Frank L. Jardine P.M. Left margin The Dept The Colonial Secretary

Last edit 5 months ago by maltesemaur
168
Needs Review

168

Left margin 224 Copy HMS "Rosario" Somerset Cape York 1 April 1871. Sir, Having caused a Survey to be held on the coal belonging to the Imperial Government lying at Somerset it is estimated that there were about 59 Tons on our arrival. Having been instructed by Commodore Stirling that 70 Tons would be found here after deducting the supply to the French Steamer "Marceau" I should be obliged if you will afford me any particulars on the subject, in your power. I was further instructed to enquire under what circumstances the French War Steamer was supplied with coal; and was furnished at Brisbane with a copy of your correspond -ence theron. I have &c (Signed) Henry J. Challis Commander Left margin J.J. Jardine Esq. Police Magistrate Somerset Copy Somerset April 2nd 1871. Sir, In reply to your letter of yesterdays date, wishing me to account for a deficiency of 11 Tons in the coal left here for the use of Her Majesty's Ships, I do myself the honor to inform you that the coal was landed on Abany Island, by the Brig "Western Star" on November 1868 from whence it was

335 recovered by Her Majesty's Ship "Virago" and stacked on the main land where it has remained until now, exposed to the sun and weather. I would further beg to state that I am unaware of any coal being taken from the heap, with the single exception of 29 tons supplied to H.M.S. Ship "Marceau", which I only [?ted] upon receiving a letter from Captain Redbuth stating that the safety of his ship absolutely depended on the coal for which he then asked. I have &c (Signed) Frank. L. Jardine P.M. Left margin Commander Challis R.N. H.M.S. "Rosario" Copy H.M.S. "Rosario" Somerset, Cape York. 4 April 1871. Sir, I have the honor to inform you that I have taken on board 30 tons of the coals lying at Somerset and estimate that there are about 30 tons now remaining there belonging to the Imperial Government. I have &c (Signed) Henry J. Challis Commander Left margin J.J. Jardine Esq. Police Magistrate Somerset

Last edit 5 months ago by maltesemaur
107
Needs Review

107

212.

contingent of 3 Officers and 88 men to follow a little later, when the above-mentioned additions to the barracks shall have been completed.

I have &c. G. F. Bowen

His Excellency Brigadier General Carey, C.B. &c. &c. &.c Melbourne

No 15

Government HOuse Brisbane, Queensland 23 June 1866.

Sir,

I have already informed you by telegraph that I agree under the circumstances of the case, with the views expressed in your letter of the 8th instant. It will probably be better to send to Brisbane the full contingent allowed to Queensland; unless indeed it should be convenient to you to delay the arrival here of the third officer until the quarters for him shall have been completed. The Barracks for the full complement of eight-eight (88) rank and file have been completed for some time; but, as I stated in my previous letter of the 30th. ultimo, the quarters for a third officer, the Mess. room, and the Hospital and Magazine, cannot be finished much before the close of this year. Hitherto, the Barracks have been occupied by only about twenty rank and file; and teh few sick were placed in a spare room; or in bad cases, removed to the Civil Hospital. The Medical Officer in charge will be ableo to continue to make some arrangement of this kind during the few months that will elapse before completion of the new Military Hospital.

I have &c. G. F. Bowen

His Excellency Brigadier General Carey, C.B. &c &c &c

213.

No 16

Government House Brisbane, Queensland 2 August 18660.

Sir,

With reference to my letter of teh 3 February ultimo, I have the honor to inform you that with the advice of my Executive Council, I have appointed Mr Arthur Hodgson to be one of the Commissioners to represent Queensland at the Paris Exhibition of 1867, in the place of Mr. Alfred Denison, who wishes to be relieved of that duty.

I have reported this arrangement to the Secretary of State for the Colonies.

I have &c. (signed) G. F. Bowen

Mr. H. Marsh Esq M.P. &c &c &c

No 17.

Government House Brisbane, Queensland 2 August 1866.

Sir,

I have the honor to inform you that, with the advice of my Executive Council, I have appointed you, together with Mr Marsh (Chairman) Mr Robert Herbert, and Sir Charles Nicholson to be teh Commissioners representing Queensland at the Paris Exhibition of 1867.

These appointments have been reported to the Secretary of State for the Colonies

I remain &c (signed) G. F. Bowen

Arthur Hodgson Esq &c &c &c

Last edit 5 months ago by MMcKL
108
Needs Review

108

214.

No 18.

Government House Brisbane, Queensland 2 August 1866.

Sir,

I have the honor to inform you that I received in due course your letter of the 17th. May ultimo, as also your previous letter of the 5th. February ultimo.

I thank you on behalf of the __ Government of Queensland for your kind reception of Captain Simpson at Batavia, and for the efforts which you have made to promote the opening of the Torres Straits route.

I have &c (signed) G. F. Bowen

To Her Britannic Majesty's Consul &c &c &c Batavia.

No 19.

Government House Brisbane, Queensland 2 August 1866.

Sir,

I have the honor to acknowledge the receipt of your letter of the 24th instant making enquiries, in accordance with instructions from the War Office, respecting the Hospital and Magazine at the new Barracks at Brisbane.

The information required will be found in my letters addressed to you on the 30th May and 23rd June ultimo. The Hospital and Magazine are in progress process of construction in as close conformity with the plans sent from the War Office as the nature of the grounds and other circumstances will, in the opinion of the Colonial Architect, permit. — I shall request that Officer to prepare plans

215.

plans of these buildings, when completed, for transmission to you.

I take advantage of this opportunity to add that events which are likely to occur in Queensland render it very desirable that the contingent allotted by Her Majesty's Government to this Colony (viz 3 Officers and 88 men.) should arrive at Brisbane as soon as possible.

I have &c (signed) G. F. Bowen

H.E. Brigadier General Carey, C.B. &c &c &c Melbourne.

No 20.

No 64 of 14 December 1865

Government House Brisbane, Queensland 8 August 1866.

Sir,

I have the honor to inform you that in February last, I received a despatch from the Secretary of State for the colonies (of which a copy is enclosed) stating that instructions had been given to you to send from New Zealand to the different Australian Colonies the Force to which they are respectively entitled.

Six months have now elapsed since the receipt of the enclosed despatch; and I have as yet received no intimation when the Contingent allotted by Her Majesty's Government to Queensland, (viz: a company of the line, composed of three Officers and eighty-eight (88) rank and file) — may be expected to arrive at Brisbane.

On behalf of the Government of this Colony, I earnestly request you to send here the above Contingent as soon as you conveniently can do so. Without a sufficient nucleus of regular troops, it has been found by experience to

Last edit 5 months ago by MMcKL
109
Needs Review

109

216.

to be impossible to organize or to maintain in this community any Volunteer Corps. or other local Forces, or to make any effectual provisions for the defence of even the capital of the colony against external attack.

Again, on the occasion of the riots at Ballarat in Victoria a few years ago, and at Lambing Flat in New South Wales a short time back, it was found impossible to preserve law and order without the presence of a small military force in support of the Civil Power. The population of all the Australian Colonies is of a similar character.

I remain &c (signed) G. F. Bowen

Major General Chute &c &c &c Commanding H.M's Forces New Zealand.

No 21.

Government House Brisbane, Queensland 18 August 1866

Sir,

I have the honor to present to your Excellency the following gentlemen who are about to visit Java on their way to Europe: viz — The Honorable Robert Herbert, who has been for six years, Chief Secretary and head of the Colonial Government of Queensland; — the Honorable John Bramston, who is also a member of the Colonial Legislature, and who filled the office of Attorney-General of this Colony; my Aide -de-Camp, Captain Pitt, of the Royal Artillery; and Mr Walter Scott, one of our principal Colonists.

I shall feel much obliged by any attention which your Excellency can show these Gentlemen during their residence in Java. I

217. I have &c. (signed) G. F. Bowen

His Excellency The Governor General of Netherlands Indies &c &c &c Batavia.

No. 22

Government House Brisbane, Queensland 1 September 1866.

Sir,

I have the honor to acknowledge the receipt of your Excellency's letter of the 15th. August, informing me that you had on that day assumed the office of Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the colony of Victoria, under a Commission from the Queen; and that you will be happy, on all occasions, to co-operate for the good of Her Majesty's service or for the advancement of the mutual interests of the inhabitants of the Colonies over the Governments of which we have been respectively appointed to preside.

I beg to congratulate you on your assumption of the Government of the wealthiest and most important of the British Colonies, and to reciprocate cordially your offer of ____ co-operation on all occasions.

I have &c (signed) G. F. Bowen

His Excellency The Honorable Sir J. H. T. Manners Sutton K.C.B. &c &c &c Government House Victoria

Last edit 5 months ago by MMcKL
110
Needs Review

110

Left margin 218 No 23. Government House Brisbane, Queensland 26. September 1866. Sir, I have the honor to acknowledge the receipt of your letters of the 12th. and 13th. instant; the first covering copy of a letter from the Deputy Quarter Master General in New Zealand, whence it appears that the contingents of Her Majesty's Troops alloted to the several Australian Colonies will shortly be despatched to their destinations; and the second requesting that the Hospital at the Military Barracks at Brisbane may be completed before [underlined] the additional Officers' quarters, in anticipation of the expected arrival of the fresh Troops. I lost no time in bringing this question before the Executive Council of Queensland; and have now much pleasure in informing you that the Colonial Architect has been directed to arrangge with the Contractor for the immediate erection of the Hospital, in accordance with your desire. The new Officer's quarters will also be completed as speedily as circumstances may permit. The Government of this Colony is anxious to do all in its power to carry out the views of the Military Authorities, and to provide for the comfort of the Officers and men of the detachment stationed at Brisbane. I have &c (signed) G.F. Bowen Left margin Brigadier General Carey C.B. &c &c &c Head Quarters Melbourne.

219. Left margin No 24. Government House Brisbane, Queensland 4. October 1866. Sir, I have the honor to acknowledge the receipt of your Excellency's letter of the 27th. ultimo, enclosing a copy of the correspondence relative to the Steam Postal Service with Panama, which has been printed by order of the Legislative Assembly of New South Wales. I lost no time in laying your letter with its enclosure before my Responsible Advisers in the Executive Council of Queensland; and I am requested by them to state that they are obliged to adhere to the decision on this subject contained in the letter addressed by the Colonial Secretary of New South Wales on the 5th. July 1866; - a copy of which will be found at page 12. of the printed correspondence which you have forwarded to me. I have &c (signed) G.F. Bowen Left margin His Excellency The Rt. Hon. Sir J. Young, Bt. K.C.B. G.C. M.G &c &c &c Government House Sydney.

Last edit 5 months ago by maltesemaur
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 105 in total