Sandy Spring Shenanigans: Summer Camps

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

History of Folly Quarter Camp, August 2nd 1895 - PAGES 1-25

Page 6
Needs Review

Page 6

Folly Quarter was sold to one Dougherty who after holding this place for a few years was forced to give it up this inability to meet stipulated payments. Upon the place falling back to the McJarish estate it was again sold. this time being purchased by Royal Phelps of New York. The present head of this Carroll family John Lee Carroll (Ex. Gov. of Md,) married a daughter of Royal Phelps and upon the death of her father Folly Quarter again came into this Carroll family this her inheritance from her father. Following the law of primo geniture which gives this oldest son thi Fathers estate and thi second son thi mothers. upon thi death of Mrs. Carroll Folly Quarter passed to Charles Lee (second son of John Lee Carroll) who is the present owner (L.M)

Last edit about 2 months ago by MaryV

History of Folly Quarter Camp, August 4th to 13th 1897 - PAGES 31-60

Page 31
Needs Review

Page 31

[firis?] - namely Elsie and the rifle.

Ernest and Fred returned at noon and after gaining permission of the Chaperone, started off again with dinner for the crowd. They ate it on the long bridges, and did not return till late in the afternoon. Judging by their appearances, the rest of us were Ernestly A Fred that from the amount of Rich dinner they ate Agnnis of pain would be caused unless they took some thing Elsie by Gingr.

About three o'clock [Shappir?] Mary Statler and Alice Farquhar started for [Ellicotts?] City to get 1 1/2 dozen loans of the "staff of life" - they returned about six, after having many interesting adventures, to find lots of visitors at Camp. Rockland, Sharon, Rock Spring, Walnut-Hill and Sunnyside being represented --

They all stayed and danced a while, but left before nine o'clock.

Last edit 10 days ago by vant
Page 32
Needs Review

Page 32

After the usual program of dancing singing "We twoing" in the hammocks and on the porch, we retired, not however without [ ? ] alarm being caused in the girls dormitory by the sudden entrance and disappearnce of a __ __ _- fake!!

A. V. F.

Thursday -

On Thursday morning, the day set apart for the last whole day in Camp, long faces and waiting tones assembled arround the breakfast table, and the cry of "Must we go to-morrow!" When our Junior said "Yes [ ? ] Chaperones cannot stay a day longer "Lo

Last edit 10 days ago by vant
Page 33
Needs Review

Page 33

as one of the campers was going to Sandy Spring it was decided to send a petition signed by all, to Mrs. [Thomas?] and Mrs Tilton, asking them to come to the risque and keep us a few days longer.

Our trinity J. H. U. even after the long ride to Sandy Spring was able to over come our Chaperones objections, and arrived at Camp at 3 P.M. with the joyful news, that - we could stay till Saturday, when cries of "Jackenstein!" and "[Birnley?]!" greeted happy ears and all marched in to dinner to eat so much that there was a cry of "There will not be enough food to last till Saturday."

Edward and Brooke having arrived earlier in the day takes Janie home, amidst mourning and cheers for our dear Apple Sauce -

All enjoy the mroning in

Last edit 10 days ago by vant

History of Folly Quarter Camp, August 4th to 13th 1897 - PAGES 61-91

Page 89
Needs Review

Page 89

To Ex. Gov. John Lee Carroll.

Give us your ear, sir, while we sing Of pleasures new which summers bring. Vying with all that poets write. Empty of all [par] pure delight. Round mossy walls the oak trees grow 'Neath tangled vines the roses blow. Outside the darkness falls, but bright Rolls through the doors a flood of light.

Call it Folly if you will. As we do not the joys which fill Real halcyon days, and never time, Round such a Folly without shame (Adds little that our verse is lame) [?] every loyal son and daughter Sends thanks to you for Folly Quarter.

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV

Journal: "The Tale of the Dismal Campers, Part III", 1889

Page 4
Needs Review

Page 4

The Tale of the Dismal Campers Part III. June 25th to July 3rd inclusive Preface All the world knows the magically heroic story of the sirondists, who, condemned and executed in a body, sang the Marseillaise on ther journey to the guillotine, and in steadily decreasing chorus at its foot, while for every voice that was silenced on Earth one was added to the choir of another sphere

All the world does not know of the band of nine maidens, who united by ties of blood & friendship marched together to camp singing year after year in ever diminished Chorus, " clinging up the golden chair" and " A- Camping". But the heroism of the French martyr shall find a counterpart amoung the American pleasure - seekers, and each year strikes off another girl engaged

Last edit about 1 month ago by University of Maryland
Page 7
Needs Review

Page 7

4. fire places made an ensemble unsurpassed by any thing in Camp heretofore. Dinner was served at 1.10 with the Patient Man as guest, but the Old Man had the unheard of fortitude to refuse an invitation to dine, even though he had hauled us tables + chairs provided by the fairy God-Mother. Our first meal passed off well tho. the Baby spoke feelingly of the poor experiement. Rain had set in soon after our arrival, and continued industriously all the rest of the day and night, but we spent the time with pleasure & profit, putting the finishing touches to the house, chiefly by the agency of the Old Man, who, under the alternate supervision of the Baby + Talker found innumerable hammock hooks + locks to fit. And just as all was finally accomplished the two wily but inconsiderate maidens both got into the Historians hammock + broke it down, thereby providing more occupation for the long-suffering

Last edit about 1 month ago by University of Maryland
Page 9
Needs Review

Page 9

6. Was very hard to beat We're sure its equal Where found in the Retreat. And through his visits C.V. will not repeat We'll still eat peanuts Hurrah! For the Retreat.

So good bye, Doctor, And Poetess good bye. For she accompanist We heare once more a sigh. Hail to Muse and Chappie and Entertainer spry. To Talker, Baby, Histi And welcome Bessie l.

We're once more camping A merry crowd are we Though from over party We count desendes three.

Last edit about 1 month ago by University of Maryland
Page 10
Needs Review

Page 10

7. With one new member A happy band we'll be for we're once more camping Hurrah! A three times three

The Old Man was again invited this time to take tea, went home to make his toilet and we laid ourselves out per the Experiemnet Talker & Entertainer & then we waited for our guest. He had not appeared & supper was in pressing need of being eaten, when the teasing Brother arrived saying that we should wait no longer, accordingly we sat down, & three guests came soon after. Our first meal by lamp- lightwas much enjoyed especially by the chappie, who has a weakness for supper. Then Nurse , Histi + Baby cleared away with the teasing Brother's assistance. When a white hore was seen approaching he kindly divested Nurse of her apron + sent her forth to welcome its rider, taking her place at the tea towl. She thought

Last edit about 1 month ago by University of Maryland
Page 11
Needs Review

Page 11

next morning that she had a good joke on Histi & the teasing Brother when she found a saucepan that had not been washed. But the impartial writer of this veracious narrative feels it due to the dignity of history to state that the Nurse had gathererd up the cooking utensils & in her perturbation had over looked the vessel in question. [Histi was mistaken for once. For Baby had done the work athibuted to me. Nurse]. Cards & dancing beguiled the evening, & at the usual time the guests left and a peaceful though rather wakeful night finished our quiet day at the Retreat. 11 Callers. June 26, 1889 " Happy the nation that makes no History" and on the same priciple the Campers must have been supremely blessed during the greater part of this day. We were astir somewhat early for us, and breakfast was served at two minutes before nine with the

Last edit about 1 month ago by University of Maryland
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 18 in total