Ellen Stabler Diaries

Pages That Need Review

Diary: Ellen Stabler, 1872

Page 9
Needs Review

Page 9

1st mo. 25th. 5th day

Clear and cold: Father went to Washington: Lucy went to [Ben?] Millers in the afternoon, came to the Lyceum in the evening and home: I went to Harewood awhile in the afternoon.

26th. 6th day

Clear and cold: I dined at Charlie Stabler: Helen dined here: Lucy went to Charlie Stablers in the afternoon to stay all night.

27th. 7th. day

Cloudy most of the day: Father came home from Washington, dined at Dr. Duvalls: Lucy went with Aunt Jane to see Annie Porter came home in the evening: Arthur and Anna have to supper. Emily and Lucy here awhile in the afternoon.

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV
Page 10
Needs Review

Page 10

1st. mo. 28th. 1st. day

Cloudy morning, cleared off by noon: Emily called before meetings, to take me to meeting.

29th. mercury 10 2d. day

Clear, cold and windy. Joe at Ingleside in the morning: Father at the office.

30th. mercury 9 3d. day

Clear and cold: Father at the office Ingleside and Ashton in the afternoon. Lucy at Harewood in the afternoon.

31st. mercury 2. 4th day

Clear most of the day: I did not go to meeting: Father, Joe and Lucy went; Lucy went to Olney from meeting: Henriella and Henry Stabler dined here: Father went to Rockville in the afternoon.

Last edit 4 months ago by Shushan
Page 15
Needs Review

Page 15

2d. mo. 14th. 4th day Clear most of the day, cold and windy: Lucy came to meeting from Frank Thomas's and home:; I went to William Moore's from Meeting. Henrietta called here before meet -ing: some snow flurries in the after -noon.

15th. mercury 9 5th. day Clear most of the day and very cold: some snow flurries: I dined at took tea with Hadassah Moore Phils clover seed machine came here.

16th. 6th. day Clear and mild: I came home from Plainfield after dinner: the men threshing clover seed. Emily spent the day here: father went to Ingleside in the morning came home at mail time: Gilpin here awhile in the afternoon.

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Page 17
Needs Review

Page 17

2d.mo. 20th. 3d. day Clear and mild: I took Aunt Lizzie to Clifton and spent an hour, then went to Ashton and Uncle Charlie's, and back to Cherry Grove.

21st. 4th. day Fair and windy: father at Uncle Samuels and Ingleside in the afternoon: Henrietta called at our house before meeting: I took Aunt Lizzie a little ride in the afternoon Sarah Stone and Sally Bond, Sarah Pigeon and her little girl at Cherry Grove in the afternoon.

22d. 5th. day Clear, cold and windy: Henrietta brought me home from Uncle Sam uels: she spent the day here: Anna Wetherald came here to spend several days: Anna Stabler

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Page 19
Needs Review

Page 19

25th. 2d. mo 1st. day Bright morning, windy and cloudy afternoon, Henry Stabler here before meeting: Lucy went to Willie Bonds from meeting: I called at Harewood awhile in the afternoon: Joe at Harewood after supper.

26th. 2d. day Clear - cold, windy. Lucy came to Uncle Samuels in the afternoon to stay all night: Father at Ingleside in the morning.

27th. 3d. day Clear day: Lucy came home in the morning, Lucy Snowden came with her to dinner, both went to the Lyceum to the Indian [sewing?] in the afternoon: Dr. Magruder dined here: Louisa Brooke called in

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV
Page 22
Needs Review

Page 22

3d. mo. 4th. 2d. day. Cloudy morning, tolerably fair afternoon: wind rose and turned cold after night: father out sleighing in the morning, oh Ashton and other places: several men here in the afternoon to see father: Young Ridgeley for one.

5th. [?] 5 3d. day Clear. cold and windy: father at home all day: Helen dined here.

6th. 4th. day Very windy and cold; and fair. Henrietta dined here: father at home all day except to go to meeting Young Ridgely from near Burtonsville here after night.

7th. 5th. day Clear day: more moderate: etc: father went to Rockville, I

Last edit 4 months ago by MaryV
Page 32
Needs Review

Page 32

4th. mo. 4th mo. 1st. 2d day

Fair, with high wind all day, and all last night: father at home all day except to go to the office. Helen came up in the afternoon, went with Lucy to the Lyceum to the Annual Meeting, in the evening, back here to stay all night. The men at Ingleside all day.

2d. 3d. day

Clear day: Helen went home in the morning. Lucy went to Harewood awhile in the morning. father took cattle to [Fleasters?]; he came to Ingleside to supper: I went to the office and to see Aunt Sally, to Harewood awhile after supper; the men finished the oats at Ingleside.

3d. 4th. day

Cloudy, part of the day. at meeting: Joe plowing in the meadow: Cousin Isaac Briggs here to supper: the new

Last edit 3 months ago by MaryV
Page 33
Needs Review

Page 33

4th. mo.

fence pick up at the last and of the yard; Lucy at Bon Millers to tea, staid all night at Phils.

4th. 5th day.

Clear day: Father and Mother dined at Uncle E. Thomas at Albans to tea: Lucy dined at Alban's, took tea at Uncle Charlie's: Henriella here to dinner.

5th. 6th day.

Clear day: father at Ingleside in the morning: at Spencerville and other places in the afternoon at Ingleside to supper: Aunt Lizzie took me to Chandlee's to dine, Aunt Nancy here awhile in the morning

Last edit about 2 months ago by MaryV
Page 34
Needs Review

Page 34

4th. mo. 6th. 7th. day

Bright morning; clouded up in the afternoon: Lucy at Aunt Sally in the morning; went to Uncle Samuel's in the afternoon and staid all night: Father at home all day except to go to the office. Anne Howard here in the afternoon to see him: Gilpin here in the afternoon: Helen came up after supper to stay all night.

7th. 1st. day

Cloudy all day with rain most of the morning. Edward and Anna Gilpin dined here: Helen went home in the afternoon.

8th 2d. day

Cloudy all day, foggy and mostly in the morning: Father took me to [Hinds?] Mill on my way to Pleasant Hill, arrived there almost half

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Page 35
Needs Review

Page 35

4th. mo.

past 11 o'clock.

9th. 3d. day

Cloudy all day, with some rain a hard rain with thunder about 6 oclock, thunder all the evening. Aunt Rachel and Aunt [?] Smith went in to town

10th. 4th day.

Clear and windy:

11th 5th day.

Clear and mild: Uncle Joshua went for Aunt Rachel and Aunt [?] in the afternoon.

12th. 6th day.

Clear until afternoon then cloud

Last edit 3 months ago by MaryV
Displaying pages 1 - 10 of 400 in total