Ellen Stabler Diaries

Pages That Need Review

Diary: Ellen Stabler, 1897

Page 139
Needs Review

Page 139

13th 10th mo 4th day Bright and right warm; Clara went to see Kate in the morning; we went to meeting; Clara and I called to see Esther Wetherald and at Sally Bonds in the afternoon. Frank Lugiar finished his work.

14th 5th day Clear and right warm; Murcury nearly 80. Clara and I went out in the afternoon, called at Martha Hollands, she was not at home; then called at Plainfield, only Margaret and the children at home; then at Caroline Scotts and she was not at home; she is in Baltimore, sick.

Last edit 14 days ago by Princess1
Page 140
Needs Review

Page 140

10th mo 15th 6th day Clear and very warm; mercury 84; Clara called at Harewood in the morning; she and I called at Ingleside and Uncle Charlie's in the afternoon. Mr. Beckwith came to do some painting. Joseph went to Baltimore with Charles Stabler, home in the evening. 16th

16th 7th day Clear and hot, mercury 86 the painters here; Charles Stabler came in the morning for Clara Moore. Frank Lugiar Jr came late in the afternoon to tell me good bye before going to Washington to live.

Last edit 14 days ago by Princess1
Page 141
Needs Review

Page 141

17th 10th 1st day Bright and real cool we both went to meeting; Sarah Stone dined here; Joseph and I went to Harewood after tea to see Jennie Jordan.

18th 2d day Bright and cool. Robert Blair here while washing my room and Josephs. The painters here.

19th 3d day Cloudy most of the day; I went to Walnut Hill awhile in the afternoon.

Last edit 14 days ago by Princess1
Page 142
Needs Review

Page 142

9th mo 20th 4th day Cloudy with some rain; Joseph and I at meeting; Frances Stabler and Fred Stabler dined here; Warrick came in the afternoon to spend some days.

21st 5th day Cloudy day; Warrick went to S. S. in the afternoon. Anna Mc. F. and the Jordans called late in the afternoon.

22d 6th day Cloudy with a shower in the afternoon. Joseph and

Last edit 14 days ago by Princess1
Page 143
Needs Review

Page 143

10th mo Warwick at Harewood awhile in the afternoon; I went to S. S. and called at Sam Wetheralds. The painters finished here. Nellie Farquhar called here in the morning.

23d 7th day Cloudy all day, with rain in the afternoon; Joseph and Warwick went to Dr. Brooke's in the morning; Warwick dined at Harewood. Frank Leugiar and Mr. Beckwith here n the morning for their pay.

24th 1st day Cloudy all day, with some rain; Joseph and I at meeting; Fred Stabler called

Last edit 12 days ago by Princess1
Page 144
Needs Review

Page 144

10th mo after meeting; Joseph and Warwick went to Harewood awhile in the afternoon.

25th 2d day Rained a good deal of the day, very windy; Arthur here in the morning, Charles Stabler here in the afternoon; Joseph went to Ashton in the morning.

26th 3d day Cloudy all day with some rain; Put up the parlor stove; Dr, Magruder here in the morning; Warwick went to S. S. in the afternoon; I went to Ashton, Ingleside and

Last edit 12 days ago by Princess1
Page 145
Needs Review

Page 145

10th mo Uncle Charlies to call.

27th 4th day Cloudy all day; with some rain; Warwick went to Brooke Grove in the morning; Mary Strain called here on business. Henrietta and Meriam called; Joseph and I at meeting; I went with Henrietta to Harewood to dine.

28th 5th day Cloudy all day, no rain of any account. I went to Walnut Hill to call in the afternoon.

Last edit 12 days ago by Princess1
Page 146
Needs Review

Page 146

10th mo 29th 6th day Bright most of the day, cooler with north west wind. I went to Ashton in the afternoon, called at Phlips, at George Nesbitt, to see Mary Marlow and Belle Johnson.

30th 7th day Bright day; Manhorn here in the afternoon to do some cementing; Joseph hauling wood in the morning, hauling in corn in the afternoon; Frank Mc Farland called here in the afternoon.

Last edit 12 days ago by Princess1
Page 147
Needs Review

Page 147

10th 11th mo and I at meeting; Edward and Annie Gilpin dined here; Edward and Joseph went to Harewood awhile in the afternoon.

11th 1st 2d day A rainy day; Henrietta came up in the afternoon; Joseph spent the morning at Harewood. Matilda here.

2d 3d day Cloudy early morning very hard rain about midnight; cleared off before noon. I came to Baltimore in the afternoon.

Last edit 11 days ago by Princess1
Page 148
Needs Review

Page 148

11th mo 3d 4th day Bright day; sister and I out awhile in the mornig; Cousin Jennie called. Mary S. went to Laurel.

4th 5th day Bright and pleasant; I called to see Nettie in the morning; Brother, sister and I went out in the afternoon; while we were out, Debbie, Mary A. and Lizzie Reese called, and Kate Stabler; after tea Belle and Howard, Nettie and Maria, Alban, Julia and Amilea Hoof came.

5th 6th day Bright day; after the early morning I called at Cousin Jennie's in the mornig, then sister

Last edit 11 days ago by Princess1
Displaying pages 381 - 390 of 441 in total