Ellen Stabler Diaries

Pages That Need Review

Diary: Ellen Stabler, 1872

Page 85
Needs Review

Page 85

8th mo.

afternoon: father went to Washington: I took Cousin Mary Brown home in the morning, and called at Dr. Magruders for peaches: Sister and Mother went to Uncle Charlie's to tea: Laurence went home.

28th. 4th.day

Bright morning, cloudy part of the afternoon: father got home from Washington about half past 12 o clock. Henrietta dined here, went with Sister and myself to Harewood to tea: Lucy went over after tea.

29th. 5th. day

Rained most of the day: Anna Stabler and her cousins, Arthur, Aunts Martha and Lizzie here to supper.

Last edit 4 months ago by m.raghavan
Page 94
Needs Review

Page 94

21st 9th mo 7th day Clear day: Lucy came home from the Manor in the morning: Henrietta Frank and Mary up awhile in the afternoon.

22d 1st day Clear and warm: Lucy called at Harewood awhile in the afternoon. father away in the afternoon awhile.

23d 2d day Clear day: Lucy went to Uncle Charlie to spend the day and night father at Ingleside in the afternoon and Uncle Samuels too

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Page 93
Needs Review

Page 93

9th mo 17th 3d day Clear day: father went to Rockille I called at Uncle Charlie's Ingleside and Uncle Samuels in the afternoon

18th 4th day Cleat day: at meeting: Willie Harvey here awhile in the afternoon.

19th 5th day Cloudy early morning, with a slight shower, then cleared off, turned quite cool in the afternoon: Aunt Lizzie and I dined at Edward Gilpins, called at Ben Miller's: Mother and I went too Harewood after supper.

20th 6th day Clear most of the day: Mother dined at Uncle Samuels, to Ingleside to supper: Joe at work in the meadow in the morning.

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Page 92
Needs Review

Page 92

1tth 9th mo. 7th day Clear most of the day and cool: father and mother came home from Watkin's Glen, Joe went to Laurel to meet them: Samuel Waters here to dinner: Walter Brooke and Delwyn Pleasants called in the afteern.

15th 1st day Clear day: Lucy went to Harewood awhile in the afternoon: Anna came home with her and staid awhile.

26th 2d day Clear day: Lucy went to the store in the morning, went down to Robert Stablers in the afternoon Kate here awhile after supper.

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Page 97
Needs Review

Page 97

40th mo. 1st 3d day Clear and cool: I went to Dr. Magruders in the morningk to be vacinated: father went to Cleora Palmers and Sally Lea's in the morning. Lucy went with Henrita to call at Grove Hill and Sally Lea's in the afternoon, to Uncle Charlie's to supper and home: Helen came in the evening to stay all night. John Cushing and Samuel Fletcher called in the afternoon.

2d 4th day Clear most of the day: Henrietta called before meeting and took me to Sandy Spring: I went to Norwood from meeting, went with Anna to see Carrie in the afternoon: Lucy went to Plainfield from meeting: Helen staid all day and night

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Page 99
Needs Review

Page 99

10th mo Thomas's: I went to see Aunt Sally awhile in the afernoon: Aunt Lizzie called here late in the afternoon.

6th 1st day Cloudy early morning, cleared off warm: Alban and Sue brought Lucy home before meeting, Sue staid here during meeting: ELiza Farquhar dind hereL father took Lucy to Grove Hill in the afternoon, to spend several days: Kate here awhile after supper, Joe went home with her:

Jackson left here this evening to go to Georgia to see his father.

7th 2dday Cloudy most of the day, with rian most of the afternoon, and thunder and lightening, father at Ingelside and Ashton in the morning: cousin Hannah here awhile in the morning. Begun to pick apples.

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Page 100
Needs Review

Page 100

8th 10th mp 33 day Clear and cool: father went to Rockville: Joe at Uncle Charlies all the morning helping him about his barn sheds: I went to Dr. Magruders in the morning: to Frank Thomas's and Ingleside in the afternoon.

9th 4th day Clear and cool: Uncle Samuel called before meeting: Henrietta dined here. Joe went to Baltimore to the state fair.

10th 5th day Clear morning and threatening in the afternoon: I called at Harewood in the morning: father at Ingleside and other places. Lucy came home from Grove Hill in the evening.

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Page 101
Needs Review

Page 101

10th 11th 6th day Clear most of the day: cold and windy: father went ot Baltimore in the morning, and home in the evening: Joe came home from Baltimore: I was to have gone with father but was not well enough.

12th 7th day Clear and cold: I came to Laurel in Arthur wagon that came to meet him and Anna: got here a little after 10 oclock: Lucy Fawcert, Harriet and Mary Thomas called.

13th 1st day C;oudy most of the morning bright afternoon. Jordan spent an hour here in the morning: Adolf and Anne Ab[uns?] called after church

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Page 102
Needs Review

Page 102

14th 10th 2d day Cold nd windy all day: Merrt Thomas called in the morning: Lester and I went out shopping: in the afternoon called to see cousin Ann Hallowell and at Edwar Reese's to Richar Thomas I went to tea: brother and sister came after tea.

15th 3d day Clear and cold: Ellen Miller and her children here all day on their way home: Maverick and May Henry and [Nancy?] Anna Reese dined here: also Lizzie Reese. Jennie called, and cousin Ann and Emma, and cousin Nancy Tyson and Sarah Snowdon called to see me: Jordan called too.

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Page 104
Needs Review

Page 104

10th all night

19th 7th day Clear and cool: Brother went in town with Gerard. Jennie took sister and myself ti Henry's to dine: we came back in the evening.

20th 1st day Clear day: went to meeting, and home with Mary Gardner to dine, with her and Sue to Hannah Love[groves?] to tea.

21st 2d day Clear and warm: sister and I called at cousin L. Bevans in the morning, then down town, to Albert Gilpins store to see them

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Displaying pages 41 - 50 of 441 in total