Ellen Stabler Diaries

Pages That Need Review

Diary: Ellen Stabler, 1872

Page 105
Needs Review

Page 105

10th mo. make candy: I called to see Anna Wetherald in the afternoon, to cousin L. Bevans to tea: Brother and sister went up after tea.

22d 3d day Tolerably fair day: cloudy part of the day: I went to aunt Martha's early in the morning, and staid until 12 oclock, then to John Kenley to dine, then home and to Dr. Wilsons to tea: Anne [Akrens?[ Mary E, Gilpin and Sally Mannahan called here in the afternoon.

23d 4th day Tolerably fair morning, clouded up with rain in the afternoon: sister and a went to meeting, I met her at Cushing;s & Baileys after meeting, and we called to see Anne Hynson: Brother, Lester

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Page 106
Needs Review

Page 106

10th mp Lawrence and myself went to the Maryland Institute after tea.

24th 5th day Rained all day: did not go out.

25th 6th day Rained all day, very hard in the afternoon and at night: did not go out.

26th 7th day Cleared off in the morning: bright most of the day: I dined with Anne Ahrens: came in town about 5 oclock: Charlie and Anna Brooke and Edith Farguhar came.

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Page 107
Needs Review

Page 107

10th mo 27th 1st day Clear and mild: went to meetiing in the morning, to Dr. Price's to dine, to meeting aging and to Alfred Gardners to tea, and spent the evening: in the morning we had sermons from William Dorsey, Dr. Haines, and two or three short sermons: in the afternoon and Elwood Conard: short sermons from Fathet Haviland, William Hopkins and Joel Haycock: in the afternoon from Ashors I Elwood Conard

28th 2d day Cloud all day with some rain: dined at Lydia Stablers, took tea at Hannah Lovegroves: Mary R. Smith came this morning.

29th 3d day Clear day: denied at Cyrus Black burns with Mary Smith: went to

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Page 108
Needs Review

Page 108

10th mo aunt Martha to tea.

30th 4th day Fair most of the day: a beautiful sermon from Dr. Haiens and one from Annie Star: also a sermon from Amos Jones - Haycock and Hopkins spoke again too: Dr. Harris visited our meeting in the afternoon: Charlie and Anna Brooke went home in the afternoon: I dined at Uncle John Reese's took tea at Thomas Russells. I called to see cousin Mary Snowden before meeting.

31st st 5th day Clear day: Lucy came down: she and I both dined at the meeting house. at Brothers to tea with Mary and William Smith, Edith and Charlie Farquhar.

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Page 109
Needs Review

Page 109

11th mo 1st 6th day Clear and windy: father met Lucy and myself at Laurel, we came [out?] in the [illegible?] after 11 train:

2d 7th day Bright early morning, clouded up before noon: begun to rain about 5 o'clock: Henrietta and Mary dined here: Anna and Gilpin called in the afternoon: Lucy went to Harewood and the store in the morning.

3d 1st day Cleared off about 8 oclock, quite blustering most of the day: Lucy and Frank called before meeting: James and Phebe Stabler dined here. Lucy went to Uncle Charlie's from meetin. Howard Stable came in the after noon, staed all night: he and Joe

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Page 110
Needs Review

Page 110

11th mo went to Harewood after supper.

4th 2d day Clear and mild: Lucy came home from Uncle Charlie's in the morning went to Asa Stablers in the afternoon. I went to Ashton and Sandy Spring in the morning afternoon, to see Aunt Sally too: Lucy Snowden here awhile in the afternoon

5th 3d day Bright morning, clouded up toward evening: father went to the Elect[eni?] in the morning: John and Patti Thomas and Harriet Cox here to tea

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Page 114
Needs Review

Page 114

11th. mo. 15th. 6th. day Bright all day: cold: I went to Uncle Samuels in the afternoon to stay all night. Lucy called at Sharon and Lulford in the afternoon.

16th. 7th. day Cloudy all day, with snow for several hours, tho not to lay on the ground: Lucy and I spent the day at Charlie Stablers quilting Marianna's quilt. Father went to Spencerville in the morning.

17th. 1st. day Bright day. Lucy Snowden called before meeting, she and Emily, John Thomas and [Warrick?] called after the Bible class. Arthur and Anna called in the afternoon: Joe, Lucy and myself at Harewood after tea.

Last edit 5 months ago by MaryV
Page 120
Needs Review

Page 120

12th. mo. 1st. 1st. day. Cloudy all day with some snow, and very cold: Annie [Hallewell?] dined here: Lucy went to see Aunt Sally in the afternoon.

2d. 2d. day Clear and mild: we killed hogs. Lucy dined at Uncle Charlies, called at Ingleside and [Ben Millus?]. A hard wind after night.

3d. 3d. day Clear day: Lucy went to Baltimore in the stage: father started to Rockville about 10 oclock: Edith Farquhar called here in the afternoon.

Last edit 5 months ago by Vivian
Page 124
Needs Review

Page 124

14th 12th mo 7th day Clear and mile: Joe hauling ice here in the morning: father at Ingelside in the morning: at Norwood in the afternoon: cousin Hannah Birdsdale spent the afternoon hereL I went to Harewood to the club.

15th 1st day Clear most of the day, cloudy early morning. Henrietta called before meeting: Lucy dined here.

16th 2d day Cloudy all day with snow, hail and rain: Joe thrashed wheat: father at Ashton in the morning.

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Page 126
Needs Review

Page 126

20th 12th mo 6th day Cloudy most of the day, with some rain as mist: father went to Ashton in the afternoon, heard of the death of Aunt Rachel Russell.

21st 7th day Bright most of the day: Helen came up in the morning, Henrietta came up in the afternoon: Fannie Adams dined here.

22d mercury 4 1st day Clear and cole. mercury not above 4 at half past 10 oclock, Frank called before meeting. Arthur called in the afternoon. Joe at Uncle Samuels and the Ice pond in the afternoon.

Last edit 4 months ago by Princess1
Displaying pages 51 - 60 of 441 in total