Ellen Stabler Diaries

Pages That Need Review

Diary: Ellen Stabler, 1872

Page 33
Needs Review

Page 33

4th. mo.

fence pick up at the last and of the yard; Lucy at Bon Millers to tea, staid all night at Phils.

4th. 5th day.

Clear day: Father and Mother dined at Uncle E. Thomas at Albans to tea: Lucy dined at Alban's, took tea at Uncle Charlie's: Henriella here to dinner.

5th. 6th day.

Clear day: father at Ingleside in the morning: at Spencerville and other places in the afternoon at Ingleside to supper: Aunt Lizzie took me to Chandlee's to dine, Aunt Nancy here awhile in the morning

Last edit 3 months ago by MaryV
Page 19
Needs Review

Page 19

25th. 2d. mo 1st. day Bright morning, windy and cloudy afternoon, Henry Stabler here before meeting: Lucy went to Willie Bonds from meeting: I called at Harewood awhile in the afternoon: Joe at Harewood after supper.

26th. 2d. day Clear - cold, windy. Lucy came to Uncle Samuels in the afternoon to stay all night: Father at Ingleside in the morning.

27th. 3d. day Clear day: Lucy came home in the morning, Lucy Snowden came with her to dinner, both went to the Lyceum to the Indian [sewing?] in the afternoon: Dr. Magruder dined here: Louisa Brooke called in

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Page 50
Needs Review

Page 50

5th mo 20th 2d day Clear a good deal of the day, a cloud passed over with a little sprinkle of rain: John Able here at work.

21st 3d Clear day: John Abel here at lunch. Lucy Snowden and Grace Harvey here to supper went to the Lecture after supper: Lucy at Sharon in the afternoon awhile, went to Mare's lecture after supper.

22d 4th day Bright early morniing, some clouds during the day, a hard rain with some wind about 5'oclock: Henriette called before meeting: Joe went to Harewood after supper.

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Page 9
Needs Review

Page 9

1st mo. 25th. 5th day

Clear and cold: Father went to Washington: Lucy went to [Ben?] Millers in the afternoon, came to the Lyceum in the evening and home: I went to Harewood awhile in the afternoon.

26th. 6th day

Clear and cold: I dined at Charlie Stabler: Helen dined here: Lucy went to Charlie Stablers in the afternoon to stay all night.

27th. 7th. day

Cloudy most of the day: Father came home from Washington, dined at Dr. Duvalls: Lucy went with Aunt Jane to see Annie Porter came home in the evening: Arthur and Anna have to supper. Emily and Lucy here awhile in the afternoon.

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Page 10
Needs Review

Page 10

1st. mo. 28th. 1st. day

Cloudy morning, cleared off by noon: Emily called before meetings, to take me to meeting.

29th. mercury 10 2d. day

Clear, cold and windy. Joe at Ingleside in the morning: Father at the office.

30th. mercury 9 3d. day

Clear and cold: Father at the office Ingleside and Ashton in the afternoon. Lucy at Harewood in the afternoon.

31st. mercury 2. 4th day

Clear most of the day: I did not go to meeting: Father, Joe and Lucy went; Lucy went to Olney from meeting: Henriella and Henry Stabler dined here: Father went to Rockville in the afternoon.

Last edit 5 months ago by Shushan
Page 15
Needs Review

Page 15

2d. mo. 14th. 4th day Clear most of the day, cold and windy: Lucy came to meeting from Frank Thomas's and home:; I went to William Moore's from Meeting. Henrietta called here before meet -ing: some snow flurries in the after -noon.

15th. mercury 9 5th. day Clear most of the day and very cold: some snow flurries: I dined at took tea with Hadassah Moore Phils clover seed machine came here.

16th. 6th. day Clear and mild: I came home from Plainfield after dinner: the men threshing clover seed. Emily spent the day here: father went to Ingleside in the morning came home at mail time: Gilpin here awhile in the afternoon.

Last edit 3 months ago by MaryV
Page 17
Needs Review

Page 17

2d.mo. 20th. 3d. day Clear and mild: I took Aunt Lizzie to Clifton and spent an hour, then went to Ashton and Uncle Charlie's, and back to Cherry Grove.

21st. 4th. day Fair and windy: father at Uncle Samuels and Ingleside in the afternoon: Henrietta called at our house before meeting: I took Aunt Lizzie a little ride in the afternoon Sarah Stone and Sally Bond, Sarah Pigeon and her little girl at Cherry Grove in the afternoon.

22d. 5th. day Clear, cold and windy: Henrietta brought me home from Uncle Sam uels: she spent the day here: Anna Wetherald came here to spend several days: Anna Stabler

Last edit 3 months ago by MaryV

Diary: Ellen Stabler, 1864-1867

Page 71
Needs Review

Page 71

11th mo. [15th] 3rd day Cloudy, with-showers during the day, cleaned off in the evening. I called at Harewood after dinner. William finished husking his cain.

16th 4th day Clear nd pleasant: I called at Sherwood before meeting: Joseph Duigdale at meetings: father and mother at unlce Samuels in the afternoon. William went to Drayton after supper in his way [lo-B?] tomorrow.

17th 5th day Cloudy most of the day, bright sunset; some slight shower in the day: William went to Baltimore: I dined at Sharon: Joe at the Reading Circle after supper.

18th 6th day. Rained most of the day: William got home from B. about- 4'oclock: Michael moved from Ingleside to the house down int he woods below the meeting house.

19th. 7th day. Cloudy morning, bright afternoon: Mother went to Harewood in the afternoon.

20th. 1st day. Cloudy all day, some rain in the morning: misting all [o'land?] raining all the afternoon, hard rain al- night: Charlie [Dalter?} here

Last edit 5 months ago by rsmithbeverly
Page 72
Needs Review

Page 72

11th mo before meeting: Joe took me to the Spring Garden in the afternoon. Phebe got there two or three hours before I did: Samuel and Henry came about 8 oclock: John and Alice there after sup.

21st. 2d. day. Cloudy all day, begun to rain about the middle of the afternoon, rained all the evening. A very busy day, getting ready for the wedding; all in good spirits, social airs pleasant: John and Alice down after supper: Jim finished the entry from the parlor to the kitchen. Alex Brooke died last evening. Eliza B. came over this morning, a very pleasant company of us.

22nd. 3d. day Cloudy-windy and cool: This has been a day to be remembered by many: all hands busy all the morning, and until most 2 oclock: the meeting convened at 3 oclock, a very impressive - solemn meeting; both my dear cousins said the ceremony very well, Debbie said it beautifully; all - every thing passed off pleasantly and satisfactorily; had supper at 6 oclock, friends left abotu nine; it has been one of the most pleasant evenings of my life I think, two of the most pleasant days: we have such a pleasant congenial compnay together, all have been busy - all willing to help M in gettign ready for this most interesting event, some less [lincloe?] of those invited prevented from coming by the death of Alec Brooke: the funeral was at 10 o'clock this morning: A funeral and wedding the same

Last edit 5 months ago by rsmithbeverly
Page 74
Needs Review

Page 74

11th mo. 26th. 7th. day. Clear morning. clouded up before noon: William got home after eight oclock: Archie Moore very low, hear of a most shocking accident to William Chandler, by the bursting of a gun: not likely to linger long, no hope of his recovery: his head penetrated by a piece of the gun, knocking out-part of his brains. Lucy at Harewood awhile in the morning, at the store in the afternoon: Aunt Lizzie and Annie here a while in the afternoon: Joe at Sandy Spring after supper:

27th. 1st.day. Cloudy clear most of the day: some rain in the night - last-night. I did not go to meetings: no one here to dinner or supper: Arthur here awhile in the afternoon. Joe at Burnside awhile in the afternoon, William at Uncle Samuel's to supper, called at the cottage Arrchie [Rome?] died at [7?] oclock this morning, William Chandler at one this morning.

28 2d.day Cloudy part of the day, the sun shone out often but not long at a time: Annie Marshall spent two hours here in the morning: Joshua called at Uncle Samuel's in the morning, he and Josh the boys went to William Chandler's funderal to the house, Lucy went to the meetings house: Fred Slater dined here: I went to the his funeral, to the house, she lays Josh went his father to the meeting house. xArchie [Mones?]

Last edit 5 months ago by rsmithbeverly
Displaying pages 71 - 80 of 441 in total