A Sandy Spring Summer: Horticultural Society

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

Club Minutes: Horticultural Society, 1880-1891

Page 174
Needs Review

Page 174

Read at Brooke Grove, March 26th 1888 to commemorate the Quarter Centennial

H/11/1887 175 A brief History of the first Quarter of a Century of the Sandy Spring Horticultural Society 1863 ... 1888 By Mgt. B. Magruder

Francis Miller originated the Society: he conceived the idea that it would be the means of dispensing much pleasure and improvement to those having a taste for such pursuits; as he was devising great enjoyment from the cultivation of trees and plants, and in decorating with flowers his home at Stanmore. He requested Margaret H. Brooke to assist him in forming such a Society and in finding those who would like to join, so as to make it a success. A preliminary meeting was held at Stanmore, 28th Feb. 1863. Those present, beside our host, were; Eliza Brooke of Brooke Grove: Henry C Hallowell, Anna C Roger & Granville Farquhar, Ellen Farquhar & Margaret H. Brooke. Heny C. Hallowell acted as foreman and Ellen Farquhar as Secretary. It was proposed to call the Society: "The Horticultural" to have it composed of 12 members, to meet on the last [?] day of every month from March to November, - to call the meeting to order, at 4 oclock P. M. Poultry

Last edit 23 days ago by MaryV
Page 175
Needs Review

Page 175

176 H/11/1887 -2-

was to be included among the subjects for discussion. Margaret H. Brooke brought vegetable seeds for distribution. Eliza Brooke of Brooke Grove invited the Society to meet at this house on the 23d of March; where, on a stormy afternoon six members met. Francis Miller distributed flower seed. Roger B. Farguhar acted as fore-man, and a lively meeting followed. We decided to appoint a fore-man at each meeting, and a Secretary each year.

We held our next meeting at Olney April 23, 1863. Our Membership consisted. at this time of Mary B. Brooke, Sarah B, Stabler, Sarah B, Farquhar, Wm H. Farquhar D. A. Lea, Francis Miller, Henry C. Hallowell, Anna Roger and Granville Farquhar, Frances D. Stabler Ellen Farquhar and M. H. Brooke. Thomas P. Stabler was an honorary member, and Chas. F. Kirk and Henry Miller were invited to attend. May 23d we met at "The Cedars." Hannah Stabler joined me at this meeting. On June 27 we held our Meeting at Sha[?]n. July 25th at Falling Green Aug 29th at Rockland. The Closing meeting of 63, was at Stanmore in Sept.

1864 We held our opening meeting at Olney Mary B. Hall and Rachel Gilpin became members. We decided that we would

Last edit 23 days ago by MaryV
Page 176
Needs Review

Page 176

H/11/1887 -3- 177 consider it a family membership, in every case; tho' one might be the most active member, - any of the household were expected to come. Thomas P Stabler, who had given us, at several of our meetings the benefit of live long experience in practical horticulture, [adied?[ on the 30 th of April, Margaret H. Brooke married Dr. Wm E. Magruder on the 24th of May, changing her home to Brookeville, when the Society met, in September.

1865 The Society held its first meeting on the 18th of March, at Stanmore; Francis D. Stabler secretary for this year. D. A. Lea entertained us June 24th the first meeting at "Springdale." Robert & Hannah Stabler had this first meeting in the 31st of Aug. Charlie H. Brooke & Anna Farquhar were married on the 11th of May, in this year, and had a meeting at "Falling Green", for their Mother, Mary V. Brooke in September. This year closed with an Exhibition at Sandy Spring Lyceum; - it was our first; -- we met on Sept 16th at 2. oclock, and arranged our Fruits and Flowers, all in the Building; it was a beautiful success.

1866 The opening meeting at "Olney", Francis Miller foreman - M. B. Magruder Sec.,

Last edit about 1 month ago by Queen
Page 177
Needs Review

Page 177

178 1866 H/11/1887 -4for the year. The name of Charles and Lizzie Iddings were proposed, & met with hearty approval - they were therefore considered members. Roger B. Farquhar, altho' a bachlelor, and being by himself extended the hospitality of Rock Spring to the Society, in April. At this meeting, the question arose, how we would regulate our membership, in the future; we decided that when a name was sent in, - to vote upon it by secret ballot, three black balls (or beans?) - rejecting. Charles & Lizzie Iddings held their first meeting at Riverside June 6th and we met, for the first time at Hermon the new home of Dr. W. E & M. B. Magruder

Sept 29. Alban & Rachel Gilpin gave us their first welcome at Avalon. It was decided, after this year, that the Horticultural would take its rounds, in alphabetical order. We closed our season with a very fine Exhibition: complimentary premiums offered.

1867 The meetings were all held, this year - the events were, the admission of Mary M. Miller and the resignation of Charles & Anna Brooke. Oct. 10th we met at "Alloway," the home of our new member. Our host at "Rock Spring, no longer "a hermit sighed" - for woman smiled, and on the 20th of November 1867 Roger B

Last edit 23 days ago by MaryV
Page 178
Needs Review

Page 178

H/11/1887 -5- 179 Farquhar and Annie S. Miller were married.

Sept 14th A Satisfactory Exhibition was held, and we decorated our room, with our first: With Charity for all: With malis toward none."

1868 Meetings held with interest, all through the summer season, but our Exhibition was given up, in form of the County Fair at Rockville, and we promised to "lend a helping hand" to make that a success.

1869 We began the years with some improvement. We received Anna L. Moore as a member, and met at Norwood July 31st Robert R. Moore was invited to attend our meetings with Anna. It was decided this spring, to elect both officers for the year, and to call the Fore-man, "President." M. B. Magruder acted as Sec. for four years and resigned. Henry C. Hallowell was elected President and E. S. Iddings Sec. And they have served our Society most faithfully for 20 years. The Horticultural Exhiibition resumed. H. C. Hallowell thinks that the more people have to do, the more they can do, and the Rockville Fair will not suffer, as we can assist both. Our Motto: "The True, The Beautiful, and The Good."

1870 No meeting omitted, but the Exhibition given out.

Last edit about 1 month ago by Queen
Page 179
Needs Review

Page 179

180 H/11/1887 -61871 Every meeting held, - no lack of zeal manifested. The day of our meeting was found to conflict with other Societies to which some belonged, and to attend which, our members [were?] often invited; therefore we decided to hold our meetings in future, the first 3rd day in each month, instead of the last 7th day. The Motto for our Exhibition Sept 7th was: "A Thing Of Beauty Is A Day Forever."

1872 At Rock Spring Mar 6th Our President called a few of our most valiant members to order, and state that as the [mercury?] stood at 5o and the ground was covered with snow, it might be best to begin in April, hereafter, to which all present agreed - we went our rounds as usual, this year. Closed, Sept 5th with the Exhibition The motto: "The Harvest Shall Not Fail."

Last edit about 1 month ago by Queen
Page 180
Needs Review

Page 180

H/11/1887 -7- 181 and prosperous year. (Motto) "Labor Be Lightened by Love." 1874 The interesting incidents of this year, were the meetings at the homes of our new members, one held at "Whitehall" June 2d and one at Leawood Mills Aug 4th

The only meeting in the 11 years, that we had missed, was in July, - circumstances not under our control, combined to interfere with our holding it. But our Exhibition flouished, - and we were encouraged to

"Look Through Nature Up To Nature's God."

1857 April 18th Our first [lessoned?] fell upon us. Mary B. Brooke, the beloved and loving Mother at "Falling Green" would be seen no more amid the flowers, she loved so well to care for, and her smile of welcome, we long for, in vain: her failing health had prevented her being with Society often, but her inerest never failed. Sept 7th we met at "The Cedars". Nine years had passed since the last meeting there. Sept 21st, at the Exhibitions, our motto was "Industry The Means, Plenty The Results

Last edit about 1 month ago by Queen
Page 181
Needs Review

Page 181

182 H/11/1887 -8 1876 Centenial year. All meetings held except the Exhibition. So many of and members were attending the somewhat more attractive show, in Phila

1877 May 1st the second meeting of the season was held at "Fulford", when Thomas & Beulah Lea the resided. At the June meeting, at Hermon we gladly welcomed a member the bride of Samuel Hopkins. The Exhibition was omitted. Our President was attending upon his Father, and we were all feeling deep sympathy and grief, for the suffering and death of Benjamin Hallowell.

1887 The second of this year complete. All meetings well attended. Exhibition Sept. 5th D. A. Lea resigned. We regretted the loss of so valuable a member, and extended and invitation to her, to come to the meetings, whenever her health permitted. A list of name of applicants for membership, had been placed in the book of our Secretary; - We found the family of Charles J. Brooke was

Last edit about 1 month ago by Queen
Page 182
Needs Review

Page 182

first, and rejoiced to again include them after 10 years absence. Eliza Brooke had become an accomplished [horticultier?] The Motto we had at our Exhibition this Fall was "Peace And Plenty."

1880 We gathered, once again, at Olney April 6tg, In response to the Presidents call for "new suggestions for the good of the Order," M. B. Magruder proposed that two members be appointed, at each meeting. to bring to read the next meeting, short article, on any of the subjects which instruct and interest us. This was generally approved. The May Meeting of this Sprint, we were entertained at the beautiful new house of Roger and Carrie Farquhar. It was "Rock Sping" still, - but no longer in the valley. The Exhibitiion was on Sept 3d Motto: "Words Are But Leaves; Deeds Are The Fruits."

1881 We collected at "Longwood" April 5th - the noon temperature 29o, and a high wind blowing. As there no striking a difference in the weather from year to year, - it was proposed that we should find the noon temperature at each meeting - "and when found make a note of." E. S, Iddings, our Sec. spoke of its being impossible to her to attend to her duties always, and Mary L. Moore

Last edit about 1 month ago by Queen
Page 183
Needs Review

Page 183

184 H/11/1887 -9was appointed assistant Sec. The Exhibition was given up, on account of President Garfields's death.

1882

On the 8th of April, Eliza Brooke beloved member from "Brooke Grove" was taken from us; we must always feel that our Society lost, in her, one of its brighest members. Altho' raised in the City, she adoped, with great enjoyment, a country life; and was ever ready to give us the benefit of her experience, which was, truly, paractical, for under her skill-full hand, this dear old house had "blossomed as the Rose" - and taste and refinement, were everywhere manifest. Exhibition Sept. [?]. In May, of 1882, we met at Falling Green, after twelve years interval.

1883 All our meetings at their alloted place; Exhibition Sept. 13th Motto - "The Profit of The Earth, Be For All."

1884 On the 2d of March, our kind, helpful friend, Alban Gilpin, was suddenly removed from our circle, by Death; we find it hard, indeed, to enter into our work for the season, without his aid and encouragement. On the 11th Sept., the Exhibition closed a profitable year.

Last edit about 1 month ago by Queen
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 203 in total