Leland Stanford Papers

Pages That Need Review

Mark Hopkins

Untitled Page 14
Needs Review

Untitled Page 14

From.

Leland Stanford

Aug. 10. 1867.

Recd. my advice not to draw on CPH

N. Y. & Co. offer Richardson $500 for mo.

Will we consent that he shall go?

Has borrowed $50.000 for CPRR & arranged for $50.000 for Western PRR.

[?]

Last edit over 2 years ago by hannahb25

J. D. B. Stillman

Untitled Page 20
Needs Review

Untitled Page 20

[Left hand page} in silhouette as an infringement of his copyright. I have this to say that I can swear that they were all taken at the order of Gov Stanford who paid all the expenses, furniture all the apparatus and material and Muybridge furnished me with all the copies from which the plates were [excecuted?] knowing that they were to be used for the purpose to which they will to be ap plied. The also furnished him with the magic lantern and apparatus which he is now using to amuse the audiences in England and the money he used to travel and exhibit the movements of animals, and he [imposed] upon the Governor the idea that he [?] the most delicate chemicals ever used to procure the results when in fact

[Righ hand page} he was far behind the times and [processes?] were in use for years for [?] delicate and which he did not know of until he went to [Europe?] and he wrote to me where I was in Boston to delay the work until he could take a new set of photographs by the day process of which he had just learned. Muybridge wrote for me a long account of the history of the enterprise in which he gave all the credit of the suggestions to the use of electricity in the process of taking the pictures. In my hearing he advised the Governor to make the illustrations veyr elaborate that the book should be a [?] [?] to his [fame?] like [Audi-} [bus?] work on Ornithology, and

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 21
Needs Review

Untitled Page 21

[left side]

if his advice had been followed the work would not have been completed in two years and at a cost of $50.000

He wanted me to go to England to get it executed as he did not believe it could be done well enough in America, but the Governorwanted the whole work done in his own country where the experiments had been made. Mr Stanford wishes copies presented to His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales, [Profs?] [Tyndal?] Huxley, Marcy of Paris, and Massanet the artist.

I wish you would have the copy for the Prince of Wales bound specially as a specimen of the best American binding.

I wish you to send me a set

[right side]

San Francisco Apt 10A/St

Jos. R. Osgood & Co

Dear Sir: I telegraphed to you today at the request of Gov Stanford when I told him of what had been done in the matter of the English City eight of the [nine] in motion. I was satisfied myself that the City right in my name was [may] and the ever should have been corrected and could not be corrected by commiting another.

The proprietorship is not in me but in Gov. Stanford alone and it should appear so in the book. In a suit at law this may give rise to unpleasant complications.

With regard to the claims of Maybridge that the illustration

Last edit 3 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 24
Needs Review

Untitled Page 24

we have already advised the Govenor that a New York lawyer in Maybridges [?] had notified us that he ([?]) claims american, as well as english copyright.

Yours Truly

James R Osgoood

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 25
Needs Review

Untitled Page 25

Papers relating to publication of House in Motion

James R. Osgood. Edward L. Osgood. Benjamin H. Ticknor. Thomas B. Ticknor.

James R. Osgood & co., Publishers.

211 Tremont Street.

Boston, April 18 1882

J. D. Stillman Esq

Dear Sir

Your favor of the 11th inst is received and the matter of copyright in the name of Gov. Stanford is being attended to. We write today to Gov Stanford asking him for his guaranty to hold us [h?] as against Maybridge for any claims he may have. Gov S. has already telegraphed us to the effect that he would indemnify us

Last edit over 2 years ago by hannahb25
Untitled Page 28
Needs Review

Untitled Page 28

know anything of the sale of the book except from you and that has not been much. I expected a report from you on the 1st of June according to the agreement made with Mr osgood as the book was announced for sale in the papers on the 28th of February. So far as responsibility is concerned for the sale of the book, I am quite sure it cannot be placed on me so far as it has not been placed on the market in California. The terms on which it was placed in your hands for sale were gone over. I received your letter accompanied with Bancroft's and answered it sending the answer to Gov. Stanford for his approval with a request to forward it to you. It seemed too late in the day to advance the price of the book and as to giving Mr Bancroft the exclusive sale I did not approve and it seemed a great imposition to Mr Stanford to reduce the price to him, but as the case now stands on your statement of the slow sales, and the chief expense of a second edition being incurred I would advise that the reduction which you recommend in your last letter be made to $6.00. I was informed when in San Francisco that Gov Stanford had rec'd two boxes of books to be distributed as presents. The volume intended for the Prince of Wales was to have been accompanied with a note. As the Governor has now returned to California I will write him about it and send you the note of [?]

Truly Yours

J D B Stillman

Last edit over 2 years ago by hannahb25
Untitled Page 34
Needs Review

Untitled Page 34

Jan 18th 1883

Jas. R Osgood & Co

Dear Sirs Yours of Jan 4th came to hand in due [?]. I have recd a letter from Gov. Stanford in reference to the matter in dispute between us in which he expresses a decided indisposition to be troubled with it, but he does not indicate what he would have me do, and I am not disposed to assume any responsibility that is not necessary. I shall write to him again to day I do not believe that I have authority to pay for that paper and as further evidence it is only necessary to refer to the date of the announcement of the book on the 12th of Sept 1881 where the number of plates the book was expected to contain is stated and then refer to the date of the order given by Mr Edwards on [?] Kendall & Co.

I am reluctant to be called [east?] again as it would be attended with great damage to my own business interests, and I want to settle the dispute with out it if I can. If the Governor gives me authority to do it so that it shall be final as between you and me and between the Governor & me, time will be [?] by information from you as to the allowance that will be made for the paper and it be taken in stock by the Heliotype Company?

As to the disposition of the unsold copies of

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV

Correspondence (incoming) - D-E

Untitled Page 14
Needs Review

Untitled Page 14

Hon Leland Stanford, Palo Alto, California

Dear Sir: Miss [?], formerly a [resident?] of San Francisco, desires to call your attention to a very desirable Cabinet of Mineral specimens, collected by Professo Von-[Klipstein?].

I take pleasure in introducing Miss [Nesbeth?] as a lady, whose statements are in every way worthy of your confidence. Very [Respectfully?] [Yours?] [?] [?] March [11/87?]

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 15
Needs Review

Untitled Page 15

May 21, 1887 Hon Leland Stanford San Francisco Dear Sir Governor Ford has kindly given me a letter of introduction to you (which I enclose herewith) that I may have an opportunity of asking for some particular information regarding your University school. If you have the time to grant me a very brief interview at such place and time as may be convenient to you I shall be much indebted to you for the favor. Very respectfully yours [T.?]M.Eddy

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 16
Needs Review

Untitled Page 16

most perfect specimens, no [water?] [worn?] or broken shells. It is the work and study of over thirty five years. There is a large library of rare books. Many being out of print.

Any further information concerning this collection can be obtained by addressing [Wm?] Dell Hartman [M.H.?] West Chester, Penna. I remain very truly yours H.H. Edwards

May 1887 West Chester Mr. Stanford Dear Sir I understand that you are interested in promoting education and learning.

I wish to attract your attention to a collection in Conchology which is the finest private collection in the state of Pennsylvania, and in two departments the

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Displaying pages 11 - 20 of 569 in total