Leland Stanford Papers

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

Logan family

Untitled Page 9
Needs Review

Untitled Page 9

[preprinted] CALUMET PLACE, WASHINGTON, D. C. [/preprinted]

March 15th 1887,

Dear Senator and Mrs Stanford:

I wish to thank you both for your many kindnesses to me and to say to Mr Stanford that the bonds which he was so kind a[s] to sign for I leave caused to be cancelled and returned to me as I have sold out my interest in the Real Estate and Insurance business. [--as--] I am going to be married on Tuesday next to Miss Andrews of Youngstown Ohio, and am going there to be connected

Last edit about 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 10
Needs Review

Untitled Page 10

[preprinted] CALUMET PLACE, WASHINGTON, D. C. [/preprinted]

Mar. 14th 1889.

Dear Senator Stanford

I intended to see you before you left Washington to thank you for your generous contribution to my fund, and for the [grand?] letter which accompanied it; but was detained longer than I expected to be. I am deeply touched by your appreciation of my dear husband's great

Last edit 6 days ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 11
Needs Review

Untitled Page 11

may be pleasantly spent and that you may both enjoy uninterrupted health. I am

Respectfully

Mrs John A Logan

[ink stamp: 19123]

Last edit about 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 14
Needs Review

Untitled Page 14

ORDER OF THE DAY

Senators, Representatives, and all other persons invited or entitled to admission to the floor of the Senate, including the Committees of the Grand Army of the Republic, the Loyal Legion, the Veterans of the Mexican War, are requested to be in the places assigned to them at 15 minutes before 12 o'clock. The Speaker, if present, at the right hand of the Presiding Officer. The Clergy at the desk of the Secretary.

At 10 minutes before 12 o'clock promptly the following persons, in the order named, will be received without announcement at the south door of the Senate Chamber, and be shown to the seats assigned them:

1. THE PRESIDENT AND HIS CABINET.

2. THE SUPREME COURT.

3. THE DIPLOMATIC CORPS.

4. THE COMMITTEE OF SENATORS.

5. THE COMMITTEE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

6. The family and relatives to be admitted from north door nearest Vice-President's Room, and followed by the Presiding Officer.

7. THE PALL-BEARERS.

At 12 o'clock promptly, upon announcement of the Presiding Officer, the Clergy will conduct the funeral ceremonies.

At 1 o'clock, or as soon as the ceremonies are closed, the Sergeant-at-Arms will form and conduct the funeral procession in the following order to carriages in waiting:

1. THE CLERGY AND MEDICAL ATTENDANTS.

2. THE PALL-BEARERS.

3. THE HEARSE.

4. COMMITTEE OF SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

5. THE FAMILY AND ATTENDANTS.

6. THE PRESIDENT AND CABINET.

7. THE SUPREME COURT.

8. THE DIPLOMATIC CORPS.

9. SENATORS.

10. REPRESENTATIVES.

11. OFFICERS OF THE SENATE.

12. GOVERNORS OF STATES AND OTHER INVITED PERSONS.

13. COMMITTEES OF THE G. A. R. , ETC.

The entire procession, civic and military, under command of Lieut. General P. H. SHERIDAN, to be formed and moved in the order commanded by him.

Last edit about 4 years ago by hesperus

Correspondence (incoming) - W-Z

Untitled Page 1
Needs Review

Untitled Page 1

Paris, le 15 février 1889 31 rue Dumont Durville

Dear Sir I hear that your friend Mr. Stanford is going to found a University on a large scale at San Francisco. One of my colleagues of the French Institute, Mr. Paul Viollet, has asked me to inform you, that, should it [suit?] Mr. Stanford's views, he would be inclined to accept in the New University a professorship of History of Law. Mr. Viollet is a very learned and distinguished man, and was elected Member of the Institute a short time ago. Should you wish to communicate with him his [direction?] is, rue Soufflot, 2 [bis?]. I had some hesitation in troubling you about a matter of this kind, but Miss King, my [sister?] in law, encouraged me to write to you. Believe me Very truly yours W.W. [Wadington?] French Ambassador in London

Last edit about 3 years ago by hesperus

Mark Hopkins

Untitled Page 1
Needs Review

Untitled Page 1

[Rcvd. Janry 25/69.?]

Ogden January 15th 1869

Friend Mark

On my return from Omaha I found quite a number of letters from you, they were all interesting as your letters always are and each one deserved an answer, but as Huntington was going on to California I concluded he should answer all.

He has been and returned, and it has been a great satisfaction to me that he has been out and learned the true state of matters.

Col Gray left here this morning for California. He will be able to [post?] you as to matters here more fully than I can write. The weather continues remarkably good. So far for us it has been a failure in great part?. Ives says two years ago last September when he was at Echo Summit snow fell four feet. Such a fall of snow this year would have saved us notwithstanding the slow [progress?] of our track. After the {words crossed out} report of the Special [?] on the [? ? ] { next words crossed out] showing clearly an unfinished road [word crossed out] [?] [?] then [?] its full amount of [bonds?]. It is not very encouraging for us to believe that they will withhold [bonds?]

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 6
Needs Review

Untitled Page 6

Salt Lake 29 1869

Received at Sac Jan 29 725 PM

To Mark Hopkins

E.B. Crocker & Chas Croker the commissioners leave here Monday morning by stage for Sac to expect to take while ine stage to Echo have car there for them I shall be with them they want ready for them working profiles showing grades and map on large scale showing details of alignment at Eutine line between end of track & Echo Summit

Leland Stanford

Last edit about 2 years ago by hannahb25
Untitled Page 7
Needs Review

Untitled Page 7

From

Leland Stanford. Salt Lake.

Jany 29. 1869.

Comr. coming to examine our roads.

Have car for them at Elks. Also maps & peoples

Last edit about 2 years ago by hannahb25
Untitled Page 15
Needs Review

Untitled Page 15

From

Leland Stanford. Salt Lake

March 10, 1869

Everything satisfactory - [Goose?] hangs high.

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 28
Needs Review

Untitled Page 28

From

Leland Stanford

Augt. 13, 1869

Bk of Cal wants to use our funds & request us to let [?] remain &c.

Last edit about 2 years ago by hannahb25
Displaying Page 31 - 40 of 583 in total