Leland Stanford Papers

Pages That Need Review

Correspondence (outgoing)

Untitled Page 18
Needs Review

Untitled Page 18

[preprinted] United States Senate,

Washington, D. C., [/preprinted] Jan. 25, 1886.

Mr. J. W. Knox

c/o [Mess?]: Tracy & Wilson

Lexington Ky.

Dear Sir,

Yours of 21st inst: to hand.

It will give me great pleasure to tender to Mr. Alexander the free use of Electioneer to cover the Sister to Maud S.

Very Truly Yours

Leland Stanford

[N.?]

Last edit about 3 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 19
Needs Review

Untitled Page 19

[preprinted] United States Senate,

Washington, D.C., [/preprinted] March 3, 1887

Hon. Grover Cleveland.

President of the United States.

My dear Sir:

The bill making an appropriation for the purchase of a site for a Post office at San Francisco, California, has been sent to you for your consideration.

The present Post office at San Francisco is in a wretched condition and a new one is imperatively demanded.

In the pressure of business before you, I hope it will not escape your attention.

Very truly Yours,

Leland Stanford

Last edit about 3 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 20
Needs Review

Untitled Page 20

[preprinted] SENATE CHAMBER

WASHINGTON [/preprinted]

February 9. 1886

To Railroad Officials.

Miss A. M. Lathrop, a sister of Mrs. Stanford, is travelling to California unattended, and I shall be very much obliged for any courtesy that may be extended to her to make her journey pleasant

Respectfully

Leland Stanford

President Central Pacific & Souther Pacific R. R.

Last edit about 3 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 21
Needs Review

Untitled Page 21

THE WESTERN UNION TELEGRAPH COMPANY [notation: lef?of?]

[notation: L]

NUMBER [G624?] SENT BY [V?] REC'D BY Q CHECK 26 [Dh?] [1913?B?]

Received at SAN FRANCISCO [4??] July 22 1886

Dated Washington DC [22?]

To Mrs Ariel Lathrop [sp?]

Please send the fifteen shares of stock of Mississippi Valley Construction company you have to me care of [?] E. Gates 23 Broad St New York

Leland Stanford

[ink seal] OFFICE OF LELAND STANFORD JUL 23 1886 [/ink seal]

Last edit about 3 years ago by hesperus

Correspondence (incoming) - N-P

Untitled Page 23
Needs Review

Untitled Page 23

PACIFIC RURAL PRESS

Office, 220 Market Street. Elevator, 12 Front Street.

Illustrated Weekly, $3.00 a year.

Established 1870.

DEWEY & CO., PUBLISHERS,

A. T. DEWEY. W. B. EWER

San Francisco, May 18 1889

Hon. Leland Stanford,

Dear Sir:

We enclose herewith a letter from one of our readers, seeking information with regard to the Leland Stanford, Jr. University. We are receiving quite a number of such communications, from time to time, and would be glad of some brief statement from you to publish for the satisfaction of such inquiries. It would oblige both them and

Your Very Respy

The Editors P.R.P.[Pacific Rural Press.]

per Boyd

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 26
Needs Review

Untitled Page 26

Visalia.

July. 18.

Govenor Stanford.

Dear Sir.

Would you please be kind enough to let me know when your school will open. Would you pelase let me know the cost. I am a widow and my means are limited. I would like to send my little son. Would there be any [shen?] for me to get a place as house keeper, or matron I am a middle aged

Last edit 4 months ago by MaryV

Mark Hopkins

Untitled Page 1
Needs Review

Untitled Page 1

[preprinted] Office Central Pacific Railroad,

Corner Front and California Streets.

San Francisco, [/preprinted] Feb 5th 1867

Friend Mark

I [had?] a letter this morning from the [Judge?] stating that he and [Montague?] were intending to start [--fro--] for [Benicia?] to determine what surveying is necessary to locate the most direct line to Goat Island. Now my idea is that we should at once extend our line to Goat Island and [announce?] the fact, but it is useless to talk of a rout by the way of [Benicia?], First because the ground is already occupied, 2nd because to cross the Straits [insert] by bridge [/insert] is so costly as to [render?] it substantially impracticable besides if the Straits were not crossed by a bridge a steamboat starting from here would reach [Benicia?] as quick if not quicker that you could go by rail and two ferries. The [Judge?] says [Charly? clearly?] [illegible]

Last edit almost 3 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 2
Needs Review

Untitled Page 2

wait until we reach the summit before we haul Iron over to the Truckee.

I thought the matter was settled that the Iron was to be hauled from Cisco. Unless Huntington is successful in his negotiations, it is imperative that we must do that which will soonest give us money.

Yours truly

Leland Stanford

[bottom left margin]

From Leland Stanford

Feb. 5. 1867.

Locate road to Goat Island immediately. Impracticable to go by Benicia. Haul Iron over the summit this winter to lay 30 miles on Truckee by July. [/bottom left margin]

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 3
Needs Review

Untitled Page 3

[notation, top right] 13 [/notation, top right]

[preprinted] Office Central Pacific Railroad,

Corner Front and California Streets.

San Francisco, [/preprinted] April 1st 1867

Friend Hopkins

Your letter of 29th ult. [covering?] one from Huntington [rcd?], also [rcd?] to day from Crocker a letter from the man who went up to attend the drilling machines. He says Strobridge says that the present engine cannot be stopped to make the necessary connections for steam, Mr. [More?] says it will not take over two hours at the most. [Now?] if they get out rock so fast that to pile up [--what--] at the shaft [insert] what [/insert] they would raise in two hours could not be got out of the way, why then it would seem that the drilling machines would be of little benefit, because [--if the rock is--]

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 4
Needs Review

Untitled Page 4

[---got out so fast, [illegible] must be now--] it would seem that already our progress had reached a point at which it was equal [illegible] capacity to raise, but I have bought an engine and will have [insert] sent up [/insert] what is necessary to connect it with present boiler.

Yours truly

Leland Stanford

[bottom left margin] [second hand] From Leland Stanford April 1. 1867

bought engine to [drive?] drilling machine [/second hand] [third hand]

Letters from L. Stanford '67 - '68 - 69 '70 [/third hand] [/bottom left margin]

Last edit almost 3 years ago by hesperus
Displaying pages 481 - 490 of 553 in total