Leland Stanford Papers

Pages That Need Review

Telegrams of sympathy, A - L

Untitled Page 27
Needs Review

Untitled Page 27

[?] [oor?] [Sympathy?] in your great Sorow = W. Gwyn Jr.

Last edit over 2 years ago by alexander.nguyen
Untitled Page 28
Needs Review

Untitled Page 28

Florence De San Francisco 154 14 VB

Last edit over 2 years ago by alexander.nguyen

Correspondence with Leon Sloss

Untitled Page 3
Needs Review

Untitled Page 3

[preprinted] Office of Leland Stanford.

San Francisco, Cal., [/preprinted] Dec. 8 1891

Mr. Leon Sloss

City

Dear Sir,

I enclose herewith deed, in duplicate, of your appointment as Trustee of the Leland Stanford Jr. University.

Please sign the acceptance of the Trust and return on of the deeds to me to be filed among the University archives. The other deed you will retain.

Yours truly

H. C. Nash

Secy. Board of Trustees

Leland Stanford Jr. University

Enclo:

Last edit over 3 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 4
Needs Review

Untitled Page 4

[modern notation?] SC33A 9-87

WHEREAS: In the GRANT founding and endowing the LELAND STANFORD JR. UNIVERSITY made by LELAND STANFORD and JANE LATHROP STANFORD, and dated November Eleventh, 1885, LORENZO SAWYER was made and named ONE of the TRUSTEES;

AND

WHEREAS: The said LORENZO SAWYER has since died thereby creating a vacancy in the Trustees:

NOW THEREFORE THIS INDENTURE WITNESSETH: That the said LELAND STANFORD and JANE LATHROP STANFORD under and by virtue of the power reserved to them in said GRANT do hereby appointy LEON SLOSS a Trustee to fill said vacancy, GIVING and GRANTING unto him all the powers, and imposing upon him all the duties given and imposed upon the said LORENZO SAWYER, and the other Trustees upon the terms of said GRANT.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF: WE have hereunto set our hands and affixed our seals this ____ day of December, 1891.

IN DUPLICATE.

Leland Stanford (SEAL.)

[notation: J. L. S] Jane L. Stanford (SEAL.)

Last edit over 3 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 5
Needs Review

Untitled Page 5

WHEREAS: In the GRANT founding and endowing the LELAND STANFORD JR. UNIVERSITY made by LELAND STANFORD and JANE LATHROP STANFORD, and dated November Eleventh, 1885, LORENZO SAWYER was made and named ONE of the TRUSTEES;

AND

WHEREAS: The said LORENZO SAWYER has since died thereby creating a vacancy in the Trustees:

NOW THEREFORE THIS INDENTURE WITNESSETH: That the said LELAND STANFORD and JANE LATHROP STANFORD under and by virtue of the power reserved to them in said GRANT do hereby appointy LEON SLOSS a Trustee to fill said vacancy, GIVING and GRANTING unto him all the powers, and imposing upon him all the duties given and imposed upon the said LORENZO SAWYER, and the other Trustees upon the terms of said GRANT.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF: WE have hereunto set our hands and affixed our seals this ____ day of December, 1891.

IN DUPLICATE.

[preprinted] State of California, City and County of San Francisco} 88.

On this [/preprinted] Fourth (4th) day of December [preprinted] A.D. one thousand eight hundred and ninety [/preprinted] one (1891) [preprinted] before E. B. RYAN, a Notary Public, in and for said City and County residing therein, duly commissioned and sworn, personally appeared [/preprinted]

Leland Stanford and Jane L. Stanford (his wife)

[preprinted] known to me to be the persons described in and who executed and whose names [/preprinted] are [preprinted] subscribed to the within instrument, and [/preprinted] they severally [preprinted] duly acknowledged to me that [/preprinted] they [preprinted] they executed the same

In Witness Whereof, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed my official Seal the day and years in this Certificate first above written. [/preprinted]

E. B. Ryan. [preprinted] NOTARY PUBLIC, In and for the City and County of San Francisco, State of California.

[Seal of California: image of Minerva, grizzly bear, and sailing ships; BLACK RYAN NOTARY PUBLIC CITY & COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO CAL]

[preprinted: GENERAL]

Last edit over 3 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 6
Needs Review

Untitled Page 6

I, LEON SLOSS named in the foregoing instrument as TRUSTEE of the LELAND STANFORD JR. UNIVERSITY, to fill the vacancy in the Trustees caused by the death of LORENZO SAWYER, do hereby accept the trust and assume all the OBLIGATIONS and DUTIES imposed upon a Trustee by virtue of the provisions of the GRANT referred to in the foregoing instrument.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF: I have hereunto set my hand and seal this Tenth day of December, 1891.

IN DUPLICATE.

Leon Sloss (SEAL.)

Last edit over 3 years ago by hesperus

Manzanita Water Company

Untitled Page 5
Needs Review

Untitled Page 5

Leland Stanford & alia with Archbishop Riordan Respecting Water Contract for Seminary [Compared OR Outpaced?] [of use?] [?John S. Doyle?] November 2 '91 Number 5

Last edit about 1 year ago by heidimarie

Correspondence with David Starr Jordan

Untitled Page 1
Needs Review

Untitled Page 1

[in another hand, notation top right: 147.1]

THE WESTERN UNION TELEGRAPH COMPANY

NUMBER [L?] / SENT BY [Gr?] / REC'D BY D / CHECK 91 D H Pass

Received at 8H00 Apl 13 [in another hand, notation: 1891]

Dated Mentlo Park Calif 13

To Prof David S Jordan

I wish to leave you entirely free [illegible] your selections of Professors but I suggest that for the present some of the different Branches might be consolidated under the management of a single man as we cannot be fairly prepared to take

Last edit over 2 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 2
Needs Review

Untitled Page 2

[in another hand, notation top right: 147.[1]

THE WESTERN UNION TELEGRAPH COMPANY

(2)

care of the number of students necessary to give reasonable employment to so large a number of Professors as you suggest my idea is that fifteen Professors and Teachers ought to be sufficicent to open with I shall be glad to see you out here at your earliest convenience

Leland Stanford

Last edit over 2 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 3
Needs Review

Untitled Page 3

[in another hand, notation top right: 149.1]

[notation] [V? ✓?] [/notation]

THE WESTERN UNION TELEGRAPH COMPANY

NUMBER [L?] / SENT BY [Gr?] / REC'D BY D / CHECK 17 D H

Received at 90[2 A?] May 9 1891

Dated Menlo Park Calif 9

To David S Jordan

We have decided to name the Boys Dormitory Encina Hall Encina being the Spanish for live oak

Leland Stanford

Last edit over 2 years ago by hesperus
Displaying pages 41 - 50 of 569 in total