Leland Stanford Papers

Pages That Need Review

Mark Hopkins

Untitled Page 5
Needs Review

Untitled Page 5

[notation: 15] [embossed seal] CONGRESS [CAREW. CO.?] [/embossed] [preprinted] Office Central Pacific Railroad, Corner and Front Streets. San Francisco, [/preprinted] April 5th 1867

Friend Hopkins

Have got a bully letter from Latham to Morgan, next wednesday Mr Latham with a party of ladies and gentlemen [insert] (8) eight in all [/insert] will leave here to go up to take a trip over the Road and go to Donner Lake. They will want to go up to the Lake on Thursday and return to Crystal Lake the same night so as to return to San Francisco Friday night. I have told him we would have horses & sleighs [insert] ready [/insert] and notify Hotel Keepers so that they would be well cared for. He fully appreciates the importance to his Bank should the arrangement in London be made by Mr Morgan. You will I am sure see that every thing is all right for the [ride?].

Yours truly Leland Stanford

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 6
Needs Review

Untitled Page 6

From Leland Stanford

April 5 [1867?]

Bully letter from Latham to Morgan. Arrange for Latham party [on?] RR.

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 7
Needs Review

Untitled Page 7

17.1

Office Central Pacific Railroad,

Corner Front and California Streets.

San Francisco, April 6th 1867

Friend Hopkins

I telegraphed you yesterday for the amount of judgment against Wilson also for the acknowledgment of Levi's that he held ti for our benefit. It seemed then that we were to be paid. Ralston was to advance the money, but to day it is to wait until Monday. Ralston will not disclose for whom he is acting. But says he represents a party abundantly able to buy. I have been following up the thing and I find the party had obtained the refusal of the [Goville?] R.R. Emmett tells me that they want the Oregon R.R. he thinks. I find from Ralston that he has investigated the assignment of the Oregon Co to us of the lands and is advised that we have forfeited by noncompliance

Last edit over 2 years ago by hannahb25
Untitled Page 10
Needs Review

Untitled Page 10

of last night about the judgment you do not say anything about the receipt of Levi's. If you have not sent it please do so on Monday. I dont believe I have made a very clear statement of the matters in relation to RR but I guess it will give you the idea of what is going on.

The judge says that [recpt?] of Levis may be among his papers in the Pigeon hole

Yours truly

Leland Stanford

From.

Leland Stanford

April 6, 1867.

Telegraphed to know amt. judgt vs. C.J. Wilson

Wilson trying to combine with Oregon Road, &c

Steamship interests fusing & combining.

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 13
Needs Review

Untitled Page 13

23

Office Central Pacific Railroad,

Corner Front and California Streets.

San Francisco, April 10th 1867

Mark Hopkins

Enclosed find my check on the Bank of California payable to your order for the sum of ($125,000.00) one hundred and twenty five thousand dollars.

Charley writes that he needs that amount. I raised to day $60,000.00 at 1 percent of the House of Davidson & Co. I am much pleased with this as it may lead to further negotiations. I have tried them before but could never get any encouragement.

Davidson I believe so no longer in the Company here. This house is agent for the Rostchchilds. I have had a very satisfactory talk with them and shall drop in and see them again

Yours truly

Leland Stanford

P.S. Bragg dont know any thing further about fences than that they did not sell any to the Freeport Land Co.

The Navigation Co say that they will refer the water matter to Redington with full authority to do as he pleases

L S

Last edit over 2 years ago by hannahb25
Untitled Page 14
Needs Review

Untitled Page 14

From.

Leland Stanford

April 10. 1867.

With chk. on Bk Cala. for $125,000

Borrowed from Davidson & Co $60,000 at 1%

Freeport RR. Co sold no fences.

Steam Nav. Co. refer water question to Reddington

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 15
Needs Review

Untitled Page 15

25

Office Central Pacific Railroad,

Corner Front and California Streets.

San Francisco, April 12th 1867

Mark Hopkins Esq

Yours of yesterday recd. The Judge has reported somewhat of the difficulties that he encountered. His report took me somewhat by surprise. Before going to Sacramento to announce the result of negotiation, I agreed that it should be a trade if my associates approved. After submitting the matter I certainly thought the negotiation was approved, and when the Judge and I came down here we so stated, and proceeded at once upon investigations and statements of what was necessary to be done

One of the first things to be done was for Mr. L. to get rid of the Hawthorn Claim, and to do so he paid it $10,000

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 16
Needs Review

Untitled Page 16

down and gave Carrs obligation for $12500 more in thirty days or forfeit the $10000. M.L. has straightened other matters some of which he would or could very well have done except upon the assumption that if he complied with our terms the trade was definite and certain. We are in honor bound to stand by the trade and I certainly cannot do otherwise than make the trade good to [?] and shall in any event as far as in my power individually. But I do not doubt but that Huntington will approve the trade, in which case we shall certainly have a good thing and I shall be relieved from embarrassment.

If the trade is perfected we shall do as you suggest have a schedule of Assets.

Yours truly Leland Stanford

From

Leland Stanford,

April 12. 1867.

Surprise that I object to purchase WPRR.

Dont doubt Huntingtons willingness.

My objection is embarrassing &c.

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV

John M. Schofield

Untitled Page 2
Needs Review

Untitled Page 2

J.M.

Gen. Scholfield

West Point- Oct. 8 1876 [Swift, West Pt., 1876-81]

Washington Jan 4 1889 [Ranbiking Gane 1888.]

(G 1831; d 1906)

Last edit over 2 years ago by alexander.nguyen

Wesley C. Sawyer

Untitled Page 1
Needs Review

Untitled Page 1

" A MARVEL of clear statement, compact and yet excellent arrangement of the Etymology and Syntax of the German language. It is all that can be desired. It is certainly worthy of universal adoption."- M.J. Griffin, Teacher of German, Syracuse High School, N.Y.

A Practical German Grammar. By Wesley C. Sawyer, PH.D Professor in the Wisconsin State Norman School, Oshkosh; Member of the American Philological Association, etc. 12mo, cloth, 177 pp. Retail price, $1.00

Published by S. C. Griggs & CO., Chicago.

'' It seems to me exceedingly well adapted to its purpose.''Wm. F. Warren, S. T. D., LL.D., President of Boston University.

''For a short course, it is much the best grammar that I am acquainted with.''- F. P. Jordan, Teacher of German, Battle Creek H. S.

''The plan of this grammar is happily conceived and success fully executed. I am particularly pleased with the order adopted in the work.''- R. H. Garnett, Prof. of German, Georgetown College, Ky.

"The simple directness and clearness of the work make me anxious to command the time to investigate it very fully. So far, I must confess to a very favorable estimate of it." - John S. Irwis, LL.D. Sup't of Public Schools, Fort Wayne, Ind.

''I have examined it with considerable care and like it very much, and had we not introduced another text-book one year since I should certainly have sent you an order for its introduction into our schools.'' - H. E. Robbins, Sup't of Schools, Lyons, Iowa.

''A very attractive little book. Your idea seems to me a good one, and it is certainly very happily expressed. The fonetic part, the pronunciation is especially clear and simple.''- F. A. March, LL.D. Prof. of English Language and Comparative Philology, Lafayette College, Penn.

''He has not only introduced many new features, which will at once commend themselves to practical teachers, but he has greatly con densed the grammars in common use, and relieved the student from burdening his memory with an unnecessary amount of grammatical lumber. We heartily commend it.''- Zion's Herald, Boston.

over

Last edit almost 3 years ago by Tati
Displaying pages 491 - 500 of 553 in total