Leland Stanford Papers

Pages That Need Review

Correspondence (outgoing)

Untitled Page 25
Needs Review

Untitled Page 25

Aug 10th 1883

My Dear Wife

Have been here two days and am able to pronounce a little about this place. It is small and very quiet. The people seem to be very sedate and earnest to give the waters a fair chance. The visitors are mostly German and they and the place have a very different air from [Carlablace?]

The water is not disagreeable and in fact rather pleasant to one who is thirsty, but otherwise to one who has to take three large glasses before breakfast. I am myself observing the directions

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 26
Needs Review

Untitled Page 26

much this morning at the Springs has Host Payne with her young son [Morete?] She inquired very kindly after you and expressed regret that you could not have come here. I miss you very much. I did not leave Paris until 7.50 and our rooms at the Bristol were with inexpresably lonely. I hope you are pleasantly situated and are doing well. The Dr telegraphs very favorably. Tell Leland I think of him very often. With kind regards to all and much love for yourself. I remain yours affectionate Husband Leland Stanford

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 27
Needs Review

Untitled Page 27

with great faithfulness. Tomorrow I am to take my first [sirmondal?] bath. I walked up there and back this morning and find myself as a consequence quite lame this afternoon. The distance from here to the baths is about 1 1/2 miles My directions are to take the water at Sevena.m Then glass one every fifteen minutes and give a fifteen minutes walk to each glass, Half hour afterwards breakfast and from this time on a bath at 11.30 walking back. [?] sides up. Have met here one of the young Seligmans and his affianced with her father a Mr Low of New York

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 31
Needs Review

Untitled Page 31

Aug 30th 1883

My Dear Boy

Your letter of the 28th giving the pleasing intelligence that Mama "is better" received this day. I have another letter of yours not acknowledged. I have been a little uncertain where to send as Tuesday of this week had been [?] ed as a possible time for your adventure from Havre.

I hope mama will be well enough to join me at Homburg. My time will be up here next Wednesday.

I am doing fairly, but last night had trouble with the back of my head. Love to mama.

Your affectionately Father Leland Stanford

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 34
Needs Review

Untitled Page 34

June 9th 1882

My Dear Wife

Yesterday I went up to Albany to see your mother After my interview. I telegraphed you briefly the result of my observation. About three weeks ago. She had a severe attack of Cholic, the effect of which was a good deal of prostration Before that she was able to walk around the room She contemplates doing it again but since the cholic attack her feet and limbs are badly swollen, and this [unthrkfous?] with her ability to walk. The Dr is now giving medicine to help her If this

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 36
Needs Review

Untitled Page 36

freely and easily and in good spirits. She believes herself now that she will yet visit Palo Alto. Anna M. takes a chereful view though when I first visit her in answer to my inquiry "how is Grand ma" She said she is comfortable now but oh! she had such a hard spell about three weeks ago.

My visit was very satisfactory though necessarily brief. Will go up again before my return home

I am in hopes that next Monday [Mrs H?] [Mrs C?] and

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 38
Needs Review

Untitled Page 38

It was a long hot and fatiguing trip__

It is quite warm here. Two evenings I have taken a carriage drive to the park to get cooled off before going to bed

One afternoon [D O mills?] took me out to the races at [?] Park and tomorrow we go out at 1230 and will lunch at the Club House before the races.

Mr. Mills is in fine health. Have only seen Mrs. Mills at the window, but she is quite well, Mills

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 40
Needs Review

Untitled Page 40

June 10th 1882

My Dear Wife

Have just finished dinner which I had all alone the [may?] dining out this evening. I am very much disappointed in not receiving any letters from you and only one telegram received since you left Colton and that came a couple of days ago. I have sent you telegrams nearly every day.

If I have any luck at my next visit to Washington I hope to be home before the 4th July

Sara Mrs Satham today she exhibits to have

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 41
Needs Review

Untitled Page 41

here about the 10th July I shall try and obtain papers for her and the body of the Governor. Mrs [L?] looks quite well but was visibly affected when she met me.

The Crockers are at the Windsor. I met them all on Saturday at the races. Have a lot of stack books to sign and shall try and dispose of four to night. Good bye yours lovingly

Leland

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 42
Needs Review

Untitled Page 42

Richmund VA June 17 1882

Mrs Leland Stanford

Pass tomorrow at New Port News Mrs P and C with Me Leland Stanford

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Displaying pages 521 - 530 of 553 in total