Leland Stanford Papers

Pages That Need Review

Correspondence (outgoing)

Untitled Page 43
Needs Review

Untitled Page 43

New York June 6th 1882

My Dear Wife

We arrived here last night about 11 PM Have sent up to the Windsor hoping there might be something there from you but nothing came from there but some telegraphs. Probably I shall find something from you at the office. Have heard nothing from you since your dispatch from Cotton saying you had had a pleasant day and were intending to visit San Bernadino the next morning. It seems a long time ago. My trip

Last edit 11 days ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 45
Needs Review

Untitled Page 45

your mother. I am told the weather has been cool this spring so that I am in hopes to find her quite [bard?] up

Will telegraph you how I find her

With love to Leland good bye for the present. Your loving Husband Leland Stanford

P.S. Am very comfortably quartered at the Brunswich L.S.

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 46
Needs Review

Untitled Page 46

San Francesco Feb 5 81

Dear Sister

Enclosed please find bill of exchange the [Bik?] of California on the agency in New York in your favor from three thousand dollars. It is for your and your mothers use. Dr Poste the money in your own name. I expect Ariel will sow leave for California as I shall write for him in a few days. I would have sent you this exchange before but I was in hope I might be able to leave here before this nothing

Last edit 7 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 48
Needs Review

Untitled Page 48

[Spring?] Mon 27 1881

[La Separ 8550?]

Mrs Leland Stanford

Care EE Hewid

WE are in good spirits Weather very good flad you had so pleasant a time yesterday and this day has been as much so Leland Stanford

Last edit almost 3 years ago by alexander.nguyen

Correspondence (incoming) - G

Untitled Page 12
Needs Review

Untitled Page 12

[Marysville?], Tuesday [A.M.?] Oh dear Governor - it's no go! - This place has [sumbled?] me the worst of all - A [thin?] [?] cold house - [Stupidly?] [unresponsive?] in fact. So nothing was all [sustaining?] sympathy] lacking, that I was far more exhausted after the than after my entertainment at your house. In fact there was no one the least interested in the lecture

Last edit 3 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 13
Needs Review

Untitled Page 13

no one to [nitroduce?] [some?] or speak a word to [them?] [after?] the between. They [regaled?] [them?] with [story?] [after?] silence - [one?] [kept?] [it?] up. [With?] [firm?] [determination?]. [?] [and?] "[screwed?] [my?] enough up to the [sticky?] point," and did my very best - especailly in the sad parts of the [feature?]. I felt them. When I pictured the baby, dying of cough, I [flatter?] myself I [produced?] some effect [:?] one woman [put?] the corner of her handkerchief to her eye - and one man blew his nose. I enclose a specimen - the best of the [?] [notices?] [?] I shall [?] - feel like [putting?] that up - as I am only losing money, time, strength and temper. Of course I shall not risk [another?] [feature?] in Sacramento unless I can be in come way, [ensured?] [a?] [?]. I shall

Last edit almost 4 years ago by rdobson

Poem for opening day

Untitled Page 3
Needs Review

Untitled Page 3

Respectfully Dedicated to Senator + Mrs Stanford

Now that in the due course of marked events Which by mankind shall e'er be reckoned great A noble hope will soon be realized!

A humane prompting wisely well fulfilled Theree comes to me in vigil of the night Which yet the stars do stud the sombre sky At cock-crow are approach of roseal dawn The swift portrayal of a Mothers heart With present future and the past combined In fancy I can see a loving wife With arms infolding chubby infant form Which nesltes closely as in happy mood The little one enbons softly in attune For the sweet lullaby his mother sings The while she gently strokes the silken locks Which cluster wreathed in sunshine round the head So safely pillowed on maternal breast. The father on whose features there doth rest A look of deep content is standing near Watching the bar whose little mimic song Grows fainter with each breath until at length At endeth in a long drawn baby sign As undisturbed he thinks to peaceful rest. Fair group fit subject for the Artist's brysh Whose theme is [?]

Last edit over 2 years ago by alexander.nguyen

Frederick D. Grant

Untitled Page 44
Needs Review

Untitled Page 44

the grapes have especially failed this year, although the [bread?] stuffs have been better than in Germany and Russia. The grape vines have been terribly injured with the phylloxera and, with the exception of the vines which had been imported from America, have been totally destroyed.

I can well imagine how busy you are in California with all you have on hand, then, but suppose you will soon be going east with Mrs Stanford

Last edit 3 months ago by MaryV

Correspondence (outgoing)

Untitled Page 1
Needs Review

Untitled Page 1

Clinton May 21st 1841

Dear father, I take the opportunity to inform you that I am at Clinton. And the reason I landed at Whitesboroug on Wednesday evening I proceeded to the institute immediately and saw one of the teachers. And he informed me that it was a [thoroug?] abolition school. And he said that the whites and blacks all are at one table. And he told me at the same time that he did not think it was as good a school to learn at as at Clinton. The school is prety much broke down. They do not have more than 25 scholars. They are obliged to work three hours in each day which I thought was to much.

I staid one night in Whitesboroug and made my mind up by morning that I would not stay. From there I immediately proceeded to Clinton.

My board and bed costs me 14 shillings a week, it is a good place to board at, all the teachers board at the same place I have now informed you of all the particulars I wish you wood write soon and inform me how all the family are. And also wether you have disposed of the pine wood or not.

Yours Respectfuly

A. S. Stanford (Asa Leland Stanford)

NB my health is good

Last edit over 2 years ago by hannahb25
Untitled Page 4
Needs Review

Untitled Page 4

Clinton Jan 29th 1843

Dear Brother

having a little time on my hands I am constrained as it happens but seldom to employ it by writing you a few lines indicative of such news as I think you may wish to hear. I have learned a little concerning your former female acquaintance of this place which perhaps may prove interesting to you to hear. I will being with the Misses Hallad Miss Harriet who married Mr Dean lives in Danville at her ease and her sister lives with her husband at the old holmsted on the flat. [?] is not married yet & lives in a Manchester. Chub is as chuby & as good natured as every. Saky Bronson I think by appearances is not much altered, though a little older.

[Rodny?] & Volny Sweeting are both here yet [stading saw?]. Dr Clows has left the school and gone to Philadelphia his place here is supplied by a Cr. Cle from Tiog who is well qualified to fill the station.

We have to write two Compositions a week besides the regular weekly exercises, the weekly exercises we have to read aloud before the whole school in the lecture room. Our school is rather small this Term it numbers about thirty five students in all. I am elected president of the [Philtermin?]

Last edit over 2 years ago by hannahb25
Displaying pages 531 - 540 of 553 in total