Leland Stanford Papers

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

Frederick Law Olmsted

Untitled Page 4
Needs Review

Untitled Page 4

change of the plan in this particular would involve changes in [these?] particulars. We should have given different grades to all of the streets north of Garden Avenue if we had not had these features in view. If, therefore, you decide to abandon it, the plans should be returned to us at once and a new set prepared. In that case we shall need specific instructions from you what to do with the spaces which we have left with little variation from the natural surface [without that?] [illegible] shall be filled by shrubbery over the surface of which a comprehensive view of the principal buildings of the university would be had by all coming up the main avenue.

The question is as to where the balance of disadvantages lies. Knowing [that those of this one place?] were very [prominent?] to you, we had been slow to assume it fixed and it had been much on our minds for more than two years without our being able to devise any arrangement to which the objections did not seem to us much more serious and without the suggestion of any other arrangements

Last edit 6 days ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 5
Needs Review

Untitled Page 5

coming to us that would meet requirements that you had prescribed.

You will remember that the expedient for keeping view open was devised after discussion with you in 1884; that with your approval it was incorporated in our plan; was fully set forth, not only graphically, in the large drawings brought to Washington the following Spring, but in the explanatory verbal statement printed with them, and that it appeared distinctly in the large perspective drawing of the architects, afterwards photolithographed. Last fall it was brought again to your attention. We refer to the facts because we should feel not a little mortified to have expended all the labors we have upon these working drawings without having been fully assured that your assent had been well considered, reviewed and made complete and final.

Last edit 6 days ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 6
Needs Review

Untitled Page 6

[notation in shorthand]

We shall be glad if you can propose a plan less open to objection for accomplishing your object. We have pondered the problems so much that we have no hope of being over to do so. We believe [illegible] when the apparent voids are filled up by the growth of the shrub foliage the effect will be satisfactory.

very Respectfully Yours,

F. L. & [J. C.?] Olmsted.

Last edit over 2 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 7
Needs Review

Untitled Page 7

[lefthand page] 1

[embossed] F. L. & J. C. OLMSTED, LANDSCAPE - ARCHITECTS. BROOKLINE, MASS. [/embossed]

17th April, 1887.

The Hon. Leland Stanford;

Dear Sir; The plans prepared since you were here by [Messrs?]: Shepley, Ruban & Coolidge in connection with ourselves, were shipped last night addressed to your care.

Mr. Coolidge leaves tonight and will be accompanied from Chicago by Mr. Ruban. Mr. Ruban is the oldest member of the firm and was for many years Mr. Richardson's principle superintendent of construction.

[large notation: 127] [/lefthand page]

[right hand page] appeared not unlikely that, if satisfied with the plans, you would be disposed to enter upon building operations this year. If after such reviesw of what you provisionally approved as will now be practicable you should conclude to begin work before next spring it will, I suppose be best to set about grading operations before the ground shall be [deeply?] baked by the summer's heat. We have, therefore, [illegible] to present the plan in such a [/right hand page]

Last edit over 2 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 8
Needs Review

Untitled Page 8

[left hand side] 3

manner that you and Mrs. Stanford could obtain a more realizing sense of what might be [expected?] in following it out, and have thought it least that you should have the benefit of Mr. [Rutan's?] experience as well as Mr. Coolidge's in determining such questions as that of the choice of stone for walls not facing [toward?] the Plaza. There are many questions of detail, also, that should be carefully reviewed under your own scrutiny and with better knowledge of [/left hand side]

[right hand side] 4

conditions of soil and climate than we may possess. It is not unlikely that in view of [them?] some adjustment of details may be desirable and we have thought it better that any such should be made at once in the ground by Messrs. [Rutan?] and Coolidge.

We have been over the plans very carefully with them and especially upon questions of [grade?] they will be able to present our views and the reasons for them. This is a matter requiring more consideration than you have probably supposed.

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 9
Needs Review

Untitled Page 9

[left hand side] 5

We have considered the board and lodging question adjourned until you shall be able to discuss it with your university staff. Perhaps it might be best to [partly?] build two additional buildings and provide temporary accommodations for the faculty and the first class of students within them.

Yours truly

Fred[.k?] Law Olmsted [/left hand side]

[right hand side] [notation] [obscured] Fred[k?] Law Olmsted [/obscured] on University grounds [/notation] [/right hand side]

Last edit over 2 years ago by hesperus

Ulysses S. Grant family

Untitled Page 3
Needs Review

Untitled Page 3

3 East 66th Street. May 16th 90

Senator Stanford,

I hope you will have Austria placed on the list of the bill just now introduced by Sen ator Sherman for letter inbound increased salary both of which would I know give great satisfaction to [my?] [young people now ?]

Last edit 20 days ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 4
Needs Review

Untitled Page 4

in Austria. You must not my dear senator think me intrusive for you know that is just what you volunteered for. To do the will of the people and the above request is the will and earnest wish of one of them your sincere friend Julia D. Grant Senator Stanford 18926

Last edit 3 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 5
Needs Review

Untitled Page 5

The Bruhl, August Sept. 5,1892!

Dear Senator Stanford

I cannot thank you and Mrs. Stanford enough for the beautiful watch which I had not enough time to thank you for before you left, Geneva, and which I will keep as my greatest pride when I am a grown man- It was so good and kind of you both to think of me, and the present is the loveliest one I can ever receive. I will all my life think of our dear and kind friends when I look at it.

We got into Austria just in time not to be fumigated, as they are afraid of the Cholera here, and watch all the frontier and all thos [he?] who [k?] come from France and Germany-

I am afraid my letter is too long and will bother you, so I will end it by sending ever so much love to you and Mrs. Stanford

Last edit 20 days ago by MaryV

Correspondence (incoming) - H

Untitled Page 1
Needs Review

Untitled Page 1

[embossed: IDLEWILD]

[Ladero? Ladew?, Lewis Co. W dy?] July 15th "/89

To the University of the Leland Stanford Jr.

Sirs

There are several families in this vicinity who are much interested in the education of their children - many of them have moderate means

We understand that your University is far more liberal than any other institution on this coast.

Please send us one of your circulars or give what information nessesary for the benefit of this community

Very truely yours Mrs B. S. Hackett P. M.

[notation] [?44] [/notation]

Last edit about 4 years ago by hesperus
Displaying Page 61 - 70 of 583 in total