Leland Stanford Papers

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

Correspondence (incoming) - H

Untitled Page 2
Needs Review

Untitled Page 2

[preprinted] CALIFORNIA ACADEMY OF SCIENCES, SAN FRANCISCO. P. O. BOX 2247.

San Francisco, Cal., [/preprinted] May 1, [preprinted] 188 [/preprinted] 9

Hon. Leland Stanford:

My Dear Friend -

Mr. E. F. Lorquin, who will present this note to you has a fine collection of California birds which he is anxious to dispose of at a very reasonable rate.

Mr. Lorquin is an excellent taxidermist and has a good knowledge of ornithology; and I consider this a good opportunity to obtain material which will be of great value in your museum

Yours Truly

H. W. Hackness

[notation: 172]

Last edit about 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 3
Needs Review

Untitled Page 3

[preprinted] HENRY G. HANKS, Practical Chemist, Assayer and Geologist, GIVES SPECIAL ATTENTION TO METALLURGICAL CHEMISSTRY, MINES AND MINING, The Analyses of Ores, Minerals, Mineral Waters, and all Natural and Artificial Products, and will Report on the Condition and Value of any Mine or Mineral Deposit on the Pacific Coast. 543 CLAY STREET, San Francisco. [/preprinted] APRIL 2 1887

HON-LELAND STANFORD SAN FRANCISCO

SIR

I TAKE THE LIBERTY TO INFORM YOU THAT MY COLLECTIONS OF FOSSILS -- 2000 SPECIES MORE OR LESS -- ARE FOR SALE, - I BELIEVE THEY ARE WORTHY OF YOUR CONSIDERATION IN CONNECTION WITH THE FUTURE GREAT MUSEUM OF THE LELAND STANFORD JR, UNIVERSITY.

ALTHOUGH THEY ARE NOT ARRANGED AS THEY WILL BE, YOU OR YOUR AGENT CAN GAIN A GOOD IDEA OF THEIR VALUE AS A SCIENTIFIC COLLECTION BY SEEING THEM. THEY ARE AT MY OFFICE AS PER INCLOSED CARD

VERY RESPECTFULLY

Henry G Hanks

[preprinted left margin] INSTRUCTIONS GIVEN IN ASSAYING PRACTICAL CHEMISTRY, Determinative Mineralogy, AND THE Use of the Blow Pipe AND Microscope.

WILL MAKE TO ORDER Any Chemical Product Required.

CONSULTATION ON ALL QUESTIONS RELATING TO THEORETICAL AND PRACTICAL CHEMISTRY. [/preprinted left margin]

[large notation: 68]

Last edit about 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 4
Needs Review

Untitled Page 4

[embossed: SILVER LAKE]

Ashland Oregon Nov[r?] 26th 1888

Hon[d?] Sir

- Would it be advisable, to buy, and build, near your University - expecting to rent rooms - or board some of the students - If so I would prefer to build of brick - being more durable, altho of wood - they are made to look more [tastey?] - could you let me know the price of brick, - per thousand - delivered - or the price per [m?] laid in the wall

- Your plans may include providing a boarding house for the students - if so I should not [--to-interfere--] think of interfereing with your plan [?]

Yours truly

Thomas Harris

To the Hon[e?] L. Stanford

Menlo Park Cal

[notation: 147]

Last edit about 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 5
Needs Review

Untitled Page 5

[preprinted] DR. ALFRED C. HAVEN, LAKE FOREST, ILLS. [/preprinted]

Jan 14 - '86

Hon Leland Stanford:

Dear Sir,

I trust you will pardon this intrusion upon your valuable time, but, being in sympathy with the cause of American education, & knowing that you are about to found one of the great centers of learning, in our country, I take the liberty of making a suggestion [or two?], which, I believe will add to the renown of the Leland Stanford Jr. University.

As you know the eyes of the scientific world look to Germany and France, for recent biological & physiological facts, and the explanation of this is, that the scientists of these

[notation: 58]

Last edit about 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 6
Needs Review

Untitled Page 6

[illegible.. tric?] all under the patronage of their Governments, who, furnish them with unlimited means of experimenting, & with every opportunity for pursuing their studies. Our Government is woefully behind in this respect. See what a difference is manifest in astronomy, since it came under the patronage of our Government, formerly it had no standing in the eyes of other nations, now, our share of original work is performed, new stars discovered, and American instruments are at a

Last edit about 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 7
Needs Review

Untitled Page 7

2

[preprinted] DR. ALFRED C. HAVEN, LAKE FOREST, ILLS.

premium in foreign lands.

There is little probability of our Government extending help to biological & physiological investigation, but an institution such as you are about to found, should be the source of this aid - See what Pasteur in France, and Koch in Germany, are accomplishing Hydrophobia bids fair to be a disease of the [past?], and so it may be with other maladies, but, the source of these diseases, and the mode of exterminating them, can never be arrived at, by theorizing; only

[notation: 56]

Last edit 5 days ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 8
Needs Review

Untitled Page 8

[by careful experiment can?] this be determined, and this requires laboratory facilities, which the individual does not possess - Is not the American mind equal to the foreign in quick perception of facts, & the practical use of them? Certainly it is, but, the mechanic with poor implements cannot compete with the artizan furnished with modern tools - With a well equipped laboratory, which would not require a vast outlay, these questions can receive their share of attention in this country, & the eyes of the world may be directed to America, which in practical

Last edit about 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 9
Needs Review

Untitled Page 9

3

[preprinted] DR. ALFRED C. HAVEN, LAKE FOREST, ILLS. [/preprinted]

arts has amazed all nations by her fertility of invention.

No grander theme could engage the attention of scientists than the elimination of those scourges, which sweep over our land & decimate the population. And whether America shall do her part in solving this great problem, depends on the munificence of a few private individuals in our Country. No better place could be selected for the establishment of such a laboratory than in the great Leland Stanford Jr. University.

[notation: 57]

Last edit 5 days ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 10
Needs Review

Untitled Page 10

[I have?] [illegible] [will?would?] [illegible] these suggestions, they simply express my convictions, & I am sure I should be glad to be identified with so noble a project.

Very truly

A.C. Haven

[upside-down, different hand] A. C. Haven Lake Forrest Ills. suggestions for the Leland Stanford Jr. University. [/upside-down, different hand]

Last edit about 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 11
Needs Review

Untitled Page 11

[notation] Ans.d August 1. 1888 [N. C. K.?] [/notation]

Los Angeles July 30 1888

Sec: “Leland Stanford Jr University„

[notation: 129]

Dear Sir:

Will you be kind enough to inform me by letter or otherwise, if the “University„ will have a School of Technology by autumn '89.

I am now preparing a young man to enter such a school next year, but as his parents do not wish him to go to Boston, but prefer the coast, I have held out to them the hope of availing themselves of your institution.

At present I am following the terms of admission to the Boston school, and I should be glad to know your terms, if you have already decided upon such, or as soon as you may determine them.

Yours very respectfully

W. Havemann

951 South Main St. Los Angeles. California

Last edit about 4 years ago by hesperus
Displaying Page 71 - 80 of 583 in total