Leland Stanford Papers

Pages That Need Review

Correspondence (incoming) - H

Untitled Page 18
Needs Review

Untitled Page 18

[image: b&w circular logo, "OCCIDENTAL HOTEL MONTGOMERY STREET. SAN FRANCISCO CAL. Wm. B. HOOPER. MANAGER."]

[preprinted: San Francisco, 1889.]

[insert: the?] Coggswell College with me and I am sure he will fully appreciate any attention; and any information you can give him concurring your college.

Very Sincerely Yours

Ira G. Hoitt

[large notation: 277]

Last edit over 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 19
Needs Review

Untitled Page 19

Lakeport Cal. July 18. 1889.

President Stanford University

Palo Alto Cal.

Dear Sir.

Please send me one of your catalogues and oblige,

Lena L. Howell

Lakeport Lake Co. Cal.

[large notation: 248]

[notation] Hon. W. W. [??king?] [/notation]

[notation in shorthand:

Last edit over 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 20
Needs Review

Untitled Page 20

[preprinted] 220 to 226 K Street, Sacramento. 20 Reade Street, New York.

HUNTINGTON HOPKINS COMPANY, Incorporated Feb. 23, 1888, HARDWARE, IRON, STEEL &c. Junction of Bush, Market and Front Streets.

San Francisco [/preprinted] MAY 15, 1889.

[large notation right margin: 188]

HON. LELAND STANFORD,

............ CITY.

DEAR SIR:-

WE HAVE WITH US A REPRESENTATIVE OF THE NORWALK LOCK COMPANY WHO HAS WITH HIM A FULL LINE OF SAMPLES OF FINE BRONZE HARDWARE, LOCKS, BUTTS, ETC., SUITABLE FOR THE UNIVERSITY. HE WILL BE WITH US TOMORROW AND WE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE TO YOUR ADVANTAGE TO SEE THESE GOODS, IF YOU HAD TIME, BEFORE HIS DEPARTURE FOR THE EAST.

IF YOU CAN MAKE AN APPOINTMENT WITH US FOR TOMORROW OR REFER US TO THE ONE WHO WILL HAVE CHARGE OF THIS MATTER, YOU WILL GREATLY OBLIGE

YOURS RESP'Y,

HUNTINGTON HOPKINS COMPANY.

Quinn.

[notation in shorthand] [10 + 3? 10 & 3?]

Last edit over 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 21
Needs Review

Untitled Page 21

[preprinted] HUNTINGTON HOPKINS COMPANY, Incorporated Feb. 23, 1888, HARDWARE, IRON, STEEL &c. Junction of Bush, Market and Front Streets.

220 to 226 K Street, Sacramento. 20 reade Street, New York.

San Francisco, [/preprinted] MAY 18, 1889.

[large notation: 194]

HON. LELAND STANFORD,

CITY.

DEAR SIR:-

IF IT IS CONVENIENT FOR YOU TO CALL AT THE STORE MONDAY TO EXAMINE SAMPLES OF FINE HARDWARE SUITABLE FOR THE UNIVERSITY BUILDING, WOULD LIKE TO HAVE YOU DO SO, AS THE TRUNKS OF SAMPLES WILL BE SENT AWAY ON TUESDAY AND WE WILL NOT HAVE THEM AGAIN FOR A MONTH, WHICH MIGHT BE TO LATE FOR YOUR PURPOSE. WE ARE IN HOPES THAT MR. AUSTIN WILL BE ABLE TO CALL ON MONDAY.

YOURS RESP'Y,

HUNTINGTON HOPKINS COMPANY

Neal

Last edit over 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 22
Needs Review

Untitled Page 22

Tulare Cal.

July 27th 1889

Managers of University

Dear Sirs:

I would like to know about your school term when it is to start [object?] &c Have a son ready now to send off to school and more children to educate. Please let me hear & oblige M. [Hurill?]

Tulare [by?]

Tulare Co Cal.

Last edit about 2 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 23
Needs Review

Untitled Page 23

Alvarado, Almeda Co. Cal.

June 26[t?], 1[88?]9.

Leland Stanford [insert: Junior] University, [large notation right margin: 227]

Gentlemen:

I noticed in the papers some time since that your term of school might, or would open, this fall, and having a boy whom I would like to have enter at the very begning of the institution. I write to request information on the subject, and to ask for a Catalogue or Prospectus if any such are issued.

Hoping the University may more than meet the hopes and expectations of it generous founder.

I remain

Yours truly

W. F. Ingalls

Last edit about 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 24
Needs Review

Untitled Page 24

[notation in shorthand]

San Bernardino

May 4 1889

Please inform me when students will be received at the Leland Jr University and the conditions. My son wants to attend school after his return from the East, which will be about the 1st of Sept. Will you have a preparatory exam

[from?][by? Yrs?][Resp'y?]

[W. R?. Ingham?]

[large notation: 175]

Last edit 4 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 25
Needs Review

Untitled Page 25

[embossed] HARBOTTLE END CO. [image: flower] SALIDA, COLO. [/embossed]

Salida Colorado June 19th 1887

Hon, Leland Stanford, Dear Sir,

I have just read an account of your university which is being built at Palo Alto Cal.

I would like very much to have my children trained at an institution of the kind, and I thought I would write and see if I could learn something in regard to the workings of the institution, to know whether I would be able to send my children. If some one interested in the concern would be kind enough

[notation: 88]

Last edit over 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 27
Needs Review

Untitled Page 27

330 Pine St.

San Francisco, July 1st 1887.

Sir,

Some very estimable friends, Mr & Mrs. J. W. French, of the Dalles, Oregon, desire their two sons to Matriculate in the first class of the Leland Stanford Jr University, and to enter the Preparatory School, at its beginning.

Will you kindly advise me when the latter will open - if this year etc. and greatly oblige.

Very respectfully yours

C. M. Jennings.

To Hon. Leland Stanford.

City

[large notation: 94]

Last edit about 4 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 28
Needs Review

Untitled Page 28

[preprinted] H. JEVNE, GROCER

Los Angeles, Cal. [/preprinted] July 6 - 89

Secretary of Board of [Regents?]

Leland Stanfor University. San Francisco

Dear Sir.

I should like to send my son to the University when finished and shall be thankfull to receive full information, concerning the institution.

Kindly send me such printed information as you may have and oblige

Yours Respectfully

H Jevne

[large notation: 241]

Last edit over 4 years ago by hesperus
Displaying pages 81 - 90 of 556 in total