Early Governors' Papers

Pages That Need Review

Brown_GP15_Letter_021_50707

1
Needs Review

1

Providence December 18 1847

DeSir

Powers S. Green of Settle Falls in the County of Herkimer and State of New York is de sirous of obtaining the appointment of Commission er of Deeds for the State of Tennessee

W Green, is a well educated Lawyer just starting in Business of a high Moral Character and now holds the appointment of Commissioner from some other of the States.

There is no Commissioner for Tennessee in Herkimer County

Herkimer county, as no other may be termed the great Cheese County of NewYork. there was paid during the Last Season to the Farmers of that County something near $700.00 for the one article of cheese hence the Business Transactions of that County are large. A Commissioner of Deeds would be a great accommodation to those who have busi ness Transactions with the State of Tennessee and to such of your Citizens as may have Business to transact with Herkimer County Inhabitants. From W Greens Legal Education, being conveniant with the duties of the office and withal his high Moral Character I can assure your Excellancy, that should you be pleased to give him the appointment

Last edit 9 months ago by KC
2
Needs Review

2

that it will be a good One, a judicious One, and One that will be entirely satisfactory to such of your Citizens as may acquire the Services of a Commissioner of Deeds in Herkimer County

Very truly Your Obt St Henry Martin

To His Excellency Neil S. Brown Governor of Tennessee

Last edit 17 days ago by Jannyp
3
Needs Review

3

1847

to His Excellency Neil S. Brown Governor of the State of Tennessee

Testimonial as to Powers L. Green New York

Last edit 9 months ago by KC

Brown_GP15_Letter_022_50708

1
Needs Review

1

Providence December 18. 1841 Dr. Sir

During the month of September last I had Business Transctions in Herkimer County where I became acquainted with Powers L. Green for whom I have asked for your Excellency (the?) appointment of Commissioner of Deeds

W Green is almost a "law Star" in Herkimer County. (which County has been termed the "Tenth Legion of Democracy). he being an un compromising Whig. He studied Law with Judge Loomis and can procure Letters frm the leading Citizens of that County Democrats but says that he would jump into the Lake before he would ask a Personal favor of a local, in other words, W Green is a Whig of the right stamp.

In a conversation with Gov Harris of this State I told him that I was going to ask a favor of your Excellency and asked him if he would endorse my Character as a Whig. The Gov. replied. "Yes, but it is altogether unnecessary. The Letter that I wrote in your behalf to Gov Brown relative to your appoint ment is altogether sufficient."

May I be permitted to refer your Excellency to the Letter of Gov Harris as evidence that I would not ask of your Excellency the appointment of a In-

Last edit 9 months ago by KC

Brown_GP15_Letter_023_50709

2
Needs Review

2

Hoping that the above information may be sufficient for your present purpose

I am most respectfully Your Obdt Servt Cmd J. McClung Ass Sr M Gaul

Last edit about 1 year ago by Denny Adcock
1
Needs Review

1

To His Excellency Neil S. Brown,

Dr Sir,

Yours of 30 Ult. to Genl Caswell, in reference to the arms in my charge at this place was handed me a few days since and I hasten to reply at my earliest moment of leisure. It would require more time than I can possibly spare, just now, from the duties of my office (being [only?] a short time before the sitting of the Chancery Court) to make my answer as explicit and satisfactory as I could wish. From such investigation as I have been able to make I should say that the number of guns on hand was something over thirteen hundred - perhaps thirteen hundred and twenty five - most of which are in good order with bayonettes attached. There are only thirty one swords and nine pistols. The cartride boxes, bults, vices, screw -drivers &c. are in boxes and are perhaps as numerous as the guns, swords &c.

These guns were taken out of the possession of my predecessor Col Crozier, I think, by order of Gov. A.N. Brown and delivered to Gens. H. Harris and A.R. Crozier with whom a contract was made under an act of the Legislature, for cleaning them & putting them in order. I have never been called on to receipt for them.

Genl Caswell informs me that 100 Guns &c, were delivere,d to (?) Capt Wales then of Rogersville, and some 500 were sent to Memphis about the time that the first of our volunteers left for Mexico. During the rendezvous of the Regiment of Volunteers at this place , and before my appointment, a number of guns were delivered by order of Genl Gillispie to the citizens who formd a guard for the protection of the town. These has been but one of the

Last edit 9 months ago by KC

Brown_GP15_Letter_024_50711

2
Needs Review

2

Col. McKenzie

Resignation

To His Excellency Neil S Brown Nashville Tenn.

Last edit 9 months ago by Depickford
1
Needs Review

1

Knoxville Te. 4th. Dec. 1847

To his Excellency Neill S. Brown,

Sir

I hereby tender to you, my resignation, of Liutenant Colonel of the 34th. Regiment of Tennessee Militia. My object in tendering my resignation to you is that the Brig General is absent in Mexico,

Very Respectfully your most obt sevt.

Geo. W. McKinzie

Last edit 9 months ago by MaryV

Brown_GP15_Letter_025_50713

3
Needs Review

3

Testimonials as to M. S. (?) Com. of Deeds Ole

Last edit about 1 year ago by Denny Adcock
1
Needs Review

1

Louisville Nov. 11th 1847

To his Excellency, the Governor of the State of Tennessee

The undersigned a Citizen of this place most Respectfully solicits your Excellency to appoint him Commissioner to the Acknowledgments of deeds and to take depositions for the State of Tennessee. He says he does not know how he can more favorably recommend himself to your Excellency than by stating the fact that his devotion to business and his integrety in the discharge of the same has obtained for him the Consulship of Switzer= land for the states of Ohio, Kentucky, Mi= chigan, Illinois and Indiana and the Terryto= ries of Wisconsin and Iowa and the appoint= ment of Commissioner of to take the aknowled= gments of deeds and and to take depositions for the States of Indiana Ohio and Illinois, and that by the Govener of this State he has been com= missioned a Notary Public by sanction of the Senat he says that very often it has happened that Persons having business with him in some one of his official capacities aforesaid have solicited of you, and moreover the present Com= missioner of your State is sometimes nessessarily absent and delay and disappoint wants mi the transction in the business accure; He feels that it would be aiding and subserving to Public Service to appoint an aditionel Commissioner and he most Respectfully seeks and askes of your Excellency that he may receive the appointment

Very Respectfully your most Obedient Servent N. J. (?)

please turn over

Last edit 9 months ago by KC
Displaying pages 1 - 10 of 1910 in total