Kennicott Documents

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

RK-051

page_0001
Needs Review

page_0001

Salem Feb the 20 : 1855

Dear Friend

Your letter came to hand Some days a go and I have been so bisy that I have [nelly?] bell to answer it in regard to that read [illegible] I caught two this sumer for won and skined then and stufed them but the [birds?] eat them up So I lost them; in regard to thare habits I had [illegible strikeout] never found than in the praries all we find than in the woods or [basin?] [pocket?]. I never have seen eney of there yong wons, but they bild there nest in a small bush something [simler?] to a birds nest onley the nest is small - and the hole is in the side I am not very well acquainted with there [habits?]; it has been cold all the month it is a snowing now the ground is wet with snow times is hard money is scarce, your truly Bob [Mills?]

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV
page_0002
Needs Review

page_0002

Salim Februery the 2t 1838

Dear friend

Some time in the fall I recd a letter from you which i did not ansras from the fact that It was a long time on the way; And I did not know whur to find you;-

A few weeks sinc I got another which I should have answered en this; But was in hopes to have something from the boys about the [Manner?] of which you spoke; of which I know nothing;-

Our winter has been very mild; a little flurry [] snow which lasted a few days Mi lu thought Lee and I saw, the first of Februry that with It some winter. But still, comfortabl &warm for winter; to day (Sunday) It snowed all day thru for noon;and has all the affernoon of Cold Winter; What looks firmEverything plenty; but Money! I took a box of specimens to the staio fi[] for you labelled this as directed for the purpose of expressing them to Chicago. Mr L Elsworth kindly offered to take Charge of this; and fen[]owell to you; Sinc then I know nothing-

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV
page_0003
Needs Review

page_0003

I suppose time passess minily with you; at the Capital having fine speciley & Seeing right pretty little fights write soon and I will try and do better next timeWith [?] of Esteem your old friend Mr Robert Kinnicutt. Uriah Mills

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV
page_0004
Needs Review

page_0004

[L.O.] Mills

Last edit 3 months ago by janek

RK-065

page_0001
Needs Review

page_0001

Fremont May 4th, 1955

Friend Kennicott.

Yours of (the) March 2nd c Came to hand in due season.

You have great advantage over me [?] in respect to skinning & stuffing as you have seen good hands (underlined) and I never even any one but myself but have become more proficient than I expected when I killed my first bird last winter. As to selling up I have given that up at present as I much prefer Prof Baird's directions. Just stuffing without the blocks as wise. I have no work on ornithology or any other Nat' Hist' work. I stuffed a (female) prairie hen last winter with block and wires, will let he set (underlined) which is the best specimen I have. And that is first rate. However I cannot spend so much time as that requires I have just finished [illegible] three males for Prof. Baird which the boys flowed out and save for me. They will aly to kin and stuff. I was not moved them two or three hours selling up cach of my specimens + I got tired at that and I cannot skin and stuff with cotton in a hatch. I have not made up my mind what I will do this summer, as regards Nat' Hist' I do not think much of finishing another collection of Insects. and I cannot fire a slow call up skins Writing a brief catalogue of my Insects. To go with my collection to Washington City I'm let list my brother, Horace that an owl (Trip) in the Timber breaking his wing only And we cut of the wing at the carful joint

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV
page_0002
Needs Review

page_0002

and the 'Big eye Turkey[underlined]' has got well and it has afforded me an opportunity of obsevation. I do not know whether its male or female. It has commenced to crow. (hoot, for it must be a hooting or timber owl.) and it will mawk any one that mawks him. He will eat any kind of fresh meat. Eats mice. frogs and snakes, and he swallowed a snake a foot in length this afternoon. since then has eaten a mole and he is ready for another one. he is a monstrous glutton. but endures hunger well. I would like to know the species he belongs to. He is destitute of those horn like appendages which some owls have. but upon parting the thick feather upon the sides of his head you can see an awfull hole. large enought to run your finger into, and you can see half way through his head. he can hear very quick. Length 17 inch 34,-9. Eyes large black with blue pupils. bill. and gums brown yellow. It is a curious fact that the cicada did not kill the limbs here where they stung them. but some of our customers complained of the Locust[underlined] killing their little apple trees. I think they appeared further south than Springfield. I have seven cocoons now (in cigar boxes covered on one side with wire gauze for a cage) and hope they will be handsome moths of some kind. They are hanging out doors and have each a seperate cell or cage, and if any one is a female while she is a virgin I can catch male which will come on the out side where I can capture new ones. The idea was suggested by something of the kind that I read last winter. No more at present. Yours. William S Shaw [not sure of the initial}

Last edit 3 months ago by SueM

RK-066

page_0001
Needs Review

page_0001

Racine May 7, 1855 Dear Rob This letter must doo double duty_Reply to yours by April 23 and May 2nd_by the by I rather think your Amanuensis - Dear Cora - rather beats you in Chirography - The Cicindela were male and female C. Sexguttata --The rose I sent was Baron Prevost -the dahlias was Sir. Edward Anterobus. (The first dahlia ever raised) and Mrs. Shela. - Can you read that - I confess I could not have deciphered her labels myself had I not known what the intentions were_ Glad to have so good report from your dooings - I have been so much engaged otherwise that I have done but little, save in reptiles I have a private Froggery raising all sorts and shapes of tadpoles Salamanders and all - Shall have a complete history of the Salamander lurida have drawings made of the young Sallies every week - also have pet - Faropius[?] good accommodations - how does not fair to send for at least two living _ H. triseriata and H. Pickeringii and any other small frogs you can gets - I want them for comparison as I am studying the frogs - Also I am dying to see your two species of deer mice dont fail - Send me your bird skins I will name them correctly too - I shal send those Cocci in about a week. I saw several plumb trees of large size almost entirely killed by the Coccus - shall give you anything I find in this department - If- you wish to send Dr. Bachman anything it would be better to send to Rev. Dr. J (L) Bachman care of Dr. J.E. Holbrook - Robert permit me as a cincere friend to give you a little advise that

Last edit about 2 months ago by MosquitoMike
page_0002
Needs Review

page_0002

you may save yourself much mortification - that is be extremely cautious how you draw general conclusions from a few isolated facts; wait patiently - record faithfully - observe carefully - before you venture to draw general conclusions for them to be sound must rest on a sold foundation again - be wary about hearsay evidence there is nothing in which the common people are so liable to be deceived, and honestly so, as in relation to subjects of Nat History - these remarks were not called forth by any known instance in which you have erred in this particular - by no means - but knowing the impatience and enthusiasm of youth - by experience - and knowing too this is a common failing of [strikethrough: youth] inexperience I wish to put you on your guard, It is time enough to make general applications after all the evidence that can be collected has been bro't home The Rail-road will be in a few days completed between here and Chicago - then I hope to see you and your sister occasionally in Racine I too will anticpate visiting 'The Grove'

Write often and be assured I remain yours truly P. R. Hoy

Last edit about 2 months ago by MosquitoMike

RK-067

page_0001
Needs Review

page_0001

x pin May 11 1855 Smithsonian Institution Washington D.C. [seal] My Dear Robert The box of snakes arrived to day and I take the first opportunity after unpacking, to write about them. A few of the snakes were dead; most however were lively and in excellent condition. The mice were all dead: indeed I feared this would be the case. They were entirely rotten and must have died a day or two after starting. I could not tell their species. The one sent in litter of the 4' appears much like Hoys species, but to determine accurately all the questions about these mice will require many specimens of all, taken at different seasons. The snake of which you sent two specimens; one alive the other dead, is not Regina liberis, but as far as I can tell now, an entirely New species!! I never saw it before. It comes between

Last edit about 2 months ago by MosquitoMike
page_0002
Needs Review

page_0002

R. leberis and R. vigida [both underlined] get more of these, as many as possible; and dont send to any body else for the present. When I get a little time I will make out a description, if really new, and send to the academy for publication, in your name. What do you think of Regina Kentlandie [RK words underlined], Kenn. There are three species of Entainia [underlined] in your collection. First the very splender black species, sent separate with the dorsal stripe redder [word darker crossed out] than the lateral, and the lateral stripes on the 3'- 4' row. This is E. proxima [underlined]. Next the layer thick short very rough sealed species. Similarly constituted, as to color and position of stripes This is E. radix [underlined]. Next the lon gest species of all, with lateral stripe indistinctly on the 2' -8 [a mark] rows of scales. This is the true E. sintalis [underlined]. I have not satisfied myself whether the specimens

Last edit 3 months ago by janek
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 439 in total