Tennessee Legislative Petitions

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

LP_Roll2_Part4

61-1-1803-1(1)
Needs Review

61-1-1803-1(1)

Image Condition: PLEASE CHOOSE

Primary County: Davidson

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description: State objection to laying a new county from Davidson County

Text of Petition (drag lower right corner to enlarge box): We your Humble Petitioner do humbly assure your Worship that we woud wish to do any thing that would promote our country and the good of Individuals as far as we could consistent with reason and equality between our fellow country-men but where as there is a petition circulating with the intent of laying of a county we your Humble Petitioners after groaning some time hoping that our opponents would take ye second thought but findind that they are still desirous to carry their wishes into effect we are under the disagreeable necessity of laying before your Worships our objections and complaints and hope to be heard first we object to the desired County for the following reasons Viz. first it appears to us that a part of the County must consist of a bed of Nobs which of course promisses no great things to promte the publick nor many Individuals except it be for range and secondly we object because we think that the publick money laid out in building the necessary houses that would be required would promise [illegible] as advantage to the [p blurred] our third objection is we presume it would take much [blurred] to open and prepare roads through such a broken part of the Country and when they are open we presume they would prove very disagreeable roads both to man and horse except for range for our horses and fourthly we object because our opponents wish to take of part of Davidson County to make out the desired spott these are complaints we your Humble petitioners are about to lay before your Worships and first part of us who have been for some length of time in this Country have felt a willingness to cast in our mites in order that our Davidson County might make the appearance it is worthy of raising a brick building for our superiers to serve us in Comfortable as well as other building that our superiers thought convenient we are still willing to exert our selves and discharge the last farthing of that expense there is others of us that have more lately came to this Country having cast our eyes around counting upon conveniences and inconveniences have given high for lands for agreeableness & of conveniency sake and also feel the same willingness to promote the agreeable County that we now reside in - (Turn Over)

Given Name(s)SurnameName PrefixName SuffixSigned X (or other mark)Transcriber's Comment

Last edit 2 months ago by acmwitz
61-1-1803-1(2)
Needs Review

61-1-1803-1(2)

Primary County: PLEASE SELECT

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s): Newton Edney Jno Davis Thomas Williamson Elisha Spence 5 [unreadable] [unreadable] [unreadable] [unreadable] [unreadable] 10 [unreadable] [unreadable] [unreadable] [unreadable] 15 [unreadable] [unreadable] John Martin James Martin [unreadable] 20 Thomas Allen Joseph Huey John Morgan Vinson Cartwright George Green 25 Starling Gunter John Jackson Seth Davis Joshua Ballancer Hugh Alison 30 Watloch Roach Sejnet Roach Wm Winstead Thomas Jackson Samma Winstead 35 Hardy Mitchel Fav Richardson Richard Hart David Shoen James Allison 40 Joseph Derry

Purpose / Short Description: State objection to laying a new county from Davidson County back of page

Text of Petition: Therefore we your Humble petitioners will _____hile we hope your worship will take our cause in hand consider our objections and complaints and that your worship may grant us your petitioners (if for the best ) our wishes that there may be no new county as propo___ by our opponents and that we may continue in our favorite county of Davidson

Newton Edney Jno Davis Thomas Williamson Elisha Spence 5 [unreadable] [unreadable] [unreadable] [unreadable] [unreadable] 10 [unreadable] [unreadable] [unreadable] [unreadable] 15 [unreadable] [unreadable] John Martin James Martin [unreadable] 20 Thomas Allen Joseph Huey John Morgan Vinson Cartwright George Green 25 Starling Gunter John Jackson Seth Davis Joshua Ballancer Hugh Alison 30 Watloch Roach Sejnet Roach Wm Winstead Thomas Jackson Samma Winstead 35 Hardy Mitchel Fav Richardson Richard Hart David Shoen James Allison 40 Joseph Derry

Given Name(s)SurnameSigned NameTranscriber's Comment

Last edit 10 months ago by shannondaniels
61-1-1803-2(1)
Needs Review

61-1-1803-2(1)

Primary County: Davidson

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s): Zach__ah Allen Benjena Toncy Robert Candry Ro____ry junen Beavear Davy Tho Sappington John Wehy Robert Mcmillin Joseph Mcmillin Thomas Chambers Abraham Weeks Daniel Crage Samuel _oon [unreadable] Newton Edney

Purpose / Short Description:

Text of Petition: Zach__ah Allen 61-1-1803-2 Benjena Toncy Robert Candry Ro____ry junen Beavear Davy Tho Sappington John Wehy Robert Mcmillin Joseph Mcmillin Thomas Chambers Abraham Weeks Daniel Crage Samuel _oon [unreadable] Ne_ton E______

Newton Edney ______ and J____ Job 22 Charter Samuel 216 __ 24 Con Cbrap 2:3

Given Name(s)SurnameSigned NameTranscriber's Comment

Last edit 10 months ago by shannondaniels
61-1-1803-2(2)
Needs Review

61-1-1803-2(2)

Primary County: Davidson

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description:

Text of Petition: 1 Benjamin ? 2 William undre? 3 John Dunham 4 Benjamin Greer 5 Samuel Williams 6 Robt Liles 7 Richard Williams 8 McMillan [Millam] Liles 9 Daniel Quillen 10 Micajah West 11 Joseph Hopkins 12 Abram Canady 13 John Quillin 14 Bryan Roach 15 John Cartelew 16 John hanks

Given Name(s)SurnameSigned NameTranscriber's Comment

Last edit 10 months ago by shannondaniels
61-1-1803-3
Needs Review

61-1-1803-3

Primary County: Davidson

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description: 61-1-803-3

Those annened Petitions are the originals of which this above Petition is a copy

Text of Petition:

Given Name(s)SurnameSigned NameTranscriber's Comment

Last edit 10 months ago by NettyC
61-1-1803-4A
Needs Review

61-1-1803-4A

Primary County: Davidson

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description:

Text of Petition: 1 Alson Edney 2 ? Garrett 3 Andrew Bley 29 William Connely 61-1-1803-4a 30 James Campbell 31 Phillip May [Mary]

Given Name(s)SurnameSigned NameTranscriber's Comment

Last edit 10 months ago by shannondaniels
61-1-1803-4B(1)
Needs Review

61-1-1803-4B(1)

Primary County: Davidson

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD): 1805-

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description:

Text of Petition: 4 5 Allen Hill 6 George Hail 7 8 James Boren 9 Ben Calsihman 10 Thomas Hill 11 Charles Parker 11 Th? Lightfoot 13 James Wintour 14 Sylvanus Eastman 15 Hugh L?lis 16 Martin Greer 17 James Donaly 18 Richard Cramton 19 George Lee 20 Henry Lile 21 Philip ??? 22 Nathaniel ??? 23 John Witherspoon 24 25 Turner Sample 26 John Du?rt 27 Samm??l Bryan 28 ??? ??? 32 Asa Becton 33 Wm Billings 34 Robert ? James Dupree 35 Hartwell Mc?les 36 Isaac Davis 37 Andrew a?selm? 38 Robt Hewitt 39 John Dickson 40 M? Dunn 41 David Tremble 42 43 Tho James 44 Tho horn ? 61-1-1803-4c 45 Aler? Patton 46 John Trimble 47 Moses Th? 48 James Goodwin 49 Joshua Hays 50 Thomas ?hiles 51 Charles Stephens 52 Alexander Lezter 53 J. Kirkpatrick 54 David Hughes

Given Name(s)SurnameSigned NameTranscriber's Comment
line not on ledger
line not on ledger
line not on ledger
no name for this line item
AllenHill
GeorgeHail
no name for this line item
Jamesneed surname
Benneed surname
Hillneed given name
Charlesneed surname
ThLightfoot
Jamesneed surname
SylvanusCastlman
can not read
MartinGreer
JamesDonaly
Richardneed surname
GeorgeLee
Henryneed surname
can not read
NathanalOconnell
JohnWilkinson
no name for this line item
SumnerSample
JohnDupuhpossible Dupre / Dupree
SamuelBryan
can not read
line not on ledger
line not on ledger
line not on ledger
Asaneed surname
WmBillings
Robert JamesDupreefirst & middle name ... otherwise numbers won't line up
HartwellMiles
IsaacDawes
Andrewneed surname
RobtHewitt
JohnDickerson
Dunnneed given name
no name for this line item
DavidTrimble
Tho.James
can not read
can not read
JohnTrimble
can not read
Jamesneed surname
can not read
ThomasMiles
Charlesneed surname
can not read
J.Kirkpatrick
DavidHughes

Last edit 8 months ago by WEL
61-1-1803-4B(2)
Needs Review

61-1-1803-4B(2)

Primary County: Davidson

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description:

Text of Petition: The Original of which the above is copy

Given Name(s)SurnameSigned NameTranscriber's Comment

Last edit 10 months ago by shannondaniels
61-1-1803-5A_and_5AA
Needs Review

61-1-1803-5A_and_5AA

Primary County: PLEASE SELECT

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description:

Text of Petition: 61-1-1803-5a

55 ? ? 61-1-1803-5a4 79 Saml Blair ? ? Joslin

Given Name(s)SurnameSigned NameTranscriber's Comment

Last edit 10 months ago by shannondaniels
61-1-1803-5B(1)
Needs Review

61-1-1803-5B(1)

Primary County: Davidson

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description:

Text of Petition:

Given Name(s)SurnameSigned NameTranscriber's Comment
ThomasShute56
Roger?57
TadMartin58
William?59 - could be Thancy?
JohnConger60
JosephNorean?61
WmFait?62
Edley?63
RobertBranch64
JohnCurrin65
WilliamTurner66
MatthewTalbot67
ThomasCox68
HenryBerny69
JohnShute70
??71
FrederickFisher72
??73
JohnStubblefield76
Alan?Boyd77
JamesGadge ?78
ThomasConnelly79
ThomasHanks80
WilliamGatlin81
NathanGatlin82
Tavis?Jones83
??84
HughMcNulty85
AndrewWorke?86
?Robertsonno line number

Last edit 8 months ago by Sharal
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 166 in total