Tennessee Legislative Petitions

Pages That Need Review

LP_Roll2_Part4

62_LP_1803_0256
Needs Review

62_LP_1803_0256

Primary County: PLEASE SELECT

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description:

Text of Petition: ?????????? ????? and the good of ????? ?????and Equality between ??????? but ???? there is a petition ??????? saying of a New County we Your Humble Petitioners of ????? Grooming sometime hoping ????????? second thought but finding that they are still ??????? to carry their Wishes into effect we are under the disagreeable Necessity of laying before Your worships our objections and Complaints and hope to be heard first we Object to the desired County for the following reasons Vizt first it appears to us that a great part of the County insist Consist of a bed of Nobs which of ????? promisses are great things to promote the publick nor many Individuals accept it before range and secondly we Object because we think that the pub=lick money laid out in building ^the ??????y houses that would be required would p??????? intimate advantage to the p?????? and third objection is we presume it would take ????? to open and prepare roads through such a broken part of the County and when they are open ????? would prove very disagreeable, ?????? both to man and horse except for range for our horses and fourthly we object because our Opponents wish to take of part of Davidson County to make out the desired ?????? these are Complaints we your Humble Petitioners are about to lay before your Worships and first part of us who have been for some length of time in this County have felt a willingness to cast in our miles in ????? that our Davidson County might make the appearance it is worthy of upraising a brick building for our superiors to serve us in Comfortable in as well as other building but out superiors thought Convenient we are still willing to ???st our selves and discharge the Last farthing of that where there is Others of us that have more lately came to this Country having Cast our eyes around counting upon co^nveniences and conveniences have given ???? for long for agreeableness ??? ????? the same willingness ??? ???????? (Turn Over)

Given Name(s) Surname Signed Name Transcriber's Comment
Last edit over 2 years ago by Lucio Alvarez
63-1-1803-1(1)
Needs Review

63-1-1803-1(1)

Primary County: Knox

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description:

Text of Petition: 63-1-1803-1 State of Tennessee Knox County January Sessions 1801. State vs Luke Matheny Samuel Davidson charges the State for his attendance in this Suit as a witness five Days and hath proved the same at 50 cents per day $ 2.50 6 $2.56 This Certificate Attest Chas. M Clung. Clerk of said Court

Given Name(s) Surname Signed Name Transcriber's Comment
Last edit over 2 years ago by Lucio Alvarez
63-1-1803-1(2)
Needs Review

63-1-1803-1(2)

Primary County: PLEASE SELECT

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description:

Text of Petition: House of Represen tatives Septem 28th 1803 Read & Refered to the Committee of Claims & sent to the Senate Ed Scott C H R

Senate Sept 29th 1803. Read from House of Re presentatives read & refer... to Committee of Claims I Trimble passed on

Given Name(s) Surname Signed Name Transcriber's Comment
Last edit over 2 years ago by Lucio Alvarez
63-1-1803-2(1)
Needs Review

63-1-1803-2(1)

Primary County: PLEASE SELECT

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description:

Text of Petition: 63-1-1803-2 State of Tennessee Knox County January Sessions 1801 State vs Sulce Matheny William Davidson charges the State for his attendance in this Jail as a Witness Nine days, and hath proved the same: at 50 cents per day $4.50 6 $4.56 This certificate Attest Chas. M??clung Clerk of said Court.

Given Name(s) Surname Signed Name Transcriber's Comment
Last edit over 2 years ago by Lucio Alvarez
63-1-1803-2(2)
Needs Review

63-1-1803-2(2)

Primary County: PLEASE SELECT

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description:

Text of Petition: House of Representatives Sep. 29th 1803 Read & refered to this Commitee of Claims and sent to the Senate Ed Scott C H R

Senate 29th Septr 1803 Received from the the House Reprs Read and Referred to the Committee of Claims I Trimble ???? pass on

Given Name(s) Surname Signed Name Transcriber's Comment
Last edit over 2 years ago by Lucio Alvarez
64-1-1803-1(1)
Needs Review

64-1-1803-1(1)

Primary County: Knox

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s): Joseph Love

Purpose / Short Description:

Text of Petition: 64-1-1803-1 To the Honorable the General Assembley of the State of TennesseeThe petition of Joseph Love Late Deputy Sheriff of Knox County Humbley Sheweth that Your Petitioner at the Time that Joseph Ravenhill was Killed by Stephen Duncan and others Had the Care of the Jail for Ham= =elton District, and the Insuffiency therof Put him Under the nessesity of Colling on the Militia or hireing a guard at his owen Expence; to keep Said Pris= =nors safe for Trial; He there fore Hired two men of Integrety for that Duty; at Twenty Dollars Per Month Each from the twenty seventh of July to the twentyfirst of October 60th Days, included Amounting to Dollars, Your Petitioner Prays Your Honourable Body to Take his Case into Consideration and Grant him Such Relief as You in Your Wisdom May think Best and Your Petitioner Will Ever Pray Jo Love

Given Name(s) Surname Signed Name Transcriber's Comment
Last edit over 2 years ago by Lucio Alvarez
64-1-1803-1(2)
Needs Review

64-1-1803-1(2)

Primary County: Knox

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description:

Text of Petition: Joseph Love Sheriff of Knox County - reembursement Jail fees. 1803 Box 6

Given Name(s) Surname Signed Name Transcriber's Comment
Last edit over 2 years ago by Lucio Alvarez
65-1-1803-1(1)
Needs Review

65-1-1803-1(1)

Primary County: Davidson

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description: Creating a new county

Text of Petition: 65-1803-1 To the Honourable, the General Assembly of the state of Tennessee. The Petition of a number of Citizens of Davidson & Williamson Counties humbly sheweth that the vast extent of said Counties renders it inconvenient for your petitioners to attend Courts General Musters Elections &c ac. the towns of Nashville & Franklin, & there being a sufficiency of territory agreeably to the Constitution, to form a new County within the bounds hereafter to be described & leaving Con-stitutional quantities within the bounds of the Old Counties. All your Petitioners therefore pray that you will consider our situation & Grant us a new County with the following boundaries; viz: begining on the top of a ridge dividing the Water of Stones River & Mills Creek, in the Williamson County line, & run Southwardly with said ridge so as to leave all the water of Mills Creek & Harpeth in Williamson County, un-till the ridge intersects the now Eastern boundary line of said Williamson County;- thence continue South with said line of Williamson County to the South boundary of this State;- thence with the State line East to the Corner of Wilson County thence with the line of Wilson County North & Northwardly continuing with said County line to an El?? & ???? Ash, the corner of said County, which is north East from the Mouth of Hurricane Creek; thence Southward to the mouth of Hurricane Creek, which is four Miles & thirty six poles; thence from the Mouth of Hurricane Creek Southward to the top of the first mentioned ridge; thence with said ridge Southwardly to the begining. And your petitioners as in duty bound, will ever pray. August 10th 1803. Consll Hardenson

Given Name(s) Surname Signed Name Transcriber's Comment
Last edit over 2 years ago by Lucio Alvarez
65-1-1803-1(2)
Needs Review

65-1-1803-1(2)

Primary County: PLEASE SELECT

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description:

Text of Petition: Brought ????

Given Name(s) Surname Signed Name Transcriber's Comment
[Bolin?] Reen
James Hill
[Tanely?] Key
Last edit over 2 years ago by Lucio Alvarez
65-1-1803-2
Needs Review

65-1-1803-2

Primary County: PLEASE SELECT

Date Filed (format: YYYY/MM/DD):

Petitioner(s):

Purpose / Short Description: 65-1803-2

Text of Petition:

Given Name(s) Surname Signed Name Transcriber's Comment
Fred K Barfield
Wm Barfield
James Barfield
John Howell Jno Howell
James Whitsilt
Hugh Sherwood
Jesse Clark
Daneil Sherwood
James Wills
John Anthony Junr
George Buchanan
John Smothes Junr
Samuel McBride
Alexander Martin
Benjamin Gambill
Isaac Hill
Frances McBride
James Donaldson
James C??liphe???
James Gillespie
Thomas Nelson
William Howell
James Linsey
John ???ch
John Smathas
James Hary
William Harper Sr
James Favel
Amus Davis
William Tucker
Samuel Pepper
Harson Reed
Edward Harper
William Harper Junr
John Harper
Hugh Rier Oldham
John Dire
Milton Gammil
Arbl Steel
Caw Hayes
Joseph Casselman
Frances Gillispie
Arrah Gammil
Peter Young
John Winsett
????? Edward
James Cothern
Robert Elison
Thomas Sowy
James Flint
Daniel Frazor
Robert Baltwell
Isac Nance
John Smith
William Smith
James McClure
William Gammill
Wm C G Kimbro
William Kimbro
Argariah Kimbro
Mos Robinson
James Morton
James Morton Ser
Joseph Morton
James Morton Jnr
Ba??? Newsom
William Nance
Bradley Gambil
Jordan Gambil
John Gambil
William [Jolin?]
Daniel James
Luke Osburn
Barna ?????
Elijah ?????
????? Gam???
Elisha Farley
Last edit over 2 years ago by Lucio Alvarez
Displaying pages 21 - 30 of 174 in total