Status: Indexed

Precis of information as to the tribe of Aborigines inhabiting the
country between Mallagoota Inlet Victoria + Shoalhaven N.S.W

The tribe consists of three subtribes which are again divided
into clans whose distribution over the tribal territory is shown
upon the followign table. The clans take their names from
the principal place at which the clanspeople congregated.


Sub tribes clans obtained wives from gave wives to
(1) Mallagoota - 4. 5. 6 4. 5. 6
Gūyangal (2) Jaderamanji - 4. 5. 6 4. 5. 6
from Gūyar = South (Bega)
(3) Bŭrgeli manji (Moruya) - 4. 5. 6 4. 5. 6

Bimeringal from (4) Braidwood)----1. 2. 3. 5. 6 1. 2. 3. 5. 6
Bimering = West

Kŭrial ? from (5) Bŭril manji
(Ulladulla) - 2. 3. 4. 6 2.3. 4. 6
Karū = South (6) Gūrūngati manji
(Shoalhaven) - 1. 2. 3. 4. 5 1. 2. 3. 4. 5

The Gūyangal and Kŭrial also exchanged women for
wives with the Bemeringal of Maneroo and the
Katŭngal northward of the Shoalhaven River.

The country occupied by this tribe whose men were all
called "murrin" = men - commences at the Eastern
side of Mallagoota Inlet, thence by Mallagoota Inlet northward
including Bondi to near Delegete [sic], thence northward, leaving
Nimitybelle and Cooma a little to the lefthand, by Umeralla,
Biddydivine, Araluen, Braidwood (including Queenbeyan [sic])
round by the Canjola River to the Sea. This country is
divided between the Gūyangal living between the Mallagoota

[written in left margin on top half of page]
In writing native words I use the following rules.
Consonants sounded as in English.
C never used where K will do. Ch as in Charles
a as in father, e as in there, i as in thin
ū in oo in moon, ŭ as u in gun
ai as i in light

Notes and Questions

Nobody has written a note for this page yet

Please sign in to write a note for this page