The Papers of Solicitors J. M. Shugar and A. W. Vaisey, 1850-1914

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

Estate of Major General G.F.C. Bray - Correspondence and Records, 1883-1884

151
Needs Review

151

the interest dividends and annual proceeds of the said residuary stocks funds and securities unto my said Wife Augusta Pope and her assigns for and during the term of her nature life for her and their own absolute use and benefit and from and immediately after her decease I do hereby direct that my said trustees shall stand possessed of and interested in my said residuary stocks funds and securities Upon the trusts hereinafter declared concerning the same (that is to say) as to one moiety or equal half part thereof upon and for such or the like trusts intents and purposes and with under and subject to such or the like powers provisoes and declarations as are hereinbefore expressed and declared of and concerning the said first mentioned moiety or equal half part of and in the the said three pounds per centum consolidated bank annuities so bequeathed unto or in trust for my said daughter Marian Susan Pope and her children as hereinbefore mentioned And as to the remaining moriety or equal half part of my said residuary stocks funds and securities upon and for such or the like trusts and intents and purposes and with under and subject to such or the like powers provisoes declarations and agreements as are hereinbefore expressed and declared of and concerning the second mentioned moriety or equal half part of and in the said three pounds per centum consolidated bank annuities so bequeathed unto or in trust for my said daughter Charlotte Frances Pope and her children as hereinbefore mentioned and to for and upon no other trust intent or purpose whatsoever Provided always and I do hereby declare that it shall and may be lawful to and for my said Trustees and the survivors and survivor of them and the executors and administrators and assigns of such survivors in the meantime from and after my decease and until the trusts hereinbefore declared of and concerning the said trust monies stocks funds and premises shall be fully executed and performed with the consent of my said Wife Augusta Pope during her life to be testified in writing under her hand and from and after her decease then by and of the proper authority of them my said trustees or trustee for the time being to sell and dispose of all or any of the stocks funds or securities in or upon which all or any part of my personal estate shall be invested and also with such consent testified as aforesaid or by and of such proper authority as aforesaid as the case shall happen to lend and place out the monies to arise by or from such sale or disposition or any part thereof in or upon

5.

Last edit over 1 year ago by chrisb
149
Needs Review

149

attain the age of twenty one years or who being a daughter live to attain that age or previously marry my said trustees shall stand possessed of and interested in the said moiety or equal half part of and in the said bank annuities (subject to such power as aforesaid) Upon trust for my said Wife Augusta Pope during her life and from and immediately after her decease Upon trust for all and every my child and children by my said Wife Augusta Pope including my said son Arthur Frederick Pope who being a son or sons shall live to attain the age of twenty one years or who being a daughter or daughter shall live to attain that age or previously marry in equal shares and proportions (if more than one as tenants in common and not as joint tenants but if there shall be but one such child who being a son shall live to attain the age of twenty one years or who being a daughter shall live to attain that age or previously marry Then upon trust for such one child and to be paid assigned and transferred accordingly Provided always and in case I shall not leave any child by my present Wife Augusta Pope who being a son shall live to attain the age of twenty one years or who being a daughter shall live to attain that age or previously marry Then I hereby declare that my said trustees shall stand possessed of and interested in the said moiety or equal half part of and in the said bank annuities upon trust for my niece Anna Maria Richards the daughter of The Reverend Thomas Watkyn Richards her executors administrators and assigns absolutely and as to the renaming moiety or equal half part of and in the said bank annuities I hereby declare that my said trustees shall stand possessed of and interested in the same upon such or the like trusts for the sale and separate use of my said daughter Charlotte Frances Pope during her life independently of any husband with whom she may intermarry with such or the like power of bequeathing the interest dividends and annual proceeds of the said last mentioned moiety or equal half part of the said bank annuities after her decease to any husband who may survive her during his life and upon such or the like trusts for the children or child of my said daughter Charlotte Frances Pope as hereinbefore respectively mentioned expressed and declared of and concerning the first mentioned moiety or equal half part of and in the said bank annuities so bequeathed unto or in trust for my said daughter Marian Susan Pope and her children as aforesaid Provided always and I do

3.

Last edit over 1 year ago by chrisb
148
Needs Review

148

sons shall live to attain the age of twenty one years or who being a daughter or daughter shall live to attain that age or previously marry in equal shares and proportions as tenants in common and not as joint tenants and if there shall be but one such child who being a son shall live to attain the age of twenty one years or who being a daughter shall live to attain that age or previously marry In trust for such one child and to be paid assigned and transferred accordingly with power to my said Trustees to apply al or any part of the dividends and interest of the presumptive share or shares of such child or children respectively for their maintenance and support during their respective minorities Provided always and I do here declare that notwithstanding the trusts lastly hereinbefore contained it shall be lawful for my said daughter Marian Susan Pope by her last Will and Testament in writing or by any writing or writings in the nature thereof or by any codicil or codicils thereto to direct limit and appoint give and bequeath the dividends interest and annual proceeds of the said moiety or equal half part of the said bank annuities unto any husband with whom she may intermarry and who may survive her for and during the term of his life to take effect immediately after the decease of my said daughter Marian Susan Pope provided always and I do hereby declare that in case there shall not be any child of my said daughter Marian Susan Pope who being a son shall live to attain the age of twenty one years or who being a daughter shall live to attain that age or previously marry my said trustees shall stand possessed of and interested in the said moiety or equal half part of and in the said bank annuities (subject to the power reserved to my said daughter as aforesaid) upon such or the like trust for the sole and separate use of Charlotte Frances Pope (the younger of my said two daughters by my said first Wife Maria Jane Pope) during her life with such or the like power of bequeathing the interest dividends and annual proceeds of the said moiety or equal half part of the said bank annuities after her decease to any husband who may survive her during his life and upon such or the like trusts for the children or child or my said daughter Charlotte Frances Pope as are hereinbefore respectively mentioned expressed and declared in regard to my said other daughter Marian Susan Pope provided always and I do hereby declare that in case there shall not be any child of my said daughter Charlotte Frances Pope who being a son shall live [?]

2.

Last edit over 1 year ago by chrisb
147
Needs Review

147

This is the last Will and Testament of me The Venerable Edward Pope Archdeacon of Jamaica at present residing in Brompton Row in the County of Middlesex I direct all my just debts funeral and testamentary expenses to be paid as soon as conveniently may be after my decease I hereby ratify and confirm a certain deed of appointment bearing date the thirtieth day of December one thousand eight hundred and thirty five and executed by me under a power for that purpose reserved to me in and by the last Will and Testament of my late Wife Maria Jane Pope dated the twenty third day of September one thousand eight hundred and twenty eight and which was duly proved in Jamaica I also hereby ratify and confirm the settlement executed on my married with my present Wife Augusta Pope I hereby give and devise all my real Estate in Jamaica or elsewhere unto Arthur Frederick Pope (my only child by my said Wife Augusta Pope) his heirs and assigns for ever I give and bequeath all the share and interest of which I may be possessed at the time of my decease of and in the three pounds per centum consolidated bank annuities unto my said Wife Augusta Pope and my friends Charles Richard Bigge of Connaught Terrace in the County of Middlesex and Frederick Richard Lee of Posbury House near Crediton in the County of Devon Esquires their executors administrators and assigns upon the trusts following (that is to say) As to one moiety or equal half part of the said Bank annuities Upon trust to pay the dividends interest and annual proceeds there of as the same shall become due and payable but not by way of anticipation into the proper hands of Marian Susan Pope (the elder of my two daughters by said first Wife Maria Jane Pope) for her life for her sole and separate use and benefit and not to be subject to the debts control or engagements of any husband with whom she may marry And I hereby declare that the receipt or receipts in writing of my said daughter Marian Susan Pope shall notwithstanding coverture be a sufficient discharge and discharges to my said trustees for such dividends interest and annual proceeds or for so much thereof as shall thereby be expressed to be received and from and immediately after the decease of my said daughter Marian Susan Pope (but subject to the power hereinafter reserved to my said daughter) I hereby declare that my said Trustees shall stand possessed of and interested in the said moiety or equal half part of and in the said bank annuities Upon trust for all and every the child and children of my said daughter Marian Susan Pope who being a son or

1.

Marginalia

Will of Vnr. Edwd Pope

Pay debts

Confirmation od Deed of Appointment of 30th Dec 1835 under Will of late wife Maria Jane Pope

Confirmation of settlement executed on marriage with wife Augusta Pope

Devise of all real Estate in Jamaica or elsewhere unto son A. [N?] Pope

Bequest of all 3% Consuls to wife& C R Bigge & Fred R. Lee

Upon trust As to one moiety To pay Divd to Elder daughter Marian Susan Pope

for life for sepe. use & her receipt to be suff discharge

on her death [subject to power reserved to or daughter]

For children of sd M.S. Pope in equal shares

Last edit over 1 year ago by chrisb
139
Needs Review

139

And it is hereby declared that the savings of the annual produce of each such expectant portion as aforesaid and the stocks funds and securities upon which the same shall invested and the accumulations thereof shall be held and applied upon the same trusts and for the same purposes as are in and by these presents declared of the fund from which the same shall have proceeded and be considered part thereof yet so nevertheless that it shall be lawful for the said Trustees or Trustee at their or his discretion to apply the whole or any part of any accumulated fund which shall have arisen from the portion or respective portions of any such child or children as aforesaid or of the annual produce in or towards the future maintenance and education of the child or children who shall for the time being be presumptively entitled to the fund from which the accumulation shall have proceeded And it is hereby agreed and declared between and by the said parties hereto that in case there shall be no child of the said intended marriage who being a son shall attain the age of 21 years or being a daughter shall attain that age or marry the said Trustees or Trustee shall from and after the decease of the survivor of them the said George Frederick Campbell Bray and Charlotte Frances Pope and such default or failure of Children of the said intended marriage as aforesaid be possessed of the said trust fund and the annual produce thereof or so much thereof as shall not have been applied under the provision for advancement herein contained upon the trusts following (that is to say) if the said Charlotte Frances Pope shall survive the said George Frederick Campbell Bray in trust for the said Charlotte Frances Pope her executors administrators and assigns absolutely but if the said Charlotte Frances Pope shall die in the lifetime of the said George Frederick Campbell Bray then in trust for Arthur Frederick Pope the brother of the said Charlotte Frances Pope his executors administrators and assigns Provided always and it is hereby further agreed and declared that notwithstanding the trust in these presents contained for the separate use of the said Charlotte Frances Pope it shall be lawful for the said Trustees or Trustee so long as they or he shall deem it expedient so to do to pay or remit the annual income of the trust estate hereby settled to her separate use to such established Banker or Bankers or other Agent or Agents as she the said Charlotte Frances Pope shall appoint or to authorize such Banker or Bankers or other Agent or Agents to receive the same for the purposes of remittance or payment 6.

Marginalia

Application of accumulations

Trusts In default or failure of [child?]

Trustees may pay income to C.F. Popes Bankers

Last edit over 1 year ago by chrisb
116
Needs Review

116

................................ 5. 00 ................................ 21 40. our in Commercial union office. No. 10320 .. 1000.00 ditto No. 10321 500.00 1526.40

Last edit almost 2 years ago by DreJoe
115
Needs Review

115

Printed by Authority. A. This form should be used in ALL cases EXCEPT when the whole personal estate wherever situate and without debts or funeral expenses is under the value of £100 so that no Stamp Duty or Legacy Duty is payable OR when a Stamp duty of 30s. is to be impressed under the provisions of Sec. 33 of the Act 44 Victoria cap. 12. A Stamp duty of 30s. can be impressed only in the case of a person dying on or after the 1st June 1881 whose whole personal estate wherever situate and without deducting debts or funeral expenses exceeds the value of £100, but does not exceed the value of £300. 9Sffidavit or Affirmation for the Commussioners of Inland Revenue.) N.B.- Where the deceased died domiciled abroad, only the first 3 paragraphs need be used, and no deduction of debts can be taken. Where the deceased died domiciled in the United Kingdom, but deduction of debts is not taken, only the fit 5 paragraphs need be used, unless it is intended to have the grant re-sealed, in which case paragraph 6 should be added. IN THE HIGH COURT OF JUSTICE IN ENGLAND. PROBATE DIVORCE AND ADMIRALTY DIVISION. The Principal - Registry IN the goods of George Frederick Campbell Bray deceased. I Charlotte Frances Bray of No. 16 Kidbrook Grove. Blackheath in the county of Kent widow--- Make oath-- and say as follows: - 1. desire to obtain a grant of Probate of the Will of George Frederick Campbell Bray formerly --- of Tring in the county of Hertford a Colonel under Majestys Army and late of No 16 Kidbrook Grove Blackheath aforesaid a Major General in the said Army. deceased who died at No. 16 Kidbrook Grove Blackheath aforesaid ---- on the 26th day of September one thousand eight hundred and eighty four domiciled in --- that part of the United Kingdom called England ------ ------ 2. The account No. 1, hereto annexed, is a true account of the particulars and present value so far as I have been able to ascertain the same of all the personal estate and effects of the deceased, for or in respect of which the grant is to be made, exclusive of what the deceased may have been possessed of or entitled to as a trustee and not beneficially. The gross value thereof altogether is £1793:14:0. 3. The deceased owned no real estate in the United Kingdom 4. The deceased had no personal estate and effects situate abroad ---- 5. The deceased left a --- widow eight--- lawful usse surviving. 6. The deceased had no personal or moveable estate and effects within the United Kingdom other than and besides the personal estate and effects, the particulars and value whereof are contained in the account No. 1, hereto annexed. The whole there of is in England ----- ----- ---- 7. The first part of the schedule hereto annexed contains a true and particular list of the debts due and owing from the deceased at the time of his death to persons resident within the United Kingdom with the names and addresses of the several persons to whom the same are respectively due, and the descriptions and maounts of such debts. The second part of the schedule contains a true account of the funeral expenses of the deceased. 8. The said debts are payable by law out of the personal estate and effects comprised i nthe account No. 1, hereto annexed, and are not nor are any of them voluntary debts made payable on the death of the deceased or voluntary debts payable under some intrument delievered to the donee thereof within three months before the death of the deceased, or debts which are primarily payable out of any real estate belonging to the deceased, or debts in respect whereof a reimbursement is capable of being claimed from any real estate of the decased or from any other estate or person whatsoever. 9. The aggregate amount of the said debts and funeral expenses is £632:14:5, which being deducted from the value of the personal estate and effects as specified in the account No. 1, hereto annexed, reduces such value to the sum of £1160:19:7. All which is true to the best of my knowledge and belief. Sworn by the above-named Charlotte Francis Bray --------- ------- at No. 16 Kidbrook Grove Blackheath in the county of Kent on the seventh -- say of October 1884. Before me A.W. Vaisey a Commissioner to administer oaths in the Supreme Court of Judicature in England.

Last edit over 1 year ago by chrisb
100
Needs Review

100

26 Sep

Furniture 150 - 0 - 0 Cash 5 - 0 - 0 Bank 21 - 4 - 0 Policies 1000 1500 - 0 - 0 500 Pension - } 120 - 0 - 0 120 } CpTax 1796 - 4 - 0

1793 - 14 - 0 632 - 14 -5 1160 - 19 - 7

Funeral £34 - 20 54 [????] 20 £ 74

Last edit over 1 year ago by chrisb
81
Needs Review

81

To the Directors of The Commercial Union Assurance Company, 19 & 20, Cornhill, London, E.C. Take Notice that by Deed dated 20th April 1876 [I have?] assigned to Colonel George Frederick Campbell Bray the Policy effect with your Company, and Numbered 10320 whereby the sum of £1000 was assured to be paid to Edward Whitman Scruby of the [paymt?][accounted?] Service Clerk late [Lieut?] Colonel H M 96 Foot on the death of George Frderick Campbell Bray Lieut Colonel of H M 96 Foot Dated this 20th day of April 1876 I am, Gentlemen, Your obedient Servant, [signature?] The above Notice must be signed by the Assignor or Assignee, or Agents of either.

The receipt of a notice of which the above is a duplicate, is herby acknowledged, thirteenth day of May 1876 James [?] Manr in India protem

Last edit over 1 year ago by chrisb
78
Needs Review

78

Dear Mr Vaisey.

Many thanks. I could not send the letter back by your Bearer because I wd have to keep him waiting as my husband cd not attend to me just then

Yrs [sincly]

Charlotte Bray

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 28 in total