Wisconsin Women's History

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

Mathilde Franziska Anneke - Women's Suffrage Correspondence, 1866-1884 (Box 5, Folder 4)

p.1
Needs Review

p.1

[letterhead] National Woman Suffrage Association, [italics] President, [/italics] SUSAN B. ANTHONY, Rochester, N. Y. [italics] Ch'n. Ex. Com., [/italics] ELIZABETH CADY STANTON, Tenaly, N. J. [italics] Cor. Sec'y, [/italics] JANE GRAHAM JONES, 910 Prarie Ave., Chicago, Ill. [italics] Rec. Sec'y, [/italics] MARY F. DAVIS, 24 East 4th Street, New York. [italics] Treasurer, [/italics] ELLEN C. SARGENT, Washington, D.C.

Rochester Apr. 13th 1874

Madam M. J. Anneke My Dear Friend

Now, once more, will you give our National Anniversary at New York a letter - letting forth the state of our movement in Wisconsin - I received your articles of the Radical Democracy during the last year - also the Washington letter from them & from the Free Thinkers - But as we have no newspaper to report our meetings - No public notice of their reception could be given - - If I should get nothing further from you or them - I will present the same two documents at our May meeting - & try & get the N.J. City papers to make note of it - The dear Lillie Peckham - how very thought alwasy goes out to her when my eye turns to Milwaukee & Madam Anneke - - Hoping to get your good word of the Woman Suffrage Cause in Wisconsin in time for our Convention I am With love Susan B. Anthony

Last edit 8 days ago by MaryV
p.1
Needs Review

p.1

Tenafly Sept 6th ECS 1875 about protest [written in pencil on original note] Dear Madam Anneke, I have just read your letter, & sent it to the President of our association to consider. Perhaps we may think it best to make an address but I had my thought of it as you. For the women to take any interest in the Centennial Celebration has all already seemed to me as absurd, as it was for the negroes to celebrate the forth of July. [sideways in left margin] I am always glad to hear from you Sincerely Thine E.C.S.

Last edit 8 days ago by MaryV
p.1
Needs Review

p.1

[left hand page] (hand icon) Get all the names possible to this petition and forward to SARA ANDREWS SPENCER, Cor. L and 7th Streets, Washington, D.C. by the first of December, 1877. _____________________________________________________________________ Petition for a 16th Amendment. To the Senate and House of Representatives in Congress Assembled: The undersigned, Citizens of the United States, Residents of the State of _______, County of _____________, Town of _____________, earnestly pray your Honorable Body to adopt measures for so amending the Constitution as to prohibit the several States from Disenfranchising United States Citizens on account of Sex.

Men Women

[right hand page]

National Woman Sufrage Association [in font] President, Clemence S. Lozier, M.D. New York VicePres. Lucretia Mott, Philadelphia, Pa Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Tenafly, N.J. Chair. Ex. Com., Susan B. Anthony, Rochester, N.Y. Cor. Sec., Isabella Beecher Hooker, Hartford, Ct. Treas., Ellen Clarke Sargent, Washington, D.C.

[ the remainder is hand written--in purple ink] Sidney Nebraska Oct. 24th 1877

My Dear Madam Anneke Your most welcome letter, via Toledo, met me here last evening; it was my first knowledge that I am to be in Milwaukee Nov. 18th. I have my list of engagements, only up to Nov. 9th--I suppose it is to give my new lecture--"The Homes of Single Women"--which I have been writing at Dr. Alida C. Avery's most delightful home--under the shadow of the dear old Rocky Mountains at Denver-the last two weeks--and I hope you & all the friends will feel it a true & good word on the subject. Yes, tell dear Doctor Ross Wolcott I will surely stop with none other than herself this time--wouldn't be the last time--had I only received her good invitation for

Last edit almost 2 years ago by Westbrook
p.2
Needs Review

p.2

my heart has always leaned toward the two women I first [word unclear] in Milwaukee-Madam Anneke & Dr. Laura Ross--yes--& the dear Lilie Peckham--I shall be happy to meet with your Party of Equal Rights for Women--But if it can reach me in time should prefer the time to be Saturday evening---I cannot tell when it can get to me---so must have you to learn from Mr. Slayton---122 LaSalle St. Chicago--Ill--he is my agent--& can tell you where I am to go from to [?]--, when I can go--I am so happy to learn that you are able to be at your great & good work for humanity again---& I hope you may long live to bless & and be blessed--with best love to Dr. Ross, dear [?] & all her friends--beside ever and ever so much to your own dear self---I am sincerely yours Susan B. Anthony

[The right side of the page is all printed text. I have not attempted to keep the formatting but since it might be interesting to someone to have all the names, here it is]

Constitution of the National Woman Suffrage Association

Article 1---This organization shall be called the National Woman Suffrage Association. Article 2--The object of this Association shall be to secure National protection for women citizens in the exercise of their right to vote. Article 3--All citizens of the United States subscribing to this Constitution, and contributing not less than one dollar annually, shall be considered members of the Association, with the right to participate in its deliberations. Article 4--the officers of this Association shall be a President, a Vice President from each of the States and Territories, Corresponding and Recording Secretaries, a Treasurer, an Executive Committee of not less than five, and an Advisory Committee consisting of one person from each State and Territory. Article 5--All Woman Suffrage Societies throughout the country shall be welcomed as auxiliaries and their accredited officers or duly apponted representatives shall be recognized as members of the National Association. Officers of the N.W.S.A. for 1877 and '78. President: Clemence S. Lozier, M.D. 238 West Fourteenth Street, New York. [note: in original left column is Vice President and right column is Advisory Committee. for spacing purposes I have stacked these columns] Vice Presidents: Lucretia Mott, Philadelphia, Pa. Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Tenafly, N.J. Clarina I. H. Nichols, Pomo, Cal. Amy Post, Rochester, N.Y. Mathilde Franceske Anneke, Milwaukee, Wis. Amelia Bloomer, Council Bluffs, Ia. Virginia L. Minor, St. Louis, Mo. Emily Robinson, Salem, Ohio. Julia and Abby Smith, Glastonbury, Ct. Catharine C. Knowles, East Greenwich, R.I. Annie C. Cheney, Chelsea, Mass. Mary Powers Filley, North Haverill, N.H. Lucy A. Snowe, Rockland, Me. Sarah M. Lynde, Guilford Centre, Vt. Olivia B. Hall, Ann Arbor, Mich. Mary H. Williams, Fort Wayne, Ind. Sarah Hackett Stevenson, M.D., Chicago, Ill. Sarah Burger Stearns, Duluth, Minn. Helen M. Starrett, Lawrence, Kan. Julia Brown Bemis, Omaha, Neb. Alida C. Avery, M.D. Denver, Col. Hannah H. Clapp, Carson City, Neb. Harriet A. Loughary, Amity, OR. Sally Holly, Lottsburg, Va. Annie L. Quinby, Newport, Ken. Eliz. Avery Meriwether, Memphis, Tenn. Mrs. A. B. Swearingen, Claymont. Del. Lavinia L. Dundore, Baltimore, Md. Elizabeth Oakes Smith, Hollywood, N.C. Frances Anne Pillsbury, Charleston, S.C. Flora McMartin Wright, Pilatka, Fla. Mr. P. Holmes Drake, Huntsville, Ala. Annie H. Hamilton, Summit, Miss. Elizabeth L. Saxon, New Orleans, La. Mrs. W.P. Oliver, Little Rock, Ark. Martha Goodwin Tunstall, Crockett, Tex. Caroline B. Winslow, M.D. Washington, D.C. Esther Morris, Laramie City, Wy. Ter. Mary O. Brown, Seattle, Wash. Ter. Annie Godbe, Salt Lake, Utah Ter.

Advisory Committee: Ernestine L. Rose, London, Eng. Sarah Pugh, Germantown, Pa. Elizabeth B. Schenck, San Francisco, Cal. Lucinda B. Chandler, Vineland, N.J. Lavinia Goodell, Janesville, Wis. Janet Strong, Keosaque, Iowa. Annie R. Irvine, Oregon, Mo. Rev. Anna Oliver, South Norwalk, Ct. Mary F. Channing, Newport, R.I. Juie B. Hunt, Florence, Mass. Caroline H. Barr, New Ipswich, N.H. Ann T. Greeley, Ellsworth, Me. Lydia Putnam, Brattleboro, Vt. Helen M. Loder, Poughkeepsie, N.Y. Mrs. C. W. Church, Benton Harper, Mich. Ellen S. Fray, Toledo, Ohio. Mrs. J. H. Parker, Green Castle, Ind. Clara Lyons Peters, Watseka, Ill. Hattie M. White, Kasson, Minn. Elsie Stewart, Neutral Station, Kan. S.S. Stilson, Omaha, Neb. Mary F. Shields, Colorado Springs, Col. Mary Sweetaple, Silver City, Nev. Lucinda F. Froebstel, La Grande, Or. Hannah McQuiston, Richmond, Va. Elizabeth A. Brown, Kingswood, W. Va. Elizabeth H. Duvall, Cadiz, Ky. Narcissa Watson, Columbia, Tenn. Elizabeth Jackson, Hockessin, Del. Jane Dubois, Baltimore, Md. Mary D.P. Taylor, Asheville, N.C. Martha Schofield, Aiken, S. C. Abby C. Fisher, Fernandina, Fla. Agnes Julian, Aurora, Ga. Mary Pinckard McCarthy, Madison Station, Ala. Mrs. E. Voorhes, Holly Springs, Miss. Mary S. Mann, M.D. New Orleans, La. Mrs L. C. Locke, Dallas, Tex. Ella Cheney, Uberty, Ark. Helen R. Holmes, Washington, D. C. Mary B. Post, Cheyenne, Wy. Ter. Mrs. A.H.H. Stewartd, Olympia, Wash. Ter. Emeline B. Wells, Salt Lake City, Utah

Corresponding Secretaries. Isabella Beecher Hooker, Hartford, Ct. Emma Molloy, South Bend, Ind. Ellen H. Sheldon, Washington, D.C. Mathilde F. Wendt, New York. Laura DeForce Gordon, Oakland, Cal. Caroline H. Spear, Philadelphia, Pa.

Foreign Corresponding Secretaries: Laura Curtis Bullard, New York Jane Graham Jones, Chicago, Ill.

Recording Secretary: Lillie Devereux Blake, 106 East Fifty-fifth Street, New York.

Treasurer: Ellen Clarke Sargent, 1733 De Sales Street, Washington,D.C.

Executive Committee: Susan B. Anthony, Rochester, N.Y. Mrs. L.C. Smith, Rochester, N.Y. Matilda Joslyn Gage, Fayetteville, N.Y. M. Adelaide Thomson, Philadelphia, Pa. Rev. Olympia Brown, Bridgeport, Ct. Harriet Purvis, " " Elizabeth Boynton Harbert, Evanston, Ill. Belva A. Lockwood, Washington, D.C. Phoebe W. Couzins, St. Louis, Mo. Annie C. Savery, Des Moines, Iowa. Sarah Langdon Williams, Toledo, Ohio Susan A. King, New York. Sarah J. Walllis, Mayfield, Cal. Helen M. Cooke, New York. Laura Ross Wollcott, M.D., Milwaukee, Wis. Nancy R. Allen, Maquoketa, Ia. Catherine A.F. Stebbins, Detroit, Mich. Marilla M. Ricker, Dover, N.H. Abigail Scott Duniway, Portland, Or.

Resident Congressional Committee Sarah Andrews Spencer, corner 7th and L streets, Washington, D.C. Ruth C. Denison, Washington, D. C. Ellen Clarke Sargent, Washington, D. C. Rosina W. Parnell, " " Mary Shadd Cary, " "

Last edit almost 2 years ago by Westbrook
p.1
Needs Review

p.1

Schofield Mills, Wis Sept 10th 1880

Mme Anneke Milwaukie Wis

Dear Madam:

The members of the Marathon [? a state abreviation] "Woman Suffrage Society" desire to express their deep regret that you are unable to come among us as a lecturer. We know your name is a power among the germans and since you find it impossible to appear before them personally can you not prepare

Last edit almost 2 years ago by Westbrook
p.1
Needs Review

p.1

[handwritten note in margin] [unclear initials] Shall we make any changes in the officers for Wisconsin? Hadn't we better add some of those northern women's names?

Constitution and Officers of the National Woman Suffrage Association.

Article 1.--This organization shall be called the National Woman Suffrage Association. Article 2.--The object of this Association shall be to secure National Protection for women citizens in the exercise of their right to vote. Article 3.--All citizens of the United States subscribing to this Constitution, and contributing not less than one dollar annually, shall be considered members of the Association, with the right to participate in its deliberations. Article 4.--The Officers of this Association shall be a President, a Vice-President from each of the States and Territories, Corresponding and Recording Secretaries, a Treasurer and an Executive Committee of not less than five. Article 5.--A quorum of the Executive Committee shall consist of nine, and all the Officers of this Association shall be ex-officio [in italics] members of such Committee, with the power to vote. Article 6.--All Woman Suffrage Societies throughout the country shall be welcomed as auxilliaries, and their accredited officers or duly appointed representatives shall be recognized as members of the National Association.

OFFICERS FROM MAY, 1881 TO MAY 1882. President Elizabeth Cady Stanton....Tenafly, N.J. Vice- Presidents-At-Large Susan B. Anthony....Rochester, N.Y. Matilda Joslyn Gage....Fayetteville, N.Y. Honorary Vice-Presidents. Alabama..............Priscilla Holmes Drake..........Huntsville. California.............Sarah J. Wallis.......................Mayfield. " .............Clarina I. H. Nichols..............Pomo. " .............Elizabeth T. Schenck..............San Francisco. Colorado...............Mary F. Shields......................Colorado Springs. Connecticut...........Julia Smith Parker..................Glastonbury. District Columbia...Rosina M. Parnell..................Washington. England.................Ernestine L. Rose..................London. Illinois...................Catherine V. Waite.................Chicago. Indiana..................Zerelda G. Wallace.................Indianapolis. Iowa......................Amelia Bloomer.....................Council Bluffs. Kansas...................Mary T. Gray..........................Wyandotte. Kentucky................Sarah P. Carr..........................Louisville. Louisiana...............Emily P. Collins......................Ponchachogue. Maine....................Ann T. Greeley.......................Ellsworth. " ....................Lucy A. Snowe.......................Rockland. Maryland...............Anna Elia Carroll................. Pikesville P.O. Masachusetts.........Mrs. Fenno Tudor...................Boston. Michigan................Catharine A. F. Stebbins..........Detroit. Minnesota..............Charlotte O. Van Cleve............Minneapolis. Missouri..................Caroline Johnson Todd...........St. Louis. Nebraska................Harriet S. Brooks....................Omaha. New Hampshire......Eliza E. Morrill.......................Concord. " " ......Sarah Sargent Pillsbury.......... " New Jersey..............Lucinda B. Chandler..............Vineland. New York................Sarah H. Halleck....................Milton. " " ................Amy Post...............................Rochester. North Carolina........Elizabeth Oakes Smith............Hollywood. Ohio.......................Sophia O. Allen......................South Newbury. " .......................Sarah R. L. Williams...............Toledo. Oregon...................Mary Thompson, M.D. ...........Portland. Pennsylvania..........Sarah Pugh.............................Germantown. Rhode Island...........Catherine C. Knowles..............East Greenwich. " " ...........Mary T. Channing...................Providence. Utah.......................Sarah A. Cooke.......................Salt Lake. Wahington Territory.Abbie H.H. Stuart...................Olympia. Wisconsin................Mathilde Franceske Anneke....Milwaukee. [wisconsin line is marked with an x and red ellipses]

Vice-Presidents Arkansas..................Helen Martin...........................Little Rock. California.................Laura DeForce Gordon.............San Francisco. Colorado...................Alida C. Avery, M.D. ................Denver. Connecticut...............Esther E. Jewell.......................Hartford. Delaware...................Mary A. Stewart.......................Greenwood. District Columbia.......Belva ? Lockwood....................Washington. Dakota Territory.........Susan J. Barnes........................Fargo. Illinois.......................Elizabeth Boynton Harbert.......Evanston. Indiana......................Mary E. Haggert......................Indianapolis. Iowa..........................Jane C. McKinney.....................Decorah. Kansas.......................Jennie St. John.........................Topeka. Kentucky....................Sallie Clay Bennett...................Richmond. Louisiana...................Elizabeth L. Saxon....................New Orleans. Maine........................Ellen French Foster...................Portland. Maryland...................Nancy M. Baird.........................Cumberland. Massachusetts............Harriet R. Shattuck....................Malden. Michigan...................Fannie Holden Fowler................Manistee. Minnesota..................Sarah Burger Stearns.................Duluth. Missouri....................Virginia L. Miner........................St. Louis. Nebraska...................Clara Berwick Colby...................Beatrice. Nevada.......................Hannah R. Clapp......................Carson City. New Hampshire..........Eliza J.C. Gilbert........................Keene. New Jersey..................Cornelia C. Hussey....................East Orange. New York....................Lillie Devereux Blake................New York City. Ohio...........................Rose L. Segur............................Toledo. Oregon.......................Abigail Scott Duniway................Portland. Pennsylvania..............Martha McClellan Brown...........Pittsburgh Rhode Island...............Anna E. Aldrich........................Providence. Tennessee...................Elizabeth Avery Meriwether.......Memphis. Texas..........................Jennie Beauchamp.....................Denton. Utah...........................Emmeline B. Wells.....................Salt Lake City. Vermont.....................Lydia Putnam............................Brattleboro. Virginia......................Sally Holly.................................Lottsburg. Washington Territory...Mary Olney Brown....................Olympia. Wisconsin...................Laura Ross Wolcott....................Milwaukee. Wyoming Territory......Mara B. Post...............................Cheyenne.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE May Wright Sewall, Chairman, 405 North Pennsylvania Street, Indianapolis, Ind.

Alabama.........................Buel D. M'Clung......................Huntsville. Arkansas........................Louisa M. Oliver......................Little Rock. California.......................Ellen Clarke Sargent................San Francisco. " .......................Sarah L. Knox Goodrich...........San Jose. Connecticut....................Isabella Beecher Hooker..........Hartford. District Columbia............Caroline B. Winslow, M.D. .......Washington. " " ............Harriet Forten Purvis............... " Kansas............................Mary A. Humphreys.................Junction City. " ............................Anne C. Wait...........................Lincoln Center. Kentucky.........................Mary B. Clay................................................. Louisiana........................Harriet E. Keating, M.D. ...........New Orleans. Maine..............................Charlotte A. Thomas.................Portland. Massachusetts..................Harriet H. Robinson.................Malden. Michigan..........................Cordelia A. Briggs....................Grand Rapids. Missouri...........................Phoebe W. Couzins.................. St. Louis. Nebraska..........................Barbara J. Thompson................Hebron. New Hampshire................Marilla M. Ricker......................Dover. " " ................Mary Powers Filley...................North Haverill. New Jersey........................Phebe A. Hanaford...................Jersey City. New York..........................Mary R. Pell.............................Flushing. " " ...........................Clemence S. Lozier, M.D. .........New York City " " ...........................Mathilde F. Wendt ................... " " " " " ...........................Augusta Lilienthal ................... " " " " " ...........................Helen N. Loder.........................Poughkeepsie. Ohio..................................Louisa Southwick......................Cleveland. Pennsylvania..................... M. Adaline Thomson................Philadelphia. Rhode Island.....................Elizabeth C. Hinckley.................Providence. Virginia..............................Orra Langhorne........................Lynchburg. Wisconsin..........................Rev. Olympia Brown..................Racine.

RECORDING SECRETARIES. District Columbia..................Ellen H. Sheldon...................Washington. Pennsylvania.........................Julia T. Foster........................Philadelphia.

CORRESPONDING SECRETARY. Rachel G. Foster ................1,909 N. 12th Street, Philadelphia, Pa.

FOREIGN CORRESPONDING SECRETARIES. England..........................Caroline A. Biggs..................London. " ..........................Lydia E. Becker.....................Manchester. France............................Mme. Marguerite Berry Stanton...Paris.

TREASURER. Jane H. Spofford...................Riggs House, Washington, D.C.

AUDITORS. Ruth C. Denison...................Washington, D.C. W.F. Denison........................Washington, D.C.

Last edit almost 2 years ago by Westbrook
p.1
Needs Review

p.1

My honored and Dear friend Susan B. Anthony, Vicepresidt of the N.W.S.A. [Jan, 1884} ["copied MFA to SBA" in what looks like the same hand at top of letter]

In response to your letter of Jan 18th, I am compelled to be content with being with you only in letter and spirit. when you learn by the hand of another that for the past year and a half I have been unable to do anything. Have been compelled to give up my life work of teaching and writing and submit to great bodily sufering almost without intervals of rest. Cared for constantly by my devoted children. You can well understand how unfitted I am to do more that express by another my heartfelt sympathy with you in your approaching meeting, I has been my cherished wish for years to stand once more among you in Lincoln Hall and reiterate my life-long sentiments and hopes

Last edit almost 2 years ago by Westbrook
p.2
Needs Review

p.2

and hopes, in our noble cause-(which time has but strengthed) But that hope has been resigned with so many others, of an active life. And I must be resigned to let my sympathies and good wishes suffice instead [struck] sent from a bed of suffering suffice instead--I longed to give you a "God Speed" upon your embarking to carry the good work of Woman Suffrage across the ocean, to my fellow country-women, of the old world, who need so much, a helping hand to teach them to think and act for their enfranchisement. And I also should have rejoiced to welcome you back. which I now do, in letter and spirit--I am glad of this opportunity to once more assure you of my untiring and unchanging

Last edit almost 2 years ago by Westbrook
p.3
Needs Review

p.3

devotion to our great cause, and I wish you to know I am with you in all your efforts. Being sure that they will be wise and well-directed. I am a great sufferer from inflmmatory rheumatism, and it is now 7 years since "my good right hand lost its cunning" by a sad accident. So that I am entirely dependent upon an amanuenis to express myself upon paper. But while my brain acts, and heart beats, their best thoughts and throbs, will be in sympathy with you and you[sic] noble fellow workers--

P.S. Enclosed please find my little obolus of five dollars.

Last edit 8 days ago by MaryV
p.1
Needs Review

p.1

National Woman Suffrage Association. 1881 1882 "Governments derive their just powers from the consent of the governed;" the ballot is consent. Why should women be governed without her consent?

Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Pres. Tenafly, N.J. Susan B. Anthony, Rochester, N.Y. }Vice-Pres. at Large Matilda Joslyn Gage, Fayetteville, N.Y. } May Wright Sewall, Chair. Ex. Com. 405 North Pennsylvania St. Indianapolis, Ind

Ellen H. Sheldon, Recording Secretary Q.M. Gen'l's Office, Washington, D. C. Rachel G. Foster, Corresponding Secretary 1909 N. 12th Street, Philadelphia, Pa. Jane H. Spofford, Treasurer, Riggs House, Washington, D. C.

The Riggs House, Washington, Jan 18, 1884

My honored Friend and Honorary Vice President of the N.W.S.A. How happy I shoud be if we might have your presence at our coming National Convention as per enclosed call--But if that may not be--may we not hope that you will be with us in letter and spirit and material aid, and thereby give us the weight of your good name, good word, and good dollars to help our good cause along. We are to publish a pamphlet report of the proceedings, with the letters and State reports from the old world and the new--the speeches and discuss ions etc--and shall place a copy thereof on every Congress man's desk--send one to every member of our Association, and keep it as the document [underlined][for this? paper torn] years to send to

Last edit almost 2 years ago by Westbrook
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 41 in total