Great Britain Indian Department Collection, 1753-1795

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

James Burd and Thomas McKee DS to the Six Nations, Delawares, and Muncies, June 10, 1763; Hunters Mill

1
Needs Review

Brothers, The Six Nations, Delawares and Muncies upon the Northeast and West Branch of Susquehannah-

This is to acquaint you, That, by the Order of The Honorable James Hamilton Governor of this Province and the Honbl Sir William Johnston Barrtt (abbreviation for Baronet): We are appointed to remove certain white peoples who have settled themselves upon your Land at Wyoming contrary to His Majesty's Pleasure; And we were so far on our Journey for that purpose accompanied by Conoyaway Sam the Bearer here of another young Man, and our Cannoe loaded with Necessarys went as far as Kittatinny Falls, when a Messenger came to us with bad News from Fort Augusta acquainting us that our Forts at the Sunsetting were attacked by the Indians and several of our people killed there, and that our Fort Augusta on Susquehanah wou'd soon be in the same Situation-

As we have so lately brightened the Chain of Friendship with you our Brethern, We did not expect to hear of this disagreeable news, And we now send the Bearer to know the Truth of it, As, we are waiting, (if it does not prove true) to proceed to Wyoming to execute our above Instructions-

We desire you will send us a true State of this Case, the Cause of this Disturbance, and your further Intentions by Conoyaway Sam, as we have sent him for that purpose

Hunters Mill 10th June 1763 A White Belt of Seven Rows James Burd Thomas McKee

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank
4
Needs Review

Speach of Coll Bird, to the Delaware & Muncies on the North East and West Branch of the Susquahannah dated 10th June 1763-

Entd. Vol 8th P. 420

{other side of the sheet, upside down} Philadia 8th June { small drawing of a pointing hand with a bracelet}

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank

W[illia]m Johnson DS to Sachems and Chiefs of the Stockbridge Indians, July 25, 1763; Johnson Hall, [New York]

4
Needs Review

Sir Wm Johnson's Speech to the Stockbridge Indians July 25th1763~

Entd in Vol 8th Indn. Recds. P: 468

M

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank

Manuscript "Minutes of Sir W[illia]m Johnsons Congress with the Indians…", July 8, 1764; Niagara.0001.009

1
Needs Review

At a Convention of the Chiefs and Warriors of the

Niagara 8th July 1764 {this is written at the side of the listing of nations. had a problem with format}

Six Nations Western Nations
Mohawks Chippaways
Oneidas [Monomoney?]
Tuscaroras [Snit--?]
Onodagas Pottowatamies
Cayugas [Tuans?]
Senecas. & Hurons
[ ]
[Toughkumicim?]
{Present crossed out}

Present

The Honble Sir William Johnson [Bart?] [Sole Ag.l] & Scys [In-?] Guy John[Srgt?] D. A. I. A Interpreter & [Lus-?] Col Browning Lt Col Campbell & [Sunatory ?] officers

Sir William [word crossed out} spoke to those Indians who had committed Hostilitys as follows,

Brethren

You all must know before this time that the War which you commenced against the English in North America hath been most unjustifiable, the consequences of it & the barbarity with which they have been treated is too well known to require a recapitulatn and happy is it for you that his Majesty { marked over and insert....has ?} a Just sense of your ignorance is disposed on your hearty sorrow for what is past to gratify your desire by offering peace to those who are sincerely concerned for {'your' crossed out and another word inserted. unclear. their?} late behavior, and disposed to make such reasonable concessions as has been demanded. I now meet you in conformity to your transactions at my house last Aprile, and to give you the highest proof of his Majestys Clemency, I am impowered to treat with you concerning peace agreable to the Preliminary Articles then signed by your Deputys: all which I Expect will be fully complyed with for without it you must Expect to meet with the punishment which you undoubtedly deserve There

Last edit 12 months ago by anneec
2
Needs Review

|2| There are several other Nations who convinced of their folly & the Weakness of their designs [agt.?] us have likewise desired to be once more admitted into an alliance with us, these must strictly comply with the terms I shall offer them, otherwise they can Expect no favour, but as for those Nations who have {crossed out letter} obstinately maintained the War, & thereby Justly [meritted?] our highest resentment, they must expect nothing but punishment & to which end an Army is now assembled at this place & will proceed [agt?] them supported by a large number of those Indians most Zealous in defend{unfamiliar letter. used for -ing?} the Subjects of Great Britain & in punishing the Quilty- These Troops will proceed imediately [ whilst? ] my business is to settle matters with you here onto good [afooting?] as to prevent all Quarrels hereafter and secure to themselves that happiness & security which without us they can never enjoy- there only [ remains?] on your part a Strict Compliance with your Engagements, & that you will strictly Conform to [&?] Subscribe the [sev.l?] Articles of peace Agreable to the Preliminarys signed by your Deputys before me

Last edit 12 months ago by anneec
4
Needs Review

Minutes of Sir Wm Johnsons Congress with the Indians at Niagara, from its [Commision! ?] 8th July 1764

{ very faint writing below, different ink. [? by ?Johnson D {illegible} as [Self?]

Last edit 12 months ago by anneec

[William Johnson?] AL draft to W[illia]m Baker, October 16, 1764; Johnson Hall, [New York]

1
Needs Review

Johnson Hall Octr. 16th 1764

Sir

I heartily thank you for your favour of the 13th of April Last, and I should apologize for its being hitherto unanswered but that I apprehend you will attribute to the hurry & bustle of this Year which was more than I ever yetExperienced.

In April last I Treated with the Seneca Deputys at my house, and in June went to Niagara where I met with above 2000 Indians of the Several Nations whom I made peace with, and obtained Considerable Cessions of Territory from some of them. I brought with me 600. of the SixNations whoaccompanied the Army under Col, Bradstreet who is at present at Sandosky in Lake Erie encamped they say to favour the approach of Col. Bouquet on his march from Fort Pit agtainst the Shawanese & Delawares of Ohio who at present are the only Nations in Arms against us.-

The Months of February, March & April last were the busiest I ever saw, during the Two former & part of the latter I was solely occupied in engaging & forwarding partys of Friend Indians agt the Delawares & Shawanese of Susquihanna who greatly infested the neighbouring frontier, these partys met with better success, than in reality any thing hitherto attempted. {unreadable word struck out} 41 Delawares were made prisoner by one of the{unidentifiable struck out. se?}, Partys Seven Towns & Villages with their magazines for Corn destroyed by another, the Enemy flying for protection to the Chenussios who have engaged to deliver their Chiefs up, for which purpose they have delivered me hostages.-

About a fortnight ago I received a pacquet from the Lords of Trade with a plan for the future management of Indn Affairs, on which they desire my Sentiments. This plan is - Calculated for regulating the Indn. Trade & procuring Justice for

Sr Wm Baker [ ]

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank
2
Needs Review

for the Indians, & appointing a necessary Establishment of Officers &c for the more effectually carrying on the affairs of the Indian Department. The whole of which Expence is to be defrayed by a Duty on the Traders.- This plan appears highly necessary, & indeed without it, Trade & Settlement can never be secure An Augmentation of my 600 PA (Per Annum) is not mentioned but I think I have some title to it, I can readily make appear that four times that Sallary would not be adequate to what I might have by a Carefull attention to my own Affairs, which are totally neglected, as well wth regard to Lands as otherwise.-

I am truly sensible of the disagreable Situation of Affairs from the differences subsisting in England, & the Consequences they are liable to produce both there & in the colonies, but I earnestly wish that a little time may be productive of such alterations of Measures as may end in a Coalition of partys, or occasion a Change of such Systems as are most disagreable to his Majestys good Subjects.-

You will please to continue investing the Dividends you receive for my Annuities, in the same Annuities, after discharging the late Ballance.-

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank
4
Needs Review

Johnson hall Octr. 16th 1764 To Sir Wm Baker [ ]

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank

[William Johnson] Draft AL to Captain [William] Murray, May 25, 1765; Johnson Hall, [New York]

1
Needs Review

Sir Johnson hall May 25 1765

The [Very?] Extraordinary {two words struck out and not legible} [ ] upon my hands [for?] some months past has occasioned my not being able to recollect whether you wrote to me, or not however I would not omit sending you afections by [Thiltbuck? Billbuck?] the Delaware who now returns to the Ohio

I am to acknowledge the receipt of your Letters & at the Same time to apologize for not answering them before this time which will be [no?] difficult matter if you can possibly [ ] the Very Extraordinay trouble & Continued [business?] in which I have been [ for some time engaged?]. = he has been here for above two Months waiting the arrival of - This [ ] by [Billbuck?] the Delaware who after waiting here [a Considerable?] time for the Delawares from [ Chenussu?] who at length came the latter end of April since [ wch?] I have settled all matters [ ? them] has at length Settled Matters as you will see by the Treaty of peace a Copy of which he [{scratched out g?} carrys?] with him for the information of his people.- The Six Nations who attended upon this occasion and with the rest Exceeded 900 are now departed, & the Senecas have left their Chiefs as Hostages that all the PrisonersDesserters, Frenchmen, & Negros amonst them shall be delivered up within 40 days from Signing the Treaty, and I cannot but applaud the good behavior of {Again, this name that I cannot read. --buck?} & his people upon this ocasion.

I am sorry to observe Afraid that Owens the Interpreter will not be a proper man to [remn?] [amst?] the [Inds?] & I have reason to think who accompanied him has not behaved as he ought to do upon the affair, [forbidden?] his having by his Argument to he has induced a white Woman Who was delivered up to run away from hence [he seems?] Whenever my Department is fixed an Interpreter [ ] will be fixed' at [ ] disposed to create much farther trouble of that Nature, and is & I could wish that Owens wod ansr Coll Bouquet Character of him; as he [shod?] have [ ] of a [ ] not which must render him [desspicable? ] as well as that first.- From the Conduct of the Delawares, & the late Treaty it will be the [ ] of the Indians as of all those acquainted therewith- necessary that you [restore? ] them those of their people who are hostages at [] [ ]-

I shall be at all times glad to hear from you as I am with [Essteem?] { what looks like a large capital "s"}

Captn Major Murray.

Last edit 12 months ago by anneec
Displaying pages 11 - 20 of 169 in total